Malibu Rocky Oaks Winery Reviews

5 | Malibu, CA
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for Malibu Rocky Oaks Winery

Recommended by 82% of couples

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 3.9
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

5
Order by:
  • W

    Sara · Married on 10/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about this venue! The views are even more spectacular than we could have imagined. It is so private and the girls from elegant ninja were easy to work with. We used the venue for the ceremony and pictures only but it would have been amazing to have spent more time here enjoying the views. Definitely recommend!

    Sent on 07/26/2016
  • L

    Life · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our team Life.Film was lucky enough to be wedding photographers and videographers at this gorgeous venue many times!

    From our professional point of view as photographers and videographers - Malibu Rocky Oaks is one of the best location for a wedding.

    The house itself is the ideal place for the getting ready pictures, here is plenty of locations to film the details: dress, shoe, flowers. The Bridal Master suit has balcony with the fantastic view to the mountains. One of our favorite footage from there is a drone flying away from the balcony where is the bride staying.

    For the Family portraits you could always find a nice shade no matter what time of the day it is.
    The ceremony set up is located on the helipad and if you scheduled your ceremony couple hours before the sunset you will have an amazing photo and video footage from there.

    For the romantic pictures we recommend our clients to go the the rocks and vineyard right before the sunset- the time when we could create the best photos with the back light.

    Reception zone is located by the infinity pool. The style and the view of the reception are elegant and romantic.

    Life.Film gives 5 starts to they wedding venue!

    We would be more then happy to film and photography your wedding in Malibu Rocky Oaks.

    http://life.film/wedding/

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • User4459681 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a breathtaking venue. They were very easy to work with!

    Sent on 10/08/2014
  • K

    Kryss · Married on 07/13/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The most amazing venue ever! The owner worked with my planner to accommodate special requests. My guests can't stop talking about the venue. The views were incredible, the property stunning, and Jessica was great! I could not imagine the wedding being anywhere else.

    (Note to brides. If you do stay over night, towels, trash bags, utensils etc are not provided, bring your own)

    Sent on 08/06/2013
  • L

    L Freneita · Married on 07/12/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Was our first choice - Quickly became our last. The required "Elegant Ninjas" are incompetent and were the reason they lost business.

    Pros: This venue is absolutely beautiful. The owner lucked out in inheriting such a beautiful property. Its mountainous view is a great place to drink wine or to hold a wedding.

    Cons: Pretty much everything else. We were interested in renting this venue for our wedding, and reached out. They were unresponsive on their website and via email. We finally got a hold of their CEO, who punted us off to Jessica, their management team at the "Elegant Ninja." She was slow to respond and very curt. She punted us off to her underling, and refused to even try and help us schedule a time to tour the venue before we underwent the "required" conversation with her "MRO and logistics specialist" Brenda. This was especially frustrating as we were flying into LA specifically to visit venues. Nevertheless, we try to talk to Brenda. Coordinate a day and time. She blows us off and doesn't call; she refused to give us her number, so we had no way of contacting her except by email, which were ignored.

    Without an apology, Brenda finally responded a day after the call was supposed to happen and decided to call us. It turned out this "MRO and logistics" specialist had no specialty in the field; she's basically Jessica's underling who vets potential visitors to see if they can afford the venue. How do we know? Because as soon as we got on the phone with Brenda, all she said was, "What are your questions for me?" When we told her that we wanted to get through the "MRO and logistics" process or whatever that they required, it became clear from Brenda's befuddled explanation that that was just a sham.

    This place has potential, but between two event planners at Elegant Ninja that like to anger customers more than work with them, it's a bit of a deadend.

    TLDR: there are many beautiful places in the Malibu area, including vineyards in the same neighborhood as this one, that are both gorgeous AND friendly. Especially compared to the overwhelmingly friendly relationships we've built with all other venues - big and small - this was not only unprofessional, but unjustified. Save yourself the trouble and move on.

    Sent on 03/13/2020