Makeup by Kim Lam Salonga Reviews

20 | Clarksburg, MD
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Makeup by Kim Lam Salonga

Recommended by 100%

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • M

    Maryann · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Makeup by Kim was outstanding and professional! She did my make up for the tea ceremony and wedding day. Both times my makeup fits the look that I wanted to achieve. I would highly recommend her for whatever ocassion you have in mind. She's flexible to work with and very open to suggestions.

    Sent on 10/03/2017
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having Kim as my Make Up Artist was one of the best decisions I made for my wedding. Kim was very professional from initial contact to trial to the wedding day. She did make up for me, 4 bridesmaids, and my Mom on the wedding day. She took her time with everyone and made sure everything looked flawless! She was so flexible, accommodating, patient and a pleasure to work with throughout the entire process. My wedding was in July on a hot summery day and the make up lasted all day and night. I'm so glad I trusted Kim and picked her as my Make Up Artist. Thank you so much Kim!

    Sent on 09/24/2017
  • L

    Lilli · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Go with Kim! She's extremely kind, professional, but also super fun. The process takes a long time, so it's nice to have someone friendly to chat with while the makeup is being done! I don't typically do makeup at all, but Kim was really knowledgeable and knew exactly what to do. She even gave me a bit of lipstick to take around with me the day of the wedding in case I needed a touchup! Highly recommended.

    Sent on 11/23/2016
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim is an excellent makeup artist! I would highly recommend her!

    Sent on 10/16/2016
  • K

    Kim · Married on 06/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was such a pleasure to work with for my summer wedding. Communication with Kim was wonderful starting from the trial visit. Her prices are reasonable and the quality of her makeup is fantastic. My skin is not always good with all makeup brands, but her products and I'm sure her hygienic practices left my skin looking great even after wearing it all day long. She's extremely attentive to your wishes and is very knowledgeable in her technique. On our wedding day she took care of me, my cousin, my mother, and 3 flower girls and she did a wonderful job. We loved that the flower girls' makeup were complimentary and it made them feel so special! My makeup stayed on from 10am-11pm on our wedding day with only a few touchups inbetween. My family loved her (bilingual in Vietnamese helped!) and I would not hesitate to use her again for our future family photo sessions or special events. Thanks so much Kim!!

    Sent on 11/19/2016
  • L

    Linda · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was my makeup artist for my wedding in May and she was absolutely amazing. I wanted a natural yet classic look, without having so much makeup caked on and she knew exactly what to do. I did 2 makeup trials with her and both were perfect, I just wanted to try different looks before picking one for my big day. On my wedding day, I was a bit worried because I have rosacea and the weather that day was disgustingly hot- high 90's, I was afraid the redness would flare up and my makeup would melt! But Kim worked her magic and my makeup was flawless all day and night! My mother and bridesmaids all raved about Kim and her work. We received so many comments, still even today when people see our wedding pictures!

    Sent on 11/02/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was my makeup artist for my wedding at the end of April, and I was SO incredibly happy with her! She is very skilled, organized, professional, personable, down-to-earth, and super sweet! She is also very detail-oriented, which I very much appreciated, and the finished product was flawless! Makeup was my main concern from the beginning because I don't normally wear too much makeup, I have mono-lid Asian eyes (which no one ever knows how to work with!), and I had other makeup trials before I found Kim, and I just was NOT happy with them. When I finally found Kim, I was ecstatic! She was responsive to all of my inquiries and emails, and was very clear and up-front about the pricing, availability, and expectations. My trial with her was held in her home, and she listened to my concerns, offered her suggestions and expert advice, and was patient over the following weeks while I finalized the list of girls who would be getting their makeup done by her. Well before the wedding day, she sent a detailed schedule for all of the girls. On my wedding day, she arrived on time with her assistant Nina (also a sweetheart!), was so efficient and organized in setting up her work station and makeup products (my bridesmaids were impressed with her organization!), and she truly made me feel confident and calm on my wedding day, which was so important to me. And my bridesmaids were so happy with her too! I would recommend her over and over again!

    Sent on 05/22/2016
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Kim from a mutual friend. I had gone somewhere else for hair and make up prior to meeting Kim and was quite disappointed with their work. When I first got my make up trial, I was seriously blown away at how amazing of a job she did! I had my engagement photos that same day and the photos were absolutely stunning thanks to Kim! Kim is SO talented and made my whole bridal party look flawless!! I am not the type who wears a lot of make-up so it was important for my make up to look natural and not "over done." Kim was very responsive with any questions and she made me feel very comfortable when she did my make up. I had so many compliments on my wedding make-up and I am so glad she could be part of my special day. No doubt about it, Kim will NOT let you down and she is very reasonable with her pricing!

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • S

    Shirley · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh my goodness, Kim is the sweetest, most talented make-up artist. I found Kim after reaching out to other vendors via Wedding Wire. After being disappointed by response times and canned responses, Kim was a breath of fresh air. She was quick to respond to my initial inquiry, was straightforward with her pricing and abilities, and was flexible in my final commitment of how many bridesmaid were receiving services.
    During my makeup trial, she was thorough in asking me what kind of look I was looking for, asked me about the dress and the venue, and about what type of make up look I usually wore. I very much appreciate her asking about these details, as I was looking for a very natural look for my wedding, but just a more polished version of myself :) She was patient while I went back and forth between lip colors, and allowed me to feel comfortable speaking my mind while still conveying her professional opinion.
    For the wedding day, she traveled to the venue, stayed on schedule to get through me, 3 bridesmaids, and 2 mothers....and a touch-up for me after my first look photos. She even left me a lip gloss for touchups throughout the evening. The airbrushed foundation and other makeup lasted all night without issue (October wedding), though due to my inexperience wearing them, I pulled my falsies off near the end of the night. My bridesmaids also had a great look that complemented their personal style, and falsies applied that lasted all night.

    If I need professional services again, I will certainly look for Kim. She's a JOY to work with, and made my day less stressful by how easy she was to work with.

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • T

    Tahrra · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was very helpful and very responsive throughout the whole process - from my initial contact to my wedding day. In addition, she was very flexible regarding booking her without the trial. She didn’t ask me to pay all of the 50% deposit until I had my trial. She was also accommodating with the last minute changes I had with my trial date.

    Before I had booked Kim, she notified me that someone else wanted to book her on the same day as my wedding, but that she would not book them until she heard back from me. I truly appreciated the fact that she came to me before accepting another client. She truly showed respect and value to me as her client, which I loved!

    When I did my trial, I asked if I could bring my some of my bridal party with me and she graciously agreed. She truly captured the makeup style I was looking for - which was simple, yet elegant. During the trial she made us feel comfortable and provided us wedding pointers and advice. It was also my first experience with false eyelashes, and she calmly explained to me what she was doing and how to remove the false eyelashes afterwards.

    Prior my wedding day, she emailed me a schedule of the girls and even sent out "do's" and "don'ts" in preparation of the big day. She was also accommodating with some of my girls having dry skin and last minute schedule changes. Kim and her assistant came on time for my wedding day, got everyone done on time! She didn’t rush and she was very professional with each girl. My bridesmaids and I were very happy with our makeup. We had airbrush and regular makeup done, which lasted over 12 hours through all sweaty moments outside taking pictures or inside dancing! Overall, Kim is an excellent makeup artist. She truly captures the look a bride is looking for and her personality was great. She was very sweet, patient, and flexible. I highly recommend her to anyone.

    Sent on 09/21/2015
  • Y

    Yenni · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm glad we hired Kim for my wedding night!! She glamorized me and made me feel fabulous!! Everyone loved my makeup that night.
    Shes friendly, professional and has a great attitude! I'm thankful that she turned me into a princess for my wedding night!

    Sent on 07/30/2015
  • O

    Oanh · Married on 03/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just had my makeup trial done with Kim this past weekend. I had gone to two prior artists before her and all I have to say is that I wished I went to Kim first! The trial lasted about two hours and Kim was very professional and sweet. We went over pictures of looks that I like, the colors/theme of my wedding, skincare, airbrush foundation, and more!

    Kim is a true artist and has such a detailed eye! She did such an amazing job on my makeup that I've never felt so beautiful. She was able to create a few different looks so I can see which one I would prefer for my wedding day. I am so glad to have Kim as my makeup artist for my upcoming wedding. I know she will make me even more beautiful on my special day!

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • User4700964 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was our makeup artist for my wedding. She did a fabulous job!! She was very professional, knowledgeable, and sweet. She was able to do makeup for the entire bridal party without any complications and everyone looked so beautiful! The bridal party received compliments all day! Till this day, I still have been getting asked by friends and family about my makeup from my wedding. Thanks Kim!!

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim is an awesome makeup artist that did miracles for me on my wedding day when I needed it most. I was so stressed out, breaking out left and right I wanted to tear my face off!

    Before and after pictures says it all regarding her abilities. Did I mention she also does airbrushing?? She made me beautiful and feel beautiful on my wedding day.

    Aside from helping me with makeup and touchups, she even took care of me during my touchup and helped fixed my hair for the evening reception. She has a good eye for detail and beauty.

    On top of that, her honest character will tell you if something does not look right so needless to day she strives for perfection in her work and will not leave you dissatisfied. Her work is of true quality and you will get your moneys worth. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 01/28/2015
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 09/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am incredibly happy that I hired Kim to do my makeup. She made me look so breathtakingly beautiful on our big day!! She was punctual, professional, experienced, and flexible. She worked with me every step to ensure all my needs were met. Furthermore, my makeup looked remarkably glamorous in all my wedding photos and videos. A lot of my friends who are getting married this year have all asked for her information. And I would recommend her to all the bride-to-be’s, as well as girls who want to look their best!

    Sent on 02/09/2015
  • User5326488 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was the makeup artist for my wedding and she did a great job. She's responsive, diligent, timely and honest, which makes her great to work with for such an important but chaotic day. She has an amazing collection of MAC products that will be able to cater to any bridal party (skintones, looks, you name it). My bridesmaids and I received compliments throughout the day. No regrets in going with Kim and i'd recommend her without reservation!

    Sent on 08/07/2015
  • K

    Kim · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was my makeup artist for our engagement party and wedding, and I cannot speak more highly of her! I usually don't wear a lot of makeup and my groom preferred a more natural look on me. Kim was very accommodating and helpful as we discussed various options for different makeup styles for the big day and what would be best for me. She had a lot of great input and ideas, and really just made everything so EASY!

    On the day of our wedding, Kim showed up at the salon on time and got to work on my bridesmaids, mother, and me. She was friendly, professional, and worked quickly without making us feel rushed. Kim gave me a daytime look for the ceremony and an evening look for my reception. My skin never looked clearer and my makeup was flawless! Kim was constantly retouching me and I received a ton of compliments at both events. Kim is now my makeup artist for all my special events! I would definitely recommend her to any bride! THANK YOU KIM!!!

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • User946440 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim is amazing!!! During my trial, she took her time and care to perfect the look that I wanted. She explained everything she was doing, shared her pointers, and provided recommendations during the session. On my wedding day, she arrived early, her set up was organized, and made sure that each of us was comfortable during the application. She was also flexible working around the hair stylist and last-minute switch-ups. Thanks to Kim, the whole bridal party and moms looked absolutely lovely in the photos and in person!!! Love, love Kim!! :)

    Sent on 01/16/2015
  • L

    Lilian · Married on 11/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so happy that I had Kim as my makeup artist for my wedding!! Kim did an incredible job on me and my bridesmaid! We had received compliments throughout the entire day. By the end of the night, we were all exhausted...yet our makeup was still perfect! I was surprised that our makeup literally outlasted us! Kim was very friendly, honest, and professional. During the entire process, Kim was very responsive to my emails, texts, or calls. She was very flexible with the trial date and time and up to the last minute on my wedding day, she still allowed me to add more attendants that needed her makeup services. I think having Kim there on my wedding day helped my day to not be so chaotic. She was able to follow the schedule and also had time to give everyone final touch ups. I will definitely recommend her to everyone I know!!

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • Natalie

    Natalie · Married on 03/25/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim did my makeup for engagement photos, but unfortunately was not available for my wedding. She did a great job. She matched my makeup with my outfit. She also offers airbrush services, which withstood the weather and felt very light on my face. She accepts payment over PayPal, which was very convenient for me.

    Sent on 11/06/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review