Maile Weddings and Events Reviews

12 | Honolulu, HI
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Maile Weddings and Events

Recommended by 36% of couples

1.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 1.8
  • Professionalism 1.8
  • Flexibility 1.8
  • Value 1.8
  • Average response time 1.8

Awards

12
Order by:
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful wedding experience because of Maile and our planner Michelle. The venue was fantastic and the decorations, flowers, caterer, etc. were better than I could have imagined. We wanted a great destination wedding and that is exactly what we got! We will definitely recommend Maile’s services to other couples. Thank you so much for a worry free and beautiful wedding!

    Sent on 09/10/2012
  • P

    Paula · Married on 06/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad I hired Maile Weddings for my vow renewal. They made my vision a reality. Stephanie and I had several conference calls to go over every little detail. On the day of the ceremony, I didn't have to do a thing except show up. I highly recommend using Maile Weddings for your next event. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 08/10/2012
  • K

    Kira · Married on 04/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing professionalism and a pleasure to work with! We could not have planned our destination wedding without Maile! I have recommended Maile to numerous friends and acquaintances because they are a phenomenal group to work with! Stephanie and Michelle made our wedding planning process enjoyable so we could focus on having fun on our wedding day! That was key as a Bride and Groom to be able to trust our wedding consultants with one of the most important days of our lives!

    Sent on 08/04/2012
  • Morgan

    Morgan · Married on 06/29/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall very positive experience with Maile Weddings. Particularly enjoyed working with Michelle Garibay. She was incredibly thorough, responsive and professional. I appreciated her flexibility throughout the planning process - she provided input and suggestions when asked, but also let me drive the things that were most important to me. We had some eleventh hour changes and challenging vendors on our hands, but Michelle kept her cool and made sure it all came together while shielding us from the stress! I was so glad to have her on-site the day of my wedding and definitely recommend the Stellar Package - worth every penny and then some!

    Gave 4/5 stars for Quality of Service because I would have loved to see a bit more creative/artistic input from Maile. Service met expectations for sure, but if they could be more proactive with unique/custom ideas for the wedding that would make it 5 stars. Also gave 4/5 stars for Responsiveness. I had asked for travel planning assistance (hotel rooms for guests/family) and on a couple occasions the response time was delayed past promised delivery date. Would have appreciated a bit more transparency regarding turnaround time. It all ended up fine and Maile does get discount rates at several hotels which many of my guests utilized.

    Sent on 08/28/2012
  • J

    JPitts · Married on 11/28/2017

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Im not a bride nor the groom, but I have experienced, first-hand, the unprofessionalism and fraudulent activities that Maile (Stephanie and her husband) conducts their 'business'. Several years ago, Elias of Laakea Ocean Wedding and Maile were once a dual venture that inevitably ended with lost investments and countless hours redirected to every other aspect of wedding planning, marketing, etc., while Stephanie would swindel the bride to send payments to her in California; But the wedding is in Hawaii.

    Be careful, she can talk a good game but when it's time to perform, she turns 'ghost' and leaves myself / Elias with damage control.

    I advise all brides to steer clear of this entity and find someone better equipped and of course, located in HAWAII. ✌

    Sent on 08/18/2018
  • User3843108 · 2+ years ago

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    This company should be taken off wedding wire. Stephanie Denueve is facing criminal charges for fraud. She takes your money and never pays the vendors. Wedding Wire - you should take this vendor off. And everyone else: BEWARE - just read the yelp reviews.

    Sent on 01/22/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/01/2015

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Stephanie stole our money, didn't pay vendors and when I demanded a reimbursement, she sent me an unsigned check for half of what I had given her that we could NOT cash. She stole from brides and left some hanging without a venue on their wedding day. Karma will get you Stephanie!

    Sent on 06/08/2016
  • User3833686 · 2+ years ago

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    DO NOT ENGAGE MAILE WEDDINGS AND EVENTS or anyone associated with the company.

    Sent on 01/20/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 01/08/2014

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    This person took our money and never booked the venue...she still owes us several thousand dollars, ruined our wedding and is facing multiple lawsuits ...do not book her felonious services under any circumstance!!!!!

    Sent on 01/12/2014
  • User3840965 · 2+ years ago

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I am in the same boat as the recent people that posted. Stephanie took our money and said she booked our vendors. We recently found out that she pocketed the money and did not book anything. We've tried contacting her about getting our money back, but she will not respond. Has anyone received their money back from her, or taken any legal action?

    Sent on 01/22/2014
  • User3678101 · 2+ years ago

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I will say upfront do not allow this company or any of the employees associated with it near your wedding. They are unprofessional, unethical, and more than likely a scam.

    We hired Maile early 2013 for our fall wedding and paid them several thousand in wedding fees and vendor deposits. A month before our wedding, we found out by chance that our venue hadn't received the deposit which we thought was unusal given we'd sent all of the deposits to our planner very early on, per our contract.

    We dug a bit deeper and found out our florals hadn't been booked, our photographer and our videographer had not received their deposit, and the catering deposit which we were told needed to be paid in advance was actually not due until a few days before our wedding. When we confronted our planner about this, she gave several excuses including "I already sent the checks in the mail" and various other personal issues.

    Then, she disappeared and would not respond to any emails or phone calls. When we finally began legal action, and all of a sudden she was back in touch and said she'd send us a check for the deposits which she admitted she never sent, and that she'd refund us part of our wedding planning fee for failure to deliver on her contract.

    It took several weeks and more legal consultation before she finally mailed us a check for our vendor deposits. She said at that point that she would only refund us our wedding planning fee if we signed a contract saying we wouldn't give her a bad review online! Needless to say if she wanted a good review she should have done her job instead of taking our money for who knows what purpose.

    Our wedding has come and gone and she still has not refunded us the portion of our wedding planning fee. Do NOT use this company, and do NOT trust any of its employees, especially the "CEO" - she took our money and made the wedding planning process an absolute nightmare, which is what we had hoped to avoid by hiring her.

    Sent on 11/14/2013
  • User3686990 · 2+ years ago

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY FOR ANYTING - don't give a single penny to this company - we are also pursuing legal action - as she took our venue deposit and never gave it to the venue - someone else booked our date. She has been given cease and desist orders from several large venue properties and hotels in Hawaii...but that doesn't seem to stop her from committing what is a felony. STAY AWAY. We have yet to receive our money back - she is just full of excuses.

    Sent on 11/18/2013