Madison Masonic Center Reviews

11 | Madison, WI
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Madison Masonic Center

Recommended by 96%

11

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff is wonderful especially Debbie in the office. The location and history of the building are fantastic. They always have their ears open to your questions and Debbie can recommend vendors in the area if you are still searching for any.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • User6683647 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved everything about our wedding at the Masonic Center!!

    Sent on 05/09/2016
  • L

    Joann · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Masonic center is a beautiful, historic building with a large ballroom, large theater and other great rooms to hold gatherings and/or receptions. The center staff have been extremely helpful with helping us find vendors for our wedding and with letting us come in multiple times ahead of time to see how others decorated and suggesting decorating techniques for the banquet.
    I would highly recommend the Masonic center!

    Sent on 11/23/2014
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding reception at the Madison Masonic Center last weekend and it was absolutely beautiful!! Debbie is the coordinator and she was wonderful! From the time we came to tour the facility to the day after the wedding she never failed to impress us with her professionalism. She will respond to emails within the hour and is very helpful and patient. They are very flexible with decorating and accomidating to just about anything you request. The prices are good and so is the food! The ballroom was stunning and there was plenty of room to dance and move around. You can come in as early as Wednesday on the week of the wedding to decorate and clean up anytime on Sunday. I can't say enough good things about the Madison Masonic Center and I highly recommend it to any brides getting married!

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • M

    Scott · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Madison Masonic Center is the hidden gem of downtown Madison reception locations. If you're not rich, trying to find a location for a ceremony or reception downtown can be disheartening. Thankfully, the Masonic Center was recommended to us by several other vendors at a bridal show. Their prices are very reasonable for a downtown location and the ballroom is gigantic and absolutely gorgeous. They also have an old theater you can use for your ceremony, which we would have considered if we had not had our hearts set on an outdoor wedding.

    You are required to use their caterer (Mike Losse Catering), but the prices are reasonable and the food was very good. They provide bartenders and waitstaff free of charge. Debbie was wonderful to work with and was very responsive whenever we had a question or wanted to come look around and plan our decorations. If there are no events prior to yours, they will let you in several days ahead of time to get things set up. There is also free parking available, which is not guaranteed for many downtown locations.

    We are so happy we found out about the Masonic Center and would recommend it to anyone looking for an elegant downtown wedding on a budget.

    Sent on 06/29/2013
  • C

    Cait · Married on 05/12/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lisa at the Masonic Center was friendly, helpful, and flexible in our wedding planning process. The historic building is lovely and interesting, and the reception area has some built-in decorations that really added to the space. Jackie at Kavanaugh's was also great to work with and was wonderfully flexible when it came to guests with dietary restrictions.

    Sent on 06/09/2018
  • Emmy

    Emmy · Married on 01/31/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So far so good! Debbie is excellent to work with. We are getting married at the center in January and I have been full of questions and always get a response. Debbie encourages us to stop by and see what other couples have done with the space. I am going to be getting into the nitty-gritty of planning soon and I can't wait!

    Sent on 07/28/2014
  • J

    Jean · Married on 11/01/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The site was beautiful, Debbie the coordinator was extremely nice and responsive, the site access was EXTREMELY flexible. The only real complaint was not being able to request dishes other than those on their standard, very boring menu. The options were tasty enough, just not terribly inspiring.

    Sent on 11/24/2014
  • M

    Molly · Married on 07/26/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, just a wonderful place! We held our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception here, all in different rooms, and paid a fraction of what we would have paid elsewhere. They do require you to use their caterer, but the food was excellent and they have a lot of choices. The only problems we had were with music - we did our own music for everything, and while we were able to hook into the PA system in the auditorium for the ceremony, we were not able to hook our iPod/computer into the sound system in the ballroom for the reception, so we had to rent our own PA system.

    Deb, their event planner, is really a treat to work with - she responded to all our questions quickly and with all the information we needed, and she really made the whole process a lot easier.

    Sent on 08/24/2008
  • B

    Bree · Married on 06/23/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Masonic Center was a beautiful place to get married. We wanted a unique place in Madison to get married and feel in love with the building. The bridal suite was the perfect place to get ready and take pictures with bridesmaids. The close proximity to the capital & lakes made it easy to take pictures in great locations. I had many compliments about the ceremony and reception being in the same location. There was also plenty of room of parking. Lisa was great in helping us plan & organize our wedding.

    Sent on 07/03/2018
  • User6035735 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We had a mostly great experience with the MMC. The problem is, the great part is retiring. I don't have high enough praise for Mike O'Brien and his staff. Helpful, flexible, experienced, excellent food, and well managed - the made the reception go so smoothly. Mike answered all of our questions and was so available and helpful. Absolutely out of this world.

    Our issues came from working with Liz - there had been some changes in management between when we booked and our wedding, so there was some confusion on our end, but that doesn't explain this: parking was a concern for us, but we were constantly reassured that we would have access to all of the parking at the back of the MMC. The MORNING BEFORE THE WEDDING, Liz tells us that some of this parking would be taken up by people at an event that was also being held there. We had been told that that event was to be moved and there would be no other even there at the time of our reception. Eventually, it was Mike (see above) who saved the day and cleared up most of the parking issues the best he could, but the way Liz handled things was unbelievably unprofessional. From the keeping the situation from us until the last minute as well as the way she presented it (totally unapologetic - and they acted like she was doing us a favor when she tried to fix it), this really was inexcusable behavior from a vendor. Due to this and with Mike leaving (in March, I think) I would certainly think twice about booking the MMC.

    Sent on 12/08/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review