MacRay Event Center Reviews

30 | Harrison Township, MI
See photos, pricing and details

30 Reviews for MacRay Event Center

Recommended by 85%

30

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.0

8 User photos

MacRay Event Center 1
MacRay Event Center 2
MacRay Event Center 3
MacRay Event Center 4
MacRay Event Center 5
MacRay Event Center 6
MacRay Event Center 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • J

    Juliette Wurmlinger · Married on 07/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MacRay Harbor Banquet Center

    Venue was superb except for two minor exceptions...we had our ceremony in the lower level banquet room and had no way to keep guests out until we were ready. Also, the temperature and humidity in the entire facility, including the upper level where we had our reception, were too high. We requested several times for cooler temps but were told the A/C has not been working correctly. Other than that, everything was wonderful- staff, food, view, and drinks were A+.

    Sent on 07/12/2019
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey Griffin · Married on 06/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tim and Lindsey’s Wedding

    We were very satisfied with the service. The food was excellent and the bar tender was great. The only thing that happened was we ran out of plates and chicken. But otherwise everything was great!!

    Sent on 07/05/2019
    MacRay Event Center 8
    MacRay Event Center 9
    MacRay Event Center 10
    MacRay Event Center 11
  • A

    Ariel · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall My experience with MacRay's Harbor was amazing. Perfect venue for my perfect day. Amazing, staff and the ballroom was perfect! Minor mishaps but nothing major to ruin the day

    Sent on 07/14/2015
  • A

    Asia · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fergie from MacRay helped make my dream wedding come true. I never thought I would be able to afford such a beautiful place to have my wedding reception. I scheduled my wedding only 2 1/2 months before and I must say everything went smoothly with her

    Sent on 07/30/2015
  • User3496903 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a beautiful venue for a wedding and reception. They provide many additional services as well. I was even able to order my stationary (invites/thank yous) and cake. My DJ and florist were very familiar with them which helped with the coordination of the even. MacRay's staff was very attentive and helpful through the planning process right up to the last minute of our celebration.

    Sent on 10/18/2013

    MacRay Event Center's reply:

    Thank you for the wonderful review - it is our pleasure and commitment to make your special day everything you've dreamed - Best Wishes Always, Lisa, Fergy, Tina & Glorianna
  • E

    elizabeth · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful wedding and shower at MacRay. Worked with Lisa & Fergy and they were both amazing! Very responsive to my calls and email through out the whole planning process!
    We received so may compliments on the venue, the food, and the cakes! The pastry chief is wonderful!! I will be buying cakes from them for birthdays because she was that good!
    Everything was 1st class and my wedding was just as I imagined it would be. Truly a dream come true!!
    I would recommend this place to anyone that wants a breath taking wedding with views & wedding pictures to die for! This isn't just a "hall" type of wedding. If your looking for unique and classy this is your place! 5 STARS Wish I could do it all over again

    Sent on 08/20/2013

    MacRay Event Center's reply:

    Thank you Liz, you were wonderful to work with, it was a pleasure helping you plan your special day.
    Best Wishes - Lisa & Fergy
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was amazing and the ballroom looked amazing! So happy we paid the extra money for the ballroom upstairs, beautiful! Everyone was very helpful!

    Sent on 10/11/2011
  • K

    kristen · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They set up my room and it was beautiful! They did everything I had asked and the food was out of this world!!! People could not stop talking about how amazing the chicken persillade and slow roast beef were, it was exactly how we tried it!! I also had my cake done here, it was gorgeous and it was amazing!

    Sent on 07/02/2011
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 04/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have two separate reviews:

    Bridal Shower - We had our Bridal shower at Mac & Rays at the end of February. Everyone was really easy to work with and more than happy to help! Guests commented on how beautiful everything was and how lovely the room was. We choose the Salad with all the fruit and chicken on it for the guests, and it was Amazing!!! Fantastic salad! Fresh and tasty! Plus the pricing was excellent!

    Wedding Cake - Shelley, the pastry chef from Mac & Rays, made our wedding cake for us. My DH knew her because in college he use to be a banquette server there. She has the most AMAZING cakes I have ever tasted. Her decorating is also beautiful! I still have guests telling me the cake was so good they had more than one piece! :) Her prices were very affordable as well, you would expect to pay a lot more money for such a delicious, moist cake!

    Sent on 04/14/2011
  • H

    Lyndsay · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding of 350 here on September 12, 2009. I was extremelly happy with the service and food. I would recommend this venue to anyone. They are practical, fun and professional people to work with and I am extremelly grateful that I had my wedding here. They worked with all of my vendors in a very professional manner and made sure that my day was perfect. In addition, every single small request that I asked for was remembered including 1 case of bottled beer etc...

    awesome hall!

    Sent on 10/06/2009
  • M

    Tracey · Married on 08/01/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Fergy at MacRay, she was amazing from start to finish. Always responding to my emails and phone calls. They were amazingly flexible, letting us create our own menu, style of the room etc. I would recommend them again and again! It was an amazing venue with amazing people!

    Sent on 08/21/2008
  • C

    Camille · Married on 04/27/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MacRays Banquet & Events center is an exceptional venue for weddings! Everything from the setting to the service was fantastic! Kathy Hubel ("Fergy") took care of every detail and made the planning for the day seamless!!!!! I would definitely refer any bride looking to have a beautiful ceremony or reception to this location !!!!! The baker made such a delectable cake, and the food was outstanding , my guests are still talking about it 27 days after the wedding on Facebook!!!!

    Sent on 05/24/2013
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/30/2006

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The view is absolutely breathtaking!! Staff was very friendly and helpful! :o)

    Sent on 03/26/2008
  • Kerry

    Kerry · Married on 07/13/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MacRay was such a beautiful venue. Fergy was very responsive for us, and super accommodating to all of the requests that we had. She even accommodated the request of turning off sprinklers at a certain time so we could take pictures in a specific area at the venue. Her assistants, on the other hand, seemed to not always relay correct information to her for one reason or another. There were at least three times where we mentioned to various assistants that we had already done a dinner tasting, but she never received the info. Service was solid, however the cooking staff messed up our food a bit. We had requested no mushrooms due to certain guests who have severe food allergy issues, and Fergy noted it on the sheet, but the kitchen staff still included mushrooms in their sauce for the chicken. The wait staff rushed the order back and got it fixed, so it turned out to be alright in the end. Value wise, the venue prices are fair, although outdoor ceremony costs seem a bit high compared to other places. Overall, I would highly recommend this place despite the minor mishaps that occurred.

    Sent on 07/24/2018
    MacRay Event Center 12
    MacRay Event Center 13
    MacRay Event Center 14
    MacRay Event Center 15
  • M

    MELISSA · Married on 10/27/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm sad to read that other brides did not have that good of an experience here.
    My wedding was October 27, 2007. We had about 225 people for our wedding upstairs. We rented out the entire upstairs with the exception of the restaurant.
    In the beginning we thought we would be working with Fergie but ended up working with Angela. At first it was a little hard to work with her, and I think that had to do with the fact that she does these events all the time, and being a first time bride I never had (I had no idea what needed to be done). I tend to procrastinate sometimes too. With that being said, after speaking with her more we were able to develop a good working relationship. I think she is very knowledgeable in the business and a good representative to work with.

    My only complaint was our first tasting - it was not good. I was so disappointed I was afraid that after I set my heart on getting married and having my reception here I was going to have to find a new venue. But Angela came through for us, reassuring us that if we came back in for another tasting we would have a far better experience.....and we did! I think it could have been a misunderstanding in what we were really looking for. We came back for the second tasting and it was AMAZING! We had a hazelnut chicken and filet for the main course. The food at during our wedding was so good!
    The day of our wedding was running behind (because of me, not the hall) and Angela was right there to get me where I needed to be.
    Right before dinner Mac & Ray's was still even more accomodating. I forgot to mention that one of my bridesmaid's and another guest sitting at one of the tables did not eat red meat. I mentioned it to one of the girls who was attending our head table and she made sure the filet did not come out on the plates for them.
    We paid for the premium bar which was fully stocked and the bartenders were right on for getting our guests their drinks.
    My husband and I along with our families and friends had a great time. Everyone complimented us on how great the wedding, the food, the bar and the entertainment was!

    Sent on 10/14/2009
  • S

    Shahzeena · Married on 05/28/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is a great place to get married at. Our pictures look absolutely amazing. Fergie, the catering manager, was very helpful with everything. The staff was amazing on the wedding day.

    Sent on 07/10/2010
  • P

    Margaret · Married on 09/24/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We absolutly love MacRay, we have been coming to the marina for years. It is actually where we got engaged. The site is beautiful.

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • User4153667 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This is a beautiful wedding location. I had my wedding here and everyone had positive things to say about the location and the food. I would recommend this venue to other people.

    Sent on 06/05/2014
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/15/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I had my reception at MacRay in the upstairs ballroom, and I also contracted to use Belle Maer Harbor for my ceremony through them. Both were absolutely beautiful. So many of my guests commented about how breathtaking the view was. MacRay truly is a full-service venue, and they took care of everything for me! All I had to do was drop off the things I wanted set up a few days before the wedding and they took care of it all. The food was amazing, and the staff are great. The one issue I had was that it was a little difficult to get certain questions answered over email. However, as the wedding got closer Fergy became more responsive and was very attentive to detail. Overall, I could not see my wedding being held anywhere else.

    Sent on 10/14/2014
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/10/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding was amazing! Only a few minor issues on the beautiful day. We paid $27 for each one of our vendors to eat dinner..(this was half the price of our guests) and not only did the staff almost forget to feed them, when they finally did feed them, they were given hamburgers!!! Meanwhile we are having a lovely hazelnut encrusted walleye and a fabulous chicken entree. WHY wouldn't they eat the same thing the rest of us were eating. It was one of only a few minor issues, but embarrassing nonetheless!

    Sent on 03/13/2012
  • L

    Amber · Married on 09/11/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our wedding shower here and they were asked us if everything was running smoothly and were very helpful with whatever we needed. They gave us the wrong napkin color but then made up for it by giving me and my family free buffet lunch which was excellent.

    Sent on 12/08/2009
  • N

    nicole · Married on 04/15/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great place for a reception and venue.

    Sent on 03/15/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/15/2007

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Mac & Ray's is a beautiful location and has great food. People still tell me how much they loved the food. They can get pretty pricey and fast, but they do offer options for those who don't have $25,000+. They offered 10% off our event for having it on a Friday and their menue prices when you are not getting a full bar package, are very reasonable. We had a little confusion at the end where a question had been answered incorrectly prior to the wedding, and so more money was spent that I had planned because of incorrect information I had been given. But all in all, I would still recommend them.

    Sent on 11/14/2007
  • J

    Julie · Married on 04/21/2007

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The setting is beautiful, but so expensive. The food was excellent. Everyone raved about it. All was great minus the cost. About 3K more than other places I priced. Worth the scenery though.

    Sent on 05/29/2008
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 08/18/2017

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We absolutely loved the venue, food, and day- of assistance from Lisa!! My main complaints are with Fergy, who seems to have far too much on her plate to return phone calls or emails in a timely manner. It would also be extremely helpful if brides were provided with a timeline of when payments, guest counts, and various decisions were due to prevent last-minute phone-tag and anxiety-ridden brides ;) Communication overall was not the best. That all being said, I felt they were flexible & accommodating, and wedding day couldn't have gone more smoothly!

    Sent on 09/05/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review