Skip to main content
Weddings

Maceli's Banquet Hall & Catering Reviews

Maceli's Banquet Hall & Catering

Maceli's Banquet Hall & Catering

Lawrence, KS
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 130 Reviews
View more information

130 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 130
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

19 User photos

  • Latavia
    Latavia H. Married on 06/10/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing service, even better food and drinks!

    Maceli's is a special place to us since we've attended many events there over the years! Jesse Rice is a great person to work with and helped our event go smoothly by always communicating with us and offering help when needed. We had our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception at Maceli's and they were very accomodating. The members of the staff are warm and friendly and made sure we enjoyed the evening. The venue was beautifully decorated and we only added minimal decor (i.e. our centerpieces). The lighted curtain and paper lanterns added a special, intimate flair to the night and we're glad those amenities were available. Lastly, the food and drinks were AMAZING!! Our guests raved about how tasty everything was, even the special meals for guests with certain restrictions. We couldn't recommend a better venue to have your wedding at!
  • Ellen
    Ellen M. Married on 05/11/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Above and beyond the best caterer in north east Kansas

    We used Maceli's Banquet Hall Catering in Lawrence Ks for our daughters wedding this November. We were blown away by how delicious the meal was and how professionally the staff handled all the details. They went above and beyond to make sure we were all taken care of and especially our daughters food allergy issues. The staff was very friendly as well. We would recommend them for all catering needs. The Marsh family
  • G
    Gregg M. Married on 05/02/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father of the Bride

    Our Feb. wedding was a beautiful, perfect night. the Maceli's dinner and service was top notch. I had nothing but comments about how delicious the food was.
  • D
    Darcey S. Married on 02/12/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Perfect Wedding

    The wedding plans were constantly changing and evolving based on pandemic protocols. We even had to postpone the original wedding by 7 months. Through all of this, Maceli's was there for us. They helped us plan a modified version of my son's dream wedding that more than made for the perfect day. Jesse and Steve went above and beyond to work with all of our vendors to create an absolutely beautiful and memorable experience.
  • J
    John A. Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Moon/Cazares wedding

    Jesse did an excellent job in helping us plan our reception for our wedding, the venue was excellent, food was incredible and the staff was very friendly and provided excellent service. We highly recommend this venue.








  • Kathleen
    Kathleen D. Married on 08/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing in every aspect!!

    We had so many last minute changes due to the pandemic and they were very flexible and great especially with our tight budget. The food tasted absolutely fantastic and everything looked so beautiful, the staff was great and everyone helped make our night perfect!
  • D
    Debbie Z. Married on 08/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Venue was Amazing

    Jesse was amazing to work with! Everything from the venue to the service the night of and the quality of the food was amazing! We did not have to worry about anything so we could enjoy the night.
  • S
    Samantha C. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience!

    Everything went so well with Maceli’s dinner service at our wedding. We used their catering service at the Cider Gallery. We got so many compliments about the food! The service was also great! My new husband and I were talking about how we didn't even notice the wait staff (in a good way!) and yet the tables were bussed promptly. It was all great and I would highly recommend this company to cater your wedding!
  • Rose and Brian
    Rosemary Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Service, Best Food, Best Value

    Maceli’s blew our minds with their quality of service and food. Jesse Rice and his team were all amazing and super responsive. They went above and beyond to be accommodating and made all of our wedding vision came true. All of our guests raved about how good the food tasted and how beautiful the venue was. We had beef barbacoa and airline chicken breast for food and lime margaritas for the signature cocktail which we highly recommend. Furthermore, they were able to adapt rapidly changing Covid protocols which speaks volumes. We will always recommend Maceli’s catering and venue to our friends and family!!!
  • D
    Denise K. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    First Rate from Start to Finish

    Maceli’s hosted both of my daughters’ wedding receptions and both times the level of service, quality of food and attention to detail were second to none. They handle hundreds of events every year, but they make you feel like yours is the most important. Jesse made sure every detail was taken care of and was on hand throughout the event making sure we were all having a good time and had everything we needed. He didn’t want me worrying about anything. The event space is beautiful and I love that Steve is constantly investing in it with updated decor, technology, etc. A truly professional group of folks who make you feel like family. Would highly recommend Maceli’s for any event.
  • T
    Theresa W. Married on 04/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional and accommodating

    Planning a wedding during a pandemic is crazy, but Maceli’s was with us every step of the way. They were extremely accommodating with every change of plans, every crazy question, and every update in county regulations. In the end our reception was small and intimate, but they helped everything go as smoothly as possible.
  • Kaitlyn
    Kaitlyn S. Married on 01/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What A Fantastic Venue

    Jesse and his team were absolutely amazing and attentive. I would not have wanted my wedding at any other place, it was perfect. They're flexible, responsive, and overall willingness to help with anything made my husband and I's big day stressless. Thank you for everything!
  • Allie
    Allie Married on 11/21/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    Maceli’s is the perfect caterer for any event! They were so friendly and took care of everything! They came in and did their thing with minimal needs from me, which on my wedding days was exactly what I wanted. They were also super flexible and understanding with any changes we had to make because of COVID. 10/10, would highly recommend to anyone. Worth every penny.
  • Tucker
    Tucker B. Married on 11/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most incredible venue ever!

    Maceli's is a one of a kind place. Our wedding planning started off as a race. My father was diagnosed with terminal cancer in mid November and we were given a 6-10 week timeline. My husband and I were always planning to get married but just hadn't set any plans yet. As my father was one of our biggest supporters, we knew we had to have this wedding immediately. We called Maceli's and found a canceled event on January 11. From day one, the entire Maceli's team was so helpful in working out details and day-of coordination. Jesse, our coordinator, was absolutely incredible. I can hands-down say that we could not have pulled off a more beautiful or perfect wedding without this incredible team. The entire staff treated absolutely everyone with the utmost respect and kept the entire night running smoothly. We are truly so greatful for such a wonderful experience and cannot wait to have another event at Maceil's!!
  • E
    Emily F. Married on 10/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best caterer in the Lawrence area!

    Maceli’s is amazing! We had a contract for our wedding with another catering company and they just stopped responding. Maceli’s stepped in and blew us away with their menu selection and full service. We got married at The Brownstone in Topeka and the food was served warm and perfect! We had a vegan dish, a chicken dish, and a beef dish. We heard so many complements from our guests, and our videographer was so excited when they heard Maceli’s was catering because they loved the food from other weddings. I worked primarily with Jesse and he was awesome. We also got our linen napkins from Maceli’s.
  • Alexa
    Alexa Z. Married on 09/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Maceli's Goes Above and Beyond!

    You should 100% hire Maceli's for any catering needs you have.

    Let me tell you about the unique situation we had and how Macelis went above and beyond... So we started out planning our September 2020 wedding in January of 2020~ a normal wedding with a plated dinner and 125-150 guests. We loved the tasting at Macelis and made our down payment to reserve our date... then as we all know Covid hit. We postponed the wedding to September 2021, and Jesse was extremely flexible in the difficult situation and applied our payment toward our future date (this sounds normal, but not all vendors were as gracious and flexible)... Fast forward to March 2021. Covid is raging on, and we know it won't be gone by September. So we decided to cancel the wedding and pivot to a totally new idea. We rented an airbnb for 4 days in August, invited our 15 closest family and friends and planned to enjoy quality time with a DIY ceremony on Saturday. Everyone agreed to quarantine and test for covid ahead of time, just to make sure we were all safe since there would be immunocompromised people in attendance. I then approached Jesse with a huge ask: Can we change our date once again, apply our down payment towards the new plan, and can you cater meals for 15 people for 4 days instead of 1 large meal for 150- oh and can we do all this virtually and curbside...I was prepared for him to laugh in my face, keep the down payment and send me on my way, but instead he told me he would talk to the owner and see what they could do since they had never planned an event like this. He came back a few days later with meal plans and a quote. Fast forward again to a week before the wedding when I called him to touch base and pay the remaining balance. He told me he would call me back the next day because he wanted to look over the contract again and reduce the cost of our bill... just because. WOW! He also sent me all the reheating instructions for each meal and the packaging was amazing. Not to mention the food was OUTSTANDING. Seriously, everyone raved about every single meal AND their portions were huge so we had plenty of leftover to freeze and are still enjoying the food today. The Macelis team and expecially Jesse is truly as good as it gets.
  • Lee
    Lee H. Married on 08/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    More Than Just a Vendor

    My husband and I had our wedding reception delayed three times over the course of two years (due to the COVID pandemic) and Maceli's and their amazing staff was with us every step of the way. They worked with us through each replanning effort and made sure that our big day was everything we wanted it to be once the day came, even when our plans on the final day were different from what we had originally thought they would be two years prior. They made every aspect of our big day absolutely seamless from start to finish. Every single person we worked with was professional, kind, and extremely skilled at what they do. We had our reception at Maceli's Banquet Hall and they coordinated the entire day including all of the setup, working with our other vendors, the food, the bar, the sound and lighting for DJ, and the tear-down. It was completely liberating to not worry about anything on our Big Day. Our guests universally raved about the exceptional quality of the food, the service, the venue itself, and how the entire event went off without a hitch! Several guests in attendance who work in the Event Industry told us how impressed they were with the entire event. Maceli's takes pride in everything they do and it shows in all that they do. Maceli's was a pure joy to work with and I would recommend them for any event either at their venue or just for catering. Our wedding reception would not have been the same without them. They truly are more than just a vendor.
  • C
    Cherri T. Married on 07/13/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Extraordinary!

    I can’t express enough how amazing the food was for my daughter’s wedding. My guests made numerous positive comments that this was the best food they’ve ever had at a reception and I agree. Jesse was amazing to work with, professional, and was quick to respond to every question I had in the planning process. He was so patient as we worked through choosing our appetizers for the cocktail hour and gave us the option for some kid meals for our younger guests that we knew wouldn’t eat an adult entry. It was definitely a hit. And I can’t forget the staff. They were helpful, very efficient, kind, and professional. Just an overall great experience with Maceli’s!
  • R
    Robin Married on 04/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience

    Maceli's was very professional and organized. They made the planning very easy! We really enjoyed working with Lara.
  • Shalaine
    Shalaine S. Married on 03/14/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Themed wedding

    I had a themed wedding and they made my wedding day just so much easier and stress-free. The food was amazing the workers were amazing I will definitely be going back to them when we renew our vows
  • Katelyn
    Katelyn A. Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!

    Maceli's went above and beyond during the entire planning process. Coordinators were just a phone call, text, or email away and they would answer any and all questions promptly. The entire team was flexible and willing to rearrange anything to help make our big day perfect. The staff at Maceli's is professional, everything was smooth and efficient. Lara especially, I could rave on and on about how amazing she is. The whole wedding party couldn't compliment our choice of venue enough. On the special day, they had coffee, tea, and water for everyone. I would recommend Maceli's for anyone's wedding.
  • Julie
    Julie D. Married on 10/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rehearsal dinner and wedding were perfect!

    As the mother of the groom living in a different state, I initially had some anxiety about the rehearsal dinner. Lara calmed my fears and was professional and quick to respond to all of my emails and concerns. Lara arranged for me to set up and decorate early before the rehearsal at the church. Not only that, she let me borrow some cylinder vases as well as mini flower vases and card holders. This saved me a lot of money and time. The food and service were excellent and the rehearsal dinner went off seamlessly. I would highly recommend this venue for any event, especially a rehearsal dinner or wedding.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Value and Service

    Maceli's hands down was one of best value for quality of food and service in the industry! From the start Lara and her team were great with communication and helped make it easy to coordinate catering for our offsite wedding. The food was delicious and all of my guests just raved about the food! It is clear that Maceli's cares not only for their customers and their experience but also takes pride in their quality of food and service.
  • J
    Joel S. Married on 07/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best in the business!

    We have nothing but incredible things to say about the entire staff of Maceli's! Working with their coordinators in planning our wedding reception was an absolute breeze! The coordinators were extremely responsive and flexible in order to make sure everything we wanted to make our reception perfect happened! The staff was always kind, courteous, and professional! The day of the reception, we did not have to worry about a single thing. The staff ensured everything was in place and ready to go when we arrived, and kept the night going as smoothly as possible! Not to mention, the food was wonderful! We received SO many compliments about the food, staff, and reception venue! We cannot say enough kind words about the Maceli's staff!

    Maceli's Banquet Hall & Catering's reply:

    We hope that you and Peyton and enjoying married life! Thank you for choosing Maceli's and being such a lovely couple to serve.
  • Stephen
    Stephen R. Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful May Wedding Reception

    This place is amazing. They were so accommodating and were one of the cheapest options in Lawrence for the services they provide. Lara was our coordinator for the entire process and was well organized and on top of everything. We threw a lot of last minute changes at her and she took them all in stride and was quick to respond to us. We really liked how Macelis does it all. (So much that we even used them to cater our rehearsal dinner... their food is really good!) They have decor you can use, they provide alcohol, food and do an amazing job setting up for your event. We came in and set up our table decor ourselves but they were more than willing to set that up for us too. They also did an awesome job hanging our decor that needed to be hung. Jesse was our day of coordinator and made our special day so easy. Our bar was run without any issues, our food and desserts were served right on time and he made sure to come around multiple times to make sure there wasn’t anything he could do to make things easier on us so that we could relax and enjoy the evening.

    Maceli's Banquet Hall & Catering's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words, Stephen, and choosing Maceli's as the home to your special day. It was because of you and Alex's vision and expectations that we were able to make your day remarkable. It was a pleasure to serve such a lovely couple - here's to a long happy future!