MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa Reviews

10 | Sonoma, CA
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

10
Order by:
  • K

    Kip · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got engaged while staying at MacArthur Place on vacation so it was naturally on our short list of possible venues. From my first phone call with Linda, their event coordinator, every interaction we had with her and her staff was wonderful. Linda was quick to respond, was completely on top of things, and really went the extra mile to ensure that we were going to have the wedding we wanted. She was a dream to work with every step of the way.

    The hotel itself was perfect for our needs. Everything about the place is beautiful and inviting. The different gardens that cover the grounds provided our photographer with a variety of different backdrops to use when taking pictures. The Veranda Garden is the perfect spot for an outdoor ceremony. We used one of the private rooms off of their restaurant for the reception, so it was just a two minute stroll from the ceremony to dinner. All of our guests raved about the food (I've never had a Chicken Marsala as good as the one they served that night). And the staff was very friendly and attentive.

    As for the cost, it wasn't cheap, but it was a lot cheaper than the other venues that we looked at in the Sonoma area. Part of it is that they are equipped to do the catering and set up themselves, so you don't have to bother with renting chairs and tables or dealing with separate catering fees. We feel that the experience we had was well worth the price.

    A wedding is a very personal thing. We all have our own hopes and dreams that we bring with us to that day. For us, MacArthur Place was the absolute right - or dare I say perfect - venue. We can't wait to go back next year to celebrate our anniversary.

    Sent on 08/28/2016
  • B

    Josie · Married on 09/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot stress enough how wonderful this place is and how fabulous the staff is!!! Linda was a breeze to work with, and dealth with my over organization like she had not a care in the world. The staff is hospitable, friendly and soooo professional. Everyone was so polite and made sure we had not a worry during the whole day. David kept the ceremony on track, kept the time table without being intrusive, and made sure that our every need was looked after. The grounds were beautiful, and everywhere we went, staff made sure that we we had everything that we could dream of. The accomodations in the Spa Suite were above and beyond! Talk about clean and beautiful!! It was a beautiful place to spend our first night as a married couple, and the next morning, it was so lovely to have the staff congratulating us, and making sure that we had a pleasant stay. We will be back year after year, and hope to stay there for our babymoon too!!

    Sent on 02/01/2012
  • S

    Shana · Married on 12/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at MacArthur Inn is most accommadating, hard working, kind people I have every worked with. They treated us with great respect, and were 100% about making us and our guests happy. The food was amazing, the Chef is wonderful, and cooked to my food allergies. Linda is on top of every little detail, and works with you daily on any and every need. Steve worked with us day of and was so attentive, payed special attention to detail, and was there to do anything we requested! I recommend MacArthur Inn, to anyone who wants a perfect wedding!!!

    Sent on 12/30/2009
  • P

    Paige · Married on 10/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MacArthur Place was such a beautiful place to stay for the weekend of my wedding. My bridesmaids and I stayed in one of the few larger rooms with two queen beds and it was a perfect place to spend the night on the eve of my wedding and the perfect place to get ready together before the ceremony! My hairstylist was able to use the large vanity to do all our hair and makeup with plenty of room for everyone else to mingle. Our room was beautiful and the continental breakfast was great as well. For our wedding night my husband and I stayed in a cottage and it was to die for! Thank you MacArthur for helping make our wedding weekend a little bit greater!

    Sent on 11/06/2009
  • M

    Barbara · Married on 06/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner at MacArthur Place and could not have asked for a more qualified planner to organize this event. Living in Pennsylvania, all of the planning was done over the telephone and computer, and everything was just wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and all of my requests were addressed. The food was delicious, the service were excellent, and the ambiance of the inn was lovely. It was a wonderful evening for everyone.

    Sent on 06/30/2009
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 10/10/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The day before my wedding, I took my mom and mother-in-law to MacArthur's Place for a facial and a massage to help us relax and get pampered before the big day. The staff were extremely nice and professional about booking 3 of us together and the spa was amazingly well designed and decorated. It's located next to the pool garden with a nice little gift shop inside. There's a nice changing/shower locker room with robes and amenities. We thoroughly enjoyed our facials and massages packages, which were the best values I found in the whole town of Sonoma! I would recommend this place for future visitors looking to relax and get pampered :)

    Sent on 11/11/2015
  • K

    Kelli · Married on 06/06/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent venue, and outstanding response from Linda Clark at MacArthur Place.

    Sent on 06/19/2009
  • T

    Tovah · Married on 06/15/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MacArthur Place was the pefect choice for our elopement. We could not have asked for a more beautiful location or better service. The property & rooms are incredible. Linda & the rest of the staff were great. I felt at ease in planning our special day from out of state. Her recommendations on flowers, officiate, & other services were right on. We highly recommend MacArthur Place to anyone for a ceremony or a great place to stay in Sonoma. We plan on coming back for anniversaries in the future.

    Sent on 06/23/2009
  • S

    Leslie · Married on 06/14/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The wedding/event planning group was absolutely terrific. They anticipated questions/issues that I would not have even thought of. They were always efficient in getting questions asked and answered, and I felt that everythings was wonderfully coordinated and taken care of. The wedding coordinators were extremely helpful when the cake that we ordered was not correct; they tried to contact the bakery (who is not affiliate with the Inn) and determine why the wrong cake was sent (this was all during the reception). The food served was fantastic and many guests have commented on the quality of the food! Additionally, the catering staff were very efficient and very pleasant, and they all made my wedding day very special. The site was beautifully arranged and set up; as the bride I had to do very little to make the site look the way that I wanted it (I only ordered some flowers for table centerpieces); the wedding planning group took care of everything else! It was a perfect wedding day!

    The cottage that we had for the wedding was beautiful and peaceful, and we loved every minute that we stayed there. The grounds of the Inn are beautiful and we enjoyed just walking around the place. Even though we live in Sonoma, the Inn felt like a "get away" for our wedding weekend.

    The only negative mark against the facility was that a special necklace and earrings were left inadvertently behind in the craziness of leaving the Inn to embark on our honeymoon, and they have not been found or returned. The attitude of the front desk and housekeeping director was that of defensiveness and arrogance at the sugggestion that the jewelry may have inadvertently misplaced by staff cleaning the room. I am deeply saddened at the loss of the items, in that the were given to me by my husband last Christmas.

    Sent on 06/26/2009
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 12/21/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose MacArthur because it is so beautiful. Our coordinator, Linda, was extremely friendly, organized, helpful, and professional. The grounds and facilities are amazing and perfect for an intimate wedding. The prices of their rooms and the prices to rent the facilities are very reasonable for what you're getting. The staff was extremely attentive to any concerns we had and we can't say enough about our suite. The only complaint we have is the price of the food. To have a reception or post-wedding dinner there, it is at least $75 per plate, and after taxes and fees are added it's at least $100 per plate (for the least expensive package). Since we were planning last minute we did it anyway, even though it was really not in our price range. But since we wanted to use their rooms for the ceremony and their amazing veranda for dinner, we had to. The food is good for sure, but they are tiny portions and it is certainly not $75 per plate good. That was the only drawback for us, but it is a significant drawback. Overall, we would recommend MacArthur to anyone...provided they have the money to feed all their guests.

    Sent on 12/31/2009