M.A.W.Beauty Hair & Makeup Studio Reviews

39 | Cumberland, RI
See photos, pricing and details

39 Reviews for M.A.W.Beauty Hair & Makeup Studio

Recommended by 98%

39
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

1 User photo

M.A.W.Beauty Hair & Makeup Studio 1
Sort by:
  • M

    maria · Married on 04/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Melissa and Holly are professional, creative artist and my make and hair along with my wedding part was perfection

  • B

    B · Married on 06/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the distinct pleasure of working with Melissa on a styled shoot this past Spring. Melissa was super personable, pleasant and so accommodating - fitting us in even though she has to leave later that day on a plane! What dedication! Everyone really enjoyed working with her and her team. She really helped the shoot achieve the perfect style and look we wanted! Melissa and her team are super talented and you can tell they truly enjoys what they do! The hair and makeup for the shoot was absolute perfection! Thank you so much M.A.W Beauty Hair and Makeup Studio! Cannot wait to work with you again!

    M.A.W.Beauty Hair & Makeup Studio 2
  • F

    Alisha · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's no secret that brides love Melissa and after my wedding weekend it is very clear why. She is professional, prompt, detail oriented and so talented! She made my bridal party feel and look fabulous. More importantly (at least for me) she brought a blissful sense of 'calm' to the day, which on the morning of her wedding, this bride was in DIRE need of.
    I am so glad I put my trust in the hands of this incredibly talented and capable artist!
    Thank you, Melissa! XO

  • Joella

    Joella · Married on 09/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, is all can I say about Melissa and her team! I was on a search for a new MUA for my wedding and just under a year out when I found Melissa on WW. Right from the beginning, Melissa was very responsive to my emails and questions regarding the creation of my wedding service package that included a lot of lovely bridal party ladies. Melissa followed up with me over the months and sent me a special gift for a service that I used for my hair. My first face to face meeting with Melissa was awesome. Her studio was welcoming and I felt special and not like just a client in a chair because she services her clients by appointment only. My trial with Melissa was a wonderful experience. I hardly wear makeup and was a little nervous about trying something new, but Melissa talked me through each application she did. She was very open to making adjustments to my eye makeup, which I wanted a bold turquoise and it came out beautiful. I was confused on what hair style I wanted and Melissa was able to take different aspects of styles I liked and incorporate them into one style I loved. My trial experience was excellent, so I knew my bridal party would also have just as great an experience. Her team did not disappoint on my wedding day. Melissa was prepared with a schedule for each lady and was able to collaborate with my DOC and photographer on timing. All my girls looked flawless for my wedding. Melissa and her team were there for my first look and for touch-ups when I started bawling like crazy (happy tears). She left a touch-up kit for me just in case it was needed after her team left. All of my bridal parties hair and makeup lasted all night! These girls never wear make-up either but they got so many compliments they kept their makeup and lashes on after we all changed to hang out after the wedding ended! A huge thank you to Melissa, Miranda, and Jeannette for an awesome job on a multi palette of ladies. We saw our beauty in a different light that day!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and her team are amazing! I am extremely pleased with my experience working with her to prep for my wedding. She is highly recommended!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa was incredible!!! So attentive, and was an absolute joy on my wedding day. I could not stop getting compliments on my hair and make up. Totally recommend to everyone!

  • M

    Maria · Married on 11/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa, the owner of MAW, is wonderful! The hair and makeup for my wedding day was flawless. I wanted a more natural look and Melissa could not have done a better job. My mom and bridesmaids also had their hair and makeup done at MAW and looked gorgeous. Each of us had our own style but Melissa and Jeannette catered to each of our individual needs. Highly recommended!

  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and her team are by far the best and I couldn't have been happier working with these ladies! From beginning to end they helped to make getting ready for my big day perfect. Everything from hair to makeup was stunning and both myself and my bridal party received compliments from my guests all evening. Melissa is prompt, professional, and all around the sweetest person to work with. I would highly recommend every bride to MAW Beauty!

  • R

    rimini · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so overjoyed with the services provided on my wedding day by MAW Beauty. I was planning my wedding from a distance so I couldn't meet in person and couldn't have my trial until the week of my wedding but Melissa's professional attitude and organization completely relieved any fears or anxiety I had about the process. She was always readily available by email and responded usually within 24-48hours. I had a total of 8 people needing hair + makeup and she planned everything accordingly, bringing enough staff to handle the load to make sure we all had excellent services within the timeline. She was extremely organized and I very much appreciated that she reached out to everybody prior to the wedding to find out about any allergies or preferences so as not to waste that time the day of. Everybody was so happy with her work, and it was done within a reasonable timeframe so as not to delay our first look and pictures prior to the ceremony. I had hired Melissa to stay through the ceremony so that I could have a different hairstyle and makeup for my mid-reception outfit change and I am so glad I did! She and Felisia were so attentive with touch ups during our photos and Melissa went above and beyond to help make my wedding as stress free as possible. Including adjusting my veils and my dress for pictures - she was so amazingly helpful and I am so appreciative of her attention and care. During my trial, we must have tried 10 different styles until we found the looks that I was 100% happy with - she was so receptive to make sure I was satisfied. I even used her services for my rehearsal dinner as well. She ended up doing a fantastic job on all of my looks and I am so happy that I hired her for my wedding day- I highly recommend her, she will not disappoint.

  • K

    Katrina · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and her crew did a fantastic job, and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for top-notch service for both hair and makeup! I tend to have high expectations for both my hair and customer service, and I am often left disappointed when leaving a hair salon. From the moment I met Melissa for the hair trial, I knew she would deliver strong results for the day of the wedding, and she ended up exceeding my expectations. For the day of the wedding, she took everything I liked about the hair style from the trial, and combined it with what I liked from the pictures I sent her, and she created the perfect look! And the makeup was perfect! She also did an amazing job with my mom’s hair and makeup – she looked gorgeous. We received so many compliments - even from people who don’t tend to pay attention to hair & makeup!

  • S

    Shahrzad · Married on 02/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa is very talented and made me beautiful for our wedding!

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a great experience with MAW Beauty from the very first meeting to my wedding day. Melissa was very organized from the beginning and made the getting ready process the day of my wedding stress free! She made a timeline and managed to keep us all on track without ever making us feel stressed or rushed. Her and her team came to our hotel (over an hour from their studio), got there early, and were all such professionals. I had 6 bridesmaids, 2 junior bridesmaids, my sister-in-law, and my mom pretty much all get hair and makeup done, and everybody looked beautiful!! Even my mom, who has not liked her hair when getting it done in the past was very happy with the result! My hair and makeup lasted well over 12 hours through a humid, windy day and lots of dancing, and still looked great! I highly recommend working with MAW Beauty!

    Sent on 09/23/2014

    M.A.W.Beauty Hair & Makeup Studio's reply:

    Hi Sam! Thanks for the review! I'm really happy that you had a great experience with us! You were a great bride to work with, and I hope that your wedding day was perfect! Thanks for having my team and I work with you and your bridal party! Congrats again!
  • G

    Gina · Married on 07/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking Melissa and her team was one of the BEST decisions I made for the day! Melissa and Miranda did my make-up as well as my maid of honor and the bride and groom's mom's make-up. Everyone loved how their make-up came out and we received so many compliments throughout the day on how our make-up looked so natural and stayed so well. Melissa also provides a amazing service to provide touch-ups on location before, during, and after pictures. She came with us to our picture location, and stayed with us until after the ceremony to make sure I and my bridal party still had lipstick on, wasn't shiny and looked as fresh as we did earlier in the day. If you are going to have your make-up done I highly recommend this service, especially during the hot and humid summer months.

    I had been for a couple of trials and just wasn't getting the look I was looking for. I wanted something natural while still looking great in pictures. As soon as I had my trial I knew that Melissa was it! The touch-up service she provides does provided me with the reassurance that no matter what the weather my make-up was going to look great and also gives you that "movie star" treatment that you deserve on your day.

    I would recommend Melissa and her team without a doubt to any friend or family. You will not be disappointed in her work!

    Sent on 07/21/2014

    M.A.W.Beauty Hair & Makeup Studio's reply:

    Thank you so much Gina! Miranda and I had a great time working with you, your sister, and moms. I'm glad that you were happy with the service that we provided. You were such a sweet, gorgeous, easy going bride! Wishing you and Paul so much happiness! Enjoy the honeymoon! xo
  • S

    Sandra · Married on 07/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa did hair and make-up for my daughter's wedding on November2, 2013. She did an absolutely beautiful job. She also did my make-up and hair and made me look like a beautiful mother of the bride.
    Sandra Alexander

    Sent on 07/11/2014

    M.A.W.Beauty Hair & Makeup Studio's reply:

    Thank you for the review! It was my privilege to make Tracy, yourself, and her other special attendants look even more beautiful for her wedding. She and Ricky are perfect for each other, and I'm glad that I could make her and all of the special ladies in her life look and feel their best on such an important day. Your kind works are very much appreciated! xo
  • S

    Susan · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and her team did an amazing job! You will not go wrong booking her. They provided on-site hair and makeup for myself, 5 bridesmaids and 2 mothers. We had an early ceremony at 11am and the team arrived bright and early with great attitudes ready to go. They came prepared with everything, including extra mirrors and lighting. It was amazing they were able to finish everybody's hair and makeup on time. Everybody loved their looks, and my hair and makeup turned out even better than the trial. I could not have been happier. The makeup lasted all day and night! For somebody that doesn't wear much makeup on a daily basis, the airbrush was perfect, felt light and natural and not caked on. Looked like I had flawless skin in all my photos too! I only wish I'd hired her for all day touchups. The day was a bit windy and my hair got blown with a few strands out of place by reception time. Still held up well overall.

    Melissa was super organized and professional. I never had to worry. I would highly recommend her. She makes for a stress free wedding day!

  • M

    Michele · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This experience was outstanding! The salon was a perfect setting, the team was beyond pleasant and accomodating, and the finished products were astonishing! Melissa and her team were totally calm, cool and collected and created a relaxing atmosphere for the bride, bridesmaids and moms on one of the most special days of my daughter's life. This is an experience every bride and her bridal party should encounter on their special day. No worries, no hassles, just go there and let Melissa and her ladies do the rest! Thank you so much ladies for an experience I will never forget! I felt more beautiful than I could have imagined! Without a doubt, I would recommend you to EVERYONE!

    Sent on 06/01/2014

    M.A.W.Beauty Hair & Makeup Studio's reply:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We loved having you, Lauren and the girls in the studio, and I'm so glad that you guys were all happy with everything. I hope you had a great time at the wedding!!
  • A

    Anja · Married on 10/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and one of her team members did my hair and hair and makeup for my bridal party. I cannot say enough good things about her services. She was very easy to work with and they did a phenomenal job with our hair and makeup. I had a few changes to my contract after we had set things up and Melissa was so patient with everything. The morning of my wedding, they arrived early to set up. They were fun, professional and relaxed the whole morning. I am so thankful to Melissa for making me feel so beautiful on my wedding day!

  • User2662581 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and her team did an amazing job. They did not only my hair and makeup but also my mother's and matron of honor's. We got compliments all night. I had a little disagreement with Melissa about our contract and she addressed it right away and made sure I was happy. I was very pleased and would recommend her to anyone.

  • P

    Corinne · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and her assistant provided hair and makeup for me, my mom and my bridesmaids on my wedding day a few weeks ago. Melissa was exceptionally easy to work with throughout: very accessible by email and phone, offered clear contract terms, easy consultation scheduling (and a lovely studio to boot), and extremely reasonable rates. She was on time and very professional (in both appearance and demeanor) on the day. She handled a diversity of hair and skin types (and personalities!) -- on a very steamy, humid day -- with grace and great sense of humor. I am very pleased with the service we received, and would recommend Melissa without reservation to other Rhode Island brides!

  • S

    Susanna · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and Felicia from MAW Beauty is amazing. They did such an amazing job on me and my bridal party's hair and makeup. We all felt beautiful. I can quote my matron of honor who declared "This is the best I have ever looked in my life". It was also so great that Melissa and Felicia traveled out to West Greenwich to take care of us. It really helped us all relax and allow ourselves to be pampered. Melissa played such an important part in my very special day.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My bridal party, mother, and myself used M.A.W beauty for my wedding on August 3rd, 2013. I cannot say a bad thing about her team. Melissa, Miranda and Kim came to our hotel room the morning of the wedding. All three were professional and wonderful to be around. The morning went so smoothly. It honestly felt like a big slumber party. Melissa and her team made the day more enjoyable. My hair stayed in place the whole day and received many complements. My make up was amazing. I do not wear makeup usually and she did not make me look like a different person, she made me look like me, but better.

    Melissa was amazing she even sent another stylist, Felisia, to my mother-in-law’s hotel so she could get her hair and makeup done. I loved that payment was due 2 weeks before the wedding so there was no worrying about money on the big day. Not having to worry about paying really made a difference on the stress level. I highly recommend M.A.W beauty for your bridal hair and makeup. I would not trust anyone else.

  • G

    Gizele · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa is the best! She absolutely created a miracle with my hair on my wedding day. It looked better than I thought it could, and more intricate than we discussed... just spectacular, and I got compliments all day! She is extremely talented and will move mountains for her clients and her brides!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and her team of stylists were so great to work with leading up to and the day of the wedding! I love that they come to you the morning of so that you don't have to worry about travel or stress of getting everyone to the location. I had 5 bridesmaids, myself and my mom who were getting our hair styled in our bridal suite at the hotel and everyone looked fabulous. The styling went really smoothly and the girls were so efficient and fun to have around that morning. I had so many compliments on my hair (an updo) throughout the night and it stayed up so well (even through some really serious dancing :)). Melissa was responsive, calm, flexible and so easy to work with. I've also gone to her a few times in the past year for a cut/style and love my hair cut each time she does it. I would highly recommend Melissa and her team!!

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot thank Melissa and her team enough for accommodating my small wedding on 6/22/13. I initially met with Melissa for a one-on-one consultation at the studio about 3 months before my wedding. I was nervous that I was booking them last-minute, but they were responsive and very thorough. She takes customer service to another level.

    Felicia did my hair/makeup trial and she came out to my house, bright and early on the morning of my wedding. It was a lot of fun to spend the morning with her and she did an amazing job. I wanted an elegant, but natural look for our beach wedding, and she certainly delivered. The pictures came out fantastic and I got a lot of compliments.

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa did hair and makeup for me and my bridesmaids for my wedding in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. She did airbrush on everyone and it was AMAZING!!!! I was very concerned because I had an outdoor wedding and it is very hot and humid in the Dominican during this time of year, but Melissa made us all look like movie stars even in the blazing heat. Our makeup looked flawless and it didn't smudge or smear even after standing in the sun for my ceremony. Melissa styled my hair in a side swept cascade of curls. I was afraid that due to the heat and humidity my hairdo would fall as soon as I stepped outside, but she did an amazing job, she used great products which gave my hair the appropriate amount of hold without looking stiff. My curls were full and bouncy and they stayed the entire night, even through the hot weather and night of dancing! I was so happy with the way I looked on my wedding day. I can tell that she's really passionate about what she does. She's so creative and talented and it shows in her personal presentation, the job she did on me and my bridesmaids, and even in the way she organized her tools before she began working on my bridal party. I would absolutely recommend Melissa's services to any bride, it was well worth bringing my own makeup artist from home to my destination wedding.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review