Weddings

Lucky Penny Reviews

Lucky Penny View more information

15 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 15
Sort by:
  • M
    Mel Married on 03/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everyone was dancing! The band was great!
  • J
    Jourdan Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough great things about Lucky Penny. We were honestly blown away. I first heard about Jim Hopes and Lucky Penny from my sister-in-law. They had looked at the band for her and my brother's wedding, but they were already booked on their wedding date. Then, two other friends mentioned Lucky Penny. By the third time, we knew we needed to check them out.

    We went to a rehearsal at Jim's house and were impressed with their playlist variety and sound, so we decided to book them. We knew they would be great, but we didn't understand how great. We, along with our 130+ guests, danced the night away...literally...until just after midnight. The band sounded awesome. They are all talented and professional and they cover most genres and just about every decade from the 50s to now. The dance floor was packed with guests from 3 years old to 85 years old until the very last song. Jim did a great job with our introductions and modifying the band's playlist to fit our style. Their new lead singer is fantastic. Their sound guys were accommodating and played all of our song requests during the band breaks.

    THANK YOU Lucky Penny for helping make our wedding everything we dreamed and hoped it would be!
  • User2554736 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I know a lot of couples reading this have probably gone through a dozen or more choices for a band and it's very difficult to make the choice either blind or from a few YouTube videos. It was hard for us, too. But there was no question we made the right choice. We were thrilled with Lucky Penny because not only were they fantastic, but they played throughout the night.

    Jim took the time to go over the music plan in detail with us in the days leading up to the wedding, and accepted our recommendations for down time music. But they didn't need much of it. As I noted, the band played throughout the night with few breaks and everyone at our wedding told us specifically how much they enjoyed the music. They were professional and we got everything we paid for and more. They even learned Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles theme song at my request.

    Lucky Penny was fantastic. Couldn't recommend more.
  • User1967581 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lucky Penny is the single best decision I made for my wedding. Booking a band over the internet is always risky, and Lucky Penny absolutely knocked it out of the park. They were professional, took care of EVERYTHING, gauged the crowd perfectly, and were immensely talented. I can't recommend their services highly enough.
  • User1982418 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Booking a band through the internet is always a risk. Lucky Penny delivered beyond our greatest hopes, and absolutely made sure even the most reserved guests were up and dancing. They gauged the energy of the crowd perfectly, and musicianship was exceptional. Just as important, I've never met a more professional group of musicians--we didn't have to lift a finger or worry about a thing. Their terrific sound system was set up hours early, they broke everything down and worked directly with the venue to make sure everything was in order. We can't thank, or recommend, them highly enough!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 03/01/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is an outstanding band! We had such an amazing night and created so many unforgettable memories (and videos!) Everyone had a great time dancing and singing along to the outstanding playlist/song selection. Each member, from the lead singer to musicians to sound crew really made our event special. The talent and professionalism is top-notch! They really topped our expectations and we can't thank them enough for making our daughter's wedding a night to remember!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 03/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Lucky Penny Band did such an amazing performance for our wedding at the Don Cesar Hotel in St. Pete Beach, FL! They play everything from Rolling Stones to Lady Gaga, our wedding guests did not sit down all night we were having so much fun on the dance floor. Jim Hopes was amazing, he responded to my emails and calls within a few hours and the band so accommodating to all of our requests! My husband and I live in Baltimore and did a lot of wedding planning from afar, Lucky Penny Band could not have made the process easier. I could not have asked for a better wedding band to play for us, our guests are still talking about the Lucky Penny Band, I would recommend them for anyone getting married in Florida!
  • J
    John Married on 10/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We are delighted that we selected Lucky Penny to play at our wedding at the Post Card Inn in St. Pete Beach. They did a great job from the classical guitar player at ceremony straight through the reception. Once dinner was over, the dance floor was packed for the entire night. We couldn't have been happier with the performance. I would say the same for our guests as they broke out the "One More Song" chant at the end of the night. It was a wonderful wedding and an even better party thanks to Lucky Penny. I would highly recommend them for your event!!!

    John Pfeifer
  • T
    Teresa Married on 10/06/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lucky Penny played at our wedding ceremony and reception on October 6, 2012 at Isla Del Sol Yacht & Country Club in St. Pete, FL. My husband and I truly lucked out with Lucky Penny. They are by far, the best wedding band out there!! It is always something you worry about during the days leading up to the wedding... will by guests enjoy themselves. With Lucky Penny, I didn't have to worry at all. They stole the show and everyone danced all night. I am so grateful, they made our wedding that much more amazing and fun. Thank you!!
  • D
    Donna Married on 04/28/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lucky Penny is PHENOMENAL! They made our wedding ROCK! Laine, the lead singer, is an absolutely amazing talent! She set the tone and got everybody up dancing. The men playing drums, guitar, sax and percussion have an incredible sound! Lucky Penny has 200 songs to choose from and they made them all sound fresh and new. It is the single best decision we made for our wedding!
  • S
    Susan Married on 02/25/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The band was excellent and very professional. They worked with us every step of the way and accomodated our requests regarding instruments, accoustics, playlists, etc
  • N
    Natalie Married on 10/22/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great value! Everyone loved them and Alisa is super easy to work with!
  • M
    Molly
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I were just married very recently in Sarasota. It was a destination wedding for us, so it was very difficult at first for us to select a wedding band. We searched and searched, but our search paid off - big time! The Lucky Penny was the perfect band for our vision. They were professional while setting up the event and high energy during the night of. They event let my nephew on the keyboard for a guest performance (what a treat for him and the family!). I would recommend them a million times over.
  • Janine
    Janine Married on 03/02/2013
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    If you're considering Lucky Penny - read this entire review - I can promise if you choose them for your wedding, you will not be dissappointed!
    First, I selected Lucky Penny by reading reviews from other Brides. We had a destination wedding so it was difficult to pick a band in Florida from Pennsylvania. After a great conversation with Jim, we signed a contract. A few months before the wedding, my MOH and I went to see and hear the band and I was pleased with my decision. I must say that they are a bit slow to respond to emails but do eventually respond and are eager to please. On the day of the wedding, they were all set as discussed but I have to be honest and say that the first hour of the wedding was very troubling. I sent notes and we spoke numerous times about what songs we would start with and how the timeline would work. Jim began to announce the names without lining anyone up. Then when my husband and I came out for our first song, the band played a different song for about 30 seconds which was really embarrassing. Then they seemed to just stare at me after that waiting for some kind of cue even though we had gone through the timeline several times. I was getting really worried about how the rest of the night would go until my husband spoke to them and got us all on the same page. And THEN, THEY WERE ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Honestly, the band was off the charts, everyone is raving about them still and although the first dance was a bit botched (and everyone noticed) the band MORE THAN made up for it by keeping the dance floor full for the remainder of the night. I'm very picky when it comes to music and gave them a very specific play/do not play list which they never deviated from. The music was awesome and I highly recommend Lucky Penny!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 11/08/2013
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    We were planning a wedding in Florida from NJ - we only had the internet and reviews to help us choose our music. I had been set on a band but we were very nervous being that we would not be able to hear any of the bands live before having to make a choice. Jim Hopes was my initial point of contact and he was kind enough to send us some videos so we could get a better idea. On our second planning trip we were able to come see them playing at a wedding and we immeditaly knew we made the right choice. The day of the wedding was somewhat of a blur but I do remember a lot of compliments on the music! They even busted out some instruments and let my guests and I join the band. I have a 4 year old niece who practically became a permanent member of the band that night! They were so sweet and kind to her - the ony thing that got her off the stage was the cake pops and candy buffet! All the guys were great and Laine was beautiful, high energy and fun. There was a little issue with getting them to agree to shorten our first dance songs but this was ultimately worked out. It also seems that quite a few of the songs we chose for our play list were swapped out for other tunes but we did get a lot of our picks. I would highly recommend this band and only wish we had another reason to hire them again!