Weddings

Lowcountry Wedding Minister - Dr. Clarke (Non-Denominational Minister) Reviews

Lowcountry Wedding Minister - Dr. Clarke (Non-Denominational Minister)

Lowcountry Wedding Minister - Dr. Clarke (Non-Denominational Minister)

Charleston, SC
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 18
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • Justin
    Justin J. Married on 04/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great job officiating our wedding

    Dr. Clarke did an amazing job officiating our wedding. Since we were living and had to coordinate everything from out of state and did not do a rehearsal, we did not actually end up meeting Dr. Clarke in person until the day of the wedding but he was very professional, helpful, and responsive the entire time. I highly recommend.
  • E
    Ellen Married on 10/13/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dr. Clarke was a dream come true to find! The rehearsal & ceremony were perfect.

    We were honored to have such a lovely man marry us!
  • Lisa Schober
    Lisa Married on 05/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dr. Clarke was amazing to work with! He stepped in for us at the last minute and helped us create a special and meaningful ceremony. He is incredibly kind, personable and easy to work with! We highly recommend him!!
  • User996875 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After we decided we needed to change ministers just FIVE days before our wedding, I contacted Dr. Clarke. Within an hour he responded, came over to our home to meet with us the following night, was willing to work with us and meet our needs and was so helpful during our rehearsal. He did a wonderful job at the ceremony. He turned a near disaster into a wonderful marriage ceremony.
  • C
    Kelli Married on 04/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dr. Clarke was wonderful. HE helped us make a service that was both traditional and personalized at the same time. His demeanor is very friendly but proffessional. He provided a beautiful service for us and even helped us decide the logistics of the ceremony. Also his voice reminds me of the southern ministers I am used to since childhood. Very comforting. I would definitely use him, especially if you are planning a destination wedding. There wasnt a dry eye in the house after he was done.
  • A
    Adrienne Married on 10/16/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved Dr. Clarke! He was able to give us exactly what we wanted for our ceremony, and everyone gave lots of compliments!
  • T
    Tessica Married on 09/03/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jackie Clark was an amazing officiant, she was kind, patient, fun and just a blessing to have perform our ceremony. Jordan was the photographer and I had over 500 pictures to choose from and they were wonderful. He let me make my own suggestions for the pictures but still guided us to getting some amazing shots. I emailed them several times up until my wedding and they always responded promptly. I highly recommend them. :)
  • A
    Amanda Married on 07/03/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rev. Dr. Clarke was ABSOLUTELY wonderful! My husband and I could not have asked for a more kind. generous,fun,caring person to marry us! He was very quick to respond to ALL of our phone calls and emails! He offered many GREAT packages to choose from and helped us choose the perfect one for us! His wife Jackie did our photography and it was BEAUTIFUL! When we go back down to renew our vows we will DEFINITELY call these two people! THANK YOU for all you did to make our special day even more special!
  • K
    Katie Married on 06/09/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dr. Clarke was nice to work with. He lets you make up your vows and just goes with the flow if that it what you'd like. He had different "packages" to pick from that fits you and your wedding. Definitely recommended.
  • C
    Connie Married on 05/10/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dr. Clarke officiated at my daughter's wedding at Myrtle Beach, SC. The wedding was very informal and she wanted fun and upbeat. He was all that and so much more.
  • M
    Mandi Married on 04/09/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dr. Clarke was amazing to work with. He helped us with the flow of our ceremony and even had some great site set up suggestions. Dr. Clarke worked around our schedule because we were doing a destination wedding it was important he could meet us at the times we were in town. We didn't have a wedding planner and it was wonderful that Dr. Clarke was able to step in and run the rehearsal. It put me at ease as the bride to know that the day of the wedding the ceremony would be flawless because Dr. Clarke would take care of it. Thank you for being part of our wedding! I will recommend you to anyone having a wedding in Charleston.
  • J
    Julie Married on 10/11/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    All my husband and I can say is that Dr. Clarke was wonderful. He was such a huge part of the wedding being perfect. The ceremony was so tasteful and beautifully done, while remaining intimate and personal. We highly recommend Dr. Clarke to anyone. You'll be extremely pleased with his service. We couldn't ever imagine the wedding being anything other than amazing. We can't thank him enough for the life-long memories we were given. It was the best gift ever!
  • N
    Carolynn Married on 10/09/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a wonderful and memorable wedding experience we have thanks to Dr. Clarke. We had last minute changes and he was very flexible and able to work with us to meet them. Dr. Clarke is professional and organized, answering emails and phone calls in a timely manner. In addition, he creates a relaxed atmosphere and will work with you customize your ceremony. I would highly recommend Dr. Clarke to any couple planning to wed. We were very impressed and we are so glad we chose him to create this special day with us.
  • S
    Shea Married on 09/22/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking to get married in the coastal area of SC or in Charleston, look no further! Dr Clarke is wonderful. We were married in Folly Beach September 09. We purchased the elopement package which included the ceremony, cake, bouquet and pictures. They took care of everything and it was exactly what I wanted. His wife did a great job on the pictures. Dr Clarke was so relaxed which helped us relax. Everything was perfect!
  • D
    Dawn Married on 05/02/2010
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Very prompt and helpful. Has been doing this for a long time so knows exactly what works and what doesn't. He goes anywhere to perform services and can make anyone feel comfortable. He is probably the most wanted officiant in Charleston so he books fast. Make sure you look with plenty of time.
  • D
    Daniel Married on 05/22/2010
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an idea in our heads of how we wanted our beach wedding ceremony to go. Dr. Clarke made that idea come to life. Dr. Clarke showed just the right amount of seriousness, and was respectful to us and our wedding party. His demeanor made our ceremony intimate, which is what we wanted.

    Thank you,
    Daniel & Jacquelyn Lopes
  • K
    Katie Married on 04/18/2015
    Rating 2.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    While I had a positive experience with Dr. Clarke in his officiating our beautiful wedding ceremony in Charleston, I have been disappointed with the final outcome of the package I purchased. I followed up multiple times about the status of my wedding photos, with no response at all, and when they did arrive in the mail this weekend (nine weeks after the ceremony), the photos were amateur quality at best, and not edited or touched up in any way.

    If you are looking for a simple but memorable ceremony experience, I can recommend Dr. Clarke and the musician that he works with, but I would advise to book professional photography separately to ensure you capture your special day with high quality shots.
  • K
    Kellie Married on 10/10/2010
    Rating 1.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    Dr. Clarke was wonderful as our minister... however, his wife, Jackie Clarke, was extremely disappointing as our photographer. I've had many people ask me if we 'just had a friend take our photos'. Many of the pictures were extremely dark and not professionally processed as you would expect from a 'professional' photographer. When I asked her to reprocess them or send me the RAW files so I could try to lighten them, she told me she would 'sell' me the RAW files individually for $20 each. Seriously? Don't waste your money. You can never get this day back.

    Lowcountry Wedding Minister - Dr. Clarke (Non-Denominational Minister)'s reply:

    Kellie, my apologies for your frustration. Back in 2010 the DVD with all images covering your wedding was shipped to you. We never received any concerns or complaints at the time. Sounds like your frustration is surrounding your recent request of the photographer to pull your images which have been stored for four years and resend. Feel free to give me a call and I'll see if I can't get something worked out that is fair and reasonable. Merry Christmas and Aloha! Dr. Clarke