Love At First Bite Catering Reviews

9 | Huntington Beach, CA
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Love At First Bite Catering

Recommended by 88% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

9

5 User photos

Love At First Bite Catering 1
Love At First Bite Catering 2
Love At First Bite Catering 3
Love At First Bite Catering 4
Love At First Bite Catering 5
Order by:
  • M

    Megan · Married on 02/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love at First Bite was such an incredible find! After exploring five or six other places that came back out of budget, I called Love at First Bite on a whim. From the beginning they were helpful. I live out of state so they served a sample meal to my parents when we requested to try the food. My mom fell in love immediately and Meredith helped my mom break down the menu, find other vendors, give her advice on beverage services, dance floors, and porta-pottys and just gave my mom so much peace of mind in the whole process.

    Meredith was also so responsive and helpful throughout the proposals and planning. We had been let down by other companies who just stopped contacting us or not sending revisions in a timely manner. But Love at First Bite had an open correspondence from the beginning and checked in with us at each deadline.

    Not only that, but the food was so good. We had it in our head that we would do most of the work but I'm so glad we left it in the hands of the pros at Love at First bite. They set out fruit and vegetable platters as well as charcuterie boards for the cocktail hour. For the main course we ordered the kebabs but chose the baked potato bar from another menu as the side that they had no problem doing. They also helped one of my dreams come true by setting up a late night macaroni bar that all of my guests are STILL talking about.

    Would highly recommend Love at First Bite for any and call catering needs in the Huntington Beach area!

    Love At First Bite Catering 6
    Love At First Bite Catering 7
    Love At First Bite Catering 8
    Love At First Bite Catering 9
    Love At First Bite Catering 10
    Sent on 07/06/2018
  • C

    Cynthia · event on: 03/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a wonderful experience! We work in the automotive industry which translates to a bunch of guys who like to eat! This is the first time we used a caterer for our events. We were so impressed with the professionalism of Love at First Bite. Mindy was very attentive and found a menu that would satisfy both our pallet and budget.

    We can't wait to use them in the future, they literally took care of everything. Very impressed.

    Sent on 03/23/2017
  • P

    BriAnne · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Meredith is such a joy to work with. We met for our tasting and she was so nice and had wonderful ideas! The food was mighty tasty as well. We are also had food trucks at our wedding so they were very flexible and helped us fill in the gaps so that our guest will be full and happy! I really feel like they are excited for my event. Meredith even offered to come to the venue with us to get a better grasp of the layout. Taking her time to come up to make things are perfect, is exactly the service I was looking for. Someone who knows how important this day is and has all the little details covered! They were a great addition to the party!

    Sent on 08/26/2015
  • A

    Ashley · event on: 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Team at Love At First Bite was so helpful and such a pleasure to work with. They were very professional and always willing to go above and beyond to help out in anyway they could.

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • M

    Maria · Married on 04/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love at First Bite - Huntington Beach, was the best caterer I've ever dealt with!

    First and most important, the food is amazing! We had so many compliments from our guests.

    We had a buffet BBQ style dinner at our wedding. I HIGHLY recommend a buffet in general. They did an amazing presentation and it tasted perfect, just like our trial tasting....

    The apps were plenty to go around, we didn't run out (which is often a complaint at weddings right?) The spread again, was really pretty.

    They were super professional, the waitstaff, bartenders and buspeople were all amazing, friendly & accomodating.

    A special compliment to Shelly Fronk (who assisted me as well as a "pre-wedding & day of" coordinator through Love at First Bite). If you can, work with her b/c she's fabulous.

    Sent on 04/25/2011
  • H

    Helen · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love At First Bite was great. Shelly and her crew were great. The food was good, great service, helped us coordinate everything from helpful referrals, setup, planning, arranging party rentals.....Shelly helped with all of it. Our wedding day was perfect!

    Sent on 01/12/2011
  • A

    Cora · Married on 08/23/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the best caterer ever. It more then a caterer, they did everything for me....Ask for shelly! The food was amazing. My guest are still emailing me and texting about how good everything was. They really made me as a bride stress free!

    Sent on 08/28/2008
  • M

    Maureen · event on: 08/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Love at First Bite for a volunteer recognition event with 300 attendees. Food was heavy appetizers and LAFB knocked it out of the park. The mashed potato bar alone was a huge hit, but all the food was excellent. We have skewers, sliders, cucumber cups, fruit - all kinds of tastes to allow for all different people. LAFB also handled the bars and rentals so it was a one stop shop for us. I would highly recommend them. All of our attendees raved about the event.

    Sent on 08/23/2015
  • C

    Camille · Married on 08/18/2012

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    The caterer was 2.5 hours late to our wedding and did not follow the details of our contract. Our families & wedding party had to rush to set up the entire reception during the cocktail hour when it should have been ready prior to the ceremony beginning. The reception duration was cut in half due to this huge error. The catering manager passed our family and our complaints to the owner who was unaware of many of the details and not present the day of the wedding. The owner has refused to admit their mistake and the disaster they caused.

    The stress we have experienced after the wedding has been far worse than the stress & grief we felt on the day of our wedding. There is no excuse for their unprofessionalism.

    Sent on 08/30/2012

    Love At First Bite Catering's reply:

    We are very distressed by this review; no one should have any stress added on their special day. But this review is not factual and is under dispute. I welcome anyone to ask us or please review with the BBB.
    Our contract was to supply rentals & only the hors d’oeuvres with a serving staff of two for the cocktail hour. We quoted client a full service proposal but the client chose to do their own thing. They asked our staff of two to remain afterwards and “assist” them with the buffet china service for 135, this menu service was NOT a Love at First Bite service.

    Our crew did arrive on time but inadvertently forgot a few of the linens ordered. (4 cocktail table linens and linen napkins). When we discovered this, I, the business owner, did bring them to the site personally. These items, only, did arrive late but were set up before event started. Everything else was on site on time.

    Client was to set up their own reception area but when I arrived with the late linens, it had not even been started. We were not contracted to set up reception table settings, but WE DID. I think the lack of communication came from the client and their coordinator. We were informed the week of the wedding that they had a wedding coordinator. We tried to contact her but did not hear back from her until the afternoon the day before the wedding.

    Points from this review: Crew arrived on time. But yes, 4 of the cocktail table linens and the linen napkins were late, but arrived before event time.

    The family/friends were supposed to set up reception. I do not understand why they did not set up. Only the linen napkins were late. Everything else was onsite…

    Our catering manager did inform us, the owners, and I WAS present the day of the wedding. I helped set all table settings! (This once again was not in our contract to do). We have acknowledged our mistake with the linens that were late (even though they arrived before event and we set up tables). We have repeatedly tried to work with client. Clients Mother even sent angry email over the menu meal. Once again we did not supply this! We only supplied appetizer for the Cocktail hour…

    LAFB has been in business for 30 years! We are distressed by this too.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review