Weddings

Lorraine Lim Catering Reviews

Lorraine Lim Catering

Lorraine Lim Catering

Ventura, CA
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 17 Reviews
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 17

3 User photos

Sort by:
  • Elena
    Elena R. Married on 01/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and staff!

    Lorraine and Glenn were amazing. Not only are they fun and easy to work with, but the compliments on the food at our Santa Barbara wedding speak for themselves. We had an amazing menu (steak, halibut, and butternut squash tortellini that might've taken the prize - or maybe it was the lamb chop appetizers - either way, all of it was sooooo tasty).

    We love that they worked with us on healthy, local, fresh and delicious menu - even going out of there way to do a tasty gluten sensitive tasting. And their team’s customer service, attention to detail, and two decades of experience is notable. Even their waitstaff team is incredible - a multi-generational staff that we felt really cared about us and our guests. We even got a refund at the end because our numbers were a little lower, this was completely unexpected and speaks to their incredible professionalism.

    We can't say enough good things about Lorraine and Glenn - they hit it out of the park!
  • Olivia
    Olivia Married on 01/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious Food and Kind Service

    Lorraine Lim catered our 1.26.19 wedding and it was an incredible experience. The service, food, and planning process were perfect. Glenn and Janelle were our main contacts leading up to the wedding and they were easy to get a hold of and extremely helpful. We are foodies and the menu choices were extensive. They created a delicious meal for 150 people. They also made our cake (carrot) and it got rave reviews from our guests. I will never forget the catering staff cheering us on after we got married and checking in with us throughout the night. They were so kind and genuinely cared for each of our guests. Can't recommend them enough!

  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lorraine Lim did an amazing job catering our wedding cocktail hour and dinner. Glenn was absolutely delightful to work with—kind, professional, communicative, accommodating, and knowledgeable. We had a number of guests with special dietary needs, and they made delicious custom meals for each of them at no extra charge. Several guests complimented us on the wonderful food, and many RAVED about the sage and butternut squash ravioli in particular. The staff was friendly, responsive, and seemed to enjoy our wedding evening along with us! We also ordered our cake through Lorraine Lim's bakery, and I have never tasted such delicious wedding cake (the cappuccino mousse filling was divine!). My husband and I are SO grateful to Lorraine and Glenn for making our wedding feast so special!
  • A
    Anna Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Glenn and the Lorraine Lim Catering team was SO amazing to work with!! We knew we wanted to go with them because not only was the food delicious at our tasting, but Glenn was incredibly personable and shared lots of wedding logistical tips beyond catering. Since most people getting married haven't thrown large events before, this was super helpful. We also loved the simplicity of pricing.

    At the event, they went above and beyond what I expected. The wedding was a whirlwind, but it was still obvious to my husband and I that their service and food was amazing. My uncle, a leader in the hospitality industry, was blown away and personally went up to the team to tell them how great they were doing (food and service). We selected filet, and you could cut through it with a butter knife. It was perfect. Another guest told me that as soon as she took a sip of her wine, someone would come by to refill her glass.

    Overall we are super impressed by their work and would hire them again in an instant! Great job, Lorraine Lim Catering!
  • C
    Cristina Married on 03/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    LLC was the best! They made the entire process easy, effortless and delicious for us! Glenn, Lorraine and their staff went above and beyond all expectations. Coming highly recommended, LLC was prompt and professional in all communications. They provided a wide array of menu options to choose from and helped us to build a menu to our personal taste. Speaking of taste, our tasting was such a special treat filled with fresh and creative delicacies. They really made us feel comfortable and confident in our big decisions. Their assistance with other vendors coordination was an integral piece of our overall planning. We really can't imagine having done it with anyone else. They were always attentive and available to myself the groom and all of our guests. It was such great piece of mind knowing we did not have to even think about any details the day of. Our wedding was executed flawlessly and their expertise was invaluable. Our guests were more then satisfied, from appetizers to cocktails to dinner and their wonderful idea of a "midnight snack". If your looking for the best, look no further!
  • D
    Danika Married on 05/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lorraine Lim Catering was easily one of the best wedding vendor decisions we made. Their food is amazing (people are still talking about the dinner we served!), they're reasonably priced, they worked with our budget, made incredible accommodations for guests with dietary issues, and made our whole dinner gluten free at no additional charge. Glenn is WONDERFUL. He was quick to respond to questions, responded to calls after hours, and went way above and beyond his job description. He found ways to save us money in our rental order, and when a few of our heaters didn't work during our reception, Glenn jumped in fixed them, even though they were from a different vendor, and clearly not his responsibility. 10/10 would definitely rehire!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lorraine Lim catered my wedding and the food was great! The presentation when we tasted was good but on the actual day the presentational was even more exceptional and the guests really loved the food. Glenn was also really great about letting us try some additional appetizers/entree's at a second tasting when we were indecisive about the final menu after the first time around. Lorraine was also able to create a seafood dish that I really loved, because I didn't want the more typical fish options. I really recommend the team at Lorraine Lim.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Reception food was even better than at our tasting, which was already yummy!
  • C
    Christina Married on 04/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food was amazing!! We loved meeting with Glen for our food tasting and we were even sent away with extra food! He was so flexible and fun to work with. He worked with us on dietary concerns and special requests in a professional matter. We received so many compliments about the food. The wait staff was also wonderful and friendly, very attentive, especially Eugene - he was very attentive to my husband and me throughout the night! Everything was delicious from the appetizers, to dinner, and right down to the amazing cupcakes, and bridal cake that they made special for us! We loved working with Lorraine Lim and would absolutely do it again.
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 04/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Lorraine Lim to cater our wedding on April 12th. They were highly recommended by a good friend. After our first meeting/tasting with them, we hired them immediately. Glenn was so kind, professional and experienced. They designed a menu for us that was just perfect. We had 3 different sliders, corn and poblano chile mac n cheese, sweet potato tots, a delicious salad, chicken and waffles skewers and more. All of which was served family style to 300 people!! They pulled it off without a hitch and everyone LOVED the food. The staff was just amazing, so kind, and so calm. They went above and beyond to insure our day was a dream. I highly recommend this catering company
  • User1587868 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Glenn was a dream to work with as a caterer, and his wife Lorraine sure knows how to make some Southern cooking!
    My hubby and I are from the South and wanted to do a down-home Southern soul food supper for our wedding reception. This was a tall order for a California caterer, because we are picky about our food! They were so flexible, they let us give them notes after the first taste test and come back for a second one with all of the adjustments we had made. They found pepper vinegar sauce for the collard greens (which, by the way, EVERYONE raved about!), the fried chicken and waffles was a HUGE hit (with siracha honey? Come on!), the pulled pork and slaw was probably some of the most delicious I have ever eaten in my life, and the macaroni and cheese with a crunchy breaded top? Amazing. They served sweet tea and lemonade at the beginning of the reception, and his team did a fantastic job of keeping the buffet replenished and then serving the warmed pies for dessert. It was amazing and we had several people (Southerners included!) come up to tell us how delicious the food was as they made their way for seconds.
    The fact that they let us give them notes and then went above and beyond says a lot about this team - they are flexible and want to make you happy. I can't say enough good things about them - thank you so much Glenn & Lorraine! Your food truly made the night memorable for everybody!
  • S
    Sam Married on 04/26/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lorraine Lim's staff, service, and overall experience are absolutely top-knotch! We just got married in Camarillo and we couldn't have been more thrilled with the caterer's ability to respond to our needs, match our requests, and exceed every expectation. There was not a single unhappy guest, and the same can be said for we newlyweds!

    Wouldn't hesitate for a moment to recommend this team to anyone, for any occasion!!!
  • J
    Justin Married on 09/22/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved Lorraine Lim Catering! From the first meeting they listened to what we wanted, offered ideas and suggestions and helped stay within our budget, and feed all our friends and family. The wedding was amazing and we really appreciate all their time and patience in creating the perfect menu and atmosphere from setup to bar service to dinner and clean up. The food was excellent, staff was friendly and went beyond expectations. Thank you so much for everything, the day was better than we imagined!
  • Pamela
    Pamela Married on 05/19/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Lorraine Lim Catering for our wedding reception on 5/26/12. Lorraine is the Chef and her husband Glenn is a combination business/event manager. After our ceremony at a separate location, we had our reception at my parents house. We did a cocktail hour that included tray passed appetizers, and a cheese and fruit table, followed by a buffet dinner. Lorraine and her staff were amazing! Not only was the food fabulous, but the set up was so elegant, and the service was spectacular! Glenn is on every detail, he is incredible. He handled all the furniture and dinner ware rentals. One pleasantry that my husband and I were truly grateful for was... when we arrived to the cocktail party in full swing after taking photos, we parked behind the house so we could make an entrance, and two of the catering staff greeted us with delicious appetizers - these were so welcoming, as we were starving and knew we would not have another chance to eat until dinner. All night long we kept hearing how great the food was and how wonderful and elegant everything looked. We can't recommend Lorraine Lim Catering enough!
  • A
    Anja Married on 09/20/2008
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Glenn is great to work with and Lorraine is an excellent chef. What a combo for you caterer. Everybody loved the food and was impressed with their work.
  • C
    Cristina Married on 09/25/2010
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Overall, I'm verry happy with our decision to use Lorraine Lim. The food was excellent! Service on the day of the wedding was really well done. Couldn't have been happier that day :)
  • S
    Sarah Married on 08/08/2009
    Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great food, professional service! Good value for the area.