Living History Farms Reviews

10 | Urbandale, IA
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Living History Farms

Recommended by 84%

10

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.3
Sort by:
  • J

    Jenifer · Married on 12/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenifer, Bride

    Evan was very easy to work with and always would make sure my questions got answered. They were very helpful and the location was beautiful. Highly recommend this location for a wedding.

    Sent on 12/23/2018
  • G

    Giselle · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone I came in contact with was very helpful. Evan was great at answering questions. We rented the church only for an April wedding. There was a mixup with our officiant during rehearsal and the staff member provided an alternate rehearsal time to help us. She went above and beyond. The pictures were fantastic and the prices were very reasonable.

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • L

    Linda · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in the Flynn Barn, location was gorgeous!!!! They set up the tables and chairs for us. The girl that was there to assist was just a doll!!

    Sent on 04/30/2017
  • User4091417 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were easy to work with and even though our contact changed they kept us up to date on this. I love that I was able to book a museum for our wedding.

    Sent on 05/01/2015
  • User4364802 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the visitor center at Living History Farms and it was simply beautiful. When it came time to reserve the venue the coordinator at Living History Farms was extremely helpful and responded in a very timely manner. They made our wedding day easy and stress free due to having the tables set up in advance to our request. My husband and our families we able to decorate the morning of and when I got to the venue it was wonderful and everything I imagined it would be. It had a rustic charm but with modern accommodations for guests.

    Sent on 11/22/2014
  • User2682582 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A little too ridgid wanting to shut down a party,but the place was beautiful!

    Sent on 09/28/2012
  • User4568428 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Living History Farms is an excellent place to get married at and I can't recommend it enough!! We got married at the church and used the barn for our reception and it turned out so beautiful! However, Living History Farms is not for everyone. You can't set up until after they close at 4:30 and keep in mind that the barn has no heat or air. Buuuut, if you over look those things, you won't be disappointed :)

    Sent on 11/24/2014
  • User3799961 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our wedding reception at Flynn Barn at Living History Farms. The event coordinator responded within a reasonable amount of time to any questions we had. The price is very cheap compared to other venues we looked at. Only problem that occurred was, after signing our contract in January 2013, we paid extra to set up the Thursday before our wedding in September, we found out while decorating that the barn had been booked for the Friday night before our wedding and they said we weren't going to be able to finish setting up. Luckily, the lady who had the barn rented for Friday was okay with leaving our lights up. We weren't very happy to find that after paying that extra $$ months in advance, that they weren't going to let us fulfill our contract. But it all worked out and we had a beautiful reception!

    Sent on 01/09/2014
  • Tess

    Tess · Married on 09/26/2015

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We booked this venue for both our ceremony and reception, and have had some issues. It was difficult at times to contact the event planner and we had issues with not getting a response all of the time. There are a lot of strict rules with this venue because it is a museum, so we have had to be very careful when planning to make sure we are following their rules and able to execute our ideas with the amount of time they are providing us. The original event planner we booked with was much easier to work with and much more accomodating. Once he left, the rules seemed to change and a number of things we were promised are no longer happening. I was also upset to find out one of the event planners who took over shared information and made some plans regarding my wedding with a family member who called in but was not on the contract. No one asked for my permission before sharing the information, and I found out about it after the fact.

    Despite the issues, this is a unique venue and the price is very reasonable.

    Sent on 03/29/2015
  • User2232669 · 2+ years ago

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    While we loved how everything ended up, it was a struggle to have a wedding and reception here because they are very inflexible. Their main concern is protecting their property and enforcing strict rules, instead of helping make your wedding a success.

    Sent on 09/28/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review