Weddings

Lisa Stone Photography Reviews

Lisa Stone Photography

Lisa Stone Photography

San Jose, CA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 28 Reviews
View more information

28 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 28
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • Traci
    Traci Married on 02/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa Stone is amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better photographer to capture our wedding. She has a great eye, is very professional, and extremely friendly. She made us feel comfortable and relaxed during formal shoots. She's also very organized and kept in touch with us during our wedding planning to make sure things were going well, and to work with us to create a photo timeline. We are in love with the engagement photos and wedding photos she took! We would definitely recommend her to everyone looking for a wonderful photographer.
  • M
    Melissa J. Married on 08/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible photographer

    You NEED Lisa if you are trying to find a wedding photographer. What an AMAZING experience!!! Our original wedding photographer bailed 2 weeks before our wedding, and my friend referred me to Lisa. I was freaking out and she set my mind at ease while making sure she had a very clear idea of what I was hoping for. I got ALL of the pictures I wanted and a TON of beautiful photos I didn't think would be my favorites. To be honest, my favorite photos were the ones she suggested and took of us in our front yard. The posed photos were lovely and she took such great candid shots! I can't recommend her enough. Thank you so much Lisa!
  • C
    Cynthia Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Lisa is the best!

    Lisa and her team are phenomenal. My spouse and I have been married for two years. Whenever we look at our album, it is like we are experiencing our wedding day all over again. Lisa perfectly captured the joy and happiness of the day. Side note: I am not the most photogenic person but she helped direct and pose me. Despite my awkwardness, our photos look A++
  • M
    Megan Married on 04/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa is AMAZING!! We were given her name by a fellow photographer who happened to be booked the day of our wedding. What a great recommendation that was! Lisa was everything we could have hoped for in a photographer. She was easy to work with, responsive, helpful when planning a timeline, and paid attention to every single detail of the day. Looking through our pictures we were amazed at how many moments, details, and candid pictures she was able to capture. All of them beautiful and perfect. We have pictures we can't wait to show off and are having trouble choosing which ones to frame! We would HIGHLY recommend Lisa to any couple looking for a photographer in the future, you will not regret it!!!! Thank you Lisa!
  • S
    Susana Married on 07/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa’s work is incredibly soulful and versatile. She’s not just a wedding photographer, but a skilled visual artist and storyteller. She took the most breathtaking photos for our summer outdoor wedding in Sonoma, and managed to overcome unpredictable changes in light, settings, and timing. She was delightfully calm and professional, and magically imperceptible: She found the beauty of each moment, and captured it with her camera, without any of us noticing. That is true talent!
    While going through the photo collection she put together for us, I felt each of my emotions from that day in every photo. I cried, I smiled, and giggled going through my entire wedding album, and remembering our special day shared with some our favorite people. It’s true when they say that your wedding day will go by so fast – it did. After our wedding, I was smiling ear to ear with nostalgia, and hoping we could relive it all again… Well, now, with the photos Lisa took, I can! My husband and I can relive our wedding every day!
    We will cherish Lisa’s photos for years to come. I am so glad we chose her, and as a trained journalist myself, I would recommend her to any couple looking for creative and top-notch photography!
  • B
    Berren Married on 01/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa was great! My sister found her via wedding wire Most importantly, I loved the pictures she took! She got lots of different angles and incorporated the scenery and landscape artfully. The editing she did enhanced the natural beauty. I would definitely recommend Lisa!
  • N
    Nicola Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Choosing a photographer is HARD! Especially if you are trying to work on a (reasonable?!) budget. Delighted to have found Lisa - not cheap but definitely cheaper than some of the eye watering prices I received. Having just got the photos I'm super happy - plenty of variety capturing the day and some jaw dropping ones which will immediately be blown up and framed in our house! She is professional, flexible and easy to work with beforehand and (importantly) calm on the day. I've already got tons of compliments from guests about the photos. Highly recommend.
  • M
    Maja Married on 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa was great! My sister found her via wedding wire and I later discovered that we have a mutual friend. I interviewed a lot of photographers and was impressed with Lisa upon meeting her--she came dressed professionally to our meeting and brought lots of examples of her work. I knew that her personality would mesh with a small party (37 people)--friendly but not loud. The day of the wedding was great! Lisa came early to scope out the setting. We were all running late, but she was calm and relaxed and the second photographer was great too. I felt very comfortable having her around. Most importantly, I loved the pictures she took! She got lots of different angles and incorporated the scenery and landscape artfully. The editing she did enhanced the natural beauty. I would definitely recommend Lisa!
  • M
    Matt Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa worked with us to make everything about documenting our perfect day enjoyable and perfect. Throughout the process, she was easy to communicate with- we met several times informally for coffee to discuss options and plans. She did everything we wanted for our engagement photos, including going to some new locations that she was not familiar with, and the photos turned out great. She always brought enough help to ensure she had the best lighting for the perfect shots. The guest book she made us for our special day was fantastic and we were able to pick out all of the details with that. On our wedding day, she was a pleasure to work with and worked seamlessly with the DJ and our venue coordinator to ensure all of the activities got appropriate attention. We are so happy that we found Lisa and would gladly recommend her to anyone else who wants the process leading up to their special day be be enjoyable and easy. Good luck!
  • User2487636 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Lisa's services for both an engagement shoot and for our wedding. We loved her unique artistic photography style and professionalism. Overall we were very pleased with the photos we received along with the variety of candid shots. My favorite shot was a candid one of the groom walking towards the ceremony with the reception landscape backdrop. She was open and flexible with our ideas and gave us feedback on some ideas that were unrealistic. I would recommend booking as soon as possible.
  • M
    Marc Married on 08/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Photography was the wedding must have that we decided we couldn't compromise on. We are both artistically inclined and we knew we needed to find someone with a good eye. We found Lisa through Yelp. Her watermark was on a photo of the church we were to be married in. The lighting in the photo was gorgeous and we thought it would be a plus that she was already familiar with one of our locations. After meeting and looking at more of her work, we were sold, our only concern was our budget and timeline. We are so grateful that Lisa understood where we were coming from and offered a package that we felt comfortable with. She took our engagement photos as well and it was a great way to get to know her and feel even more confident in our choice. On the wedding day, Lisa was nothing but professional. She and her 2nd photographer captured our day perfectly. We would undoubtedly recommend her to other couples. Thank you, Lisa!!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 03/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa is an amazing photographer. We did an engagement session with her along with our wedding and all of our pictures are beautiful. She captured so many moments that are priceless. I always knew that when I got married I would make sure that I had the very best photographer and for us that was Lisa. Your wedding day comes and goes so fast and you want to be able to look back at your photos for memories of that special day. Lisa is so sweet and easy going. You can tell that she loves what she does and it really shows in her work.
  • User1961330 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa is a creative and talented photographer! We are extremely pleased with our photos and highly recommend her! We can't wait to show our friends and family our wedding photos!
  • User2038715 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for a wedding photographer I HIGHLY recommend Lisa! From the first time I contacted her she was quick to respond, professional, and very flexible! She did the photos for both our engagement shoot and our wedding - this was a great way to do it because we were able to get to know her before the big day! She was able to learn our personalities, likes, dislikes, etc. She made us feel so comfortable being ourselves at all times! Both our engagement and wedding pictures came out STUNNING! She has a true talent and a great eye for the natural beauty around her. Everyone commented that they thought my photos belonged in a magazine! Aside from being a fantastic photographer, she has very affordable prices for the quality of work! And last but not least, she is so kind, sweet and easy to work with! You will not be disappointed in your decision to hire her as your photographer!
  • S
    Sophia Married on 08/02/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa, you were amazing! I found Lisa Stone Photography on Facebook. 1st I thought it might be sketchy to use a random person from facebook, but I went on her website & saw all her pics. What pretty much sold it for me was the Indian wedding she did. So many details in an Indian wed & she seemed to have captured it all. I also liked the candid shots of guests STAR 1 email - Lisa responded quickly! STAR 2 I have a busy schedule & it took time for me to coordinate a good time to meet, but she was very sweet about it! And when we did finally connect she had samples and information ready to go STAR 3 Again, our life & fam are crazy! Lisa was so great! Our engagement photos included our venue (complete w/ 2 seater golf ride) Then a fair visit to capture the place we had our first date (it included BBQ & pies). The big day which included 6 bridesmads 9 flower girls & their mothers crammed in a suite + the 3 stylists-We proceeded to the 18 hole golf course where wed & reception held 200+ guests. Lisa was great about a secret twist & also made sure she captured a special pic I asked for. She captured so many moments, that I didn't even know happened. STAR4 &5 Now we are married & have copies of our pics, we look at them weekly. Remembering a very special day & we couldn't be happier with the results. I especially like that there is no pressure to purchase a book or whatever else photographers sell. But she does have it available. We prchsd a special book & used it as a sign book @ the wedding. The USB & a set of our favs us to go back & make gifts for family as mementos of our day. To next bride- spend $ on photos-Your day will FLY by-Your photos will be the best thing U have help relive that day again & again. Like for us, it was our photos we saw more than what we experienced-Tip #1: Get the 2nd photographer!-Tip #2: Something(s) WILL go wrong - Lisa, your photographer will capture the good-everything else will be forgotten. Thank you LISA! <3
  • K
    Kat Married on 05/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa was personable, flex able and a pleasure to work with. Not only did my wedding photographs turn out to be more incredible than I could have imagined, but she made sure I got every shot I asked for! I would recommend her for anyone who loves artistic photos and wants those special moments captured.
  • S
    Stef Married on 04/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We're so glad we found Lisa and her works on Facebook. Our wedding was already beautiful but the photos she took on that special day will forever make it beautiful to remember. Lisa was very professional and I didn't had a hard time communicating my ideas because she always responds on time. During our post nuptial shoot, we kind of run out of time but Lisa was very flexible and continued with the shoot because she knows how much I wanted to have the Golden Gate Bridge at our background. I couldn't say anything more about how the photos turned out because they were just perfect! Especially our photos at San Francisco City Hall. Would definitely love to recommend her to future brides and grooms.
  • E
    Erin Married on 02/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I had the privilege of using Lisa Stone as the photographer for our wedding. I was lucky enough to find her profile on Facebook and immediately recognized her style as one that both my husband and I would agree on. I wrote to her and she responded to me in a very timely manner and provide pricing options. We then met for our first meeting and I liked her right away. She is very sweet and open to ideas as well as providing insights and advice of her own based on her experience. The day of the wedding she showed up on time and excited to shoot. I almost forget she was there because she is so subtle and quiet yet catches the most important beautiful shots. As part of our package we had a second photographer who was in another room with my husband and his groomsmen so not a moment was missed. Because of our February wedding date rain and mud was an issue so taking pictures in the gardens of our actual venue would unfortunately not work for us. Lisa had previously scoped out alternatives and we ended up at the top level of the hotel parking garage with showcased palm trees and beautiful clouds as the background. I would have never come up with that on my own. She was able to get our photos back to us within 5 weeks or so which I was very impressed with as well. Her pricing is reasonable and she was a joy to have around. I would definitely recommend her to anyone!
  • T
    Thu Married on 01/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa Stone is the best wedding photographer in the Bay Area, California. Right off the bat, I knew she was the perfect photographer for weddings. Her sample photographs on her website were gorgeous and her pricing was very reasonable. Her unique candid photo style made her stand out from other wedding photographers, as she was able to portray natural, intimate moments between couples while displaying a beautiful scenery in the background.

    My friend and I purchased an engagement photo session with Lisa Stone as a gift for our engaged friends. Our engaged friends were paying for their wedding out of their own pockets with no outside assistance and the engagement photo session was considered a luxury that they unfortunately could not afford in their tight budget. After finding that out, we wanted to help our friends and were able to slyly find out that Lisa Stone was their photographer so we contacted her immediately to work something out. She was very professional, kind and sweet, and worked with us to allow us to give an engagement photo session as their wedding gift. Our engaged friends were ecstatic after we surprised them and they said it was the best gift that they could have received for their wedding. Lisa mentioned that no one has ever purchased the engagement photos as a wedding gift before, but we highly recommend that couples use that as a part of their wedding registry somehow, because these photos are captured moments that will last a lifetime.

    We spoke to our engaged friends after the engagement photo session and they were very satisfied with the whole experience and how the photos turned out. They shared the hundreds of beautiful, edited photos with us and we helped them pick out the favorites, in which they will use during their wedding ceremony/reception. I am certain that the photos will also adorn their future new home for years to come.

    With all that said, we highly recommend Lisa Stone as your future wedding photographer. =)
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 09/14/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa is very professional , personable , passionate, punctual, skilled, and fun!
  • K
    Kathy Married on 09/14/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I hired Lisa to photograph my son’s wedding. As expected, she was courteous, professional and easy to work with; but she was more than that. She not only did the standard but creative posed shots, but she went beyond that. She captured the true essence of the day: the joy, the passion, the excitement and the happiness. It was an outdoor wedding and reception, and though we had a surprise rain shower, it didn’t even slow her down, she grabbed an umbrella and kept shooting. Towards the end of the reception, the wedding party took a plunge off the pier into the lake (in full wedding attire) and she captured it all, frame by frame, up to her knees in the water. The photo of my son and his new wife embracing in the lake, still takes my breath away. Once the wedding was over, the whole day just seemed like a blur, thankfully, we will always have Lisa’s amazing photos which captured all those special moments, and we are able share with friends and family that couldn’t be there.
  • J
    Julia Married on 08/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa Stone is the Best Photographer I have worked with!!!
  • User2358013 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa Stone's work is absolutely amazing! My best friend found her for me and I'm so happy I picked Lisa as she wasn't 1st on my list but my best friend swayed me towards her. We completed our engagement pictures at two locations. One was Ghirardelli Square and Bakers Beach. Not being a native from the Bay area, I wanted the Golden Gate as our background. The Ghirardelli Square had some many cute areas to shoot from and not to mention a wine tasting room which was another piece I wanted to work in since my husband and I enjoy our wine. The entire time she kind of disappeared, we almost forgot we were being photographed but she captured every essence of my husband and I's relationship! It took a month to receive them and they turned out absolutely amazing! I still look through them all the time! As our wedding approached I didn't have a worry in my mind that she would do another amazing job and she didn't disappoint! It took longer this time to get our pictures but it was WORTH THE WAIT!! Before the wedding we met and did a walk through of the Claremont. She did a great job going through the timeline, asking questions to our wedding coordinator, and I got scared about the timing so I asked her to come 30 mins ahead of schedule. Again, well worth the extra money to get her to come 30 mins earlier. Our wedding day arrived and she made sure we stayed on schedule and got all the pictures I requested. We had to back out on getting a videographer due to budget but Lisa really captured every little step of the wedding and reception fun. I highly recommend Lisa to any bride!! She's super sweet, very professional, and worth every cent of our investment!! Thank you Lisa as we will treasure these pictures for life!! You truly are amazing!!
  • User2485919 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa is a pleasure to work with.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 07/12/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lisa did our engagement and wedding photos. She was great! She was very responsive and answered my hundreds of questions patiently, even before we hired her. She's also very talented. After I showed my engagement photos to friends and family, many people asked if we were going to have her do our wedding too, because the photos they saw so far were so gorgeous. The style and editing she does is beautiful. All of our photos were outside, and we really liked how she used the natural features and lighting. She's also super nice and a very sweet person, so she's great to work with. Price-wise, the package had everything we wanted, and she was on par with (or less than) photographers with similar packages in the area. We especially love that we get all the high-res images she edited (HUNDREDS) on a usb.