Lippitt House Museum Reviews

5 | Providence, RI
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for Lippitt House Museum

Recommended by 80%

5

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Flexibility 3.5
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.2

1 User photo

Lippitt House Museum 1
Sort by:
  • Rita

    Rita Resende · Married on 09/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue!

    We loved our wedding at the Lippitt House Museum. The location is super convenient, the house and garden are gorgeous, and working with Kristen was great!

    Sent on 09/05/2019
  • S

    Shumei · Married on 06/02/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent for an intimate wedding. Absolutely beautiful interior and garden. They cap the people for sit-down dinner at 60, so it was perfect for us since we had 50 guests. Very nice manager and staff. I recommend adding at least an hour to your planned time frame so the wedding party can come early and prepare. The historical house museum has certain restrictions for preservation reasons, so make sure your florist and caterer get in touch with them. Added plus is they have a piano and some tables and chairs on site. We had a lovely wedding here and would definitely recommend.

    Sent on 06/04/2018
  • User6997749 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad my husband and I chose to have our reception at the Lippitt House. It was the perfect venue for a cocktail and heavy hors d'oeuvre reception. Kristen was so easy to work with. She is extremely friendly and professional and truly wants to help make your event a success!

    Sent on 02/04/2017
  • Meropes

    Ania · Married on 08/24/2019

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful Historic Venue

    The Lippitt House Museum was a gorgeous venue, and we are happy we chose it! As it is historical, it is already very decorated and we found we only needed a few activities and flowers around. We had 50 people for a seated meal, and it was perfect. Everybody had a ton of fun and with the different rooms available, we had a good time planning the flow of guests. At the end of the night, the division of rooms enabled guests to have a good time dancing in one, relaxing and talking in another, or going outside to enjoy the garden.
    There are a few things to account for that we didn't realize until right before the wedding weekend. You have to load in all of the things you will be using (apart from their tables/chairs). This itself isn't a hassle, but there is only very small window that the rental company can drop items off and keep there as it is a museum. To save the extra $150 to cater to Lippitt's drop off hours, we brought them ourselves along with the alcohol, and all plates utensils etc. After being told we could probably use the driveway on the side a few weeks before, the day of the director had blocked it with her car. There is no other easy load in area so we were left running boxes across the street.
    The other item to acknowledge, is that in the ceremony/dancing room most windows do not open. With 70F outside, the dance room got very muggy and hot and people would have to run outside to take breaks. The lights also cannot be turned off in just that room.

    Sent on 09/05/2019
    Lippitt House Museum 2
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 11/03/2018

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    A dream venue with a nightmare of a manager

    I'm a bit startled to see that this venue received 5 stars.
    I'm happy to see that others had a more pleasant experience in dealing with the rentals manager.
    We had a perfect day, however the time leading up to it was made extremely stressful.
    Not only was she horribly cold and impersonal, but she lacked the proper communication skills needed in planning any event. Along with that came an endless "book of rules" to be followed precisely,some of which were absurd.
    We had a cocktail reception, which meant no sit down meal. This venue is not accommodating to sit down receptions, unless your guest count is 50 or under.
    Please note, you have to bring in all catering, bar equipment, table rentals, etc yourselves. They do supply a handful of tables and big clunky chairs ( so big that we were told only 25 could fit in the ceremony room)so we decided to rent ballroom chairs as well.
    On our wedding day, the rentals manager barely spoke to us, did not offer us a congratulations or any positive commentary on the gorgeous decor created by our exceptional caterers and florist, and took it upon herself to creepily lurk in every room during our reception, watching us all like a hawk. Not any time was her help offered, but she was quick to point out anything that was not done to her liking. She was a total bully.
    I attribute the major success of our wedding to our vendors. It had nothing to do with her management at all.
    I would HIGHLY suggest seeking out another venue before committing to this one. It was not worth the hassle.

    Sent on 11/20/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review