Lion in the Sun Reviews

104 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

104 Reviews for Lion in the Sun

Recommended by 96%

104
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.9
104 Lion in the Sun Reviews
Sort by:
  • B

    Briana · Getting married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the dream team! The entire process from start to finish was a joy—we were sad when it was over! We worked with Jaye who navigated the fine line of guiding us to something that would look incredible but was also our vision. My father drew artwork for our invitation suite and she made him feel comfortable and gave us the confidence to move forward with our idea. Everyone on the team is wonderful to work with and you can always reach them. It was truly a pleasure and trust me when I say, you will not regret working with this group of talented professionals.

  • Hannah

    Hannah · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brilliant team

    After speaking with numerous vendors for our wedding invitations, we could tell from the first consultation that the team at Lion in the Sun had a good grasp on our style and had the resources and professionalism to produce outstanding work. They made the the entire process a breeze and were very responsive at all times. The entire team is passionate, friendly and will work with you to bring your ideas and style to the paper. After a great experience with our invites, we went back to Lion in the Sun to create our escort cards, menu cards and wedding program. We'd definitely go back to them for more projects - so happy their storefront is close to us too.

  • G

    Gabriela · Married on 07/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED our invitations! They helped us make the invitations personal, and they came out beautiful. We told them a design and some colors, and they took care of the wording and we got so many compliments about how elegant and nice they looked. We are so glad we found this gem!

  • M

    Madeleine · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lion in the Sun is the best!!! They did all of the paper for my wedding (Save the Date, invitation, escort and thank you cards) and rocked it all. Everything was beautiful and classy, but somehow not cookie cutter. I received countless compliments on it all.

    Picking your Save the Dates and invitations can be particularly overwhelming (or at least it was for me) and the wonderful team at Lion guided me through it seamlessly. I worked with several of the staff there and each and every person was warm, understanding, and incredibly knowledgeable about all of the options out there.

    Cannot recommend them highly enough!

  • M

    Martin · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lion in the Sun was a pleasure to work with. Laurel helped us translate our stationery vision into reality, with a very positive and artful hand, and kept in close touch throughout the process. She and the whole team were also refreshingly honest, not trying to upsell us — which makes a big difference, when planning a wedding. Highly recommended this charming Brooklyn business.

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lion in the Sun designed our save the dates, invitations, and day-of paper (programs, menus, escort/place/table cards), and we had the BEST experience throughout. They have dozens of books of different invitation suites and designers to choose from, from Vera Wang to small, independent companies. We worked with Laurel, who was just a dream: knowledgeable about all things paper- and wedding-related (so, the merits of engraving vs. letterpress but also invitation-related etiquette and convention), not at all pushy, great sense of style. We visited the shop several times for design meetings, but also did a lot of editing and proofing over email, which was seamless, easy, and fast. We were happy to support this local business, but even happier with the stellar final product. (For comparison, we did our rehearsal dinner invitations on the Knot -- they were fine, but the difference in quality between that and the Lion in the Sun items was wild.) We can't wait to visit again for all things paper!

  • S

    Sarna · Married on 11/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We already had our invitations but I would certainly recommend them for invitations and all paper goods. We did our day of printing with them and the programs, escort cards and signage was beautiful. They were wonderful to work with, very personal and they have an excellent selection but I recommend giving them plenty of lead time.

  • A

    amy · Married on 11/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lion in the Sun did a fantastic job on our wedding invitations. We came into the store with a vision for the suite that was quirky, unique, and ... vague. Mel, Nora, and the graphic designer did not bat an eyelid; on the contrary, they got to work and helped us clarify the package and bring it to life, with a consistent aesthetic. This involved general creativity, graphic design, and ... patience. Lots of patience. Because when you are putting together wedding invitations, there is a lot of back and forth ("should we use this font? what about this color? wait, should we put this icon here or there??!! are you sure it's okay not to spell out the date?! help!!!"). Yet Lion never made us feel that we were obsessing over the details (even though we were).

    We feel that the result is outstanding. Granted, we're not unbiased, but many of our guests have described the invitation in superlative terms ("favorite one I've received", etc.), and a very large fraction of our response cards commented on the sweetness and originality of the invitation. To sum it up: our guests seem to be fans of our invitation, and we are fans of Lion in the Sun! Sign them on; they're worth their weight in gold (but their prices are reasonable: they won't charge you anything remotely close to anyone's weight in gold).

  • L

    Liz · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was a few weeks ago. We went to Lion in the Sun for our invitations, reception signs, and wedding programs and could not have been happier with the experience and final results. Melinda was a true pleasure to work with and over the course of several meetings and discussions helped us create printed materials that truly realized our vision. She listens carefully and without judgment and at no point did I feel pressured into purchasing something more expensive than we were comfortable with. The end results were classic, elegant, and matched the tone of our wedding perfectly. Highly recommend her and Lion in the Sun -- it's also a very sweet shop and one that you will enjoy browsing and spending time in.

  • A

    Allison · Married on 10/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Lion in the Sun for custom wedding invite suite for our wedding in October 2016. Melinda is absolutely the most knowlegable and passionate stationer we came across in the process! This was such a fun process thanks to this A+ team with incredible professionalism, knowledge, experience, and awesome product. Our consultation and consecutive meetings to pick out font, review custom artwork, etc were such delights. I had lofty dreams and specific interests when it came to our wedding invites. Melinda helped us to design exactly what I wanted, and with incredible value! Prior to stumbling upon LITS, we had consulted with high end stationary chains that offered us much less flexibility (essentially 0 flexibility) at high ticket prices. PLEASE realize that you need not be confined by the restraints of typical invitation shops! 'Custom invites' are not stock invites with your individual event information plugged in. Custom invites are what Lion in the Sun can help you bring to life.
    I passionately recommend that you visit LITS storefront and work with them to make your wedding invitation dreams come true!! In the mean time, check out their awesome instagram @lioninthesunPS to see some of their beautiful invitation work and fun store front retail merchandise!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ordered our Save the Dates and wedding invitations through Lion in the Sun and are SO happy we did. Mel worked with us to create a unique and beautiful save the date, which perfectly nailed what our vision was and suited our wedding venue (Gurney's in Montauk, NY). Mel also helped us create elegant wedding invitations that absolutely blew us and our invited guests away. Mel was patient, professional and responsive, and gave us so many good ideas and excellent guidance throughout the whole process. I would love to work with Mel again! Thank you for everything!

  • A

    Angela · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The quality and elegance of our wedding invitations fit the regal quality of our wedding venue and ambiance for the night. Nora was so helpful for us and was very patient when we went back and forth on a lot of ideas. We couldn't quite put what we wanted in an easy to decipher way but through the proofs and visits, the final product was perfect! In the end we received many compliments when people started receiving them.

  • A

    Anna · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mel and her team were amazing to work with! After a very thorough initial consultation, Mel immediately got our concept and her designer, Ella, translated our vision into a gorgeous custom Save the Date, which set the tone for our entire wedding suite. Our guests were blown away when they got our invites in the mail. Mel was very accommodating and went out of her way to explain all options to meet our budget, help us with etiquette questions, and find the right balance between traditional and whimsical. We will be Lion in the Sun clients for life!

  • L

    Leyda · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very knowledgeable staff. They take their time to understand what you want and make it happen. My fiancé and I love our invitations and are sure our guests will too.

  • User5403647 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with the lovely folks at Lion in the Sun in Huntington before it closed on our wedding invitations and we know that the Brooklyn shop carries the same beautiful products. We were able to customize our simple and elegant letterpress invitations - something we weren't able to find anywhere else. We would definitely recommend Lion in the Sun!

  • User5608682 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lion in the Sun was amazing-the invitations were gorgeous and of the highest quality. The order was delivered in a timely fashion (I ordered my shower invitations as well as my wedding invitations from them) Mary was the greatest to work with-I LOVE her and Cathy was the calligrapher-her work is awesome. I can't say enough good things about this store, their selection and the service. I felt very comfortable being in the store-it was warm and friendly, just like the people who work there!

  • User5330032 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married last month and thank you to Mary for making our invitations preparation seamless. This lady knows her business, listens to he clients, shares her expertise and vision and the end product just works! She was honest and calming for a nervous bride and shared very helpful tips.

  • User6432925 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we went with Lion in the Sun for our wedding invitations & printing. Mel and the rest of the team were wonderful and very patient with us. The have wonderful attention to detail and met all of our deadlines. Everything came out beautifully. I would absolutely work with them again.

  • User5339817 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved our stationary from Lion in the Sun! Our invitations were beautiful, and it was so easy to work with them. We got programs and escort cards from them too. We loved the personalized attention, and we loved the look of the product. They were very accommodating.

  • G

    gabriele · Married on 06/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I received so many messages about how beautiful my invitations from Lion In The Sun were. I gave the ladies my budget, they stuck within in and were not pushy at all. They were very helpful, and I asked for their opinions and they gave them. After I picked my invitations, they were super responsive and helpful via email during the ordering process. I was kind of slacking on getting the wording to them, so they kept giving me gentle reminders in a supportive, not critical way. I worked with Cathy and Michelle, and they were so fantastic! My twin sister is now working with them for her wedding, and she is equally as pleased. I highly recommend this vendor.

  • Luisa

    Luisa · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I *love* Lion in the Sun! I will be a lifelong customer because they were just that awesome for all of our wedding printing needs.
    The staff are very helpful and friendly; I worked with Danielle who was always just an email away. She worked with me from Day One and really listened to what my fiancee and I wanted; she always found samples and images that were perfectly in line with the look we were aiming for. We were able to have our return envelopes printed in-house and they did an amazing job of matching the script to our invitations.
    After a mishap with some water (keep all liquids away from you when you're mailing your invitations!) I found myself short on reply cards and envelopes. Danielle went above and beyond to contact the printing company to see if we could get an extra set sent to us ASAP. We were able to get a new set rushed to us and the invitations went out with little delay.
    When we received our invitations, I was so in love with them that I kept the sample copy in my purse so I could look at it whenever I wanted. The feedback we received from our guests was equally enthusiastic; one of my bridesmaids works in advertising and said she had a "design-gasm" when she received her invitation.
    In addition to our invitations, we had the following items made through Lion in the Sun:
    - Welcome Postcard for our hotel welcome bags for guests (again, Danielle helped us pick the perfect image)
    - Table and Escort Cards for the Reception
    - Menu Card
    - Guest Book: again, Danielle helped us with this one. My husband and I went in the store and mentioned we were thinking of getting a map of Brooklyn for our guests to sign in lieu of a book. Danielle helped us find the perfect map, matched the script on the map with our invitations, and added a gold heart over our venue. We absolutely love it and now we have a beautiful reminder of our wedding day.
    Added bonus: the store is dog-friendly. We always receive a warm reception for our pup Watson! LOVE!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys are great. Victoria in particular really made our vision come alive. She was creative yet responsive to our own ideas, and she really made a coherent, chic look for our paper goods. We did both invitations and day of (menus, programs, little signs) and they were all stunning. In every step along the way everyone at Lion was helpful and creative. They will sit down with you and look through scores of ideas until you find the one you love. Then, they will help you continue that vision in every little detail. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

  • User4520607 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough positive things about the staff at the Lion in the Sun! The staff is very knowledgeable about proper etiquette and helped to make our invitations, programs and place cards look their best.
    We used a design from Kleinfeld Paper, and Kleinfeld made major errors at every turn (like leaving off the apartment numbers on ALL of our invitations). But, the Lion in the Sun took care of everything so that we wouldn't be stressed before our big day, including hand calligraphying a few of the erred envelopes at no charge, and having our envelopes reprinted in a timely manner. Meredith and Cathy were the two main staff members at the Lion in the Sun who we worked with, and we appreciate all of the work that they did to help us! I highly recommend working with Lion in the Sun!

  • User3236051 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVE Melinda, Victoria and the rest of the staff at Lion in the Sun! I really enjoyed the process of picking out my save the dates and wedding invites with the help and expertise of Melvindale and Victoria. Their knowledge of everything paper is extensive and it really made me fall in love with stationary. Any Brides in Brooklyn or NYC looking for the best service and a wide range of Wedding stationary, should definitely stop into Lion in the Sun

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review