Lewis Hizer Photography Reviews

46 | Comstock Park, MI
See photos, pricing and details

46 Reviews for Lewis Hizer Photography

Recommended by 99%

46
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis was great to work with! It seemed like he was everywhere and captured so many great moments. He was with us for a long time and gave me more pictures than I had anticipated and I got them back very quickly.

  • C

    Christian · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Lewis Hizer! I could not have asked for a better photographer!
    My outdoor wedding happened to fall on a rainy day, but Lewis was still able to take hundreds of GORGEOUS pictures!!
    I am so thankful! Our pictures will be cherished forever!

  • kristin

    kristin · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis is so wonderful! When we first started searching photographers for our big day, we almost choked when we saw the average cost! I noticed how reasonable Lewis's fees are and how great his photos were, and contacted him immediately. He was quickly responsive to any and all questions, offered great advice on makeup and photos to have done - he is a quiet, thoughtful, and artistic man who clearly is passionate about what he does. He was the perfect calm during our wedding day whenever I was NOT. :) We're so excited to see the finished product, and are confident we'll be thrilled! Thanks again Lewis!

  • M

    Michael · Married on 07/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis was fantastic. Extremely creative and incredibly patient. We did pictures in three different locations, and while the day was getting late Lewis was willing to continue taking pictures long after my patience had run it's course.

    If he's available, then book him right now. If he's not available, then change the date of your wedding. Lewis is your man.

  • User6037827 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis was great to work with from the start. He didn't just tell us the services he offered, he told us about his philosophy on photography and what he tries to capture with each wedding.

  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Lewis for our wedding in May. We (along with our guests) were very suprised how well he covered the wedding all on his own, he was everywhere and got every moment. He would scope out picture opportunities before grabbing us so we didn't have to miss out on the action of our event.

    The pictures are stunning. Some look like actual paintings!

    I look through them still almost everyday, Lewis did a fantastic job!








  • User5160154 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husbands family introduced me to Lewis originally for our engagement photos and I am very pleased that they did. He was prompt for the session, capture the perfect lighting with each photo and his price even included a cd of all the pictures he took. His creativity and eye for detail will not disappoint!
    It wasn't hard to decide on a photographer for our wedding, especially knowing Lewis, and he once again surpassed our expectations! The images are priceless, capturing the emotions of that day and special moments that would easy be foegotten if you didn't have such a dedicated photographer. We can't wait to receive our cd, which is already on its way and our wedding was only 1 month ago! Thank you Lewis!

  • M

    Melanie · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Lewis via an online search and we are certainly glad we did! Lewis was a pleasure to work with and was extremely helpful and accommodating. Lewis took our engagement and wedding photos and was attentive while listening to what we wanted from our photos. He really went above and beyond in terms of the time spent taking photos at our wedding, as well as the number of photos he took. He arrived at approximately 11:00 a.m. and left at 10:30 p.m. and took a multitude of pictures prior to our ceremony, at our ceremony, at outside locations and at our reception.

    The photos we received look great! Lewis takes time when editing photos and often provides variations of the same photo. You receive a DVD with all of your photos so you can print those you choose and have them for future viewing and use. His pricing is extremely reasonable as well and we would highly recommend him for any of your events!

  • User3703410 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing... Simply amazing! Lewis is so talented and he is truly meant to be photographer! His attention to detail and his creativity with each photo is unless. Example: When it became dark outside the night of our wedding, he took a sparkler, lit it, and ran around us while the camera was taking photos! It created a spiral of light/sparkle showcasing us in it! We wish you could of seen the final results! It looked like something from Beauty and the Beast! It was simply incredible! We can't stop looking at our photos!

    He was with us for almost 11 hours and every picture we asked him to get, he got! He went early to the Reception Hall, the morning of our wedding and shot photos before anyone got there. He met up with the us, a short while there, and shot photos of the girls getting ready and I (bride) felt like a movie star. :) He was always in the right place at the right time! He is so sweet, humble, and so much fun to visit with. We never worried once about the photos, because we knew Lewis would make them perfect and he did. We would recommend Lewis to EVERYONE! Stop looking and book him now before it's too late!

    Lewis- Thank you again for all you did for us! We loved working with you! You are truly the best!

    K and R

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very detail oriented. Courteous and very professional.

  • User4433222 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I did my research and found about 8-10 photographers in West Michigan however none of them could compare to Lewis' prices. One of my co-workers had used Lewis so I thought I would meet him and see what he had to offer. He spend hours in the initial meeting with my fiancé and I showing us his portfolio. Lewis is out of Grand Rapids but was willing to travel to the Lakeshore for a $25 fee, even my hairdresser cost more than that to travel to Muskegon!! We wanted beach photos (typical West Michigan Wedding) and he already was mentioning spots that we could go and showing us beach photos that he had done. For an extra $100 Lewis also did our engagement photos, and boy were they worth it!!! The Sunset photos on the Beach were positively dreamy.

    I have not ever been as pleased as I was with my wedding and engagement photos. Lewis spent all day with us the day of the wedding, he was extremely creative and he spends so much time on the photos after the wedding, retouching and perfecting them. Many other photographers change extra for retouching but not Lewis, he really has a magnificent eye and a creative mind. I would recommend Lewis to any/everyone I meet! No one will take the time with you like Lewis does!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis was absolutely outstanding. While we have only seen a portion of the photos he took on our day (it was only two weeks ago as I write this review) the photos we have seen are stunning. We had a beach wedding which could prove to be somewhat difficult with
    Lighting, etc. Lewis knew exactly how to handle the elements, and even told the chair rental people how to position the guests seats for the ceremony.

    What's more is Lewis seemed to be everywhere all at once, while not feeling at all intrusive. Several of my guests commented on how wonderful it was that he seemed to snapping away the whole time he was present, which for our event was around 10 hours.

    Importantly to me Lewis really really knew what he was doing and that was obvious as he worked. Furthermore he was super friendly, accommodating and quite a pleasure to work with. My husband and I have already had conversations of trying to come back out to the west side of the state and take beach photos of our first baby with Lewis-- if that s any indication how much we liked him-- and I'm not pregnant, lol! I would absolutely 100% recommend Lewis, he was wonderful, and I am so pleased we decided to go with him!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My pictures turned out great! Very happy! Pricing was really good.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding the perfect photographer for our wedding was very important to me, I spent hours looking at different photographers pictures and Lewis Hizer's really stuck out to me. During our wedding day he captured all the emotional little moments without being obtrusive - most of the time I forgot he was there taking pictures! He is really smart with a camera and edits the photos to perfection. I could NOT have asked for a better photographer, we continue to get so many compliments on our pictures and I am happy to recommend Lewis to anyone who is looking for a photographer! I hope to use him again in the future for family photos. He is also extremely reasonably priced, especially considering the great work that he does! I would not have been happier with any other photographer.
    Thanks Lewis!
    -Katie

  • E

    Emma · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis Hizer paid such great attention to detail & you hardly ever noticed he was there. Unlike other photographers I've experienced at other weddings, he was not in your face constantly asking for you to strike a cheesy pose. I love all my pictures & the excellent quality they have. Would definitely recommend him to my friends & family!

  • C

    Cassie · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely love our photos and working with Lewis. Lewis is not only a talented photographer, he is also a very kind and generous person. I do not consider myself to be photogenic, however Lewis was able to transform me. We had a 'non-traditional' wedding. He was able to capture the true feeling and very essence of the moment with every shot. His eye for detail and ability to capture the atmosphere of the event is a talent unlike I have seen before. His prices are extremely reasonable and his work professional. I would highly recommend Lewis to anyone!

  • User3121540 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Lewis did our wedding reception photography. His work was wonderful - everything we could have hoped for in a photographer. We definitely recommend him!!

  • T

    Tabitha · Married on 07/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis is an amazing photographer. He captured our memories for two whole days of wedding and reception. I would highly recommend him to anyone for any photography needs. I hope to have him do photos in the future for my family.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVE our photos! From speaking with him on the phone the first time to picking up our pictures just 3 weeks after the wedding our whole experience was great and we knew from day one we were making a good choice! Lewis is incredibly knowledgeable and detail oriented when it comes to photography. He was extremely thorough when taking the pictures and editing the pictures. We had a few specific photos and "poses" we wanted and he easily duplicated what we requested. It was also very reassuring to know that he has a lot of back-up equipment as well. Of all the choices we made for the wedding I am the happiest with the choice to go with Lewis Hizer Photography.

  • K

    Kirk · Married on 11/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can we say? Our perfect score of a 5.0 says it all. Lewis Hizer Photography is everything we could have asked for, and more. The responsiveness to all of our needs, the unique photography visions, and the overall attention to detail were incredibly well captured by Lewis.

    Lewis took the time to listen to each and every idea, request, and thought that we had, including requests from our wedding guests!!!

    His pictures are perfect!!!

  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis traveled all the way to St. Louis, MO to do our wedding/handfasting! I wanted him because of his artistic eye in composing his beautiful pictures, compared to a lot of other photographers' styles that I had seen. Our pictures are wonderful--I'm having a hard time deciding which ones to choose for our album! SO MANY to chose from! And if you look at his previous albums, you'll see he is fantastic and very imaginative with Photoshop!! I'm an older bride, and he was able to smooth out a lot of my skin "imperfections", lol! He does amazing things with scenery and surroundings, too. It seems like he can do ANYTHING with a picture! I highly recommend him for ANY photography venue, not just weddings!

  • A

    Alli · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis did an amazing job at our wedding this past August 10, 2012. He was extremely attentive to detail and has a great eye for all things artistic. He was prompt in answering emails and questions and was able to work with my ideas of the types of photos I wanted. During the wedding ceremony he was able to capture all the important moments--I don't know how he did this because I never noticed him taking one picture, he is very good at becoming invisible. He is extremely affordable for the quality of service he provides. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer. He also does amazing landscape photography! What a talented guy! Thank you Lewis!

  • A

    Alyx · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis has done my two cousins and my wedding. Amazing job and unique for each one!

  • User4646409 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lewis was absolutely amazing- did an excellent job!! He has done many of our friends' weddings and has always exceeded our expectations. Love his work and would recommend him to everyone!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 12/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding photos that Lewis completed for us are absolutely LOVELY! I am sooo glad we got a photographer with such skill. He has an eye for making everything so beautiful and artistic.
    I also LOVE the wedding album he made for us! It completely brings together the wedding I dreamed about since I was a little girl!
    Thank-you so much Lewis Hizer!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review