Lavender Leigh Photography Reviews

38 | Pittsburgh, PA
See photos, pricing and details

38 Reviews for Lavender Leigh Photography

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

38

10 User photos

Lavender Leigh Photography 1
Lavender Leigh Photography 2
Lavender Leigh Photography 3
Lavender Leigh Photography 4
Lavender Leigh Photography 5
+ 6
Order by:
  • Nicole

    Nicole and Chris · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'll start this review off by saying that picking Leigh to photograph our wedding was one of the best decisions my husband and I made during the planning process. When we stumbled across her blog online, we were captivated by her images and ,and had a feeling she was "the one" as far as wedding photographers go! When we spoke with Leigh on the phone and found out how friendly and warm she is, we immediately contracted with her for our engagement photos and our wedding. We weren't sure exactly where we wanted to have our engagement photos taken, but after we communicated our vision to Leigh, she came back with the perfect location recommendation. From the moment we met her, she made my husband and I feel comfortable. Shooting with her is like shooting with an old friend! On our wedding day, Leigh and her second shooter (her husband, Barry) were an absolute dream. In fact, I had guests approaching me about them, asking for their contact information. They were everywhere we wanted them to be on the wedding day, working diligently, paying attention to the smallest details and were both so upbeat and personable, moving seamlessly amongst the guests to get unforgettable shots. And, of course, the images I have gotten back so far are breathtaking. My husband and I keep saying how we need more excuses to take pictures so we can hire Leigh again (I'll hire her for a boudouir session soon for sure). Don't bother looking anywhere else--call Leigh right now and hire her as your wedding photographer! After all, it isn't every day that you find a photographer that is not only incredibly talented, but also super fun and pleasant to be around!

    Lavender Leigh Photography 6
    Lavender Leigh Photography 7
    Lavender Leigh Photography 8
    Lavender Leigh Photography 9
    Lavender Leigh Photography 10
    Lavender Leigh Photography 11
    Lavender Leigh Photography 12
    Lavender Leigh Photography 13
    Lavender Leigh Photography 14
    Lavender Leigh Photography 15
    Sent on 05/09/2018
  • M

    Molly · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh and Barry were so amazing to work with. The went above and beyond to get all the amazing shots. They were very organized on our wedding day and kept us all moving! The pictures turned out better than I could have ever dreamt of! I would HIGHLY recommend Leigh to any bride!!!

    Sent on 11/16/2017
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh was absolutely amazing throughout the entire process! She was so responsive and organized and she had such a great eye! We never felt like a number when we worked with Leigh, she took the time to get to know us and we think the photos were more laid back because of it. If you are looking for a photographer who is top of the line and truly loves her work then you honestly shouldn't look any further. Leigh is the real deal and she makes the day so easy and fun!

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • A

    ashley · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband, Matthew, and I worked with Leigh for our engagement and wedding photos - and we couldn't be happier! The quality of her work is unmatched! She is very passionate about her work and she was able to make use feel at ease during all of our photo sessions (which is quite an accomplishment, since neither of us are photogenic). :-) Throughout the past years we have been in constant contact with Leigh and she was incredibly easy to communicate with. Not only did she understand our personal style, but I never had to wait to hear back from her. Even if it was a silly question she was eager to help. Most importantly, her quality of work. My family and friends cannot believe had beautiful her photos turned out! For the engagement photos, she shot our photos at several locations on Mt. Washington and for the wedding her and her husband did a wonderful job shooting photos at St. Stanislaus Church and areas around the Strip District. In the end, I highly recommend working with her for your special day!

    Sent on 07/29/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh and Barry were amazing to work with! My husband and I can't even begin to describe how happy we are that we chose Lavender Leigh as our photographer! We had a sample of our photos within a few days after the wedding and all of our photos three weeks after we got back from our honeymoon. We were so happy with Leigh and Barry's warm and energetic personalities on the day of the wedding and our photos turned out amazing!! They truly went above and beyond for us!

    Sent on 06/05/2016
  • User4859296 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was absolutely Enamored with our wedding photos!! Leigh and her husband Barry made our already perfect wedding day even more memorable by being so flexible of the photos we wanted and especially since it started raining in the middle of our photos! They were so great to work with and our photos look better than others who charge double the price. I would truly recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 05/08/2016
  • User4466082 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh and Barry are so fun and easy to work with. Truly made our wedding day unforgettable and perfect!

    Sent on 10/25/2015
  • User4638513 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh and her husband Barry are WONDERFUL! First, their final product can't be beat. I've had many people describe our wedding photos as some of the best they've ever seen. Leigh and Barry do a great job of capturing the emotion of a moment. Second, Leigh and Barry are kind, genuine, and easy people with whom to work. Leigh was always very responsive to my emails, questions, and requests. During the wedding, I hardly noticed them taking photos, which was really great because I have been to many weddings where the photographers are very noticeable and intrusive. I absolutely recommend them.

    Sent on 10/07/2015
  • W

    Wendy · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talented....artistic...keen eye...kind...warm....friendly....organized....thoughtful....these are just a few of the adjectives I would use to describe Leigh Nelson of Lavender Leigh Photography! From start to finish, Leigh was wonderful. It's refreshing to meet professionals who are truly passionate and talented. Leigh was able to capture the joy in myself, my husband, and all of our family & friends. As of today, I have only seen a sneak peak of her photographs via her blog. I was going to wait to provide a review until after we have received our all of the images, but I have no doubt they will be amazing! I wanted to get the word out quickly...if you are looking for a photographer, Leigh is your girl!

    Also, I can't leave out Barry Nelson, Leigh's talented husband! :) They are a great pair!

    Sent on 08/28/2015
  • TwoBeas

    Daniel and Brittany · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh and her husband Barry are the BEST! We used Lavender Leigh for our 7/25/15 wedding in Pittsburgh, PA. From everything pre-wedding through the actual day, they were amazing! Leigh was very responsive and helpful throughout the whole wedding process! She was always able to answer my questions and responded quickly! Leigh is very knowledge and was able to offer suggestions about photography locations around the city. She worked with me on the wedding timeline and was very flexible with certain things we wanted captured on the actual day! Leigh and Barry arrived on-time and immediately got to work! They never slowed up the whole night! They made sure we got all the photos we wanted and took a hot and grumpy groom who was over picture taking in stride and never got frustrated! Leigh was great at suggesting posing and working with different angles to get some really great shots of us around the church where we got married. Leigh has a great eye and the photos turned out BEAUTIFUL! I could not have asked for a better wedding photographer to capture our special day! I would definitely recommend Lavender Leigh Photography to any of my friends and family needing a GREAT photographer! Leigh is so kind and respectful and made sure we had everything we wanted while braving the heat and humidity of a July wedding! She is overall awesome!

    Sent on 08/06/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot begin to describe my experience working with Leigh and Barry or my love for the images they captured of the most important day of our lives. Upon our first meeting, my husband and I knew that Leigh was the perfect photographer to spend our day with. She was so willing to answer our questions, and wanted to know all of the details we had planned for the big day. Leigh was organized and took all of the worry about of planning pictures and locations. She provided great suggestions for our engagement shoot, and scouted out the location of our wedding portraits to make sure they were perfect.

    Leigh and Barry walked into a house full of ladies, hairspray, mimosas, make-up, and sparkle - and made themselves right at home exploring our house to take pictures of our wedding details. They were flexible with our timeline and although we ended up behind schedule, there isn't an image they didn't capture. They even stuck around extra to grab some more photos of my family and friends dancing and our wedding guests.

    I knew that Leigh was good, but when I got the proofs of my images, I was in awe. Every single image is beautiful. When our wedding package arrived with our digital images, it further solidified that I had made the perfect choice. Our wedding USB is gorgeous (yes, a USB can be pretty!) and the attention to detail in the packaging and gifts that Leigh gave us were so sweet and thoughtful.

    Leigh and Barry really are a dynamic duo, and I couldn't have picked a better couple to spend our day with!

    Sent on 09/28/2015
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh has an amazing eye for detail and a truly talented way of capturing natural beauty !! Her photographs are not only STUNNING but also tell a story. Her photographs are artistic pieces that reflect who she is, and how each of her clients would like to be represented. I would HIGHLY recommend Lavender Leigh to capture those forever moments, of your special day.

    Sent on 07/09/2015
  • User4170029 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Leigh (and Barry her husband) for our wedding and also for our engagement photos. I have never got so many compliments in my life! Our wedding and engagement photos look like they should be in a magazine. Leigh truly has an eye for detail and finding the perfect shot. She is extremely talented and easy to work with. It is very easy to put your trust into them both to make sure that every special detail is captured. You can tell they were familiar with the areas where we photographed and listened to what we wanted. Every piece of emotion from our wedding day is captured in our amazing photographs. Check out her blog! You will see how wonderful her work is!

    Sent on 08/06/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I live out of town, so finding vendors for our wedding was a bit of a challenge. I was thrilled when I found lavender Leigh! Leigh and her husband are not only awesome photographers, they're amazing people. I felt like they were good friends that we had known for years. The pricing is very reasonable for the product. She always got back to me quickly whenever I had questions or concerns and she worked with me to ensure my satisfaction. I will definitely use her again if I can.

    Sent on 07/16/2015
  • User4125115 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh and her husband Barry are awesome photographers. They're very laid back and flexible. I'm recently married and o my have seen a preview of my photos so far and I love them! I can't wait too see the rest. I would definitely recommend them to any bride.

    Sent on 05/27/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect! Leigh and Barry Nelson from Lavendar Leigh Photography were perfect in every way. For starters, they are both very good looking and therefore quite easy to smile at! :) All kidding aside, they are professional, thorough, hard-working, organized, and talented. Leigh was extremely helping in working with me to develop the timeline for the wedding day, and she was an excellent resource to bounce ideas off of. During the Ceremony, Leigh and Barry did a fine job capturing the key moments. Leigh has a great eye for lighting, scenery, and angles. Also, after the formal pictures, she checks her camera to make sure she has a good shot with everyone's eyes open. I can't wait to see the whole suite of photos she and Barry took, but the "previews" I've seen so far are stunning. BOOK LAVENDER LEIGH PHOTOGRAPHY FOR YOUR WEDDING! Five stars!

    Sent on 04/29/2015
  • D

    Dana · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh Nelson of Lavender Leigh Photography recently photographed our November 8th wedding at St. Malachy’s Church and our reception at the Montour Heights Country Club. Leigh and her husband, Barry were fantastic! They were very professional and organized. Leigh is a talented photographer with a great eye for detail. She beautifully captured the emotion of the day as well as some very special moments between our guests, my husband and me. Leigh helped provide direction for our wedding day with suggestions regarding timelines and photographic moments to consider. Leigh was also great at helping to keep one very nervous bride calm during the pre-wedding photos and with directing our family for post-wedding shots. Leigh and Barry were wonderful to work with and we were very pleased with the beautiful photos of our wedding. I would (and have) recommend them gladly to anyone searching for talented professional photographers.

    Sent on 12/31/2014
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 10/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh and her amazing support staff did such a wonderful job capturing the essence of our wedding -- amazing formal pics and such great "action" photos. They were super accommodating to the "free flow" of the wedding professionally and with personal candor. Everyone involved in the wedding who has seen the pictures has been SOOO IMPRESSED. Incredible work, my whole (now extended) family keeps raving about how wonderful the photos are, and are framed in many a household in our family.

    Apart from the event proper, the post-facto retouching and image enhancement is fabulous.

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND LAVENDER LEIGH to EVERYONE!!

    Sent on 12/23/2014
  • User4373299 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh was absolutely the best vendor with whom we worked in planning our October wedding. She is the ultimate professional with impeccable customer service. I never had to chase Leigh down (as is so common with other wedding vendors!) -- she was always on top of every detail and is an extremely proactive communicator. It made everything so easy!
    In addition to her professional approach to her job, Leigh (and her co-photographer and husband Barry), is so much fun to work with! She is pleasant, creative, inspiring, thoughtful, and consistently goes above and beyond to make sure you are happy. They are a powerful team!
    As amazing as Lavender Leigh is in all of these respects, it is her talent that's her true shining star. Leigh has an eye for detail, lighting, texture, and composure with a technical skill to match. It's such a rare combination to find someone so gifted in what they do who is also such a joy to work with... She offers suggestions based on her expertise, but is also flexible and accommodating with all the variances and unexpecteds that a wedding day can bring.
    Our wedding photos are absolutely GORGEOUS! Honestly, I can't even tell you how many times someone asked me for the name of the photographer, or commented on how they wished they had known of Lavender Leigh when they got married, so lovely, creative, and unique were the photos. I am just having trouble deciding which ones to frame now, because they are all amazing!
    Leigh is wonderful and I would use her again a thousand times to photograph any event!

    Sent on 12/24/2014
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Lavender Leigh Photography, because we didn't have to work! Leigh is an incredible woman; she is creative, energetic, professional, and delivered unbelievable photos for our engagement photos and wedding photos. She made everything completely stress-free for us, which is exactly what you need during the hustle and bustle of the big day. Even my husband admitted that hiring her was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. She is worth every penny, and I would recommend her to any couple for any wedding style. I seriously can't say enough good things about LLP!

    Sent on 12/26/2014
  • K

    Kelli · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was planning my second marriage (1st wedding) and found Leigh on-line. We planned on holding our wedding outside in a courtyard in downtown Pittsburgh with the reception at Eddie Merlot's afterwards. I had a hard time finding a photographer who would just film the ceremony and reception (I didn't have bridesmaids, etc. and didn't want an entire day of 'traditional' pictures) Leigh offered me an incredibly reasonable rate and within days we had our first meet/greet onsite. She was truly lovely, professional and had some fantastic ideas at how she would approach/film our special day. As we got closer to the date, she even traveled to the site to see exactly where the sun would be at the very time of our ceremony.

    Leigh and her husband were on site and set up well before I even arrived. They whisked us around the city courtyard, snapping the most special pictures. Many times, we forgot she was there.

    Turnaround for prints was within a short period of time. We LOVED the pictures! She captured so many fabulous moments. I would highly recommend Leigh to everyone!

    Sent on 12/23/2014
  • A

    amber · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh and Barry are not only great photographers, they are great people. I do not like taking pictures at all (and the camera doesn't usually like me either) but Leigh kept me on schedule and smiling. All of my pictures came out perfect. She truly captured the magic of the day. Each time I look at the pictures I relive it all over again - and I never thought that would happen. I cannot stress how wonderful my experience was - she's accommodating, not pushy, very thorough, keeps you on schedule but also goes with the flow. Basically whatever you need and however you envision your day to be - she makes happen. I recommend Leigh to everyone I know!

    High quality people, high quality job. You can't go wrong with Leigh and Barry!

    Sent on 11/03/2014
  • G

    Gordon · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One thing we did not need to worry about during our wedding was the photography of our special day. Leigh and her husband did a phenomenal job. They listened to our wants and worked that into their magic to make sure we had memorable photos of our wedding along with fun photos as well to capture the moment in its entirely. I have already recommended them to 3 other couples and know they will have no regrets.
    -Gordon Greene

    Sent on 09/13/2014
  • J

    Jessie · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh is just absolutely amazing. Her ideas are brilliant and her pictures are gorgeous. We hired her for our engagement pictures and as our wedding photographer. She's very easy to work with because she is just such a sweet person and is so very focused on her clients. I cannot wait to work with her in the future. I highly recommend her for any type of photo session you might want. You will not regret it!

    Sent on 06/21/2014
  • M

    Maura · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Leigh is such a sweet, nice and organized photographer! I am a very indecisive person and Leigh was amazingly patient and willing to work with us ahead of time to ensure that we had the whole day in order the way that we wanted. Leigh was open to whatever we would suggest and she was great with coming up with ideas for even more fun details. A couple of weeks before our wedding, we decided we didn't want the "first look" and Leigh was great with coming up with a new timeline for our wedding day to reflect these changes.
    On the actual day of our wedding, Leigh (and Barry) were capturing all of details and special moments. She made me feel like a celebrity when she was taking some of the bridal photos. At the end of the night before she left, she made sure that it was okay for her to leave and there was nothing else that we wanted photographed.
    By the time we returned from our honeymoon, the photographs were ready to view. We could not have been more happy with the way the pictures turned out! All of the pictures looked like they could have been in a wedding magazine! We were so impressed that she was even able to capture some of the quick, fun moments from our wedding (dip kiss at ceremony and a lift spin in our first dance). I would definitely recommend her to anyone that wants amazing wedding memories!

    Sent on 01/17/2014