Laurie Rhodes Photographer Reviews

60 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

60 Reviews for Laurie Rhodes Photographer

Recommended by 99%

60
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

10 User photos

Laurie Rhodes Photographer 1
Laurie Rhodes Photographer 2
Laurie Rhodes Photographer 3
Laurie Rhodes Photographer 4
Laurie Rhodes Photographer 5
Laurie Rhodes Photographer 6
Laurie Rhodes Photographer 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • D

    David W Inkeles · Married on 07/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Documentary-Style Wedding Pictures

    Laurie's photographs are terrific and her pricing was reasonable.

  • LIZ

    LIZ L · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A professional photographer's photographer

    Laurie's photos truly reflect who we are as a couple, and her years of experience are so evident in the quality. Laurie's well-honed eye as an artist is matched by her technical abilities and refined use of them. This, IMHO is one of the most important ingredients to having timeless photos that never look dated; compositions, color corrections, and captured moments that are all spot on and technically top-notch. Laurie is a photographer's photographer, and we were so lucky she squeezed us into her schedule.

  • J

    Justin · Married on 02/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was very professional and loves what she does. She set up an appointment to meet me at the venue 1 week before the wedding to scout indoor and outdoor locations to shoot. She also wanted to meet at the same time as the wedding to get an idea of sunlight and shades both indoors and outdoors to plan her shoot.

    She arrived a bit early to get situated and photographed the bride in her room prior to the ceremony. She took guidance well to my wedding outline. She took plenty of pictures and we were very pleased with the outcome.

    Sent on 04/24/2018

    Laurie Rhodes Photographer's reply:

    Thank you Justin! It was such a pleasure to work with you before the wedding and to be a part of such an exciting celebration!
  • E

    Erika · Married on 11/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, its hard to imagine what I could say to properly explain our experience with Laurie- she was SO amazing from start to finish!! Setting up our initial meeting, she got back to us in less than 24 hours of our initial request - and scheduling with her was a breeze. The minute we met her, we knew she was going to be our pick - her photography is gorgeous, and her aura is incredibly assuring and calming. She was so courteous and professional and would check in with us every few weeks until our wedding day. Laurie was so accommodating, and really made us feel that she was invested in our day, and in helping us to capture it the way we wanted. We took engagement photos as well, and she gave us suggestions on where to go and helped us to feel comfortable being photographed, even though I hate being in front of a lens! She captured the most beautiful shots at our wedding that truly encompass the whole feeling of our day. The photos were artistic and beautifully framed, but more than anything were so REAL and honest - like the personality of each guest was perfectly framed for that brief moment in time. All our guests were raving about her as well, and how great she was! I cannot recommend Laurie enough - a wonderful photographer, and truly a delight to work with!

    Laurie Rhodes Photographer 15
    Laurie Rhodes Photographer 16
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I decided to have a small, simple, and sweet ceremony at City Hall and Laurie served as our photographer and witness! We chose her for her documentary style of shooting and she absolutely captured the moments of that morning beautifully. She seems to have a really good understanding of lighting. Not to mention she was professional, punctual, and just an overall pleasant person to be around. Highly recommend. Thank you Laurie!

    Sent on 11/15/2017

    Laurie Rhodes Photographer's reply:

    Thank you Debbie! It was such a pleasure and honor to be part of your wedding day. All the best to you and your husband!
  • D

    Dana · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was fantastic to work with for our engagement photoshoot. She captured truly special moments and was so easy to work with. She's flexible time-wise, open to fun ideas and responds to emails quickly. Would absolutely recommend her!

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 09/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was the photographer for our wedding on 9/8/17. Throughout the wedding planning and the day of, she was extremely responsive and helpful. We initially met her for coffee and told her about our wedding, what we wanted her to photograph (us getting ready + the whole ceremony/reception) and she helped us develop a plan. Prior to the day of, she actually went to our venue (the New York Botanical Gardens) and scouted out the best places for photos. This was not something we asked her to do. Not only was it a pleasant surprise, it was also a huge time saver since she already knew where to go for the best shots.

    Overall, Laurie was extremely professional and the whole experience was great. We got our photos back and we're very happy with the mix of candid shots and posed ones. Thank you Laurie for capturing our special day!

    Sent on 12/19/2017

    Laurie Rhodes Photographer's reply:

    Kat, thank you so much for this wonderful review! I loved photographing you and Ryan - it was such a pleasure! Happy Holidays!
  • D

    Dave · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie is so accommodating. It felt like having an old friend documenting our wedding!

  • S

    Scott · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Laurie for our wedding at Trinity Church - Wall Street and reception at Pier A Harbor House in NYC. She was absolutely incredible to work with. She also took beautiful engagement photos of us. Very detailed, very responsive, very flexible. She got some great shots and wasn't distracting. She worked well with the other vendors. Most importantly, her documentary-style approach to photography produced some amazing images! Very high-end and elegant photos!

  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was a pleasure to work with from our very first email exchange; and a year after the wedding, she's still helping us pick out prints for our album. We were thrilled with the quality of the pictures. Laurie is easygoing and genuine which make working with her completely stress-free -- something everyone needs on their wedding day!

    Sent on 11/22/2017
    Laurie Rhodes Photographer 17

    Laurie Rhodes Photographer's reply:

    Jaclyn, Thank you so much for glowing review! i loved photographing your engagement portraits and your wedding and i'm excited about the album!
  • J

    JP · Married on 05/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was the perfect photographer. And after watching her operate you can tell it's a real craft. Laurie was able to capture very intimate moments, without ever making us feel uncomfortable, or interfere with our very intimate day. Highly recommended!

  • A

    Ariella · Married on 04/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was the best investment of my wedding! She was so flexible, so responsive, and she was willing to accommodate photographing a variety of very unique cultural traditions, which required a lot of creativity on her part. Any question I had, she answered. Any problems I encountered, she solved. She was my photographer, but had so many great ideas that it was almost like she was a wedding coordinator too! I can't recommend her enough!

  • B

    Betsy · Married on 04/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Of all our vendors....Laurie was the very best pick. She spent alot of time with us before, during and after the wedding to make sure all our needs were met. Her photographs captured the joy of the wedding, the happiness of the guests and the spirit of the city. I cant say enough positive things about her. Its even been a great pleasure designing the album. Laurie gets an A+ in our books!

  • K

    Karen · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let Laurie know all the family dynamics. Tell her who is who, what the relationships are, who is not speaking to whom. Who exactly is walking whom down the aisle if it's not the traditional person.

  • User6866013 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was a joy to work with! She brought great sensitivity and artistry to our wedding photography. She took extraordinary care in getting to know us in advance and incorporated that knowledge of our personalities and likes/dislikes into her approach. Laurie could not have been more accommodating and reliable, from the initial interview through delivery of her gorgeous work. Highly recommended.

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want those special photos that actually look like you and the people you love on your big day and you want someone who has the eye needed to capture those amazing, unrehearsed, emotional and/or zany moments, hire Laurie!! You can't go wrong. Plus, her services are well priced. We were thrilled with her work and would recommend her to anyone. In fact, we did, and that couple hired her and they loved her as well! So there. What are you waiting for?!

    Sent on 11/18/2017

    Laurie Rhodes Photographer's reply:

    Thank you Ashley! It was such a pleasure photographing you and Francisco's wedding!
  • M

    Michiko · Married on 09/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having a destination shoot is not easy, especially if the subjects are from different continents and are on a tight budget. As such, Laurie was the perfect choice as our photographer. From start to finish, she was accommodating, considerate, friendly and highly professional. She explained in detail when the best time would be for the shoot, location and even tips on what to wear and what not to wear. Her suggestions were unimposing and created some of the best photos. She is flexible and has a calm and relaxing demeanor which would put any nervous first timer at ease. She knows the locale very well as she took us to spots that were not crowded, yet captured sceneries that were unmistakably NY. Laurie was able to take a wide variety of brilliant and crisp images all within a limited time frame. All in all a great experience!

  • User5636561 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Being an artist and designer myself, photography was one of the most important elements of our wedding. My husband and I were very picky and had a vision in our mind for the style we wanted. We met with a lot of photographers, but when we met Laurie, we instantly fell in love with her work. She was very warm and inviting during the initial meeting, showed us some of her books, which were beautifully presented, and even shared her personal stories of how she became a photographer. She has a very calm and comfortable presence and that was very helpful the day of the wedding! She showed up early the day of and made sure to keep to a schedule so that we got all the shots we wanted and really eased my stress as well! During the wedding, she really kept herself low key, and took photos without being too invasive. She was very professional and gave some wonderful ideas for the posed shots. Her entire presence was a pleasure to be around and she knew exactly what she needed to do. After receiving the photos, I was completely blown away! She captured moments that I don't even remember from that day! Her capture of the lighting is incredible, even the most difficult nighttime shots are gorgeous. Her photos capture all the intense emotion, life, love and celebration of that day. I'm in love with every single photo, it's really hard to choose what will go into our album! She even took a roll of black and white film for us too. Look no further for a wedding photographer in NYC or even elsewhere, Laurie is a wonderful person with an incredible talent and you will relive your special day over and over through her photos. Every single picture really does speak a thousand words!

  • M

    min · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie is the most professional, helpful, pleasant and highly organized photographer. We have wonderful memories to last a lifetime and she is spoken of so highly amongst our family.

  • V

    Valerie · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie's work was exceptional and the quality of her shots is top-notch. Whether posed or candid, she was able to catch the moments, the people, the setting, the mood – all as we want to remember them, including things we never saw until we saw them in her photos! She made everything come alive beautifully. On top of that, she and her assistant were completely unobtrusive – we hardly knew they were there. And she was a pleasure to work with: creative, accommodating, warm. We couldn't have been happier with our pick of a photographer.

  • P

    Paul · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond Amazing. From the minute we met with Laurie I knew we were in good hands. As an out-of-towner our stress levels were pretty high. She was calm, encouraging and well knowledgable of the area. She listened to our ideas, helped add and direct and came through flawlessly... and didn't break the bank. We took amazing photos the day before the wedding in central park - she helped corral 100 folks (none of which lived in the city and many had never visited before...) with patience and efficiency. We took amazing group shots and incredible ones of us. We are just starting to get the pictures back and I have no words. She not only captured the spirit of the day, the love between the two of us but she helped create the perfect backdrops, shadows, and lights to take in the beauty of the city and our venue. Big huge thanks and highly recommend!!!!

  • A

    Alycia · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel especially lucky to have found such a talented and thoughtful photographer! Laurie has a tremendous talent for capturing those special moments, which made her the perfect choice for photographing our wedding. We would definitely recommend Laurie to anyone looking for an excellent photographer!

  • S

    Sherry · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie is simply the best. During our first meeting with her, Laurie answered all of our questions, with such humor, empathy, and professionalism that we knew right away that we wanted her as our photographer. Even though it was not part of the deal, Laurie met up with the wedding party for a rehearsal in Central Park and then followed us to take some pictures at our rehearsal dinner. The pictures she took of the wedding ceremony and the reception were stunning. They made me laugh and cry all over again by taking me back to the very best day of my life.

  • User4484321 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was very professional and warm, and it was such a pleasure to work with her. We were from out of town, so all of our planning was done via e-mail and phone. Laurie got there early to take some photos of us, and she was very patient with all the people trying to get pictures around her. The pictures turned out beautiful. I highly recommend her.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review