Laura Zastrow Photography Reviews

47 | Madison, WI
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for Laura Zastrow Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

47

23 User photos

Order by:
  • J

    Jen B. · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura is AMAZING !!!

    Laura is an incredible photographer! From organizing the photograph sequences to providing feedback and direction on posing and positioning to getting the best and most creative angles, we LOVED our day with her! The photographs turned out so beautiful, and we couldn’t be more thrilled with them. Laura is the BEST photographer!!!

    Sent on 02/09/2020
  • E

    Eric · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura is everything you want in a wedding photographer: professional, accommodating, creative, timely.

    Sent on 12/20/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How does one even BEGIN to review this talented photography queen? After seeing other weddings that Laura was a part of, we knew that we had to ask her to photograph our big day. Every part of your wedding day is an investment of sorts, and Laura was our most precious one. Her talent for capturing the authenticity of her subjects and their natural reactions is second to none. We seriously can’t stop looking at our pictures and there’s no better feeling to have such a perfectly documented day.

    On top of that, Laura is just a hilarious, caring and awesome individual to be around. She was great with our big family and helpful in making us feel so comfortable in front of her lens. We are incredibly lucky to have her with us on our wedding day and look forward to staying in touch with her (and recommending her to everyone) for all the years to come.

    Sent on 11/09/2017
  • B

    Bridget · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura and Ben were an absolute JOY to work with! I've been following Laura for years and she was the first person I contacted as soon as I got engaged (ok... maybe I called my friends and family first :)

    She was very attentive and engaged throughout the whole planning process with me, answering all of my crazy questions and reassuring me when I had a few minor freak-outs. I really felt her passion and that it was as important to her, as it was me, that the day go smoothly and the photos turn out perfect.... which they did! Our family and wedding party had so much fun with Laura and Ben on our wedding day. The photos were fast, fun, and unique. I have no idea how they captured so many amazing photos because it truly flew by. They also took the time with a bossy graphic designer bride (aka me), who had some specific "visions", to get all the shots we were looking for.

    I can't say enough how much we LOVED our photos! They captured us and our day perfectly. I look at them and smile every day, and we are STILL (6 months later) getting comments weekly from friends and family about how much they loved the photos. One friend who's attended LOTS of weddings said they were "the best she'd ever seen"! (Picture me beaming from ear to ear!)

    Sent on 12/20/2017
  • J

    Josh · Married on 06/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Look no further! Laura is everything you could wish for in a photographer. She brought our wedding to life and captured precious moments that my wife and I would have otherwise never seen.

    Sent on 12/30/2017
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love Laura! I will never again in my life hire another photographer other than her. She made the photo process so easy and so fun, and everyone at our wedding was impressed with her. She put together a sneak peek slide show at our reception for guests to see, and sent the photos to us right away. Not only did she understand what we wanted, she understood us. Love love love love love <3

    Sent on 06/26/2017
  • L

    L · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Looking at the photos now, 6 months after the wedding, I'm so grateful Laura captured the details that I have forgotten as time passes. The photos really did capture everything that I put my heart and time into planning for our wedding day. And, she is a pretty cool chick that I was happy to be with for the day.

    Sent on 01/17/2018
  • S

    Sarahmaria · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura is phenomenal to work with! Her photography is stunning in every way. She's kind, flexible with scheduling, available for all last minute questions, passionate and works towards getting to know you instantly. She produced an outstanding product!

    Sent on 12/21/2017
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura was absolutely AMAZING to work with. She was able to anticipate everything we needed before we ever asked. I honestly couldn't even tell you the best part about Laura because everything she does and brings to your day will be spectacular! You won't regret working with Laura!

    Sent on 01/29/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Congrats, you have found your photographer! I could write paragraphs about Laura, but I will simply say that we are in love with our photos and photographer. Laura was responsive to every email or phone call, on time, professional and yet blended in completely (I don't even know how she got some of the shots she did since I never even saw her), FUN, and flexible. She did a great job getting kids to smile and participate in photos (a talent that we really appreciated), and she got all of our touched up photos to us in less than a month! Our friends and family have responded with "oohs and ahhs" to every picture in addition to the "I just got goosebumps" and "She was amazing." Our challenge is simply which ones to pick for albums, frames and gifts. The photography was my "thing" about the wedding, and my groom was totally understanding on that. After seeing the photos, his reply was immediately, "Do you think Laura would come back to Milwaukee to do family photos for us?" You WILL NOT be disappointed, I promise.

    Sent on 06/05/2016
  • L

    Lydia · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely love our wedding and engagement photos from Laura. Everything was amazing quality, and pretty much exactly what we wanted. It was the perfect mix of mostly candid shots, but when needed she gave really good, helpful directions (e.g. stop putting your hand on her belly, because it'll look like pregnancy photos). :-) It was such a fun time working with Laura. There was no awkwardness, and she was always so friendly and so positive. We were hesitant on taking engagement photos because we see a lot of cheesy stuff from other people.. but we quickly changed our minds after our session. I also really appreciated her prompt email responses, and how organized everything was - the emails, the reminders, the meetings, etc. Everything was awesome. Best decision ever.

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • User5604950 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Since photos are one of the best ways of capturing and remembering your wedding day, getting a good photographer was essential to us. After searching for local vendors online, I encountered Laura's and didn't need to go any further. Her use of natural lighting and photojournalistic style sold me immediately. I emailed asking her she was free on our date and she responded within 30 min. Unfortunately, she wasn't free on our date but she was the week after. Our venue was available the week after and considering we picked our wedding date rather arbitrarily and that was the only decision we had made so far, I switched the date with the venue and was able to secure Laura. Let's sum that up: I SWITCHED MY WEDDING DATE FOR LAURA. It was 100% the right decision.

    Working with Laura was one of the most fun, stress-free parts of wedding planning, and let's face it there isn't too much of that. We met with her three times before the wedding: an introductory meeting, our engagement shoot, and the final meeting before the big day. Each time she was enthusiastic and down-to-earth and even offered advice on non-photography related aspects of the wedding. We had complete confidence in Laura. She was one of the vendors we didn't have to stress about following through (unlike a few other brilliant, but completely unreliable vendors we worked with). A note about our engagement photos - the day of the shoot was chilly and overcast so I asked Laura if we could switch it to the next day when it was predicted to be warm and sunny. Laura accommodated graciously. Man, is she good with my date change frenzies :)

    The day of the wedding Laura and her assistant were great. They were timely and professional and made me feel relaxed and confident in front of the lens. Laura captured gorgeous photos that we're so happy and proud of. If wedding photography is important to you, pay the price for quality. It's well worth it. I'll be using her again for my next couple weddings... ;)

    Sent on 11/10/2015
  • User5440637 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can we say about Laura? She rocks! We knew about 2 seconds after meeting Laura that she was going to:

    1. Photograph the hell out of our wedding (her work is amazing- have you seen her website and blog??!!)
    2. Make us laugh and smile and feel totally comfortable in front of a camera despite being photography rookies.
    3. Be somebody we were happy to have around the whole day.

    And sure enough, she was and did all of those things for us. We loved her photography style from the get go and didn’t give her a lot of specific requests/instructions, we just wanted her to do her thing. We couldn’t love our photos more. Our ceremony photos are unbelievable, I don’t know how she as a single human being could capture so many moments from different locations/points of view. She was incredibly efficient with the family/wedding party photos. She also captured moments that are touching/hilarious/beautiful, that we now get to enjoy for life. She was just wonderful to work with, and I can’t recommend her highly enough.

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • T

    Teri · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura (and Carissa) were amazing people to be around! They immediately fit right in with our crazy family and friends. This was so impressive to me and it made us so comfortable to work with her. They were an absolute blast to be around and Carissa turned into my wedding planner by day two (which I GREATLY appreciated). Laura made sure to capture every moment we could think of and SO many more! We just looked at the pictures last night and couldn't be happier. It was like we were re-living each moment. She captured so much raw emotion from everyone, we know for sure now that our day was special to all involved and enjoyed by everyone. I could not have asked for anything more!

    Sent on 09/12/2015
  • User5433692 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura did the photography for my daughter and son-in-law's engagement and wedding in July of 2015. I can not describe how incredibly beautiful are the pictures! From the moment Laura joined us for hair and make-up to the reception and dance, she made us all feel comfortable and at ease and it shows in the final pictures. Something especially dear to me are the pictures of my 85-year old mother who has dementia. Laura captured the joy and happiness my mom was feeling on this special day. Love Laura Zastrow Photography!!!

    Sent on 09/13/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura is the absolute best!!! Since we were planning our wedding from a far, we never meet Laura until the night of the rehearsal dinner, but we were never nervous about her work. We knew from the first moment we talked to Laura, she put us at ease. She's always willing to listen to us talk through ideas over skype and provide her wise advice along the way. Laura loves what she does and it is evident in the way she interacts with us and our families and friends. Her photographs tell our story oh so perfectly, and she is able to capture our wedding from such a unique perspective. We HIGHLY recommend Laura for any event! Thanks Laura for being a WONDERFUL person/photographer!

    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura is beyond great to work with. From the initial meeting through our wedding day she and Cassidy (her lovely assistant) made us both feel so comfortable just being ourselves and capturing the moment. My husband doesn't love taking the time for photos and even he had fun with it! The photos we have are incredible and we are so grateful Laura was available to be a part of our day! Highly recommend!! Laura is the BEST!!

    Sent on 06/25/2015
  • Emmy

    Emmy · Married on 01/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can honestly say I am completely blown away by Laura. She was a total doll to work with. She is responsive, professional and goes above and beyond. From the first meeting I knew I wanted to work with her. We got our photos back in 4 weeks and they are perfect. She has such an amazing talent. I feel lucky to have gotten the chance to have her capture such an important day.

    Sent on 03/05/2015
  • User4792874 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I first met Laura at our friend's destination wedding. She was the photographer. We met her on the plane and instantly fell in love with her personality, her spunk, and her passion for pics. A couple months later, my husband and I got engaged and we knew we wanted Laura to photograph our wedding. Even though we live in Chicago, Laura agreed to travel down to The Windy City for our big day. Laura was everything we could have hoped for in a photographer. She was responsive; she was genuine; she was a reassuring and calming voice throughout the stressful wedding planning; she was and is what every bride needs on the big day. We recommend Laura not only for her fabulous talents with her camera, but also for her personable manners with her clients. We now see Laura as our friend and we are very thankful for her beautiful photos of our most special day!

    Sent on 02/16/2015
  • User4578914 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, the most important decision we made for our wedding was our photographer. We stumbled across Laura Zastrow website and she immediately responded with "I'm free that day and your wedding sounds right up my alley." It turned out to be the best decision we made! We immediately fell in love with lovely Laura herself. We started with our engagement shots in January (chilly but she made it so much fun). After seeing how amazing our shots came out from a one hour session, we couldn't be more pumped for a full wedding day of photos. Laura was very responsive to any emails or texts that we sent her. The day of the wedding went great as well. One very important part was that Laura was part of our day and felt like another family member. She calmed me down as a nervous bride worried about our dwindling time before the ceremony and still managed to capture so many perfect moments of our day. We were so incredibly happy with our wedding photos. We shared them with so many friends and family members who were also impressed. Laura Zastrow is the best!

    Sent on 11/30/2014
  • User4199990 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Laura Zastrow. She is amazingly talented and so much fun to work with. She made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera and did not take forever to pose us. She is great at just catching moments as they happen. We have only gotten about 10 pictures as a sneak peek (we got married a week ago) but we cannot wait to see the rest of them! She helped keep us relaxed and kept us on schedule despite how much I was worried we would be late. If you are looking for amazing photographs and a fun time taking them, meet with Laura and see if she fits your personalities!

    Sent on 08/10/2014
  • K

    Kara · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a photographer myself, the photography for our wedding was obviously a big deal. Laura is one of few photographers whose work makes me stop and stare when I see it in my feed. Our engagement photos were fabulous, and even though we have only seen a few sneak peeks from our wedding this past Saturday, I was blown away - I can't stop staring at them - and I'm sure our full gallery will be the same! I highly recommend Laura to anyone looking for a wedding photographer!

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura Zastrow was a wonderful photographer for our big day! Right away during the consultation meeting, she was able to make us feel comfortable and answered all our questions professionally and honestly. She was very easy to contact via email, although response time may take a couple days, which was not a huge concern for us. Laura was able to incorporate all our ideas with our engagement session and provided fantastic photos! Before the wedding, she helped us make a list of important photos that we wanted and reviewed our package with us so we were able to verify what we would get. During the actual wedding day, she arrived on-time with her assistant and professionally handled taking pictures of a very stressed out bride :) During the ceremony, she took several candid photos of guests and family, all of which turned out amazing! We received a free photo album, where we were able to decide exactly which pictures went on each page and the album is exactly what we wanted. I would highly recommend her to anyone wanting fantastic pictures and a very comfortable experience.

    Sent on 10/16/2014
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot put into words what a great experience we had with Laura, from the very beginning she made us feel so comfortable, as if we had known her for years. Even though she is extremely busy with family life and weddings every weekend she made sure we always felt like a priority. She is organized and professional and produces amazing photos that even a year later I can't stop looking at!

    Sent on 02/15/2015
  • User3591355 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We planned our wedding from 3 hours away and picked Laura based on her website. She was the first and only photographer we called and we can't say enough how lucky we were to have chosen Laura.

    Our experience with Laura as our engagement and wedding photographer could not have been more perfect. Laura is a true artist. It is incredible how good her eye is when it comes to capturing the perfect shot. She seems to get it right each time. She is great at giving camera shy amateurs like ourselves direction when it comes to posing and looking natural. She has the best energy which makes you feel comfortable immediately. She has a wonderfully positive attitude and truly feels invested in the joy of the occasion.

    We are not the only ones who think Laura is the best! We have had so many compliments on our wedding photos and because of those photos our wedding was featured on Wisconsin Bride Magazine's Real Weddings online blog. After all is said and done with the wedding, I think the most important thing to take away from it (besides a beautiful marriage, of course), is photos that you are proud of and that help keep the memories of your special day alive. Laura certainly made this happen for us. Thank you Laura!!!

    Sent on 05/21/2014