Skip to main content
Weddings

Lake Windsor Country Club Reviews

Lake Windsor Country Club

Lake Windsor Country Club

Windsor, WI
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 95 Reviews
View more information

95 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 95
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

26 User photos

  • Lily
    Lily H. Married on 10/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Lake Windsor Country Club is stunning!

    We LOVE Lake Windsor Country Club!! It was the first venue we looked at and booked it immediately. The chandeliers and floor to ceiling windows everywhere are stunning, the food is great, and the outdoor gazebo and golf course is beautiful. Kristy is wonderful to work with and always answered my many many questions. The days of rehearsal and wedding she was so helpful and made sure everything went smoothly. Couldn’t have asked for a better more beautiful venue!
  • Ava
    Ava B. Married on 10/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful wedding venue

    Lake Windsor Country Club was the most beautiful place for our October wedding! Kristy was amazing and answered all of my questions. She made me feel confident planning a wedding from 1,000 miles away. Lake Windsor was so accommodating and professional, and we highly recommend them!
  • Daniel
    Daniel Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Among a lot of great things, the event coordinator Kristy stands out as the best.

    Working with them to plan and coordinate:
    Absolutely fantastic. Huge props to Kristy. We had to postpone TWICE - our original wedding date was October 2020 - and there was no problem either time; deposits transferred, we found a new date. I read about other venues on the internet and there were some horror stories -- you will not have any problems at Lake Windsor if something unfortunate comes up. As you approach the date and need to get final details coordinated, again, Kristy is absolutely on top of things and will answer all your questions, provide helpful suggestions, and just generally be great to work with.

    Physical space:
    Very nice. We had a smaller wedding than some and so could use the smaller, downstairs room. I've actually attended a wedding in the upstairs room as guest a few months ago as well. Both are very nice, but I have to say the downstairs is even nicer because you get access to the outdoor patio space for basically the entire evening. We had guests out there all evening except during dinner, it provided a great spot to chill out and have a conversation while others were tearing up the dance floor inside. There is nice landscaping right near the venue and a well-manicured golf course beyond. Some flowering trees if you're there at the right time of year will make for some great photos.

    Amenities:
    The arch that they provided for our ceremony, and all the little things like chairs, tablecloths, etc, all good. They have a handheld mic and speakers that are perfectly good to carry voices. There's a little "locker room" area off of each of the bathrooms where the bridesmaids and groomsmen can stash their stuff, but there's nothing stopping anyone from walking in there. The bathrooms themselves are clean, well-maintained, etc.

    Bar:
    The bartenders did a great job, were professional, courteous, helpful, quick. Mixed good drinks. The venue is able to stock just about anything if you give them enough notice -- we had Zombie Dust on draft. They also had a Keurig set up next to the bar so you can keep the party going. I forget what they stocked it with but it was good - I was double-fisting an iced coffee and a margarita for a while and couldn't decide which I liked more.

    Food:
    Not a standout - for what you're paying per plate, you'd get a better meal at a nice restaurant - but I am impressed at what they managed to produce at industrial scale, feeding hundreds of people all at once. It was good, good portions, and they distributed it out to tables efficiently. We didn't do a wedding cake, opting for a selection of pre-plated desserts that guests could go up and get from a dessert table, and those were all delicious.

    Summary:
    Everything was at minimum very good, with most aspects being excellent. The true standout is Kristy. Management, give her a raise, you want to retain her! Would I recommend this venue? Absolutely, particularly if you have a small enough guest list to use the downstairs space (& therefore the patio).
  • Rajme
    Rajme E. Married on 08/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!!!

    We’re very excited to have our wedding at lake Windsor country club. They have been very flexible and professional in the booking process!
  • Blake
    Blake V. Married on 01/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So perfect, so smooth and so easy!

    The Windsor Country Club is down right beautiful. With their glass doors for guest to walk through to their baby grand piano. We had many guest comment on how stunning the hall looked. I want to say that besides the looks, our event planner Mike at the Windsor Country Club, made everything go so smooth and made it super easy and relaxing for us. There is nothing better than having a wedding planner for your wedding, especially when they work for the hall you chose. Mike was fantastic, he planned everything out with us and on the wedding everything went as planned. He took thorough notes and was very timely. I would highly recommend the Windsor Country Club for your big day!
  • Emily
    Emily B. Married on 12/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue!

    Lake Windsor was everything we wanted and more. We worked with Mike and he was able to accommodate any needs we had for our 300+ guest New Years Eve wedding. We had our entire day at LW. We had pictures taken before our ceremony around the course, held our ceremony upstairs, leading into cocktail hour, dinner, and an awesome night dancing! Everything that night ran so smoothly with the help and guidance of Mike and his staff. We had so many guests compliment the venue and night. The food portions were outstanding and all was so reasonably priced. We were so thrilled with how our big day turned out. Thanks LW for an unforgettable wedding!
  • Jamie
    Jamie M. Married on 12/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Wedding Venue!

    We recently got married at Lake Windsor CC in early December and it was an absolute dream. Kristy P. and her team did everything so well and allowed our day to unfold smoothly without any hiccups. We had a blast! Many of our guests complimented the natural beauty of the venue in addition to how nice the staff (Kristy, servers, bartenders) were. We highly recommend Lake Windsor CC!
  • Katie
    Katie Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful wedding venue

    We had an amazing wedding reception at Lake Windsor Country Club in the Crystal Commons room. The staff members were all very nice and attentive. Mike was outstanding, he took care of everything without us even noticing. Everything was well planned out weeks in advance so that there was nothing to worry about in the few days leading up to the wedding. The venue was beautiful and did not require much in the way of decorating, which was great! We loved that everything was included, and the food was cooked on-site; there were no surprises when it came to final prices. Our guests could not stop raving about the food. The golf course was a beautiful back drop for day and night photos. Rick who was helping at the bar that night was very attentive and took the time to call the hotels and arrange extra shuttle service after one of the shuttles broke down.
  • Jasmine
    Jasmine Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue

    We wanted a fall-themed wedding and we were able to use real pumpkins for the ceremony and reception. The food was delicious and we had no issues with our coordinator. Everything was just perfect.
  • Anna
    Anna Married on 09/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    great bang for buck w/ everything on site

    Awesome to have indoor or outdoor option for ceremony, as well as having bar, food, tables (everything) available on site. Mike made the day of stress free and made sure we had everything we needed. We were able to decorate the day beforehand (may not be possible if the day beforehand has a wedding). Food was decent; great feedback from guests (we also got the cheaper options).
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 08/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everything was amazing!

    Phenomenal! The manager, Mike, was an absolute joy to work with. He made everything so easy and made sure everything went smoothly at the day of and the days before. The staff is amazing. The food is sublime seriously I cannot say enough about their salmon. And the setting is just magical. It created the perfect ambience for my Gatsby botanical wedding and after a month of being married I still have people gushing about how gorgeous everything was at this venue.
  • Kirstin
    Kirstin Married on 03/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible

    Lake Windsor Country Club is beyond incredible!! There is no other place in the greater Madison area where you can get married for an affordable price that is this beautiful with phenomenal food and attentive and professional employees. Katie was our event coordinator and I cannot say enough great things about her- she was attentive to EVERY SINGLE detail, professional, and made sure we were well taken care of. Their communication is incredible and they make sure everything is finalized before your big day. I cannot say enough great things about this place! Our guests were so impressed and every single guests of ours was so impressed by the food.
  • Elaine
    Elaine H. Married on 11/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Totally awesome! My son’s wedding. Brandie made sure everything was perfect. They made my dreams for my son’s reception come true. Thank you so much!

    Everything went smoothly, service, quality of food, overall perfect!
  • M
    Marissa Married on 11/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A night to remember

    I have nothing but amazing things to say about lake Windsor! beautiful venue amazing food and helpful staff.
  • K
    Katie Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Reception Venue

    My husband and I hosted our wedding reception at Lake Windsor country club. Everything was perfect! Brandie was our event coordinator and she was fabulous! She was such a delight & helped so much! From working with our timeline to changing our dinner entrees. The venue was exceptionally clean & had easy access for our guests. The layout is perfect. We had the upstairs commons, our dj was set up in the right wing, the sound mostly stayed in the wing with the dj. Made it easy for our guests to socialize! My husband and I would recommend this beautiful venue to anyone !
  • Cain
    Cain H. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely perfect

    Very impressed with everything at Lake Windsor. Our coordinator, Brandie was so very helpful and flexible with everything. The staff and were great and always had a smile on and the venue inside and out was beautiful. Couldn’t have asked for a better wedding and venue to have it at.
  • K
    Kim N. Married on 10/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Lake Windsor Country Club

    Our daughter’s wedding was Sun Oct 7 and we are still reveling in the memories of a nearly perfect wedding experience at Lake Windsor! Katie Bohnert was there every step of the way to guide us through the process of planning the wedding, hiring vendors, and finalizing all the details. Since the couple live in another state, the planning was complicated, but Katie coordinated the decision making and communication smoothly. The venue was beautiful and spacious indoors and the outdoor grounds added to the beauty. Even though it rained and we had to change the plans from an outdoor to an indoor ceremony, the Lake Windsor staff made the transition seamless. Our guests loved the food and the portions were large... great for our hungry crowd. The dance floor was large and allowed us to fully enjoy the dancing. The bartender and waitstaff were friendly and professional and served our guests well.
    For the venue and the services we received we felt the cost was very reasonable for a Sunday wedding. The bridal couple are really thankful to have had such a perfect wedding and reception. Thanks to you all at Lake Windsor for your part in making this happen... esp you Katie! 👍🏼👍🏼👏👏
  • T
    Thomas Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Brandi, the event coordinator, did an amazing job preparing us for our wedding day celebration. She took a lot off stress of us by making sure that the day went as we had planned. Can't express enough how helpful she was to us.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My daughter's wedding was everything we imagined it would be! Brandie, our wedding coordinator, was amazing. She helped us remember all of the small details and kept the wedding running smooth. The food was awesome. This venue is first class all of the way!
  • B
    Beth Married on 02/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had such an amazing experience with Lake Windsor Country Club and our coordinator, Katie. From the day we toured LWCC to our wedding day everything seemed to go smoothly and effortlessly. I felt Katie did a great job informing us and giving us advice on certain details and really facilitated the whole process.

    All the staff was friendly and accommodating even with a few last minute changes that couldn't have been forseen. It was truly a great experience having our wedding at LWCC and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a gorgeous wedding venue where the service is excellent and they work with you every step of the way.

    Thanks to Katie and everyone who made our special day perfect, we couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • L
    Lynn Married on 01/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Windsor is a beautiful venue for a wedding reception. The food is excellent, the bar service and wait staff keep all the guests happy and the coordinator makes sure everything is smooth and trouble free. "A good time was had by all".
  • M
    Morgan Married on 12/31/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Brandie was fantastic! Highly recommend her and Lake Windsor to help make your biggest day your best day. :)
  • D
    David Married on 12/31/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Brandie made our days so easy and special!
  • M
    Mr. A. Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    LWCC's indoor weddings are spectacular! The LWCC facility is spacious; comprising three rooms the length of which has ceiling to floor windows overlooking the lush green golf course, small blue ponds and stately trees.

    Our September wedding ceremony was in the comforting warm sunlight soaked Crystal Commons Room where a string quartet and pianist harmonically played deeply heartfelt compositions emphasizing the magic of the moment. LWCC is a wonderful facility for any occasion. But a facility is just that: a place to meet, eat, celebrate and enjoy; however, if you don’t have an event coordinator – or rather the right event coordinator – then your celebration, and the journey there to, will be stressful marked with anxiety and apprehension, hoping for the best but not having planned for it.

    This is where Katie Bohnert comes in. In a nutshell, Katie is a master problem solver threading complex issues and concerns with insight and experience while displaying dazzling arrays of options into cohesive, delightful synergistic solutions. For us, having a year to plan, there were a number of pitfalls and hurdles to overcome. From the minor of accommodating a large number of people’s dietary concerns, to the sensitive that some people have strong affinities to alcohol consumption to the extremely complex: how do we get the biggest bang for our dollar? The latter being important to anyone that desires not only a cherished event but one that is not wasteful while being accommodating to all. Katie was akin to a 3rd degree black belt Kung-Fu warrior where she would break problem barriers, masterfully twist and spin with expenditures delivering the amazingly perfect touch to awe even the skeptical.

    So we can’t say it enough. Yes, the right venue is important and LWCC has that and more. But the most important decision is - who is taking care of you? We were fortunate and hope others experience the same.
  • J
    Joann Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you for all the attention to every detail of the day. How beautiful everything was...There venue is just breathtaking. I cannot not say enough that there was not once that I had to worry about a thing on their end. They were so helpful that day and thru the whole process of this. There staff was also so helpful with any questions and needs. A special thank you to Brandie... She was there for me with any details and defiantly made all our visions become dreams come true. And also, the meal and appetizers were amazing as I heard from all of our guests. Everything was so well worth every dollar spend. Priceless...So many thanks to Lake Windsor Country Club.