Skip to main content
Weddings

Kunde Family Winery Reviews

Kunde Family Winery View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.7 out of 5 rating
4.7 out of 5 rating
16 Reviews
95% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

16
Weddingwire
4.7/5 16 reviews
Google
4.7/5 376 reviews
  • R
    Rachel G. Sent on 10/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful, flawless wedding

    I need to start with how kind and warm Melissa at Kunde is. From our first email exchange, Melissa had the kindest, sweetest energy of anyone I had been corresponding with - and at this point I had reached out to 35 vineyards/wineries ranging from Santa Barbara County up to Healdsburg. We flew from Philadelphia to Sonoma within 2 weeks of talking to Melissa and fell in love with the periphery immediately. We booked that day, which was exactly 365 days to our wedding.

    Throughout the year, Kunde was flexible and easy to work with. There were clear answers to all of our questions and they were so easy to work with when we said we wanted to have our ceremony at one site and the reception at another site on the property. We were able to choose our reception site the week before we had the wedding - we wanted to wait out the weather to see if we should hold it outdoors in the Winemakers Plaza or inside in the brand new Barrel Building. Oct 7, 2023 was unusually warm, so we stayed outside and had the most beautiful, epic wedding we could have ever imagined! The wine, the 360 views, the lighting — all were perfect. Our guests are still talking about the setting and the wine. We are so happy we chose Kunde and highly recommend to anyone looking in the area!
  • Cara
    Cara Sent on 07/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding views

    Still on cloud 9 from getting married at Kunde just a few weeks ago! Chantal was so amazing to work with and we are grateful for the most magical weekend of our lives! There couldn’t have been a more beautiful and magnificent spot to marry my best friend! The sunset and moon rising views on Boot Hill were absolutely spectacular!! I want to relive the weekend over and over again! We will 100% be coming back for anniversaries!!! Thanks for the best weekend of our lives!!
  • D
    Deirdre Sent on 01/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best venue we could have possibly chosen!

    I can't say enough amazing things about Kunde winery. We planned our wedding from abroad, and only had one day to look at venues. We packed 8 sites into one day, but none of them rivaled how incredible the Boot Hill @ Kunde venue was. You take a a car up a hill, and there's a huge wow factor when you step onto the property - the 360 degree panoramic view at the top of the hill is something else, and completely takes your breath away. You can see all the surrounding vineyards, and where the ceremony is held is between two giant elegant trees, giving the venue a gorgeous rustic feel.
    In addition to this, the wines are some of the best Californian wines I've ever had, especially the Red Dirt Red, Malbec, and Red Zin. There's also a stunning house where the bridal party gets ready right at the bottom of the hill, which is massive, and a beautiful area for photos!

    To add, what made our day truly amazing was the Kunde team that was dedicated to our wedding. Planning a wedding is already stressful, but Melissa made our experience completely seamless in so many ways. She was totally flexible when we asked for things, responsive to all communications, proactive with recommendations, and extremely professional every step of the way. Everything was done quickly, efficiently, and to perfection - we had absolutely nothing to complain about.

    Since our wedding in 2018, we have been back to Kunde for a wine tasting tour every time we've gone back to the US! We are biased, but this is the best winery we've ever been to :)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 10/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I looked at over 25 venues before we saw Kunde, and when we stepped out on Boot Hill we both immediately knew this was the place for us. Our wedding was beyond spectacular, you cannot get a view like this anywhere else in Napa or Sonoma. Not only that, but the staff, especially Melissa, bent over backwards to make our wedding incredible. Melissa even stockpiled empty wine bottles for us for MONTHS so we could make DIY centerpieces with them. She answered my MILLIONS of emails promptly and always kindly, she never made me feel like I was asking too much or being overbearing even though I DEFINITELY was. Yes, it's a lot of money to pay for a venue, but the incredible setting we had for our wedding was beyond worth it. Our guests were knocked off their feet and the pictures are incredible. Wish we could do it all over again!
  • S
    Sophie Sent on 07/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most amazing views in wine county!

    Literally the best vineyard views in all of wine country!! Our guests were blown away by the Boot Hill venue. We have our ceremony, cocktail hour and dinner on the hill, then shuttled our guests down to the courtyard patio for dancing and dessert. The weather was perfect, everything ran extremely smoothly and we couldn't have asked for a more special day.
  • A
    Alexandra Sent on 01/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely perfect place to get married! The views are stunning and make it so that there is very little that you have to decorate, they even had bistro lighting. How can you beat huge oak trees, sweeping views of vines, and beautiful lighting. Everyone was in awe of the place. Not only is the place pretty, but the people there are fun to work with and certainly know how to make you feel special. Melissa was a blessing. She helped in ways that I never expected and made the planning process fun. Melissa gave us some recommendations for our other vendors and she was spot on, everyone she suggested was great, and loved her too. We made sure to go to Kunde a few times before the wedding, partly to pick out our wine since you use their wine, and it was relaxing and fun. Melissa was always ready for us. The day of the wedding the girls got to get ready in the house there, which is huge, and Melissa drove the girls up to the site (we wanted this). Kunde was truly spectacular.
  • L
    Lauren Sent on 07/07/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff at this family winery truly cares about you and your wedding day! Top notch!! I can not say Thank you enough for everything Naomi did to help pull off my dream wedding day!
  • R
    Rebecca Sent on 11/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I just got married at Kunde on top of Boothill this past October. Our cocktail and reception were also held right there on Boothill. It was absolutely amazing!!! My husband and I fell in love with the place a year before when we were looking for a venue. We went to 10+ vineyards and Kunde was our last stop. We knew immediately it was the place for us! The beauty of Boothill just took my breathe away! In addition to the pure beauty of Kunde, the staff is a pleasure. We worked with Melissa, the event coordinator there. She rocks! She really knows what she is doing. She was so easy to work with and was always easily reached. Kunde is THE PLACE to get married in wine country. No other place compares. Thank you Melissa and the rest of the Kunde staff!
  • User1294265 Sent on 08/20/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Best ever! Everyone LOVED the venue! It's a magical place for a wedding!
  • E
    Erica Sent on 09/16/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kunde Estate Winery was amazing! We had our reception in the Dunfillan Ruin. It was incredible everyone thought they were somewhere in Europe. I received so many compliments. If you are looking for a bold, romantic, rustic statement this is the venue. We were completely surrounded by vineyards. The Hospitality Manager Naomi was incredible to work with, she was very professional and on top of everything, paid lots of attention to details. I honestly can say my wedding was perfect!
  • Mandy
    Mandy Sent on 11/18/2012
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Planning a wedding from the East Coast was tough. On our whirlwind viewing of venues, Kunde topped the list with their many sites on premise AND having wonderful rain/cold back up plans indoors (we were married in November). Additionally, I can't sing the praise of Melissa Harper (our contact) quite enough in one little paragraph. She was fast to communicate via email and calls and once we were in town, she was literally with us every step of the way - meetings with vendors, rehearsal and all the way through the big night.

    I'd highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for SPECTACULAR views, an authentic vineyard, fabulous wine and top notch service and professionalism. Oh, did I mention the views? Well, they are worth mentioning twice. Our guests are still talking about it and will be for some time to come. THANK YOU!
  • J
    Jessica L. Sent on 01/17/2020
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue and views!

    Melissa was excellent to work with, very accommodating for our intimate wedding. The venue has so many locations to choose from and the views cannot be beat.
  • E
    Erin Sent on 07/12/2011
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kunde is the most amazing site for a wedding (at Boothill and the ruins)! Stephanie was so great to work with and she was fabulous at helping the day go off without a hitch! I couldn't imagine a more beautiful wedding venue and the wines are great too!
  • C
    Chelsea Sent on 07/02/2016
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    If you want to pick the most beautiful setting in all of Sonoma to get married, pick Boot Hill at Kunde! We just got married here in May 2016 and all of our guests said it was the most beautiful wedding setting they have ever seen. We wouldn't have changed a thing about our wedding day! Do keep in mind there are some strict rules that vineyard have (no hard alcohol and end-time), but if that doesn't matter to you like it didn't for us, Kunde is perfect! Kunde is a blank canvas and you have to bring in 100% of the rentals, which is what we wanted, but definitely more expensive and takes more planning! Thanks Kunde for the most magical day!
  • S
    Shaylyn Sent on 08/28/2010
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married and had our reception at kundes boothill location. Which is a 360 degree view of acres and acres of vineyards. It was a breath taking view with a bar, bathrooms and fire pit on site. The downfalls are it is expensive and you have to bring in everything yourselves. But for us everything turned out perfect in the end.
  • A
    Ali R. Sent on 06/13/2019
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    A total waste of $12k

    Do you like wasting money? Then for sure book your wedding at the top of Boot Hill at Kunde. Because if the day turns out to be anything other than 75 degrees and sunny your guests will for sure be uncomfortable. I fell for the venue because of its idyllic views and its seclusion. Every trip up there showcased the amazing nooks and crannies of the venue, from the ceremony spot to the cocktail spot the reception under the trees. It's at least 1/2 acre and gorgeous. BUT, if the day of turns to rain you'll be forced to get a tent. There are literally no other options the winery gives you in terms of relocation. So you’re stuck with having to rent a tent. Mine in particular was last minute, leaky, and TOO SMALL. My guests were literally on top of one another. To make matters worse, the trek from where the tent needs to go to the bathrooms is uncovered and my guests were freezing and got drenched. No one tended to the bathrooms and by the time dancing started they were super dirty and looked awful. I paid $12k for at LEAST CLEAN BATHROOMS?! Didn't even get that. The "rehearsal" was also a joke. I was told that 4 extra folks who weren't in the wedding party couldn't come up to the hill for the 30 minutes for rehearsal. They happened to be my two sister-in-laws, my best friend, and my Aunt. My sister-in-laws, who already hadn't been asked to be a part of the wedding, immediately felt miffed and it created more needless friction between me and my family. Day of the wedding was a soaker. We went to the Hill House for pre-wedding photos and got there to find not even refreshments for us?! Could Kunde have not at least provided a bottle or two of wine or at least some water?! Jesus. All in all it felt very discount it was not the day that I’d been planning for over a year. I had a great time, the guests had a great time, but I would save your money if you don’t like lack of control of outcomes and get something that has a permanent plan B, not a leaky tent and a trek to bathrooms in the freezing cold rain.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message