20 Reviews for Kim Guiley Hair & Makeup Design

5.0
out of 5.0
Sort by:

5.0

Kim Guiley did my hair and makeup for my October 2014 wedding. She also did my maid of honor's hair.

I first got in touch with Kim after finding her here on WeddingWire because I liked her simple, natural approach to beauty. I am so very glad I found her because she was a real pleasure to work with and I loved how my hair and makeup looked!

Kim was very thoughtful, communicative, and conscientious throughout the process. She made me feel very comfortable at the trial - she really listened and understood the look I wanted. And she is friendly and genuinely fun to hang out with! I had a great time chatting and getting to know her during the trial and on the morning of my wedding.

Not only that, she did a really wonderful job on my hair and makeup. I felt beautiful while still myself on my wedding day. Plus my hair and makeup held up to a pretty epic dance party!

I very highly recommend Kim Guiley to anyone looking for a great hair and makeup artist to do a lovely, fresh, natural look for their wedding day.

Profile Picture Sophie, 10/25/14, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim is amazing, you should stop reading other reviews and move forward with her, without hesitation! She was recommended by my photograhper Susannah Gill and what a find! I worked with her for my October 2014 wedding. She was easy to work with, highly responsive, professional and very invested in making things perfect for my event. Prior to our trial she prompted me to send her hair and make-up pictures so that we both could begin to get an idea of what I wanted for the big day. She was communicative and prompt, both for the trial and my wedding day. She created a calm, relaxing environment during both sessions and it was a pleasure to work with her. She did my hair and make-up, as well as my MOH, and even styled the hair of my MOH's husband when he forgot his hair gel on the big day! So awesome. She was very open to suggestion to ensure that the look was the way I wanted it. I received so many comments that my eyes looked so "big and beautiful" and that my skin looked "fresh and dewy," and my hair was fantastic. Kim also works very quickly with a beautiful result; she clearly knows her craft. I have no constructive feedback for Kim (and I'm a harsh critic); she's just that good. I made this review anonymous for privacy reasons, but if you reach out to Kim, she knows she can use me as a reference!

Profile Picture User4472102, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim was an absolute DREAM to work with. She went above and beyond during our trial to do my hair and makeup exactly how I wanted it for the wedding, and then gave me a completely different look to wear to my bridal shower that day so my hair wouldn't be the same for both events.

The day of the wedding, I had planned to get ready with all of my girlfriends, but there was so much last minute stuff to do that it was just me and Kim for most of the time before the ceremony. I was totally freaking out and she completely put me at ease. Not to mention that she made me look and feel like a beautiful princess for my special day.

I would enthusiastically recommend Kim for all hair and makeup needs for your next special event. Plus she has an amazing etsy shop you should be sure to check out if you have little ones. https://www.etsy.com/shop/HeartofHazel

Thank you Kim for everything!

Profile Picture Laina, 9/6/14, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim did my hair and makeup for my wedding and I was BEYOND happy with how everything turned out. Kim totally listened to what I wanted. My makeup was perfect--so pretty, natural, and I totally felt like myself with it. My hair was a wispy updo that I loved.

Kim and her team also did hair/makeup for my six bridesmaids, my mom, my husband's mom. I loved that Kim emailed everyone asking for a photo and their hair/makeup vision before the event, so everyone got what they wanted.

Kim and her team were SO sweet and professional. I had so much fun during the day of getting ready and Kim made it easy to stay relaxed before the wedding. All nine of us were finished on time (or maybe even early!)

I really can't recommend her enough!

Profile Picture User4565380, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim was very enthusiastic and attentive. She helped me feel so beautiful on my wedding day and was so positive and upbeat. She really listened to what I was looking for and worked hard to make it happen! She also worked really well with our photographer and helped made sure he was able to get some great, "getting ready" shots. Loved her!

Profile Picture Allison, 8/16/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim is an excellent hair stylist and make-up artist. What I love about Kim is her easy going nature and attention to detail. Kim has an amazing demeanor and has the ability to put your mind at ease when you are sitting in the chair on that very important and somewhat anxious day.

I met with Kim a few weeks before my wedding with a few photo ideas of the hair style I was looking for on my wedding day. In less than 90 minutes she had completed the perfect trial run. I wanted and an up-do, but I did not want it to look to severe. I was looking for something relaxed yet classy and elegant. There was no need for a second trial...she got it done the first time around.

On my wedding day, Kim showed up right on schedule at my hotel room (actually she was early which was so very very nice!!). We had plenty of time to visit and talk about placement of the jeweled pins I had bought to put in my hair. She was so relaxed and sweet...making the entire experience absolutely lovely and stress free.

I can't thank her enough for adding that special touch to my wedding day!!

Profile Picture Laura, 3/9/14, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim (and Jonathan) were fantastic! Would absolutely recommend them both. Thanks for helping make Kristin and Kyle's wedding amazing!

Profile Picture Mary, 6/16/13, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
4.9

Kim Guiley is an incredibly professional and experienced makeup and hair stylist! Before meeting the bridesmaids in my friend's wedding, she sent an email to all of us, asking for pictures of ourselves as well as pictures of desired makeup and hair styles. She also sent another email about how to prepare our skin and hair to make sure it is in the best condition before the big day.

On the day of the wedding, Kim had printed out our pictures and was very careful and conscientious about making sure that she styled our hair and did our makeup as we desired. Her work was AMAZING! While I think my friend's bridal party is very attractive without makeup, Kim made every single one of us look our very best, and I could barely believe the beautiful transformation in each of us. She emphasized our natural beauty without going over the top or making any of us look too dramatic (though, I'm sure if we wanted a bold look, Kim would be able to make it happen). What I really appreciated about Kim was that she was also very flexible and approachable when I asked her to modify my hair style; she made me feel comfortable, which shows that she puts her customers' needs and requests before her own. To top it off, Kim was incredibly upbeat and friendly, which really helped boost the mood of all of the girls on such a special day.

I recommend Kim to ANYONE and hope she will still be in the business to help me on my wedding day! :)

Profile Picture User3335346, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim did an amazing job! She reached out prior to the event to get a feel for what we were looking for hair and makeup. She helped brainstorm up-do ideas and was well prepared the day of the wedding! Kim is fun, professional and creative! She did a fantastic job and all 6 bridesmaids and the bride looked wonderful! I highly recommend her services!

Profile Picture Lauren, 6/15/13, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim is absolutely fantastic at her craft. Kim contacted me in response to and ad I had placed on Craigslist for a wedding officiant. She took the time to give me great advice on finding an officiant for our very non-traditional wedding and also offered her services to me. Hair & makeup had been far from my mind at the time, as finding the perfect stylist for a mid-morning wedding in the middle of a national park seemed like a daunting task.

Kim was great in catering to my special needs and put together a wonderful hair/makeup lesson for me. Kim and her husband were extremely hospitable and professional. The lesson was thorough and Kim made it comfortable and easy to follow along. She took the time to make sure I felt prepared and confident...and the big day went off without a hitch. Many thanks and much love to Kim! So talented!

Profile Picture Jo, 4/21/13, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

It says something when your photographer is like, This is the best wedding hair I've ever seen! Kim was amazing. We eloped so everything was completely last minute, but she was so accommodating, squeezing in a trial and the big day.

I loved just chatting as friends while she worked to make me look pretty and everything turned out perfectly. She braided my hair and it looked amazing. Also, she adjusted my makeup until it looked exactly like I wanted.

I can't recommend Kim enough! She's brilliant, so talented, and a joy to be around!

Profile Picture User3099437, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim did my hair and make-up for my second wedding reception and I am SO glad that I found her! After looking through so many vendors online, I found her website, and immediately got a great feeling about her. Turns out I was right- Kim immediately responded to my email request and was so easy to communicate with. We set up a trial for the following week and I pulled a few photos of looks that I liked, to show her for inspiration. As soon as I met her, I was at ease, and knew I was in good hands! Kim really took the time to understand what I was looking for and explained what she was doing throughout the process. The look she gave me during my trial was exactly what I was looking for- she encouraged me to let her know if I wanted anything changed, and really worked with me to get it just right! On the day of the event, Kim came to my house, which was so helpful. My husband and I were really anxious and nervous about our upcoming reception, and she really helped calm us and lighten the mood- she has great energy and really makes you feel so comfortable. She had me ready in the exact time she said she would, and the end result was AMAZING! I felt so beautiful- she got both my hair and make-up just right and it was even better than the trial. I received so many compliments on both my hair and make up throughout the night, and my make-up lasted through hours of dancing, and even the rain! I would recomend Kim to anyone!! I can't wait until I have another event to attend so that I can book her again!

Profile Picture Susie, 12/1/12, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim is great! She made my hair and makeup for my wedding. She came to my apartment for the trial and the wedding day as well.
During the trial she listened to me and then she showed me different hair styling and made me chose the one I preferred. She left me free to choose what I wanted. She did a great job also with the makeup...simple and beautiful.
She is totally affordable.
Thank you so much Kim!

Profile Picture LAURA, 10/20/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim was a joy to work with - easy going, sweet & skilled!

She included a trial consultation at my home long before my wedding day... it was the perfect opportunity to get acquainted & play bride for the day. She listened well & created exactly the look I was after... I completely knew I was in great hands. Kim was so flexible with the schedule of my wedding day & came to the house boat I was getting ready at in Sausalito. She arrived before me to be prepared & set up as soon as I arrived.

Thank you Kim!!

Profile Picture Ingrid, 9/29/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim is very good at what she does and she has a wonderful personality to match. She was very easy going and friendly. I loved the way she made me look! I will definitely recommend her services to anyone looking for hair & makeup for a special event.

Profile Picture User2636104, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim was a godsend on my wedding day. She spent a good amount of time with me during my makeup and hair trial a month before my wedding to work out the perfect look for my special day. On the day of the wedding, she had this calming effect while she transformed my lack-luster locks into a brilliantly beautiful up-do design. She gave me the PERFECT look for the wedding. If you are looking for a makeup and hair artist who has an eye for detail, listens intently, and is committed to perfection, then Kim is your gal. Thank you, Kim, for enhancing my looks and being wonderful in every way on such an exquisite day.

Profile Picture Kristine, 8/11/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim is a beautiful person inside and out. I serendipitously met Kim on a shoot a few months before my wedding. After working with her on that shoot I knew she was the only person I wanted to have for hair and makeup on my wedding day. She is gracious, supportive, friendly and talented! We did a trial run a few weeks before the wedding and took notes as to what adjustments to make for my makeup on the day of the wedding. The wedding on July 21 at the Legion of Honor was the happiest day of my life. I spent the day getting ready at the Clift hotel with my mom, my mother in law, my grandmother, and five bridesmaids! Kim fit right in. Having her there working on everyone's makeup and hair was bliss. She fit right into the vibe of the day (love, serenity, joy, happiness!). She was great with the older women and she was great with the less older women! It was the first time some of the women had hair and make-up done and everyone was pleased with the work she did. She made everyone even more gorgeous. Just excellent hair and makeup. I could not have asked for a better experience. One of my friends already requested Kim's information. This friend has an upcoming wedding and wanted to book Kim because she loved my wedding day makeup so much (she loved how natural the makeup looked). I hope I get to work with Kim again soon.

Profile Picture Alisha, 7/21/12, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I found Kim through recommendations online and am SO glad I did! I live five hours away from where I was getting married and I needed someone I could hire and trust sight unseen. I checked out Kim's blog and was instantly fascinated! She seemed to have a great personality along with being incredibly talented. I wrote her an email and she got back to me very quickly. We started a dialogue and I knew she was the one for me. I sent her pictures of what I had in mind and we discussed how it would all come together. A few weeks prior to my wedding Kim and I skyped so that we could finalize how things would go. It was great to speak to her in person and I was once again reassured that she was the one for me.

On the morning of my wedding Kim arrived at my hotel with her case of goodies. She had everything necessary to do hair and make and even more! She set up a work station and got right to work. Working with Kim was awesome! She described what she was doing for my family who was asking questions :) She styled my hair first and then moved on to my makeup. Due to the lighting in my room, I was facing away from a mirror the whole time. Normally, this might make me nervous, but with Kim I felt so at ease! She was calm and friendly and made me feel right at home. She asked me questions about the hair and makeup to make sure that it was exactly what I wanted. The main thing I wanted to focus on was looking like a "better" version of myself. Kim nailed it! All day long my family kept saying how amazing my hair and makeup looked. It was natural and flawless. I didn't think about or worry about my hair or makeup the entire day. I didn't need to touch up a single thing. It was everything I could have asked for and more!

Profile Picture Ana, 6/29/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Kim styled my hair for my wedding, as well as my bridesmaids and mother’s hair. She was so amazing! Prior to the wedding she did two trials to make sure that we both knew exactly what we wanted to achieve the day of the wedding. She is great at listening and understanding exactly what you want as a bride. She knows that a wedding is the most important day of every woman’s life and is able to make you feel so calm during your wedding day. I could not have asked for a better, sweeter, or more talented stylist for the most important day of my life! My hair was styled in an up-do and stayed in place all night, even through an evening filled with crazy dancing! I would recommend Kim to any bride or anyone looking for a talented and professional stylist!

Profile Picture Kaila, 7/30/11, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

On my wedding day I was at ease knowing I would have Kim as my hair and make up artist. Our consultation the week before had gone so well I knew I was in great hands. Kim took all the elements of the wedding to create my overall look. I was a blank canvas and her remarkable styling skills transformed me to the most classic bride. Kim worked my straight hair to soft natural curls and applied the precise amount of makeup for photographs without feeling over dolled-up. Even after cake cutting Kim was right there to polish me back up for the rest of the day. When I think back on my wedding memories,
I truly feel I have never looked and felt so stunning.
Thank you Kim!
Sincerely,
Rose Manning

Profile Picture Rose, 4/30/11, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health