Ken Petersen's Milestone Event Entertainment Services Reviews

27 | Rapid City, SD
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Ken Petersen's Milestone Event Entertainment Services

Recommended by 95%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken absolutely made our wedding reception! I have got SO many compliments about how our wedding was the most fun wedding people had ever been too. He just had some really neat ideas that people hadn't seen at weddings before. He kept the dance floor busy all night. He also traveled to us which was about a 5 hour drive. The thing I liked most about Ken is that you don't just get a DJ but an emcee. I have been to a lot of weddings where there are awkward pauses or people get bored. But Ken kept the party going ALL night. He also had such a good set up. The sound system and microphones were so clear and perfect. He had the volumes adjusted just right. His lights for the dance floor were awesome. And he did lighting for our ceremony and it made the room absolutely beautiful. Ken is also SO easy to get along with. He is such a nice guy and was accommodating to anything I wanted or needed. Highly highly recommend. He made our wedding!!

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • T

    Todd · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are a lot of options in the hills for DJ Services. We weighed this option heavily as we wanted our Black Hills destination wedding to be amazing. Ken provided more than DJ services. From consultation with lighting, sound, setup, and timelines, he nailed every detail with professionalism and flexibility and worked with our other vendors. The reception was perfect and provided a fun atmosphere that all ages could enjoy. Ken's setup keeps the sound table out of the middle of the dance floor and makes pictures and video of the event even more pleasing. As with any wedding, we had a budget and there were no hidden charges or add-ons with Milestone. We were able to make tweaks and changes without getting another charge we didn't anticipate. We were able to attend our friend's wedding soon after ours that Milestone DJ'dl. The same consistent quality was present at their wedding as well. I would do nothing but suggest Ken to any couple looking for the right DJ.

    Sent on 12/26/2016
  • R

    Richelle · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken Petersen of Milestone was amazing. I could not have asked for a better person to provide services for our wedding. From rehearsal dinner to the end of the night of the actual wedding, everything was perfect and I believe Ken played a pivotal role in making that happen.

    Sent on 12/08/2016
  • S

    Sherri · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know where to start. When I first spoke to Ken I decided 5 minutes into our conversation that I wanted him to do our wedding. I learned a lot about what a dj provides to a wedding. Ken wore many hats for us, he was more then just a dj he became a friend and someone who I would call and run wedding ideas past. He literally went above and beyond for us. He even did the honor of doing a fallen solider table at our wedding. To this day we have had people tell us how much fun the reception was, how amazing the dj was, how interactive it was. We had a blast it was so much fun. Ken is the man to go with if you want a night your guests will never forget and yourself. Everyone left smiling and laughing.

    Sent on 12/20/2016
  • K

    Kelli · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous entertainer and entertainment! A pleasure to work with and very accommodating! Professional and excellent customer service.

    Sent on 12/08/2016
  • User3070321 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a DJ that can keep your guests entertained and your dance floor full, this is the DJ for you! Ken is great at meeting with you ahead of time, discussing the feel and goal of your wedding, your expectations of him as the DJ, and making everything come together perfectly. The details he includes in his services guarantee that you don't miss anything that could cause a hitch in your perfect day. His services are more than just a DJ---he helps you tie together your whole event, from decor, lighting, arrangements, and more. He has great input and perspective for any twist you may want to throw in on your special day. I would recommend him to everyone who wants an unforgettable event. Your DJ makes or breaks your event and this DJ definitely makes your event perfect!

    Sent on 11/10/2014
  • User4241757 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't be happier with our entertainment service provided by Ken. He did an awesome job with our wedding reception and also with our ceremony music. He is professional, energetic, and fun and was very knowledgeable and helpful during the planning process. He helped us choose our music selection for our ceremony and he did a wonderful job with our ceremony music, everything went smoothly on our special day. We received several positive comments from wedding guests of the great time they had during the reception. We would definitely recommend him to any couple that is looking for a fun, upbeat DJ!

    Sent on 11/19/2014
  • T

    Tara · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken Peterson is just fabulous! He goes above and beyond to help you with your event. My husband and I have received so many compliments during and after the wedding about Ken. We trusted him and just let him do his thing! You cannot go wrong with Ken!

    Sent on 12/12/2013
  • S

    Shrikant · Married on 06/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken was simply AMAZING!

    He proved to be so much more than just a "DJ". Ken was extremely professional and helped us navigate through a lot of pre-work. Before the wedding Ken worked with us for months to help understand about me and my wife - how we met, things we like, things we dislike, family background etc. He made sure not just the music but EVERYTHING in the wedding was custom tailored to what WE would like.

    Ken not only had a great selection of music (on which he took inputs from me, my wife and also friends and family) but also had a number of games / activities that he had planned with our inputs!!!!

    I can go on and on about what a great pleasure it was to have him as a part of our wedding.... as I said at the start of my review...... he is so much more than a "DJ" - he is a DJ, entertainer and a wedding planner all rolled into one!!!!

    Sent on 01/07/2013
  • A

    April · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we booked him until after the night of the wedding ken was the most helpful person in the entire wedding. I almost considered him the wedding planner when it came to the weekend of the wedding. He coordinated everything about the day and had everything running like a smooth machine. The music for the ceremony with my vocalists and musicians was epic without any problems. Then the reception was a smooth sailing event headed by him. We even had a storm come through and he managed to change the location of his equipment without the party missing a beat. He had the party rocking from the kickoff and through the last dance. Every one of our guests commented on how awesome he was as well. As a bride I didn't have to worry about one thing the day of the wedding and he was the main reason for that. I would recommend him to e wry couple looking to have the best music and Dj services around! For what he does, his price is a steal!

    Sent on 01/07/2013
  • User2952655 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken did an outstanding job not only with the music but also with photography, intros., everything really my wife adored him as he put his best foot forward far above and beyond the duties we asked for. He was always available to adjust and really cared about what we wanted. He also did a great job getting people in the frame of mind to have a great time and relax. I would recommend ken to anyone!!!

    Sent on 01/07/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Ken Petersen's Entertainment Services. Ken was more than a "wedding DJ" at our wedding...it seemed like he helped with everything. If there was ever a problem or I needed a suggestion, Ken was right there to help with it. Our guests still talk about how amazing he was, and how it was the "best wedding dance" they have ever been to. He was up for anything we wanted to do, and had so many great ideas for areas we were not sure about. Ken actually booked quite a few weddings off of ours, because it was so unbelievable. At the end of everything, my husband and I agreed we felt like we didn't pay him enough for all that he did. I would absolutely recommend his services to any bride and groom!

    Sent on 01/07/2013
  • M

    Misty · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken is so much more than a DJ! We called other DJ's in the area and they could have cared less to work with us. Everything is the same routine with them. Ken wanted to know us and everything about our relationship so he could incorporate it into the reception. He went far beyond our expections and made it the best reception ever! My husband and I are not very creative so we asked a lot of Ken and he delivered! Ken will tell you his honest opinion but also respect your opinion. He brought up a lot of things we did not even think of. He is full of ideas but will not do anything without your approval. Our wedding had close to 200 people and I heard from almost everyone how much fun and creative our reception was. There were many different types of people with different tastes and he managed to cover them all so everyone enjoyed themselves. The reception lasted until about 12:00 am and everyone was still on the dance floor. It probably would have lasted longer but we only booked the room until then.

    The day of the wedding started out a little hectic but I never once had to check to see if Ken was ready. He was there early and turned the room into the most beautiful ballroom. He had a smile on face the entire time and keep the crowd going. After the wedding I had people coming up to me and telling me they heard the wedding was a hit and that the DJ was amazing. I couldn't have said it better myself. If I could go back and do it over again I definitely would! If we wouldn't of had Ken, the night would not have been the same! Your wedding day will be hectic enough but with Ken you will not have one thing to worry about!

    Sent on 06/27/2011
  • M

    Monica · Married on 04/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm the Mother of the Bride and wanted to say Ken is wonderful. My daughter had an outdoor wedding and Ken went above and beyond to be there for the rehearsal to check sound levels. He added more microphones so all the guests could hear the ceremony even with the gusty breeze. (He even gave our son tips on videoing the ceremony.) I told him of a special piece my daughter would have liked to have at the wedding and I brought the CD with us but Ken researched the group and purchased the CD himself to be sure he would have it. Ken gave my daughter and new son-in-law a day they will always remember.

    Sent on 06/17/2010
  • R

    Laura · Married on 04/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were engaged very quickly due to several friends leaving and the wedding was planned in under 4 months. While we were looking for a DJ we were able to talk to Ken right away after calling him. The other DJ company we talked to did not get back to me for nearly a week and with that kind of time crunch we could not afford that time. However, Ken had already wrapped us in his friendship. We bonded a people and we were thrilled that he was able to help both my husband and myself plan surprises for the other. His special touches helped make the day flow perfectly. He made the day beautiful with all the lights and music. He was there early and stayed late. We would not have had such a great day with out Ken. I have recommended him to several friends already. Thank you Ken!

    Sent on 02/01/2011
  • K

    Karl · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken was great! From before we booked him, through the wedding planning, and even after, he has provided an amazing service that can not even be compared to other DJ's. He knows the area vendors well and was able to recommend great choices for reception and catering. He met with us whenever we needed to and always gave us a call back, if he wasn't able to answer.

    And now for his bread and butter, the entertainment! He helped us create a reception we nor our family and friends will ever forget. He did an amazing job keeping everyone at the reception involved, young and old. He was able to give us many new ideas to help keep the reception fresh, and was very flexible with the flow and schedule of the evening!

    Sent on 08/27/2009
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 07/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would advise everyone I know that is getting married to call Ken. He stepped in for us when our D.J. quit just a short time before our wedding. My father also passed away July 1 2008 ansdwe got married July 4 2008. He made our day like noone else could have and yet took a moment to honor my Dad. He is the BEST!!!!

    Sent on 06/04/2009
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 06/21/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken did such a great job at my wedding, he kept the party going and knew exactly what kind of music to play!! He was very profesional, and everyone had so much fun!!! He also stayed a couple hours later without hesitating. I would recommend him to anyone!!!

    Sent on 06/27/2008
  • A

    Robin · Married on 03/01/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken did a great job providing music, sound and lighting for our event. This is the first time we'd used a DJ instead of a band, and didn't quite know what to expect. We were thrilled with the results. Ken worked well with our committee and he was responsive to our needs and requests. The night of the event, Ken incorporated unique and fun elements that helped keep our audience engaged throughout the evening. We look forward to working with him again!

    Sent on 04/07/2008
  • User3547081 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THis is the best DJ you will find. Get this DJ and your wedding will be awesome. You won't have to worry about a thing during the reception because Ken takes care of it and everything flows so nicely. People were dancing all night long!

    Sent on 09/20/2013
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 04/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken did a fantastic job for us. He traveled nearly 200 miles in less than desirable conditions to do our wedding, and was extremely professional in his attitude and work with our other vendors.

    More importantly, though--he carefully listened to what we wanted from the out-set, understood the atmosphere we wanted to create, and brought some great ideas to the table to help us a craft a ceremoney and reception even the venue staff continue to talk about 2 months later. (When the banquet staff actually enjoys working a wedding...you know things are awesome! :) )

    Ken did a perfect job of gauging the crowd, the mood and working it all together perfectly. His transitions are seemless...well thought out and perfectly timed. His equipment is top of the line, and sound for every single aspect was perfectly flawless. There isn't one thing I would change about anything that night, and Ken had a huge hand in making our wedding everything we wanted and more.

    Sent on 06/27/2011
  • N

    Kristin · Married on 11/29/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ken by far exceeded my expectations. He really is more than a DJ, my family and I were so impressed by everything he helped with besides playing the music. I would very highly recommend him to anyone. I know our reception ran smoothly because of him, he definitely knows what he is doing. His services were very personalized and fun!

    Sent on 06/13/2009
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 09/13/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When you give something full thumbs up (stars) it some times diminishes the value of the review. But Ken deserves them all. He has a very unique personality that works really well as a DJ.

    Ken's help with planning the reception is what really stood out. Ken has done weddings before and it shows in the best ways possible. I don't know the problems we would have had without him and thats the point. I would recommend Ken any time you need a professional and/or fun DJ/MC.

    Sent on 11/08/2008
  • A

    Alan · Married on 05/19/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Definitely a great DJ. He will respond to the crowd and read them well. He was well prepared and very professional. Very enthusiastic and energetic. Would hire him again in a heartbeat if I ever needed a DJ in the area for anything. Kept the music volume at a level that was needed at different times through the night. Many people came up after the reception and said they loved the music. It was a great night.

    Sent on 06/06/2017
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 06/06/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Ken was very helpful in the planning of the music for both the ceremony and the reception. He was able to really pick up an early dwindling reception and keep the party going til almost midnight! Our reception started at 3pm!! We had a great time!

    Sent on 06/23/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review