Kansas Star Event Center Reviews

28 | Mulvane, KS
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for Kansas Star Event Center

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

28

9 User photos

Order by:
  • C

    Casey Jensen · Getting married on 05/02/2022

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best day of my life!

    My husband and I just got married inside the Ballroom at the Kansas Star Casino, besides marrying each other, having our wedding here was the best decision we’ve ever made! Having a hotel nearby our venue was important because we had a lot of out of town guests, and let’s be honest, a lot of friends that enjoy gambling and drinking! The hotel rooms were clean and such a nice facility (pool, workout room, snacks anytime you need them!). Just a short walk from the hotel is the casino floor, three restaurants and three fully stocked bars. If you haven’t been inside the Kansas Star, it is worth checking out, beautiful casino! Now, to the most important part, the wedding. The wedding coordinators were there EVERY step of the way. Any question I had-I could email or call-they would respond so quickly. They were there on my wedding day, helping me finalize the small details (cake table, memory table). They also offered advice on photographers, DJ’s, cake services, lighting companies. This venue takes care of all setting up and cleaning up. All you need to worry about on your big day is setting up what you want at the venue and getting beautiful!!! This was truly one of the best days of my life and I wish I could do it all over again!

    Sent on 03/04/2020
  • M

    Marilyn M · Married on 08/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    60th birthday party

    My husband hosted a 60th birthday party at the Fireclub at the Kansas star in casino. the servers were not only excellent, but professional. Very well trained. Responded to any need we had. We worked with Shani and Angie before hand and Jodi during the event. All excellent and helpful. Jodi during the event made sure everything was perfect for us. Angie called 2days after and checked with us to make sure our expectations were met. Food was excellent. I expected it to be so so, but all of our guests were very pleased. Would recommend. The fireclub is very attractive and well laid out with it's own restroom facility in the room. We had a bartender for the evening and she was fun and accommodating to all or our guests.

    Sent on 08/11/2019
  • L

    Linda Miller · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Execellent weddding venue

    We were so very happy with the event center for my daughters wedding. The professionalism and the great staff made EVERYTHING move so smoothly. This was my only daughters wedding and I wouldn't have changed anything. The staff, the accommodations and everything all together was great!!!!

    Sent on 07/24/2019
  • Jacob

    Jacob · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    very professional

    We had planned an out door wedding which would of been beautiful and put so much work into it, but 5 days before the wedding we had no choice to move the venue due to rain. I scrambled around calling venues to see who had space available. Several had openings but the Kansas Star Casino caught our eye. Shani at the casino was amazing! Very professional and helpful making things happen fast and under very short notice. I’m beyond grateful that our wedding was perfect. Shani knew what we needed and provided much more.

    Sent on 05/30/2019
  • Tina

    Tina White · Married on 03/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mother of the bride would give 10 stars

    If I could give more stars I would! This will be a long review but worth your time. I will try to keep it short, but this group is so fabulous to work with, I dont want to forget anything.
    The entire staff was very professional, courteous, and helpful, from beginning to end. They accommodated our requests, changes, and offered help in many ways. We found KSEC to be very comparable in price with other venues BUT with a fraction of our own labor needed. We found other buildings we could rent for a similar price, but all the labor, set up, tear down, linens, etc, were either not available and definitely not included in the price. Things like all linens-tablecloths, cloth napkins, table skirting, table service, glassware-even punch cups, and table centerpieces, and votives, were all included at no additional charge! All the table and chair set up and tear down were included. They were very supportive with changes and always responded with, "that's what we do!" We even needed several easels which they provided. We made our own lit backdrop, and when I asked, they even had weighted bags they covered in white linen for our use. There was no other event scheduled with ours and they were very gracious in allowing us to flow out into the foyer (or pre-event area) with additional cocktail tables and special memorabilia for the wedding couple and families. The meal choices were delicious and they offered to specialize for a few dietary issues. We had lots of compliments from our guests on how delicious, moist, and tender their meal was and I can't tell you how many commented how beautiful and elegant everything looked! The staff was super supportive in working with our wedding cake vendor and DJ. They were flexible with the bar in keeping us informed of the bill and if we wanted to continue an open bar or switch to a cash bar, and even in choosing what we wanted served at the bar. My husband was ecstatic in how much help they provided in the tear down and clean up, even helping us with our own decor and boxing it back up. Communication through the planning process was always answered quickly. Angela and Jodi were the onsight managers and they and their staff were absolutely fantastic to work with! They took the pressure off of me-the mother of the bride and planner- in so many ways, my gratitude and appreciation brought me to tears after the event. It is so rare these days to have this kind of cooperation, service, and consideration of our feelings and needs. This truly was the BEST EXPERIENCE I have ever had in dealing with a company or people....even down to the smallest details. They took care of my daughter and made it the most beautiful wedding experience we could imagine! And they also took care of us, our family, and guests. We will definitely use them for our other daughters wedding and recommend them highly to anyone considering venues. I'm sure I've forgotten something I meant to include, but I cannot imagine a better experience!

    Sent on 03/12/2019
  • A

    Allison · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream wedding

    They were amazing!! Easy to work with, they made everything I wanted into a reality! There where no issues

    Sent on 01/24/2019
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had both our wedding ceremony and reception at Kansas Star on 8/18/18. From my first contact with their coordinators, I knew I had made the right choice! I had initially chose Kansas Star due to the all-inclusive nature of their wedding package, my career is in Marketing/Event Planning on a large commercial scale, so for my wedding, I was wanting to be hands off, letting them execute my vision for me- and they did not disappoint!
    First off, I can say first-hand how wonderful my interactions were with Marisa and Angela were. They did a very thorough job, displaying passion and enthusiasm in helping to make my wedding vision a reality. They were both very responsive to my emails, phone calls, and were available to meet anytime I needed to. They both displayed extreme patience and understanding every time I changed my mind or came up with another idea. They did an amazing job of keeping me on track and informed. When it came down to wedding day, we were able to completely relax and enjoy the moment knowing my big day was in their hands!
    Secondly, we want to say how easily it was to transform a simple ballroom into a beautiful wedding venue, the entire décor of the building was easy to work with and our photographer was able to capture some beautiful photos!
    Thirdly, the food was DELICIOUS! We heard from many many guests how amazing they thought their meals were! Their chef, kitchen staff and wait staff were beyond what we thought was possible for a wedding. I was thoroughly blown away by the caliber of food we served!
    Finally, I have heard from many guests how wonderful of a time they had at our wedding! From the ambiance, the convenience of the hotel, the wonderful food to the fun of the casino, everyone had a truly memorable time! This was all made possible by the effort, time and care Marisa and Angela (and many others) put into making our day go off without a hitch, and making sure that our vision came to life. We would highly recommend Kansas Star!

    Sent on 09/28/2018
  • K

    K · event on: 12/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff of the Casino is awesome! They are very professional in every way and made our event a great success!

    Sent on 12/13/2017
  • A

    Adam · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lana and her team were top notch in every way. Any suggestion, request or adjustment we needed was made without any hesitation or complaint. She truly made the night easy for us enjoy and worry free. The venue looked incredible, the food was amazing and the bar service was great! Highly highly recommend using Lana and her team! Thanks for everything Lana!

    Sent on 11/26/2017
  • A

    Addie · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't think that I can truly express how wonderful the entire Wedding Team at the Kansas Star Casino was on our special day! I mostly worked with Marisa and Lisa and let me tell you these ladies are caring, attentive, sweet, professional very capable wedding experts. They went above and beyond. Brides I know planning a wedding is stressful but it is all so worth that beautiful day. Marisa and Lisa let us use other event décor and even decorated for us as we live in Hutchinson. They were so helpful and informative. The room put together was so stunning and elegant. Our plated dinner was delicious. Our guests were definitely impressed. The space is romantic and intimate. I like most brides had a budget. One would think that to use an event room at a Casino would cost an arm and a leg. Don't be fooled call and ask for a quote. I am so so glad we did. I knew with the reception that I could trust it would be perfect. As Marisa and Lisa made me feel that I was in good hands. We want to thank the Kansas Star Wedding Staff for making our special day spectacular!!!

    Sent on 07/24/2017
  • R

    Rubi · Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most magical day

    If there is anything I would change about the wedding process, it would be that I shouldn't have stressed out as much because the staff at Kansas Star Casino absolutely exceed my exceptions. We had our rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception all at KSC. In addition, we got to spend the night at the casino after the reception so the party never had to stop! All of our guests stayed at KSC Hampton Inn and Suites so they never had to leave or worry about directions or how they would be getting home that night.

    The staff at KSC truly know how to run a wedding. They were quick to answer all questions plus worked so well with all my vendors! As the bride, I truly got to sit back and enjoy the day! The food was AMAZING! All their staff was so kind and a lot of them went out of their way to compliment me and made me feel like an absolute princess! Everyone was happy with their hotel stay as well and our rehearsal dinner was also an incredible experience. Also, they have some decor that they let you use at no extra charge and we took advantage of that and incorporated that into our day. I cannot say enough good things about them. If you want to have a stress-free wedding and have your guests enjoy the party even after your reception is over. I would definitely check them out! Worth every penny :)) I promise you'll have the time of your life and you'll be glad you did!

    Sent on 01/27/2019
  • M

    Mark · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend the Kansas Star Event Center and their staff, especially Lana Keay. Lana and her colleagues were tremendously helpful, offering advice, ideas, and alternatives to assist us in our plans. The staff exhibited an insane amount of patience and understanding with our questions and requests. They went above and beyond accommodating our requests about the food, drinks, decorations, timeline etc. Lana's experience/experience really showed when she heard some of our initial ideas: pointing out things we hadn't considered, making suggestions as to how to make our idea/plans come to fruition, or suggesting alternatives. But she always left the final decision to us and was always willing to execute our plan.

    Our final guest tally was approximately 185. We had both the ceremony and reception center at the event center. There was ample room to accommodate the number of guests we had.

    While I won't say that the big day went off without a hitch, none of it was on the part of the Kansas Star and their staff. The service and setup was exactly as planned and looked amazing. And while the hiccups were not the fault of the Kansas Star, they were of great help making adjustments at the last minute (and in some instances, I literally mean the last minute).

    While the distance from town may be a slight disadvantage, it is more than off set by the amenities of the venue, the casino as added bonus for the guests enjoyment, and most of all the professionalism and care of the staff working there. I highly recommend you visit and consider the Kansas Star in your wedding planning.

    Sent on 11/01/2016
  • C

    Christina · event on: 10/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at the Kansas Star Casino Event Center did an OUTSTANDING job helping me pull off a surprise 60th birthday party for my husband. The guests loved the venue, the food, the wine, and the courteous staff! And my husband was surprised and had a very memorable evening.

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • T

    TED · event on: 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The facilities were top-notch and the personnel bent over backwards to make our event a successfull one! All of our expectations were met and then some! Prompt, courteous and professional communications throughout our event. Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/11/2016
  • J

    Jodie · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend the Kansas Star Event Center for your wedding or really any special event. We had our wedding reception in the fire club. They made our day special and were very professional and organized. I wanted a venue that I trusted to make my wedding wonderful, and they did that and more. Their staff is friendly and willing to go above and beyond to cater to your needs. It has an ideal location, located close to Wichita and right off I-35. Your guests can stay in the adjacent hotel and if they enjoy gambling continue the fun in the casino after the event. You really can't go wrong with this venue and their staff. I would not have changed anything about this venue or my experience working with them. They were great!

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • User7427032 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I didn’t want my wedding in any type of cookie-cutter place that most people in my area choose. I wanted something with a lot of character and also convenient for my out of town guest as we had many people traveling for our wedding. So when we came across the Kansas star casino I was hooked.
    The staff members answer any questions you may have along the way and went above and beyond the entire 9 months We were manning our wedding! They make sure that your day will turn out exactly how you planned it!
    We decided to have our ceremony and wedding in the same ballroom and have our guest seated at their tables during our ceremony. The event staff was professional, full of energy and made the night flow smoothly. Kansas star worked precisely with my other vendors, and made sure to take care of any faults there might have been without stressing the bride and groom the day of the wedding. Did I mention, the staff sets up and cleans up the entire event. You are only responsible for the items you bring. Which in my case was decorations. So there was no family I needed to assign to clean up dishes tables and chairs!
    The serving staff and bar staff were very professional and accommodated to all our guests needs. For food we choose a plated dinner, they have many options and varieties for you to choose from! The food was exceptional and the staff accommodated to those that had vegetarian or gluten allergies.
    We were offered a discount group rates for our family and friends that needed hotel accommodations as well as provided the bride and groom with a stay in one of their hotel room suites.
    My wedding day/night was exactly how I always pictured it would be! Kansas star event center is 5 star! They went above and beyond what most vendors typically do and I would recommend the event center to anyone looking for space small or big!

    Sent on 11/21/2016
  • M

    Michelle · event on: 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Allison, Heather, Lori & the entire staff were extremely pleasant, helpful & flexible for our class reunion event!

    Sent on 06/26/2016
  • T

    Taryn · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kansas Star did an amazing job on our wedding, which was definitely not an easy task! We had a ton of vendors and 350 guests. They are the best and most beautiful venue in Wichita for a wedding this size (or any size, for that matter, as the ballroom can be sectioned)! The food was amazing and the staff was extremely accommodating. Our day was perfect and we couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you Kansas Star!

    Sent on 11/21/2016
  • A

    Angie · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The event staff was amazing! The Fireside club was perfect! Great catering!

    Sent on 04/12/2016
  • User6562726 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was perfect and guests had a blast. You should definitely look here! The staff is great!

    Sent on 04/05/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lana and her team are amazing! The ballroom was beautiful. They truly helped make my dream come true. The food was amazing, and the staff was all willing to help.
    I was beyond impressed with the venue, staff and everything they did for us.

    Sent on 11/15/2015
  • K

    Kerby · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One stop shop is the best way to describe Kansas Star. They did so much for my wedding, I couldn't have done it without their coordinators Lana and Erica. I had no idea how my wedding day was doing to go but Lana was right there guiding me through everything. From Friday night to Saturday night it was like a mini vacation. We had the rehearsal dinner in the arena's private room, me and my girls stayed at the connected hotel, woke up in the room I would be getting ready in(which I never had to leave till I went down to get married) then stayed in a suite with my new husband when the reception was over. My night owl friends had a good time in the casino when the reception was done. The ballroom is so big that we were able to section part of it off, get married and have the reception in the rest of the room. The staff as a whole was really nice and everything went very smooth. I had forgot to tell Lana and Erica about a couple gluten free eaters in my family and they made it happen without question. When it came time to pay and I was trying to figure out how to pay them while traveling on our honeymoon, they told me not to worry about it till we got home. I truly could not have done this without those 2 ladies.

    Sent on 12/22/2015
  • T

    Tracie · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding Venue. Very beautiful place and the staff went above and beyond to be helpful and accommodate our wishes for our wedding. If you are looking for a venue, kansas Star will surely exceed your expectations. Friendly, personable, professional and knowledgable staff to assist you.

    Sent on 08/10/2015
  • A

    Amy · event on: 09/30/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lori and Lisa in the event center were phenomenal to work with. My brother and I were able to organize, plan, and pull off an amazing surprise birthday party for our dad. Not only were we very happy with the event center and team, the guests were raving about the venue and food, and our dad was totally, unbelievably surprised!!! Fantastic food, beautiful room. All of our requests were honored, specialty meal was made for a family member with significant dietary restrictions, and everyone had a wonderful time! Thanks again!

    Sent on 10/03/2016
  • K

    Kathy Petersen · Married on 10/27/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great place to hold a wedding reception!

    From the first time we met the staff to discuss the venue to the night of the wedding, my daughters reception at the Kansas Star Event Center was a huge success. I realize that organizing events is their job, but I truly feel like they went above and beyond to make sure that our needs were met. I received many compliments on the reception. Angela King and her staff worked hard to make sure everything was smooth sailing, and it was. The attention to every detail made the difference. My daughter and her husband were very pleased with the food, the decor and the quality of service. There is plenty of parking, hotel rooms available for your out of town guests, and the venue is elegant. Whether you have a large or small reception - this is the place to hold it!

    Sent on 11/03/2018