Weddings

Kaleidoscope Events Reviews

Kaleidoscope Events

Kaleidoscope Events

South Bend, IN
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 47 Reviews
View more information

47 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 47
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
Sort by:
  • Angela
    Angela Married on 03/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely incredible! John has so much talent. He always kept the reception fun and exciting. Only positive feedback from the guests. He was easy to get a hold of, very organized, and so helpful. He had great ideas and knew what he was doing. Great transformations from song to song and was very willing to try knew things. I strongly recommend him and his wife to everyone!
  • M
    Maggie Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hooray for Jonathon. That’s the best place to start.
    We were so grateful we found him and had Kaleidoscope Events as our deejay for our wedding in May.
    My husband and I planned our wedding from 2,000 miles away and I relied on reviews to source, what we considered, the most important vendor. I think the deejay is such a memorable component to the day and I’ve walked away from so many weddings where they didn’t hit the mark or were flat out rude to the guests. As soon as we had our first FaceTime meeting with Jonathan, we knew we had made the right choice.
    Jonathan and Elizabeth are so organized and they shared Google docs of the Must Play and Do Not Play lists. They were right on top of the timeline and worked with us to find the right versions of our special songs and the ambient music for during dinner.
    The day of the wedding, they were so professional and their set up is just right. They didn’t have obnoxious screens or promotional posters. The uplighting was also tasteful.
    Jonathan was a great emcee and checked in with us before requests were played. He was also helpful in working with the other staff and vendors on the fly. I’ve never seen a deejay so on the ball!
    We got so so so many compliments about our playlists and Jonathan’s choices. The dance floor was literally never empty. He brilliant played two slow songs in a row which got SO many people out there with their loved ones. I still visit that memory.
    Do yourself a favor and book Kaleidoscope Events as soon as you can. You’re giving yourself a gift!

    Kaleidoscope Events's reply:

    Wow, Maggie! You really pointed out the heart behind why we got into this line of work and it means the world to us hearing feedback like this. Thank you for sharing your experience and we are thrilled to know that you were satisfied with our services. Thank you for letting us be a part of your incredibly special day!
  • J
    J Married on 05/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I just had our wedding on May 21st, John was the best wedding DJ we could have ever asked for. He was very professional, easy-going and responsive. He acted as our party’s host for the reception. He regularly checked with us and to remind us of upcoming events on our timeline, kept us on track and on schedule, asked us for any special requests, and to make sure we were having a great time. Kaleidoscope Events also provided up-lighting for our venue. The lighting made a huge difference in how it beautifully accented the room decor and flowers. We are very happy with their excellent service and really appreciate it!
  • A
    Aron Married on 09/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kaleidoscope Events was an absolute pleasure to work with. John was very responsive and did a great job the night of. I would highly recommend John for your event.

    Aron

    Kaleidoscope Events's reply:

    This is great to hear Aron. THANK YOU for your review. It was such a pleasure working with you two.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Kaleidoscope for our wedding in Benton Harbor, Michigan. We used John Wheeler as our DJ and Danika Wheeler as our day of coordinator. They are both so great to work with; professional, easy-going, and responsive. It was really nice that they are married and they could easily share information and work together. John walked us through the detailed wedding timeline helping us nail down every detail (including things we weren't even thinking about). He offered great suggestions and made us feel really comfortable about the big day. He also used google sheets to share music choices and song selections which was very helpful. Danika was a rocks star. She confirmed all vendors were set for the wedding day and met with us at the rehearsal dinner to talk about the wedding vision (in order to help set up decorations etc. and make sure everything turned out the way we wanted). The wedding and reception were both perfect and everything ran so smoothly thanks to John and Danika. All of our friends and family members danced the night away; we got a lot of compliments on the music. We were extremely satisfied with how everything went on the wedding day and would highly recommend both of them!

    Kaleidoscope Events's reply:

    Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. This is encouraging to hear. We are so happy for you both and hope for a marriage full of adventures, growth and laughter.
  • M
    Matthew Married on 09/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jonathan Swihart was an amazing DJ for our wedding. He really made our day special. His professionalism and friendly personality was fantastic. Planning along to way was a breeze through the use of Skype conferences and Google Docs. Day-of services were phenomenal and stress free. My wife and I are so thrilled that we selected Kaleidoscope Events (Jonathan Swihart) as our wedding DJ.

    Kaleidoscope Events's reply:

    Matthew, Thank YOU for allowing us to be part of such a monumental day in your life. We appreciate this positive review and especially your handwritten thank-you card to your DJ. We wish you and your wife a fantastic journey together.
  • M
    Michael Married on 09/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John Wheeler was a fantastic wedding DJ. My wife and I saw him DJ at another wedding and knew that he was the one we wanted to do our wedding. From the very beginning, he was very communicative with both of us about every aspect of the wedding that he would be involved in. His knowledge of wedding guests helped us make decisions about our reception timeline, and it was evident when everything ran smooth on the day of. John is a fantastic DJ, and I would suggest his services to anyone planning a wedding.
  • J
    Janell Married on 09/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were very happy with Kaleidoscope events to provide our music for our wedding. Jonathan Swihart was our DJ and he did an awesome job! He was very organized and super easy to work with-- had well laid out shared google docs to outline songs we love, do not play, and special moments songs. He was always available to skype with us for more detailed discussions and we really appreciated his more laid-back vibe. Would definitely recommend!
  • D
    David Married on 09/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jonathon SwiHart was our DJ and he was extremely easy and professional to work with. He always listened to our ideas for the wedding. During the wedding reception Jonathan did an excellent job reading the crowd and playing music that fit our guests so we always had a packed dance floor. I would highly recommend him for anyone.
  • L
    Leah Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our experience so far has been great! John Wheeler is super professional and we have full confidence he will make a great DJ for our big day!
  • J
    Jose Married on 07/31/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John and Kaleidoscope Events helped make our wedding day unforgettable. From the planning stages through the end of the wedding day he was nothing but helpful and enthusiastic. He asked us to provide him with a playlist to help set the vibe for the reception and he just took it from there. We had everyone from parents and older relatives to younger cousins on the dance floor at some point through out the night. Our guests had a great time and we could not be any happier with our decision to hire Kaleidoscope Events. Would give ten stars if possible.
  • G
    Garrett Married on 07/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wife and I contracted Kaleidoscope for our wedding DJ services. We were assigned Jonathan and could not be happier! From our first skype interview he was always available and very responsive. He was a joy to work with and we really enjoyed contributing to our cocktail and dance floor playlists. I feel the best part of our experience and where he shined most was our actual wedding day. Could not ask for a better person to help control and flow the day. He was flawless with the ceremony mixing and sound. MC'd dinner and dancing nicely as well. It really was a pleasure to have him at our special day. Thank you Jonathan and Kaleidoscope!
  • K
    Kristin Married on 07/22/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jonathan from Kaleidoscope was an absolute joy to work with. He helped us map out the perfect timeline for us for our wedding day in advance so it was much smoother the day of, and set the mood perfectly for our ceremony, dinner, and reception. Our guests didn't leave the dance floor! He was also very conscious of what we wanted and flexible the day of with some last minute changes. He is kind and professional, I would recommend this company to anyone in the area!
  • P
    Patty Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I would without hesitation hire Kaleidoscope Events again for a wedding or other event. John did an amazing job of keeping my daughter's beautiful wedding at The Hidden Vinyard lively and moving. He really picked up on the pulse of the crowd and the dance floor was packed all evening. His song choices were excellent and he did an amazing job announcing the bridal party and other fun dance events. He orchestrated the evening well, knew exactly what he was doing and was extremely professional. Thank you John for an amazing evening!

    Kaleidoscope Events's reply:

    Dear Patty,
    Thank you so much for this awesome review! We loved being involved in your daughter's special day and are so grateful for the opportunity to make her day memorable and exciting!
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 07/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Book him! Jonathan Swihart was great! He was laid-back and fun. The music for the ceremony was flawless. He facilitated all of the reception events wonderfully and was easy-going when we asked him to make on the spot changes. He isn't a cheesy MC and is still a ton of fun.

    He played all the music we asked him to and did an awesome job at picking the music he played based on what we liked. He took the perfect amount of requests. When he got some strange requests he was very thoughtful and asked for my permission first. He even handed over the mic at the end of the night to let one of our groomsmen beatbox.

    I honestly couldn't imagine it going any better. Especially considering the fact that we had very little time to speak to Jonathan before the wedding (because we were so behind on planning - I was basically a vendors worst nightmare as I had so many problems making decisions). He took what we gave him and made it perfect anyway.

    I couldn't recommend him enough. He helped make our wedding a day I will never forget and will forever cherish.
  • W
    William Married on 06/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John and Jonathan at Kaleidoscope events absolutely made our reception a party to remember. From the moment I booked them as my DJ, they both responded to any questions I had and helped give their input and expertise to create a fun, memorable, and worry free wedding reception. Jonathan was a great MC and even better DJ; taking urgent requests without hesitation and making sure our dance floor was packed from start to finish.

    Kaleidoscope events have the experience and skills to make any event run smoothly and keep your guests dancing all night long!
  • L
    Linsey Married on 06/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John made our wedding day everything we could have wanted it to be! I can not recommend him enough!! He was not only our DJ but also our wedding officiant, and he spent his birthday with us going over our wedding rehearsal. He was always prompt on responding to emails and we were able to have meetings on Skype due to our distance. We absolutely loved our ceremony, John's Homily was so beautiful and told a story of our lives and love. Our wedding guests have just raved about how great our ceremony was and we are so happy with it as well! John then proceeded to do a wonderful job from start to finish with our reception as our DJ. He had really good ideas for us to get people on the dance floor and he kept the celebration going! We can't thank John and Kaleidoscope Events enough! Thank you! Linsey and Travis Childress
  • Z
    Zack Married on 05/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    One word, outstanding!

    My wife and I wish we could give John 10 stars! He was beyond amazing from the couple months of planning all the way through the last song of the night at our wedding.

    John was so quick to respond to calls/emails and offered some great ideas for the wedding that people are still talking about a week after!

    If you are looking for a DJ anywhere in southwest Michigan, Kaleidoscope Events is 110% the company to go with!
  • C
    Colleen Married on 10/31/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired John (DJ) & Danika (Day of Coordinator) for our wedding! They are a wonderful team! Danika was amazingly helpful throughout the entire day! She stayed all night and was available for any questions & requests I had! Every little detail was covered. I was able to enjoy the night without worrying about the flow of the evening. She took care of tips, coordinating the vendors, and clean-up at the end of the night. Well worth it!! We had lots of specific and unique song requests and John honored them. We were dancing all night long!! John was also a great MC and took time to encourage guests to participate in our guest book.
  • J
    Jillian Married on 10/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John was amazing!!! Could not have asked for a better DJ. He skyped with us since we lived out of town and helped us with more than DJ services. He gave us input and suggestions when it came to other vendors as well as flow of the day. He was always fast when replying to emails and very helpful with all of my questions. The night was a hit and everyone had a blast. He was professional and had a great dimenor about him. He was there without being the center of the night and put together a great playlist from our suggestions and guest requests. Awesome!!!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I booked John as our DJ for our wedding in October and we honestly can say the John was the best vendor we worked with throughout the wedding planning process! He was so easy to work with: very professional, organized, knew our style of music right away, personable, outgoing, and had the dance floor packed all night! Everyone raved how our wedding was one of the most fun weddings and I owe it all to John and his DJ services!

    He made our planning process so easy and he developed a schedule for our reception, which made everything flow so easily! He has the best personalty and everyone said how awesome he was - he stole the show!

    He deserves 10 stars and is the best DJ out there!! If you are looking for a DJ for your upcoming Wedding or event, book John! You will not be disappointed! : )
  • User2420273 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kaleidoscope was one of the biggest and best vendor choices we made for our wedding day. They were there from beginning of the day till the end with a day of planner and DJ. John the owner helped out a lot olong the way and help make our day run smoothly.
  • C
    Cara Married on 10/02/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    How can we begin to rave about this vendor???? They were amazing throughout the whole process!!! John Wheeler was involved from the beginning not only collecting our contract and money, but offering his own time and assistance throughout the whole planning process AND he was just the DJ. He helped plan out a minute by minute timeline for just before our ceremony started through the end of the night.

    The officiant, Linda, and wedding planner, Kayla, were also extremely helpful, thoughtful and organized!! All three were presentable, enthusiastic and patient the day of the wedding. They were patient with my over organized ways and the planner even met with us the day before the wedding to pick up our decorations and had them all boxed up and ready before we left the night of the wedding. The were more organized than I could even have imagined and made the whole process pretty painless.

    And John was a fantastic DJ! I gave little direction on what to play other than some music to avoid, a couple favorite songs, and a general percentage breakdown of our favorite genres of music. And he ran with it and did amazingly. He felt out the audience and played a perfect mix of slow, fast, country, pop, rock, etc. The dance floor was packed all night and it was bittersweet when the last song played - if only it could have lasted all night!

    A huge thank you again to John, Danika, Linda and Kayla for making our wedding so amazing! We appreciate it more than you will ever know!!! I recommend you 10x over!
  • L
    Laura Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose Kaleidoscope Events as the DJ at our wedding after discovering their website, reaching out to John Wheeler, and Skyping with him shortly after. Although we were a little nervous to pick a DJ somewhat randomly online, especially one who has not been in the business very long, we made the decision to go with Kaleidoscope off of gut instinct (between the website and chatting with John, we had just sensed a good vibe), and the decision turned out to be a great one.

    John is very attentive and tech-savvy, making the planning process with him very easy. His use of Google Drive in collecting and organizing information from his clients was very in sync with our "wedding binder" -- basically a Google Drive folder. His response time on emails is also insane--he'd often send me back an answer to a question before I was ready to think about it again. He was flexible in scheduling times to skype, and was willing to discuss our event details throughout the entire planning process (unlike some vendors, who tend to wait until a few weeks before your event before really paying attention to you). As the bride, I was trying to have all of the event details worked out weeks in advance of our wedding, so I could relax and leave time open to fight unpredictable fires before the big day, so this willingness of John to pay attention to us the whole time meant a lot to my sanity.

    Getting to the big day itself . . .Dancing is a very important part of a wedding to my husband and I, so we really had our fingers crossed that John was the guy to get us the dancefloor we wanted. We buried him in way more song requests than he could play in one evening, and he was very polite about letting us know that he might have to deviate from our requests depending on how the guests are receiving them. In the end, he did actually stick to playing mainly songs that we had requested, which we were super excited about! And we had a great dance floor all night.
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 09/18/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John Wheeler is hands down the best DJ I have ever worked with/have experienced at a wedding. He is much more than a DJ - he is your right hand man. John will truly connect with who you are and what your needs are for your wedding and we couldn't be more grateful for the services he provided. My husband and I are VERY involved in music so this decision was very important to us. We really wanted to work with someone who would understand our taste in music, and the feeling that we were trying to create through out the wedding. John simply nailed it!

    One very important thing that John offers is ease of communication. I never waited long on an email back and he was very flexible with meeting in person or via Skype. He was also very open to all of our ideas for the wedding and he made all of them happen.

    He went above and beyond when he assisted the groomsmen and groom on when to start walking down the aisle, while also manning the ceremony music. He immediately got the party started for cocktail hour while we did pictures, but made sure to come out and meet with us and the bridal party to go over our entrance - which btw, turned out more amazing than I ever thought it would be. The song that we had picked out ended right after announcing just the wedding party but right before we would be announced. There was a moment of panic between my husband and I until John threw on 'Midnight City' by M83 (a song we LOVE but somehow never thought of) and then proceeded to announce us. It was seriously like a scene in a movie. So amazing and I'll never forget it!!
    The rest of the night, John kept the dance floor packed and had a great sense for what most of our guests liked and didn't like. I still hear from our family and friends how fun our wedding was, and we truly feel that we have John to thank for that!

    Kaleidoscope Events is worth every penny, and I would recommend them to anyone!