15 Reviews for Kaanapali Beach Hotel

4.5
out of 5.0
14 Kaanapali Beach Hotel Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Kristin at KBH made the destination wedding planning process so easy! I couldn't have planned a more perfect wedding had I been there myself. She was wonderful to work with from afar and such a pleasure to meet in person. The experience she created for our wedding day was unforgettable, from every detail of the ceremony to the reception afterward. Every staff person we worked with the day of was kind and attentive, and the minister was exceptional. All of this coupled with a gorgeous oceanfront ceremony site makes KBH a total obvious choice for booking your Hawaiian wedding. Thank you for making our day so special.

Profile Picture Christy, 1/23/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Very nice service. Everyone was happy here.

Profile Picture User4712277, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

My husband and I had a DW in Maui last November and wanted to host a welcome reception for ~120 guests the Friday evening before. We had a hard time finding a place in Maui that was affordable and would be able to hold that many people comfortably. We looked at everything - restaurant buy outs, cabana rentals, catering on a public beach. We came across the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel and their lawn spaces available for events and thought this would be the perfect fit for what we were looking for (space-wise, cost-wise, easy parking for guests, etc). We contacted Kristin Molina at KBH and from the start she was so INCREDIBLY patient and helpful. She definitely has a talent for event planning. I can't even remember how many emails I sent over, hoping she would not give up on me! :) There was never any pressure to do this or do that- Kristin was always open and flexible to what I was looking for.

Kristin helped me estimate the right amount of food and drinks, organized table and chairs for the night and provided simple table centerpieces as well. We ended up going with some appetizers and had two all you can eat stations - teppanyaki and a saimin stand. The layout was beautiful and the lawn (Signature Lawn) was right by the water so people were able to watch the sunset while enjoying some drinks. All I really had to do the day of was show up- everything was already set up and ready to go!

Parking was available for our guests at a reasonable rate - hourly rates but no more than $10/day.

Profile Picture Michelle, 11/8/14, 8 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Kristin was our wedding coordinator and was great. Did everything for our destination wedding and it turned out wonderful. Hotel was very accommodating and was able to move our wedding up a day due to the weather and had our reception the following day. Malihini was again as sweet as can be and set up activities for our guests during the storm. We all made leis, learned Hukilau and Malihini taught us some wonderful history of the island. She really made us feel like home. Thanks again to everyone that made our day so special.

Profile Picture Amanda, 10/17/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We had our rehearsal dinner on the Signature Lawn at KBH. We had a pretty tight budget, but Kristin did a great job making it look like we spent more than we did. The location was beautiful. We had a gorgeous sunset. The food was delicious. The entire staff at KBH feels like family the first time you meet them. We had a great time!

Profile Picture Neha, 7/11/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

We got married on the Nakupa Lawn at the hotel. It was so beautiful and the ceremony was great! Our wedding planner made everything so easy and there was little stress, even though it was a destination wedding!

Profile Picture Kimberly, 10/11/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The perfect setting for our wedding!! Couldn't have been more beautiful!!

Profile Picture Jen, 11/11/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Anyone thinking of getting married in Hawaii - I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! We had several people fly over for the wedding and it was so important to have a hotel that was affordable without sacraficing quality. The location was beautiful & the grounds were kept up perfectly. There was a wonderful central outdoor area where everyone could come together day and night. In the evenings there was hawaiian group of performers, and it made for just the perfect evenings to gather with friends, have a bite, a drink and visit.
They had several lovely lawns available for the wedding - we used one for the ceremony and another for the reception. The wedding coordinator worked with me via email and phone for a year as I planned this service. She listened to every request and paid attention to every detail so that I truly had nothing to worry about on the day. She worked a florist and photographer, and the chef of the hotel gave me several delicious food options and is also a talented baker and created a lovely wedding cake for us.
This place was more affordable by far than any other location I checked out and they were the friendliest people I could ever have hoped to work with!

Profile Picture Melinda, 8/20/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9

We had our wedding at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. It was the most amazing place. The grounds are beautiful and unique to the area. Kristen who was our coordinator and manager for catering did an amazing job setting up the food, tent, dance floor, lighting etc. I changed my mind several times and added and removed items, she had no problem handling anything. Her professionalism was one of the best I dealt with through out the entire planning. The set up was exactly the way I envisioned it, which is hard to say since it was a destination wedding. We worked by email, phone and pictures. The reception and ceremony location were overlooking the ocean and sunset and it was away from the rest of the hotel guest.

Profile Picture Neil, 10/12/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Cake
4.6

Our wedding and honeymoon was in Maui , Hawaii. We stayed at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel. It is most famous for the most hawaiian hotel. Very beautiful scenery. I especially loved the convenient beach right by the hotel as well as the restaurants walking distance. The shopping mall was near as well. We did not need a car. The only thing was we were told a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon would be in the fridge in our room. After numerous calls to the front desk we never received our complementary drink to celebrate our wedding day. I would still come back to stay here. I love hawaii.

Profile Picture Marlene, 8/11/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5

Kristin, the event planner at the Kaanapali beach Hotel was great! She is very knowledgeable about weddings and made sure ours went smoothly. The venue is a great value for what you get! The only negative was that there were some issues negotiating our contract with the hotel. Some of the original prices quoted were increased without us being told. Good thing we looked over the contract in detail. After bringing this to Kristin's attention, we were able to negotiate a compromise. The food was delicious and there was more than enough or our party!

Profile Picture Tamera , 6/28/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
3.5

Stayed here for our honeymoon. Loved the breakfasts, large open courtyard and Hawaiian spirit. Something of note though, all of the rooms have a shared door in the middle which makes it VERY easy to hear your neighbors. Lucky for us, we had small screaming children the first day and rowdy girls for the next six. If you are looking for a quiet stay just hope your neighbors are an elderly couple. Also, don't expect to get anything extra--you have to pay for everything from parking to a beach chair. There are lots of free classes like lei making and ukele lessons - unfortunately the classes only have like 15 spots so if you don't sign up early you won't get in. Seems silly for a hotel that is so big.

Profile Picture User5441045, 1+ year ago, 7 Reviews
Category: Travel
0.5

Please read to the end.
Everyone expects paradise from Hawaii. On the 5th month of pregnancy when women already passes nausea and has not yet quite visible belly, couples are going to travel! I’m with my husband living in New York are always dreamed to visit Hawaii! We saved money, had read some of the islands best, its sights and went to realize the dream! The flight turned out to be very long (15hours) and we would very much like to get finally to our hotel and experience the paradise of Hawaii! But we expected the opposite. Instead of Paradise we were trapped in hell! Upon arrival to Kanaapali beach hotel we got the bad smell!!! On the reception they didn’t even offered some water but simply started forcing us to use coupons for their shitty restaurants wishing to get a client. After they gave the key to the room full of mold! The long-awaited paradise, we did not feel! I was crying , my husband was angry. The next day when I felt bad from that being pregnant I breathed all night with mold we very kindly asked reception to return the money for the rest of the week so we can move to the other hotel (not refusing to pay for the night we spent) Manager refused right away and told us to contact our tour operator in NYC! Tour operator who has lived in New York was amazed from the news that living in New York he should know that their hole full of mold and asked the Administration to return to us our money! The Manager offered to relocate us to another room. We agreed to see the room. Naturally the other room smell was also as previous so is their hallways. Obviously the whole hotel is clogged with mold!!!! We again asked to return our money.
Our dispute lasted several hours. Manager said he needs to contact his supervisor. We returned to the room and waited for a call from the manager. the phone rang with the words where they refused to give money

Profile Picture Irina, 2/2/18, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue