JW Marriott New Orleans Reviews

25 | New Orleans, LA
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans

Recommended by 97%

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • M

    Makeda Vales · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding team & venue in NOLA

    “Awesome” is how my husband and I would describe my daughter’s wedding at the JW Marriott in NOLA on Oct. 13, 2018.
    As the Mother if the bride and bridal coordinator, my experience with planning seemed awkward when we had to work with several different people due to promotions or change of jobs. However, it was a blessing that I ended up with a team that made my daughter’s wedding one that would be remembered from a lifetime. The venue, food, handling of beverage service was first class. The staff not only knew intricacies of planning events, but also making everyone (bride, groom, parents and guest) feel welcomed during the entire stay.
    Special thanks to Rhonda Murray (event manager), and her staff: Tory Lewis (set-up person), Schawanda Small (Bride/Grooms personal asst.), Shon Prior, Derrick Williams (beverages) & his staff, and our outstanding Chef Ricardo and his staff for the delicious food.
    Ann Elise did not fail on her promises as she passed the torch. My Daughter & Son-in Law’s dreams were executed at the JW Marriott NOLA. You will not be disappointed!

  • Y

    Yorleny · Married on 02/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a last minute difficulty with the venue we primarly chose for our wedding reception but thankfully we were able to find an opening at JW Marriott.. Emily Jensen was great! we loved working with her, very attentive and sweet.
    The entire staff was very friendly and very professional our guest loved their stay. The hotel itself is very beautiful newly remodeled with long balconys that over look Canal Street . We hosted a welcoming cocktail hour at Fogo De Chao that Emily helped us put together and everyone loved it!
    Shwand was our butler , she was AMAZING! really went above and beyond to make sure we were ok the entire time . She brought over tons of food and drinks while we were waiting to be introduce at the reception , she made us feel confortable and relaxed. Derrick did an amazing job with the Banquet, our guest were very impressed with the presentation and did i mentioned the food was AMAZING! Everyone was talking about how awesome the food was at the reception.
    After the reception they sent over Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our suite that was comped for 2 nights! The suite was so beatiful. They definitely made us feel like Royalty 100%.
    We love JW and we will be going back very soon! Thank you so much for making our special day so wonderful !

  • User4139705 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding reception was beautiful!!! All our friends and family complimented on the food and service, which was OUTSTANDING!! Our bridal attendant (Shawanda) was so amazing!!! My groom and I did not have to ask for a drink the whole night!! The staff was so welcoming and friendly, from the bellman to the bartenders! Also the bi-level suite was breathtaking!!! It was the perfect place to get ready in with all of my bridesmaids!! Everything was so perfect!!!

  • J

    Jeanne · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My parents and I partnered with Michelle Schwall at the JW Marriott New Orleans to coordinate my wedding. My parents fell in love with the exquisite service received during their venue search and polished look of the hotel. My husband and I had an amazing and lovely time working with the entire team at the JW including Michelle around the details of our wedding. Michelle and the sales team were excellent and put all of our concerns, worries and planning panics at ease; they will become your best friends throughout the process. We highly recommend the JW to host any event, especially a wedding. The ballrooms are grand with chandeliers and balconies and the food, service and assistance are fabulous. Go with the JW, you will not regret it.

  • B

    Bluma · Married on 10/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found the service at the JW Marriott so personally caring and helpful. It reminded of an hotel that is not part of a chain- more like a personal, caring staff that really cared about our event. Emily Sita, Jim Fein, Michelle Schwall and Chef Carlos and William at the door were the names I remembered for their incredible outstanding service.

  • User3726828 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily Sita and the J.W. Marriott were a pleasure to work with. We've recommended them to others.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily Sita and Keith Vincent were so great to work with. Wedding receptions can be very stressful. They made the event stress-free!! Everything was perfect! The staff at the JW Marriott was wonderful and so helpful all weekend!

    The only suggestion I have is this....I think the parents of the bride should be allowed to have some of the food from the reception sent to their suite/room as well as the bride and groom. Sitting down to eat at the reception is just not possible!!! There just isn't time. I know we would have appreciated having something in our suite after the reception.

  • K

    Krista · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Greatest experience of my life and greatest night of my life! We recently had our ceremony and reception at the J.W. Marriott. The JW staff exemplified professionalism, personality, and initiative that quite frankly the other locations (sales executives) did not provide. We had been had told, “no,” or “we can’t promise that,” and my favorite, “that’s not included in the package,” throughout the whole process until luckily finding Emily and the J.W. We cannot stress enough how much of an impact Emily had in our decision making process. We got everything we could have asked for. The JW made the entire process through the wedding date itself…easy. I would sometimes email small novels to the staff late at night needing questions answered, etc. and like clockwork we’d get an email back the next morning. We were not expecting to get that level of communication and service, all the while keeping the process easy. It goes to show you that if you have the right people in place, good things happen. We’ve gotten nothing but compliments on the wedding thus far, and I attribute that to what the J.W. was able to provide us. Guests were constantly complimenting us for utilizing the hotel and how nice of a setting it was. The hotel provided us with a block of rooms and there was no penalty if the rooms were not rented. Another item to point out was the helpfulness and courteousness of the staff. It seemed as though every time you turned around someone was asking if they could help. And you cannot beat the location. Our guests enjoyed being able to walk everywhere they wanted. The staff was also very accommodating to helping us with the set up of decorations and coordinating with our vendors for drop offs. The kind of service we were provided was very much appreciated. It was a pleasure having our day at the J.W. Everything was beautiful and I could not I would recommend anyone looking for a venue to pick the J.W.!





  • C

    Chelsey · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were throughly pleased with the JW Marriott in New Orleans from beginning to end for our wedding. We would definitely pick the JW Marriott again if we had a do over.

  • J

    Jillian · Married on 03/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have picked a better venue for my wedding! From the beginning with Emily as our sales agent and then with Keith as our event manager, I felt like we were getting above and beyond our expectations of what we wanted in a reception venue. The fact that the hotel had just been renovated was an added bonus. Not only was the hotel gorgeous, but the food was fantastic as well. We are still getting calls from friends and family that attended the reception telling us how wonderful our food was!

  • K

    Kim · Married on 01/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have selected a better place to have the reception. The staff was wonderful to work with and so accommodating!

  • L

    lauren · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The hotel is beautful, in a great location and has enough space for any size wedding. The ballroom is beautiful. It boasts larger than life chandeliers and views of Canal St. The staff is unparalleled. Everyone went out of their way to accommodate myself and my guests. I was blown away by their attentiveness and genuine enjoyment in their jobs. I highly recommend the JW Marriott New Orleans for your wedding.

    Everyone at our wedding couldn't stop commenting on how good the food was and how beautiful the venue was. I couldn't have been more pleased. Our room block worked out perfectly and our guests were all pleased.

    Miriam Silva and Emily Sita are the way to go in JW Marriott world!

    This is a don't miss on your New Orleans wedding hunt!

  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 11/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service and staff were incredible! They gave us an absolutely perfect day! My family arrived the Sunday before the wedding, and the staff treated us as their family all week. Emily was fantastic! Miriam was our event coordinator. She was unbelievable throughout the entire process! She had great ideas and was willing to work with us on any idea we had. The food was also great! My husband and I live in New Orleans, but we are from Illinois. This was a destination wedding for all the guests and they absolutely loved the Marriott. Most of the guests stayed at the marriott for a couple of days before and after the wedding. Every one had a fabulous time! I will definitely be recommending the JW to anyone having a wedding.

  • K

    Kala · Married on 11/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The event coordinators at JW Marriott in New Orleans are extremely helpful. They provided me with everything I wanted, plus pointed me in the right direction if they couldn't provide me with what I needed.

  • User2889409 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The J.W. Marriott hotel staff worked with us from start to finish to create the perfect wedding experience. The night was flawless-the food, the set-up, the service, the pace. It was the best night of my life. Our wedding coordinator also attended the food tasting and rehearsal with us to make sure everything was exactly how we wanted it. I highly recommend the J.W. Marriott for a wedding venue. They are so professional and willing to work with you to get you exactly what you want. I didn't have to worry about a thing all night; I just had a great time because I knew everything was taken care of. They are the best!

  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The quality of service, food, professionalism and beauty was incredible.
    I highly recommend the JW for any venue

  • K

    Kimi · Married on 03/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at the JW Marriott was great. I never stressed about the day, because I knew everything was taken care of by the staff at the JW!

  • T

    terry · Married on 03/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience from start to finish with my daughter's wedding reception. Emily Sita was a fantastic sales representative and first contact!! Mike Chamberlin was also wonderful and took care of every detail. They were both very professional. The pastry chef was also terrific!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very pleased with the entire process from shopping venues all the way through to checking out of the hotel and beginning my honeymoon. It all went better than I could have imagined.

  • M

    Christy · Married on 04/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at this JW location almost a year ago. I used to think it was weird that people would say their wedding day was the happiest day of their life with all the stress that seemed to go into it, but my day truly was. Thanks to MIke Chamberlain, and the rest of the staff at JW, my wedding was exceptional, beyond my wildest dreams. The ballrooms are beautiful, the food, outstanding, and the room we got was ridiculous! Mike worked together with my dj, photographer, and wedding planner to make this event as nonstressful and beautiful for me as possible. We had 2 separate rooms to stay in the night before the wedding, great dressing rooms the day of, a beautiful ball room for the ceremony, and two ballrooms for the reception. For the reception, we had come to taste test the food about a month before. It was an exquisite white glove display, and got to personally meet the chefs! At the actual reception, the food was well displayed, and just as great as when we had the taste test. The staff was kind and respectful to both of our families. Both sets of parents were so pleasantly surprised at what an elegant, well planned event it turned out to be. After the reception, we all went down to Bourbon for some fun, then came back to our room for an after party. The room we stayed in was a two story, 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath suite with a en suite hot tub, living room, dining room, kitchen, card playing room, and office. We were able to easily fit our entire 10+ wedding party in our room for a little get together. Here's the best part....my ENTIRE wedding, from after the proposal to the honeymoon, (JW, dress, photographer, etc) cost less than $15000 dollars. Thank you so very much to Mike Chamberlain and the staff at JW Marriott on Canal for making our wedding far beyond anything I'd ever dreamed possible.

  • User5258998 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held reception for our daughter at the JW Marriott. It was fabulous!!! Maggie was our first contact. We were so fortunate, that she was having her own reception at the JW a few weeks later. She was a great source of information for other stuff as well. Michelle Michelle was our event planner. She prepared an incredible event order with every single detail. Danielle assisted her and everything was flawless. Tamyra, Michelle's assistant was also great during the planning. She has such a pleasant voice. She loved to say, "My pleasure", no matter how many times I called. The entire team was awesome!
    From the moment we came into the JW the weekend of the wedding, they made us feel as if the entire hotel was waiting for us. Valet guys, bell hops, check in, excecutive lounge manager, I mean everybody was aware we were there.
    The reception itself was impeccable and so much fun. Their ballroom is so elegant. All we needed was flowers on the tables. The JW cooperated with all vendors and the event was a huge success. The balcony overseeing Canal Street is a real treat.
    Shwanda, who was the couple's personal butler, oh my God! We wanted to take her home on the day we met her for food tasting, which did I mention how great the food was? Shwanda had an assistant to tend to us through out the night. They were great!!!
    Best compliment we can give is to book another event with them, and we have. Our second daughter is getting married in February and we are doing it all over again with them. They know what they are doing. We could not have picked a better place!

  • M

    Ange-Marie · Married on 03/01/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our reception at the JW Marriott. We highly recommend working with Leicey - she was our point person after the contract was signed and she took care of the details. The other JW staff ranged from okay to good, but Leicey was the most responsive and took care of most of the details. After one meeting for our destination wedding the week of, we were good to go and could enjoy the rehearsal dinner and get our guests settled with no worries!

  • T

    Terry · Married on 05/25/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Planning weddings and receptions can be very stressful. The people at the JW Marriott N.O. made the experience very pleasant from the very beginning to the actual reception.

    I highly recommend using the JW for your next event.

    From the moment you arrive the valets and the front desk are all friendly and very helpful. The freshness of the newly renovated lobby, ball room and rooms is seldom seen in major downtown city hotels.

    Feel free to contact me personally more information.

    Terry Stidham

  • User2634353 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    This venue was beautiful and the food and service were great. The hotel is gorgeous and the location superb. My only complaint is that they were under construction during my wedding and never warned me before I signed my contract. In fact, I wasn't told at all, but discovered it when I came in town 3 weeks before the wedding for final vendor meetings. The staff accomodated me, somewhat, after I complained, but nothing can really make up for the eyesore.

  • User4203062 · 2+ years ago

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I feel in love with this place because of the room and because Emily was so great at accommodating what I wanted. Emily however got promoted and many of things that were established in the contract did not happen. The room was extremely hot and I can only hope that I don't look too sweaty in my pictures. Also many of my guests did not receive cake and als.o they never gave my parents the leftover cake. I can only imagine that the staff is enjoying some as I type. I just don't want other brides to have deal with disappointment as I did

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review