82 Reviews for Julie Napear Photography

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Second Shooter (2)
Additional Hours (2)
High-Res Images (2)
Digital Files (2)
Engagement Shoot (1)
82 Julie Napear Photography Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Julie was the absolute best! All the set up and planning was very simple. She is a very kind person and was great at getting genuine reactions and smiles from my wife and me. And the photos are stunning! We especially loved that, for the first look, she was very insistent with our family that everyone leave so that it could be a genuine moment between my wife and me. We highly recommend her for any photography you'd need.

Profile Picture Alex, 5/13/17, 8 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Additional Hours, High-Res Images
5.0

Julie is wonderful beyond words!! She is so easy to work with, she is priced competitively, and she is by far one of the best (in my opinion, THE best) photographers in the D.C./NOVA/Shenandoah Valley area. The minute I got engaged, my first wish was to have Julie as my photographer, and I'm so glad it worked out that way!

Profile Picture Elisa, 4/29/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Second Shooter, Additional Hours, High-Res Images
4.8

I am SO thankful we were able to hire Julie for our wedding day photography (plus Nick, for videography)! From the first time I saw her photos online and the first meeting we had, I knew she was the photographer I wanted on our special day. I just love looking through all her pictures. After we had our engagement photos, I was even more excited for our wedding day photography! She was a pleasure to work with and is so great at getting through requested pictures quickly. She's amazingly skilled, and easy and fun to work with, and I can't wait to see our wedding photos!

Profile Picture Rachel, 10/10/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Engagement Shoot, Digital Files
5.0

Julie is amazing, best wedding photographer in the area! She is super sweet and personable and professional. My 4 year old daughter was part of our ceremony and Julie had endless patience handling our daughter as well as the other young kids in the wedding and at the reception. Our pictures turned out great, couldn't have asked for more. Will recommend her to all my friends!

Profile Picture User6262082, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Rebekah took wonderful photos of our wedding. She did a great job of telling us how to pose while also maintaining a great demeanor throughout the entire process. I would highly recommend Julie Napear Photography to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.

Profile Picture Lucy, 7/18/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie did our engagement and wedding photos and she was phenomenal! The quality of her work is outstanding and she is such a pleasure to work with. You spend a lot of time with your photographer on your wedding day and it was really nice to work with someone that was so accommodating and really went out of her way to make sure the entire experience was positive. She is fun to be around, very easy going and calm but also knows when to take control of a situation to get the right photos.

Not only is Julie a pleasure to work with, her photography skills are really top notch. She is very creative and she got some of the most amazing shots. It rained during our wedding and Julie was a star and stood out in the pouring rain while we stood under an awning so she could get just the right lighting. She is certainly dedicated to her craft.

All in all, Julie was a fantastic photographer and I would highly recommend her. She makes everyone feel comfortable and she really seems like she is having a good time and enjoys what she's doing. We were very happy that we chose to work with her for our wedding and will certainly work with her again.

Profile Picture Rebecca, 7/4/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie did my engagement, boudoir and wedding photos and I couldn't have asked for a better photographer! I can't say enough about the quality of her photography, she is without a doubt a true artist. She really knows her stuff! My husband and I had a long engagement, which Julie took advantage of by suggesting we do our engagement photos around the same time of the year and day as our wedding in order to better predict where the sun would be. It made for some really beautiful engagement pictures and helped us choose a time for the wedding. Julie is very organized with a calm yet authoritative manner that gets the job done without being bossy or overbearing. With my boudoir session Julie was professional and fun which made really comfortable. All our pictures turned out AMAZING, I highly recommend Julie Napear as a photographer and would use her again in the future!

Profile Picture User5220555, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie did an awesome job on our engagement and wedding photos! She is fun and easy to work with-- highly recommended!

Profile Picture Monica, 5/31/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Having Julie photograph our wedding was the best decision we made, aside from marrying each other! Having seen her work many times at many events, we knew our photos would be spectacular. What we didn't know was that we would get so much more. Julie is well connected in town and was able to refer us to several other high quality vendors. She attended our tasting with us at the venue and gave us great suggestions for logistics (i.e. how to seat the guests, where to enter from, how to set up tables, color schemes, etc). Her professionalism and skill was noticed by everyone who attended. Our family members called us after the wedding just to tell us how appreciative they were of her getting our family portraits done quickly and in a very organized way. She has a true gift for telling people what to do/how to do it/when to do it, while still keeping things fun, comfortable and making everyone feel at ease. Her knowledge and skills go far beyond that of photography. Not only did she capture some beautiful moments and emotions in photos during our event, but she was integral part of planning one of the best days of our lives so far. I don't know what we would have done without her and I'm very glad that we didn't have to find out. Thank you, Julie, for making that day magical and for making sure we never forget how we were feeling and how happy we were to be marrying each other.

Profile Picture Karis, 4/11/15, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

The easiest decision I had to make in the wedding planning process was my photographer, I actually wouldn't pick my date until I had confirmed with Julie that she had the day free. Julie had photographed many wedding I'd been a part of, and I knew she had the perfect style and temperament to make everything as easy and beautiful as possible.

In the crazy world of wedding planning Julie was a beacon of professionalism and so easy to work with. Due to the work Julie puts into keeping up with her clients, she made sure we weren't missing any shots that were important to us. She's also so familiar with the local venues that you know she's vetted the best locations on the property and the best time of day to get the perfect shots. However, the BEST thing about Julie is the super QUICK turn around time - our photos were up within a week of the wedding!

Profile Picture Sarah, 3/29/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie took our wedding photos and our anniversary photos, and she did a spectacular job. In fact, she is the only person I allow to take my photos! She makes people feel comfortable, has a real natural talent for posing people in natural poses, and has an easy personality that just makes everything go smoothly. She is simply the best!

Profile Picture Tammy, 2/15/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie is amazing! So easy to work with and has great ideas. We had children in our wedding party and she was fantastic with them. They really liked her and listened whenever she directed them to pose. She had most of our pictures loaded on her site within 2 days of the wedding!! The pictures are stunning. We will have a difficult time deciding what to print. One last thing to mention is her character. When the schedule for pictures changed, we told her we wanted to book extra time. Instead of just taking the extra money, she suggested sliding the formal photos to another time so we wouldn't have to pay additional money. That speaks volumes about her honesty and integrity which were very important to us. We would hire her for any future formal event.

Profile Picture Jennifer, 10/19/13, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie is the best. We were recommended her by a friend, and purchased an engagement shoot from her as a test run before signing a wedding contract. Throughout, we were impressed by her professionalism and dedication as well as the quality of her work. Even the CDs and USBs we received from her were professionally and attractively packaged.

She created a very comfortable and warm environment, which is crucial when you're corralling a churchful of relatives for those family shots; she was able to command the room without irritating anyone. We gave her a shot list extensively inspired by Pinterest, and she pulled off all the shots we asked her with enthusiasm and skill, even when a shot required her to lie on the ground to get the necessary angle!

If you're looking for a photographer, you can't go wrong with Julie.

Profile Picture John, 9/28/13, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie did the photography for my daughter’s wedding. The planning stage was easy, with Julie responding promptly to our emails and questions. We assigned a photo captain to each family group to organize and corral our big families and gatherings, so the process of taking the formal family pictures after the ceremony went smoothly and quickly. Julie took so many wonderful formal and candid pictures, seeming to be everywhere at once! I can't believe how quickly she uploaded the photos! Her prices are reasonable, too. We highly recommend Julie for weddings and other events. Her photos are excellent!

Profile Picture Jane, 8/17/13, 10 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie photographed my May 2013 wedding and did an amazing job. The venue was beautiful and Julie was able to take full advantage of it. The only thing I would change about the wedding is that I would have asked her to stay for longer to catch more of the reception shots, but that was my lack of planning.

Julie was friendly and definitely willing to roll with the punches. When we needed extra time for certain things, she was incredibly flexible.

Additionally, my friend did the flowers and Julie was really great about taking pictures of the flowers and supporting another small businesswoman. I really appreciated that. Photos here: http://poshbridallounge.com/2013/08/rustic-roses/

I would definitely highly recommend Julie to anyone looking for a photographer, and the fact that she is a great value is an added bonus.

Profile Picture Emily, 5/25/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie was incredible!!! She was very easy to work with, and came up with absolutely beautiful shots. We had a ton of fun on our wedding day, and she captured those moments forever.

Profile Picture Jody, 4/20/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.8

Julie is a great value and does tremendous work! Just make sure you know your best sides and poses. Speak up about what you like and be very organized!

Profile Picture User2353394, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I always dreamed about my wedding day.... And when the day came one of my stressors was did I hire a good photographer? Not only was she good.... She was amazing! She went out of her way to cover my day. I'm sure most of my pictures could be in picture frames that you buy or in magazines. She made my special day wonderfully unforgettable. She is a gifted artist and I was incredibly lucky to have found her!

Profile Picture Melissa, 3/1/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.9

If you are doing a Virginia wedding, you absolutely need to use Julie Napear Photography! She's absolutely wonderful. I bought a package that gave me a free engagement session, 9 hours on my wedding day plus a bunch of credits to use to purchase printed photos that I'm letting family members use -- and it was very affordable, especially compared to the ridiculous pricing in the Washington DC metro area.

My husband is not a photo taker at all. It's hard for him to take photos with a real smile on his face, but somehow, Julie captured it on both our wedding day and engagement session. I worked with Julie to create a list of MUST HAVE shots from the wedding and she made sure to get every single one, and made them more beautiful than i could imagine. She was also very responsive - i always hear back from her within 24 hours which, to a stressed out bride, is a huge plus! (see for yourself! http://jsnphoto.zenfolio.com/f742719308)

When it came shooting my husbands HUGE family for formal portraits, Julie was able to keep them in line, organized and get the shots done quickly before everyone started wandering away. I've been in weddings where it took forever to get the family portraits but this wasn't the case with Julie.

I can go on and on, but to sum it up, I very highly recommend Julie!

Profile Picture Kimberly, 11/3/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Not only were Julie's photos stunning, she was a complete pleasure to work with! My husband and I both (married Oct. 20, 2012) were not sure if we wanted to hire a professional photographer since so many of our guests would be taking photos as well. So glad we decided to go with Julie! Her photos were amazing...she captured a lot of the candid moments that were so important to our wedding. She understood we were both a bit "informal", and had a lot of fun with us getting great shots of us laughing together. She was extremely professional, but also fit right in with our day, making all of our friends and family at ease. Highly recommend Julie Napear Photography!

Profile Picture User2201905, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie took amazing photos of our wedding! Communication and planning was wonderful as we were in Colorado planning a Virginia wedding. You could never tell from our photos that we were freezing and could see our breath! Beautiful photos :)

Profile Picture Candice, 10/8/12, 9 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I cannot say enough good things about Julie! We knew we'd made the right choice after seeing some fabulous photos after the hour-long engagement shoot, but I was blown away by the photos she took at the wedding. Not only does Julie have a great eye for backdrops and poses, but she was super organized and helpful in setting the day-of schedule while keeping our priorities and large family in mind. Plus, she had a smile on her face the whole time which made her incredibly fun to work with. And, the pictures were uploaded and waiting for me when I got home from my honeymoon! The only problem is chosing which photos are our favorites!

Profile Picture Jessica, 8/26/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Julie was fantastic. She arrived early, managed to squeeze in all of our various posed family shots (we had A LOT), and captured candid moments throughout the evening. Pictures were posted online within a few days and we had our DVD about a week later. All of our guests kept commenting on how great the pictures look. Her prices are competitive for the area and I would highly recommend her to anyone who wants great photos of their event!

Profile Picture Rachel, 8/25/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

just can’t stop looking at all our wedding pictures you did such an amazing job capturing all the beautiful moments of our wedding... I knew you would do a wonderful job, but I’m truly blown away by the shots you got... I love the emotion, seeing the shots of our family and friends together, I just keep staring. Thank you so much for all the work and detail you put into capturing our wedding. I... feel like you made these pics into works of art. These pictures make us so happy – thank you so very, very much, Julie. I wish we could redo the whole day over again just so I could get another set of pictures from YOU! You are such an amazing photographer and we were so lucky to have you capture all of our special moments!!!!
Nycovia & Charles

Profile Picture Nycovia, 5/26/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

The first comments from everyone that saw my wedding photos were, "Who was your photographer? She is amazing?" I couldn't agree more. I was already impressed with her before I saw the photos because she got back to me so quick with my questions, was so flexible during the wedding, and her pricing was extremely reasonable. When I saw the photos, I was blown away. Not only is she extremely talented, but her positive energy made my wedding that much better.

Profile Picture julia, 5/25/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography