33 Reviews for Joy May Wedding Photography

5.0
out of 5.0
33 Joy May Wedding Photography Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Joy May did our wedding this year and literally created magic. Jonny and Sarah are a gem. They are a great team, he is so personable and willing to go the distance in profession, she's so kind & really pours her heart & love into her work. CREATIVE! They truly made the entire process so special and really just simple & easy - exactly what you want when you're planning a wedding. And Joy May always responded promptly to emails & phone calls, we never had to wait to hear from her.

Profile Picture Bobby, 11/7/10, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Our engagement photos are amazing! Johnny from Joy May worked with us to pick a photo package within our budget; thought of cool shots during the photo session; and met with us to scout the reception site to prepare for the wedding day. You can check off "photographer" on your wedding to-do list -- trust Johnny with all your Kodak moments. We love his film!

Profile Picture Dory, 9/26/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Joy May were the perfect photographers for our wedding. Their photographs are elegant and creative. It was important to us that our photographs felt natural and unstaged. Jonny and Cassy were exactly that. Our guests loved them, we loved them. They did their work emanating optimism and passion for their craft. On top of all that, they are reasonably priced and completely professional. They have a very tight schedule, so booking them can be hard, but you should see their work and rear the TOS. We felt so lucky to have them do our wedding.

Profile Picture emma, 9/18/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Joy May we cannot thank you enough for your wonderful work. You brought a splendid combination of professionalism, craftsmanship, creativity, experience, and a great rapport with everyone.

You managed the time constraints and personalities involved with grace. Your decision-making was shrewd. Your suggestion on the location of the portrait studio was brilliant--a big hit thanks to you). The timing of our photos with each table was perfect. You listened to, and worked with us, extremely well. And of course, everyone has simply raved about the quality of your photographs. We cannot recommend you enough. Splendido!!!

Profile Picture gianna, 8/8/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Joy May Photography had to shoot our wedding that consisted of almost 700 people. Joy, Johnny and Cassy are a talented team. For the size of our wedding they were very professional and efficient.

They shot our engagement as well part of our package ($2000) and they took us all over SF and was able to capture some beautiful moments.

Like people say, "The proof is in the pudding" so check the website and TOS and contact them. Five stars!

Profile Picture kat, 8/7/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I am a big fan of documenting/quality photos and knew from the beginning where a good portion of the budget would be spent on. I love Johnies approach and photo journalistic style as it captures the essence of the moment. What I also love is his consistency & attention to detail... this is huge for me.

Johnie he was extremely professional, genuine and personable at our wedding. He was stress-free! Great images! We are very happy with Joy May!

Profile Picture savannah, 8/1/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Finding a good photographer for your wedding can be daunting. We went to bridal shows and searched online for months. The only way to go is by referral. That's how we met Johnny from Joy May. You really get your money's worth with Joy May. We were very nervous for our engagement session. By the end of the day, we wanted to make Johnny a lifelong friend. He is that awesome.

When our wedding day came around, Johnny and Sarah his assistant, were so professional and such a pleasure to be around. We received sooooo many compliments on our engagement pictures which was displayed on a large poster board outside the reception.

Joy May has a unique style and an eye for detail. Thank you so much Joy May for making our day that much more special. You are crazy talented.

Profile Picture cassy, 7/18/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

When we first met Johnny, he was immediately receptive to all of our ideas. My husband and I are not the typical couple, and we didn't want the typical wedding photos that we could get from any photographer. What we did want something classic and vintage, and at the same time very fresh and modern - the overall theme of our wedding. A mix of vintage and modern, of fresh and classic... it seemed almost impossible, even to us.

But the complex and specific idea we had for the photos was no issue for Johnny. He far surpassed our highest expectations of how beautiful everything turned out. The photos came back a thousand times more amazing than we ever would have dreamed, and to top it off, her prices are INCREDIBLY reasonable-only $995.

More than anything, Johnny is incredibly intuitive and has the ability to pick up on the personalities of the individuals he is shooting and translate them onto film. He is extremely professional and a bundle of fun, and really, really, REALLY knows how to create beautiful photographs. I fully intend on using him for all of my professional photographic needs in the future.Baby photos coming soon! I recommend him whole-heartedly. Johnny is absolutely fabulous!

Profile Picture isabella, 7/18/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We recently had our engagement pictures taken by Jonny from Joy May Wedding photography... We love our engagement photos!

We were extremely impressed with how professional johnny was during the engagement session. We met at Fort Point by Golden Gate Bridge and ended up at the Embarcadero. We had so much fun doing the shoot in SF. Jonny made us feel really comfortable along the way.

The images are awesome! They really captured us as we really are. Thank you! We highly recommed them!

Profile Picture trinity, 6/26/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Joy May Photography is a team of digital artists and incredible photographers. Their work is eye-catching, unique and gorgeous - I guarantee the price will make you happy-only $995! We hired them for our wedding and we are very happy with the work!

If you're in the market for something special, let Joy , John and Sarah do your wedding! You'll end up with unique images that capture you in ways you thought weren't possible, and you and your friends will look very cool and fine to boot.

Profile Picture Wenona, 6/20/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Dude and I were lucky enough to have Joy May take our engagement photos. From beginning to end, Johnny was the epitome of professional excellence. He knew how to bring out the best in the lighting, background, our features. And later when I saw the photos, I can't believe how truthfully and beautifully, he captured our relationship and our love for each other.

A picture's worth a thousand words, so long as it's being captured by johnny from Joy May Wedding Photography.

Profile Picture Cynthia, 6/12/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Joy May had two photographers on site tht were absolutely terrific ! They were extemely professional, with a great sense of fun and calm that put everyone at ease. The package price for their services won't be beat......astounding value

Profile Picture Eileen, 5/30/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Johnny and his assistant photographed our wedding, and I can't say enough great things about them. They are professional, funky and so much fun. We have received countless compliments on the quality of her photos. They shoot with fresh, quirky and classy style. Beyond that, he was a huge help to us and knew exactly how to make us feel relaxed and comfortable. I'd recommend Joy May Photography to anyone looking for a fun, hip, professional photographer.

Profile Picture Shania, 5/21/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I just had my wedding last week and out of all of my vendors I have to say Joy May Wedding Photography was definitely my favorite.

I think choosing a talented and personable photographer is one of the most important decisions you will have to make when planning your wedding. I cannot say enough good things about Joy May !!!

Profile Picture caitlin, 5/1/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Johnny is an amazing photographer. He has a good personality & is very easy to get along with. His true skills really came out on the day of the wedding. I was getting ready in a hotel room in complete disarray & the minute johnny arrived, he had housekeeping make up the bed to take pictures. I was completely surprised at his ability to deal with the hecticness of the day of the wedding. Professional & talented, Johnny knows the shots he wants & knows how to get the best pictures in. I definitely would recommend Joy May Wedding Photography crew to any future brides & grooms.

Profile Picture xochi, 5/1/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

They honestly feel like they care about you and your wedding. If I had a question or concern they immediately addressed them and tried to work things out with me. She makes sure that you are happy!

Joy May has amazing talent. Just go to her website. I am amazed every time she has a new post up. And when I received my engagement pictures I was OOhing and AAHing the whole time. Everyone I showed them to were raving as well! Her photos are so unique and beautiful. She has a great eye!

Profile Picture willow, 4/24/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We found JOY MAY through a post card. We are in Sacrament so we had to rely on the yelp reviews. We were not disappointed! We booked for eight hours, a total of $2000.

Now I will say that planning a wedding was not exactly my idea of fun and that throughout the process, I appreciated responsive, kind and courteous vendors. Joy May Photography was all of these and more.

Michael was the photographer for our wedding just this last month and he did an amazing job. During the planning process, he was incredibly easy to work with. He was very well-prepared at our wedding with a VIP-photo list from us and was really professional and calm. JOY MAY provides the DVD (JPEGS) and copyrights title - We will not be abused by overpriced $ reprints from greedy photographers. JOY MAY is a talented company, the enhanced images are beautiful! We have received so many compliments on the photos!

For all the brides and grooms out there who are looking for a great wedding photography company-Joy May is your vendor.

Profile Picture Bridgette, 4/17/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Johnny did a great job as the photographer for our wedding. Our photos have the perfect level of artistic interest, balanced with a local flavor. From start to finish, the photos tell the story of the day beautifully.

I appreciated also that Johnny was very low-key and really subtle in her photography. We didn't have a lot of posed, contrived shots that I've seen from other weddings. The best photos were truly those that I had no idea were taken. I love to look through our book and remember that fantastic day!

Profile Picture Gianna, 4/17/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Not only were you guys willing to travel to shoot our wedding in Lake Tahoe - you guys made our day sooo memorable!!! We love all of our photos!Johnny, you guys are absolutely amazing!

Brides, not only are you getting an exquisite photographer for your wedding but you are getting superb service. These guys sure know how to get the "bride" out of EVERY PICTURE!! Thank you for being apart of our wedding day and I know that we will cherish our wedding photos for years and years to come!

Profile Picture Tiffany, 4/17/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We found Joy May Photography on Yelp and booked them after reading the service contract on their website. We are from San Diego and had to plan a wedding in SF.

They are polite and yet attentive, the perfect balance of years of experience and veteran training. They gave us DVDs of all of the enhanced images and copyrights and built an online album.

Thank you for sharing your talent with us!

Profile Picture natalie, 4/10/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Joy May shot our wedding and they were nothing short of AMAZING!
They came to South Lake Tahoe CA, for our wedding and there was no travel fee!

We booked Joy May online. By phone we confirmed the itinerary before the wedding, and they gave us tips and help to plan the wedding evening. They respected all of our wishes without questions. We booked 6 hours for the event. Total was $1500. VERY AFFORDABLE!

At the event they know how to work the room. They were friendly, but not familiar.

Joy May Photography is a pleasure to work with. The grind of wedding planning and hiring vendors can be very depressing, but Joy May Photography was not. They have a passion for weddings, and it shows! We cannot recommend them more highly.

Profile Picture cynthia, 4/3/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Finding a photographer for our wedding was not an easy task. We had the hardest time finding an affordable photographer until we found Joy May Wedding Photography. They completely suited the style we wanted. Not to mention that the video they did of our event is great !

Profile Picture yasmin, 3/20/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

If you are looking around for wedding photographers, stop right here and choose Joy May Photography! This team were some of the nicest and talented photographers I've seen in awhile. They photographed our wedding that happened last year.

We had a BIG WEDDING- 400 guests and 12 hours. This pair of photographers were absolute troopers throughout the long hours and of demanding guests and festivities.

From the moment they met our families, they were able to make instant connections with everyone. They even were able to make my father- in- law smile in the photographs (a difficult feat)! Throughout the long events, I was really impressed at the way both photographers could move around so seamlessly that nobody would even notice that they were taking photos and without ever missing a significant moment of the festivities. Their work is so versatile because they could take portrait style photos as well as candid shots right there at each event. Plus, they had such a range in their photography style that they can effectively use their camera apertures to focus on key parts of a shot, and also make great use of shutter speed to portray movement as well as stills within the wedding events. Since this team shoots each event simultaneously, they can capture the same shot with multiple angles.

These photographers were able to get along with all the guests and make them feel really comfortable during the photo shoots. In addition, they were so respectful for all of the cultural aspects of our wedding event. When they needed to capture a close-in shot, they quickly moved in and out of the line of sight of the guests to minimize distractions. They even tippy- toed at our wedding ceremony when they were approaching the religious and sacred rituals of the wedding vows - now that's respect for your event!

They caught EVERYTHING from the beauty of the setup in the various sites that we had our parties all the way 'till the bride and groom left the location. Thus, I would recommend Joy May Wedding Photography to everybody who is planning a wedding. They are just plain fantastic!

To check out some of their work from our wedding event, go to their websitehttp://www.joymay.net

Profile Picture sara, 3/13/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.9

After going through the wedding photographer selection process, I think there are five important questions to consider. Thankfully for us, Joy May excelled in all five.

1. COST. Can we afford them? Joy May is only $995! Best price in the Bay Area!!

2. PHOTOS: Are they creative? How artistic and imaginative are they? Are they uniquely talented at creating visually stunning images? Can they capture those critical, unscripted moments?

3. PROFESSIONALISM: Are they going to be an enjoyable person with whom to work? Thankfully, Joy May was first-class the entire way. Joy May arrived early and worked closely with our wedding planner to make sure they understood the grounds.

4. DELIVERY: Do we have to wait six months for our wedding photos? Joy May got our photos within four weeks!

5. COPYRIGHTS? Who owns my wedding images? If the photographer owns the copyrights, the bride and groom are at the mercy of inflated reprint prices. At Joy May we got the DVDs and Title to our images and can get our reprints from Costco anytime for the cheap!

Do your homework! We did and we recommend JOY MAY PHOTOGRAPHY everyone!

Profile Picture dani, 3/6/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

After searching and searching online for a reasonable photographer that takes beautiful pictures, we found Joy May. We picked them without even meeting him because of the artisic angle of the examples online and were not dissapointed! We loved the fact that Joy May didn't push us to purchase anything but what we wanted. They were also helpful months later when I contacted them about additional copies of the DVD of our wedding images.

I was told that I had the best wedding pictures from a friend of a friend that saw some photos on facebook. I didn't even know the person. I highly reccomend Joy May! Feel free to send me a message if you want more information about my experience.

Profile Picture Jayla, 2/14/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography