Josh Strauss Photography Reviews

22 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Josh Strauss Photography

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

22
Order by:
  • L

    Leah · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have picked a better photographer! Josh was an invaluable addition to one of the most memorable days of our lives. He managed to not only capture the candid moments that the Bride and Groom often do not get to witness, but he also relayed the many personalities and emotions of the day through his shots. He was visible and present when needed but was also able to almost disappear to the background and catch so many memorable photos. When going through our entire wedding album, we laughed, cried, and reminisced...all thanks to the wonderful job that Josh did. If a photo can speak a thousand words, we owe Josh a million thanks.

    Sent on 12/07/2016

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Wow Leah!! Thank you SOOO much for all the kind words and praise. I am so so happy that you two enjoyed working with me as much as I enjoyed working with you, and that you love the photos so much.
    Thank you!!
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Josh as our photographer and Jess as our videographer for our wedding back in April. They were super professional and we couldn't be happier with the photos and album we received from Josh. The short video from Jess was also fabulous. Josh also provides an engagement shoot with his services and that was fabulous as well. We are very happy with all the pictures we received from both the wedding and engagement shoot and would definitely work with them again as we had a great experience.

    Sent on 11/29/2016

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Hey Lauren, Thank you so much for your great review and for all the praise. It was great working with you two and getting to know your families. Thanks again for bringing us on board to document such an important day in your lives!
  • K

    Kate · Married on 12/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was the utmost professional and we couldn't have been happier with the work he produced. Within 1-2 days he provided "sneak peak" pictures from our engagement shoot and wedding. Within a month of our wedding (even with the holidays added in), he had provided a full gallery of all of our photos, as well as a shorter viewing of pictures he handpicked, which we were able to distribute to family members right away. We also received the thumb drive of all of our high-res photos in the mail within a month of our wedding. Everything was done so quickly and professionally, we were thrilled! I can't stop smiling looking at our pictures.

    I didn't remember seeing Josh at the reception and I thought maybe he didn't get pictures of guests or dancing or speeches and then I saw the pictures and couldn't get over what he was able to get! He just blended in with the crowd, it was great!

    Sent on 01/25/2016

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Wow Kate! Thanks so much for this amazing review and for your kind words about my work. I am so happy you guys are as pleased as you are with my service and with my photos, brings me joy!
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was absolutely fantastic! So easy to work with and has a great eye.

    We had a very tiny ceremony in Prospect Park and backyard reception, and Josh was very unobtrusive in our intimate setting. The photos really captured our day, and by the end of the evening he was basically a family friend who just happened to have lots of camera equipment with him.

    He had a sixth sense for stuff that was about to stress me out and would take care of it before I even knew I had a problem (aka day-of scheduling that I had forgotten all about). He even managed to get great shots of our dog, not an easy feat!

    Sent on 12/01/2015

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Thank you Lindsey for the great review and also for hiring me to be your wedding photographer!
  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was great. He helped make our day even more special and memorable then we ever expected. He The photos came out beautiful.

    Sent on 09/23/2015

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Thanks for the 5 star review Erin!
    It was such an honor being hired to document your day, especially since your husband is a photographer himself!

    Josh
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was wonderful to work with - as a former teacher he has the uncanny ability to wrangle various family members into their designated positions and shots. (Note to any future couples - Uncles tend to wander!)

    Not only were our shots beautifully composed - they captured the emotion of the day as well. We loved working with Josh and would definitely recommend him!

    Sent on 09/23/2015

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Thanks for the great review Kaitlin!
    I'm so happy you guys love your photos so much, you'll enjoy them now and for the rest of your life.
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After seeing and being in my friends wedding with Josh as the photographer I didn't even think of using anyone else for our wedding day. We have gotten so many complements on the pictures people tell us that they belong in a magazine. We also got the videography and I am so happy that last minute I decided to do that. We watch the video all the time and I love how they incorporated the songs into the video. If we ever have another big event we will definitely use Josh Stauss again!

    Sent on 07/21/2015

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Thank you for your review Leslie! It was such an honor to document your big day!
  • User2407007 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used both Josh and Jess Levey for photography and video. This review is for Jess and her videography as well as for Josh and his photography. Starting with Jess: She is amazing. She captured every single amazing moment from the wedding and then in her own brilliance made the most fabulous and fantastic edited video one could ever ask for. This husband/wife duo is absolutely amazing and we really were happy to have them document our wedding. I would highly recommend them both for any wedding. We are so happy that we decided to have Jess do our video and feel so lucky that someone as talented as her documented our wedding in the most beautiful and magical way. Five stars all the way for Jess! As for Josh he is equally fantastic and talented. He did both our engagement photos as well as our wedding photos. He captured so many amazing moments and really produced some truly wonderful photos. I hope to use them again for future life events because they are just really great.

    Sent on 11/01/2012
  • J

    Jill · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jess Levey from josh Strauss photography did an amazing job capturing our wedding. We are thrilled with the wedding film she produced and will treasure it for years to come. Jess is talented, easy to work with and gave us the final film quickly after the wedding. We would recommend her services to anyone looking for a videographer.

    Sent on 12/06/2012
  • A

    Alex · Married on 07/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't be happier with the job Josh did for our wedding. He was always easy to get a hold of an communicative as well as flexible about meeting times and places. On the day of our wedding, Josh blended in seamlessly and still managed to be everywhere at once. We wanted someone to document our day without detracting from it and Josh did that perfectly. The results are fantastic as he really captured every aspect of our day beautifully. We can't say enough good things about Josh and if you're like us, looking for a highly professional, highly skilled and non-obtrusive photographer, Josh is your man.

    Sent on 09/29/2011
  • Cocoa

    Kafayat · Married on 12/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where can I start in describing the exceptional service I received from Josh and Adi the videographer. First they arrived early and went straight to work, We had a traditional Nigerian Engagement/ Wedding Ceremony on 09.25.10 and we met beforehand to discuss the customs and traditions and he captured everything beautifully. We also discussed cost because he was the only one that could work within my budget and deliver! It was a large reception of about 150 people and he got details, guests, formal pics. I mean everything, at the end of the night I received 555 pictures from our 5 hour event and 3.5 hours of video! I was not expecting that much coverage at all for what we budgeted and was so very happy. All the pictures were edited and stunning. He exceeded my expectations and on a side note is just a fun guy to have at the party, always upbeat and positive, and great with communication. I would hire him again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 01/04/2011
  • L

    Luba · Married on 06/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but raves for Josh's work. He was everything I wanted in a photographer: (1) unobstrusive - there wasn't a moment when I noticed he was there, and he never made me "stop and say cheese" (2) relaxed and chill, rather than manic high-energy (3) a real artist - he captured real natural feelings and emotions (4) responsive and fast - we had all our photos in a month and a half, and probably could've had them sooner if we had wanted.

    I have recommended him to all my friends and family, and I kinda want to be his Facebook friend, that's how cool he is.

    Sent on 08/03/2010
  • M

    Mariola · Married on 04/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Josh Strauss as a photographer for our wedding in April 2010 in New York City. We had 100 guests at the wedding. Josh was great and I highly recommend him. He is professional, personable, creative, fun to work with, attentive to details and great with guests. The pictures he took are beautiful! Good shots both journalistic style as well as formals. My bridesmaids especially loved Josh, he was very attentive to them and made the picture taking really fun. Josh worked in team with his girlfriend Jessica as the videographer at the wedding. They worked well together and not only did what they were supposed to do photographer & videographer, but also made us feel comfortable, fun and taken care of without being in the way. Again, I highly recommend Josh. The pictures are beautiful and will for ever remind us of our special day! I'm grateful to Josh for putting so much effort into capturing those moments.

    Sent on 06/18/2010
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 08/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh is a terrific photographer. Very accommodating and a pleasure to work with. The candid shots he captured of our wedding were very special and unique. Would highly recommend Josh to anyone looking for an artistic and unique photographer.

    Sent on 03/02/2010
  • S

    W · Married on 09/18/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh photographed my wedding in 2007, and he was wonderful. His style is warm, calm, professional, and flexible. On my wedding day, I felt I could totally trust him. Josh was responsive to all of my communications, accommodated my requests, and gave great suggestions. My parents are divorced, so the formal photos needed to be sensitively organized. I gave Josh a list of photo shots with family member names and he knew everyone's name on the day of the wedding. Josh's candid shots were artistic and lovely. He seemed to be everywhere, but was never intrusive. Josh's pictures caught beautiful moments I had no idea were going on, and was so happy to see when we got our proofs. One of my favorite shots is of my mom, grandma, goddaughter and me as I was getting dressed in my grandma's room. His shots of the children in my wedding were gorgeous; the authenticity of the moment in the expressions on their faces is palpable. Josh even managed to get warm and beautiful candid shots of a few family members who were reluctant subjects. Bravo, Josh!

    Sent on 03/06/2010
  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/05/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh is a great photographer as well as a calming presence to have around on a stressful, but exciting day. He did an excellent job of capturing the many special moments from our wedding. Specifically, he took authentic candid photos, not just people posing and smiling for the camera. He also was vey flexible regarding our needs leading up to, at and after the wedding. I would highly recommend Josh for anyone getting married.

    Sent on 02/10/2010
  • Y

    Yujie · Married on 06/25/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh is first of all an excellent photographer. We love our wedding photos and engagement photos so much! He is also very professional and easy to communicate with. He knows how to secure quality photographing time even when your wedding day schedule didn't carry out as planned, which is much more likely to happen than many thought! For me my wedding was perfect and having Josh as our photographer was very important. Thank you, Josh!

    Sent on 08/05/2015

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Thanks so much Yujie!! You and your families are so sweet and kind. Your wedding was beautiful as are the both of you!

    Josh
  • M

    Marc · Married on 06/13/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was the photographer for our wedding in June 2015. Josh is a great photographer with a realistic style in his photos that allows the event to take place with minimal interference. He is laid back and low-key and is very able at working with a variety of different temperaments. The photos came out great and his suggestions throughout the event resulted in some of our best photos. I highly recommend Josh.

    Sent on 08/12/2015

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Thanks so much for the review Marc!
    It was an honor to photograph your wedding and be part of such a fun celebration.

    Josh
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 10/08/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Josh's style, I had seen his pics from a friend's wedding and loved the style and she had been very happy working with him. We met with others but selected Josh and are very happy with the results. Great pics that are real!!

    Sent on 12/06/2016
  • J

    James · Married on 08/09/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh photographed out wedding in August 2009. He did a great job. Very friendly, blended in well with the guests and got wonderful shots. Competitively priced and made the whole process stress-free!

    Sent on 02/10/2010
  • E

    Elana · Married on 07/17/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh and Jess very much capture natural energy and interactions. They took some incredible candids that so adequately captured the day. None of the photos feel rehearsed or overdone. So if you're looking for something over the top and flashy, they are not for you

    Sent on 11/29/2016
  • User4177017 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We booked Josh and his wife after falling in love with their online website. At the end of the day, we were very happy with our wedding photos, our engagement shots were pretty good.

    Unfortunately, we could've done without the stress of communicating with Josh after our wedding in the album creation process and also expected better attention to detail from a wedding photographer.

    The attention to detail refers to things like him not taking enough shots of critical photos in our list of must-haves and us only discovering this when we reviewed our final photos, compared it to our must-have list and noticed several photos missing.

    However, this review is mostly about the communication breakdown during the album creation process - it was as though they had never dealt with their album vendor before and had no idea about anything, which wasn't particularly helpful since we definitely didn't know what we didn't know. He would reach out to us with one-off emails and questions and we would respond, thinking we were all set and then we'd get a response weeks later saying that what we asked for was not possible and that we needed to pick again. We would and after several iterations of this we would get a response saying that what we finally wanted (simple things like text on the cover of our album to say the date and our names) would cost an extra $20. To me this seemed ridiculous because (a) text seems like a basic album ask and (b) we were already months beyond the date when our albums were promised to us, we had already paid them thousands of dollars in full, and now we were being nickled and dimed for $20.

    So while we were happy with our wedding photos, this post-wedding experience that was supposed to be enjoyable and give us fond memories to look back-on turned into a headache that dragged on for almost a year after our wedding. Looking back on it, I would not pick them again.

    Sent on 07/13/2015

    Josh Strauss Photography's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased that you are happy with your wedding photos and albums. We wanted to take this time to voice our explanations for your criticisms.

    In terms of the 'must haves' shot list, there are two photos that are missing. One is a photo of Jaime as Alina walked down the aisle and the other is a still life photo of the Bridesmaids’ bouquets. The Boathouse's aisle is very small and takes about 7 seconds to walk down. Josh thought it was more important to photograph Alina walking down the aisle rather than try and grab a couple shots or Jaime during this pivotal moment. We apologize for missing the bouquet photo.

    As far as the albums go, we had just switched album binders and you were the first couple who ordered an album with us during this transition. The process of working with them was brand new to us. Questions they had for us were relayed to you. We apologize for not being as prompt in replying to you. We also apologize for asking you to pay an extra $20, that was not appropriate and there is no good excuse. That request came from a place of feeling a bit overwhelmed by our new vendor's higher rates; but, again that is not your problem, and we have rectified this issue in our new pricing packages.

    As you stated in the beginning of your review,” At the end of the day we are very happy with our wedding photos.” Our client’s satisfaction with the way in which we have visually told the story of such a momentous day in your lives is of upmost importance to us. We are sincerely sorry for the other issues that you had, and we appreciate your candor.