JOS studios Reviews

34 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

34 Reviews for JOS studios

Recommended by 100%

34
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Lisa

    Lisa · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I once posted on my facebook page if you could do your wedding over, what would you do differently? Almost everyone said they would spend more on a better photographer. I took that advice seriously, and looked high and low for the best photographers in Portland. We found Jos & Tree and were blown away by their creative, colorful and naturally theatrical photography style. When they told us they were still available for our wedding date 4 1/2 months before our wedding, we booked them right away. They are an incredible husband/wife duo, with a creative eye for capturing you in your best light. They work in tandem to get the best light, whether it was climbing up on ladders or laying down on the dance floor. The photos and moment that they captured are absolutely stunning. We get compliments all the time - people say our wedding photos are "the best photos of any wedding or anything, ever". I am so thankful for they were available and that they took such great care capturing our special moments from morning until night. We will cherish these photos for the rest of our lives. I highly recommend if Jos and Tree are available, that you hire these two capture your special moments, you will be forever thankful you did.

  • R

    Rianne · Married on 10/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most amazing photographers we could have asked for. They went above and beyond to capture unique and candid shots that blew us away on our wedding day and during our engagement/lifestyle shoot. They also did an underwater Trash The Dress shoot for us that was so much fun. I can't say enough about how impressed we were with their work ethic and how much fun it was to work with them. We feel like we made lifelong friends with Jos and Tree! If you go with anyone else for your wedding, you're making a huge mistake and missing out big time!

    Sent on 12/09/2015

    JOS studios's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Rianne. Our time with you, Shandy and your friends felt so real, as if we have been friends all along the way. The emotions shared at your wedding moved us so deeply and naturally we wanted to even go further to shoot the best moments we could possibly capture. We will never forget those epic waves crashing at sunset along those jet black lava cliffs, the underwater adventure with all your friends, the wildly beautiful emotions shared during your ceremony, and all the crazy dancing late into the night. We love you.
  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JOS Studios did an amazing job capturing the happiest day of our life. Their style is fresh and unique and well worth every penny. A Wedding Wire review cannot fully capture the depth of our gratitude for this awesome team - thank you Jos & Tree & Mary!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved working with Jos and Tree for our wedding. First off, they're just lovely people to be around. Calm and fun, and they take the time to really get to know you and your friends and family, so that they know how to best represent you in photos and capture moments that reflect everyone's personalities. They also do phenomenal things with light, color, angles which I haven't seen with other photographers...it's very dynamic and warm and captures the emotion of the moment and day.

    We really loved working with them, they were very flexible the day of the wedding, when the groomsmen got a bit off schedule...they rolled with it and still got all the great shots we wanted. I also love all of the shots of our guests and candid moments which we didn't see because you're so busy on your wedding day.

    Lastly, they were really great at not being too much in everyone's face the day of the wedding, and make the family or posed shots quick, so that everyone felt they were just enjoying the wedding vs being on photo duty. That was really important to my husband and he really appreciated it and had a great time. The shots we've received are great...so many memories and gorgeous moments. We would both highly recommend them and truly enjoyed working with them!

  • A

    Aubrey · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy that I chose Jos & team to photograph my wedding (and engagement). I could tell from reviewing their blog and website that I would not regret hiring them and I was right. Jos was able to capture the excitement of that day perfectly. He is creative, professional and fun. He sees the beauty in the most simple things and turns them into art; that is what he did with our wedding photos.

  • J

    Jordan · Married on 07/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know where to start. I have so many kind thoughts about Jos and Tree's contributions to our wedding day and the planning prior to it were so much appreciated and I don't believe that you will find any "customer service" like it with other photographers. I had been working in the bridal industry for 5 years at the time and still did not realize a few areas of my planning that I lacked knowledge in. Jos and Tree are completely educated in matters of the wedding day and steered me in the right direction when I was getting a little lost. I felt completely at peace knowing they would be there capturing every moment-- and seeing the photos now, I relive all those precious memories. Going through these photographs, I perfectly recall those feelings of the day. Thank you so much!! Love, Riley + Jordan

  • User3759365 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible photos! Captured the feeling of the moments. They were a joy to work with.

  • A

    Alicia · Married on 05/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so thankful that we chose Jos as our wedding photographer. He captured beautiful moments on our wedding day and I look forward to sharing them with my children someday. Jos and Tree were fantastic to work with and make you feel comfortable and have fun with you also! Thank you Jos and Tree, I would highly recommend them to couples getting married, or anyone looking for a true artist to capture their memories.

  • C

    Chris & Tracy · Married on 03/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the day we got engaged, I KNEW I wanted JOS to shoot our wedding! From our planning meetings at cute coffee houses around Portland, to our Lifestyle session, to the Big Day, (and about a million emails to them in between), they were both so passionate about their craft, and an absolute pleasure to work with. We just received our wedding portfolio and couldn't be happier! These moments were captured beautifully and thoughtfully...we are so grateful for the talent of Jos + Tree.


  • K

    Kristen · Married on 03/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The customer service and the amount of attention that Jos gave us were incredible, and the pictures were even more amazing. We mention the customer service first because we were taken aback by how much Jos made us his friend rather than a customer and on a day like our wedding having an extra helping hand made a world of difference. Our guests took one look at Jos and Tree and said "those are some real professionals, where did you find them?" The pictures that he took are unlike any wedding photos we have seen; equally unique and creative, as they are spectacular. Jos and Tree are just as wonderful and amazing as the photos they take. While planning our wedding we were told that a good photographer was probably the most important thing. We made the right choice, they were absolutely the best! We wouldn't have traded them for anyone, and were blessed to have them there.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 01/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jos and Tree were so wonderful to have at our wedding. Our photos are magnificent, and they really take us back to the best day of our lives every time we look at them. Jos and Tree did a wonderful job of capturing our emotions throughout the day, without being intrusive. They were very responsive and flexible throughout the entire process--these guys are the best around!

  • J

    Jeff · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A truly amazing experience. Jos and team are very professional and deliver an unparalleled product. Jos is exceptionally talented. Our pictures are perfect and exceeded our expectations.

  • A

    abra · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW!!! You are all so amazing. I feel words only water down the joy the beauty the gratitude I have towards Jos Photographers. What you have put together is above and beyond. Being able to see all of the details, the love and feeling of our magical day over and over is Phenomenal!!! Thank you Thank you thank you Please continue. May you all continue to bless those with your artistic passion as you have blessed Jeff myself our family and friends.

  • S

    Sasha · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jos' work is nothing short of amazing. He has a great approach to the process, and makes you feel like a million bucks while he's shooting (for someone who hates to have her photo taken, this was key.) We trusted in his vision for the various shots; he kept things going smoothly and got us through the post-ceremony family photos quickly. There were so many stunning shots from the day that four months later, I still can't decide which is my favorite. I can't say enough that this was some of the best money we spent on the wedding. He was also very flexible with our budget. Both my family as well as my husband's family were absolutely ecstatic over the photos. To me, this is one of the most, if not the most, important decisions to make in the wedding planning process, and I don't have even a shadow of regret that we went with Jos. He is amazing!

  • Monica

    Monica · Married on 03/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing JOS Photographers to document our wedding day was the best wedding-related decision we made. Jay (my now husband) and I both tend to be very critical when it comes to artistic and visually-related projects, and so choosing our photographer was a very serious decision. Like all of the other reviewers here suggest, Jos and Tree's work is not only flawless and impeccable, but also brilliant, beautiful, and engaging. They have an extremely unique talent for capturing and communicating all of the "right" moments--and the result is a collection of wedding photos that are compelling in so many ways, not to mention unique. Our family and friends who have seen the photos so far have all said the same thing: "These are the best wedding photos I've ever seen," and "I've never seen anything like this." We wanted photos that were real, but we also wanted photos that were a cut above even the best photos--and that's what we got. There's also something to be said about feeling 100% confident that your photographer is going to rock it--that's how we felt with Jos and Tree from the very beginning. And they're also super cool people who are insightful and interesting (and they have a great look, too!). We love them.

  • U

    Ursula · Married on 12/31/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jos did an amazing job with our wedding photos! Neither the groom or I are particularly fond of getting our pictures taken, but Jos managed to capture beautiful images of us that look natural. I also felt like while he still took all the traditional photos, he also got some that were very unique. Jos was very friendly and easy to work with throughout and he truly is an artist! I feel so happy that our wedding memories have been captured so beautifully.

  • J

    Joanna · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JOS provided us with such an incredible experience beginning with our first phone conversation. He went out of his way to be flexible in several different aspects. The wedding day was perfect and we felt that each moment was captured in a way that reflects our personality and best tells the story of our wedding day! We already highly recommend him to friends!

  • G

    Gaby · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the day I saw your ad on Facebook, to the day I met you through Skype, to the day we met in person, I knew deep in my heart that you were going to be our photographer. I had no doubt that Sam and I were going to absolutely LOVE your pictures.
    You both are such a beautiful couple and working with you was such an amazing experience.
    We loved your energy, your smile, your pace, your passion, your attention to detail, EVERYTHING!
    Thank you so much for capturing with such intensity every single aspect of our BIG day.

    With Love and Appreciation….

  • K

    Kara · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing photographer, amazing person, amazing team! Jos photographers are the absolute best. My husband and I were not only happy with our amazing pictures, but we really appreciated Jos's professionalism and the fact that he worked so incredibly hard at our lifestyle session and most importantly our wedding. Even our wedding guests were commenting how amazing they thought Jos was! It was truly remarkable, photography is Jos's passion and it shows through his hard work, creativity, and dedication. I've recommended Jos to everyone I know, my husband and I truly believe he is the best at his craft, and it shows in his work.

  • E

    Kara · Married on 06/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jos is a wonderful photographer! He first shot my middle sister's wedding in 2006, then my little sister's wedding in 2008 and now being the oldest he just shot my wedding on June 30th, 2011. We also have had many more family and friends that used them after seeing how wonderful our picture turned out. The pictures are so amazing they give you chills. My little sister and I also did engagement photos which are another priceless thing to add. Not only because you get fabulous photos in normal clothes to decorate with but you also get to know Jos and Tree better by the time the wedding day comes and they are amazing people as well as photographers. I cant believe how the day has already come and gone, all that planning and its over but the photos will last a lifetime and should be your number one expense over everything else.

  • M

    Maggie · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Jos! He is simply the best photographer! He has such a great eye, capturing the most fantastic pictures. He listened exactly to what we wanted, and his whole staff was so professional. They were such a pleasure to have at our wedding:) Let's do it again!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 03/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two and a half years before I got married, I already knew who my photographer would be. I met Jos at a friend's wedding in Portland, and knew that if I had nothing else at my wedding, Jos would be there. He beautifully captured Ross and Leah's personalities and love for each other in their lifestyle and wedding photos. I pretty much called him the day after I got engaged. :)

    When we met with Jos and his fiance and assistant Tree for our lifestyle shoot in Cannon Beach, Oregon, my now husband was a little nervous. He is the typical guy who is not the least bit excited about having his picture taken. By the end of the day though, we were splashing through the water, and Jos used every bit of lighting he had until the sun went down and the very last shot was taken. Aaron and I had a wonderful experience and the photos were amazing.

    We flew Jos and Tree down to Palm Springs, CA for the wedding last month, and they helped us tremendously in finding a flight that worked for them and us, and that was also as inexpensive as could be. They really cared about us having the best overall wedding experience, with the least amount of stress possible. Our family and friends instantly loved them, and we were happy to not only have them capture our day, but share our day as our friends as well.

    JOS Photographers really made us feel like we were their priority. Even after the wedding, they have worked with us to get us the best photos we could imagine from our wedding day, edited beautifully and in a timely fashion. I look forward to receiving the album in the near future, and would love to work with them again, as well as recommend them to everyone I know.

  • J

    Jessie · Married on 02/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance hired Jos to photograph his proposal to me. Jos and his team posed as nature photographers and were able to secretly capture the special moment in all of its beauty. Jos worked with my fiance for many months prior to the proposal, exchanging many emails and calls, Jos became an instrumental part of that special day. The photos were breath-taking, and Jos and Tree were an absolute pleasure to work with. In trying to decipher the long lists of potential wedding vendors, we were certain of one thing: Jos and his team were the only option for photography. Even though we live in Southern California, we did not even consider other photographers. We look forward to working with Jos and his team in June, when they will most certainly capture all of the beauty and emotions of our wedding day.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jos and his team were a pleasure to work with. Jos is brilliant and we were so happy with the pictures he took.

  • M

    Matt · Married on 09/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    JOS Photographers provided my wife and I with the best possible experience AND results. I have spent my career working in the design/fashion industry for one of the most well know and well respected brands in the world. I have art directed photo shoots with top photographers on Islands in the Caribbean to the streets of Rome, so when it came to choosing a photographer for our wedding... I demanded the best.

    First of all, Jos's portfolio was stunning! With a wedding photographer you need someone who is technically cable to capture a variety of shots. Equally important is someone who can have the vision to thread together a holistic "visual" story of your wedding. Lastly, the most crucial quality I was looking for is a rare, intangible ability to authentically draw out human emotion within his work.

    From the pre-wedding planning, to the post wedding delivery of our photos Jos was always very thoughtful and we knew this was one component of our wedding that we didn't need to stress about. If you go to his site (www.JOSphotographers.com) and click on "Moments", you can view the work JOS Photographers did for our wedding – Matt & Jess.

    We wish you the best.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review