John & Max Mills Photography Reviews

89 | Los Angeles, CA
See photos, pricing and details

89 Reviews for John & Max Mills Photography

Recommended by 99%

89
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
89 John & Max Mills Photography Reviews
Sort by:
  • E

    Ekaterina · Married on 05/27/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are so glad we hired John and Max Mills for our wedding and engagement photo shoot. They were very professional and responded on time for everything. The albums that they made were just beautiful!!! We will treasure the photos forever.

  • P

    Posie · Married on 12/13/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Max and John Mills provided photography services for our wedding at La Venta Inn in Palos Verdes. They were one of the recommended vendors, and we're so glad that we used them! First, they had an excellent knowledge of the venue and all of the best times and places for photographs tot be taken so we were sure to get the best photos possible given the time of day of our wedding. And, of course, we did!!! We were fortunate to have a fabulous day which allowed them to take breathtaking photos over the ocean, in the gardens, outside as the sun was going down, and inside after the sun was set. We are extremely pleased with the quality and clarity of the photos. They were able to capture exceptional moments before and during the ceremony and throughout the reception. Max and John make the entire process of working with them easy. We had a pre-wedding meeting with them to review our preferences and wishes; they split up the day of the wedding and each took pictures of the brides and their families, and then we did group pictures prior to the ceremony; they worked together the remainder of the evening with us having no idea they were even there; and several weeks following the wedding they contacted us to let us know our pictures were up on a website for review. Simple, simple, simple! They have done a terrific job for us, and we can't wait to get our completed album. We highly recommend John and Max Mills!!!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/04/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max recently photographed our wedding, as well as our engagement shoot. Our venue provided a list of photography options, but within minutes of our first meeting with Max we knew this was the right choice. Both John and Max are warm, funny and enjoyable to work with. We wanted people at our wedding that we connected with - as well as them being great at their job. They make the experience of being photographed (something I am not a fan of) a pleasure, and their work is beautiful. They work so well together and they were able to customize a package to suit our needs.

    At the wedding they were both the perfect blend of organizing and hands off. There are so many shots where I don't even recall a photographer being present!

    The photos from both our engagement "get to know you" shoot and the wedding are stunning. They really show off the beauty of the venue and the vibrant colors of the area. In addition our posed shots look great and the more candid shots are so much fun.

    We are so glad that we picked John and Max for our special day.

  • User5414747 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max captured our most special day with a vivid and diverse array of photography that will enable us to cherish the events forever. They were amazing to work with through the entire process, from the initial planning through the follow-up well after the event. We highly recommend them.

  • K

    Kayla · Married on 03/14/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in Manhattan Beach, CA and John and Max captured our day perfectly! We had scheduled to have them meet us at the hotel for some pre-pictures and of our first look, and that is when we thought their day started. Little did we know, they went to the venue and captured some amazing pictures of the venue set up before people arrived. These pictures turned out to be very special as we did not get to see the venue until after everyone was there.

    From the moment we meet with them, to the minute they left, we felt very comfortable working with John and Max. One touch we really liked is they took the time to know the names of our family members so that during pictures, they were able to call people by their names.

    Also, my now husband HATES to take pictures. One of the main reasons we selected John and Max is because they explained to them that through their experience they have learned lighting and angles and they do not take 100 pictures of the same shot. They like the capture the picture and move on. This also allowed us to spend more time with our guest’s day of the wedding.

    Now to the pictures...they are amazing! We got married on the beach, and the way they captured the lighting and some of the couple pictures we got, I never would have imagined. They knew what shots would work for us, and what would not. We also wanted to take some pictures with props on the beach, and they were very accommodating. Also when the sun was setting back at our venue, they captured some amazing shots. I never realized how beneficial it would be to have 2 photographers...not only did it make the process quicker, but allowed for pictures to be taken from different angles and we noticed that pictures were captured of us and our guests at the same time. It felt like we did not miss out on anything.

    We would highly recommend meeting with Jon and Max and then selecting them for your photographers.

  • L

    Laetitia · Married on 12/13/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Max and John Mills made the experience from start to finish absolutely amazing!
    Planning a wedding from another state was not easy (we live in ND and the wedding was in CA) but they were understanding and very flexible. They had great suggestions for us and were eager to work with us in every aspect and every step of the process.
    Max and John are very professional, fun and easy to get along. At the end of the wedding, I felt like I had gained friends. You can tell that they have a passion for their work (always smiling as they move swiftly through the crowd). The result of their work is so stunning that I had a tough time narrowing my designer album to the 60 photos we had agreed upon. Such a great problem to have! I would recommend them whole heartedly and with much confidence. Laetitia and Mark H.

  • K

    Kristy · Married on 10/24/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max were incredible, they were prepared, prompt, and so complimentary through the entire event. When we met John and Max I asked how they would get to know us before the event and they said we were welcome to meet them again to chat as much as we wanted before the event.
    I emailed Max to ask a couple question and she called me back and eased every concern I voiced. During the wedding they were awesome, I know they work with brides most weekends, but I truly felt like they thought I was the easiest/most beautiful bride they'd ever worked with. I loved that there were 2 of them, having pictures from two different angles shows different perspectives, which I really like.

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/12/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max photographed my wedding. From the first phone call, Max was incredibly friendly and helpful. She was always responsive to my questions and very easy to work with. Before the wedding, I sent her types of pictures I liked and a long list of "shots" I wanted on my wedding day. She was very receptive and walked me thru how the day of the wedding would be approached. On the wedding day, John and Max were on time and professional. They worked well together and you could tell they had a lot of experience. They did a great job capturing important family pictures and some well timed sunset pictures. John and Max paid close attention to my requested picture list and I appreciated that. My husband and I were very happy with the pictures we got from our wedding! We got a large number of shots and many great poses. It was nice to have 2 photographers, to capture different viewpoints of the day. After the wedding, we received the pictures in a timely manner. We had an album as part of our deal and I worked for months with Max on that. She did multiple revisions, in a timely manner and I really appreciated her patience. She has a terrific creative eye and the layout of the album is beautiful. The whole process of working with John and Max was a pleasure. Selecting my wedding photographer was a very important decision and I'm happy that my husband and I had John and Max be a part of our special day. I would definitely recommend them to other couples as we had a very positive experience!

  • I

    Iris · Married on 06/28/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really enjoyed working with John and Max on our wedding day!! We were glad that we used them to capture our special moments!! They are both GREAT to work with!! They really took time to get to know us and to understand our preference and needs before and during the wedding day, which was very special to use. They are very easy going and fun to work with. They made all the photo sessions very enjoyable! All of our wedding party loved working with them. They are also very patient and flexible to coordinate the photo sessions with other wedding activities.

    John and Max are GREAT photographers. They know the venue very well, and they are great at what they do. We just received the photos they took on the wedding day!! They are so beautiful and We love all of them!! I strongly recommend John and Max to all the bride and groom to bes!

  • C

    Cassie · Married on 05/24/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was extremely happy with the services provided by John and Max. As a couple, they work extremely well together. What I valued the most is their personality. As a bride, you are constantly taking photos and John and Max made the process enjoyable and easy. My husband is not one who likes taking photos and even he, enjoyed the time with John and Max. John and Max were able to give direction to family members who were straggling while being polite which was important to me. They are a fun couple and very professional.

    The turnaround time of the photos was quick and I was thrilled with how all the photos turned out. John and Max worked closely with me before the wedding to ensure that all of my must-have photos were taken, and they were. John and Max are experts on light and capturing memborable moments, not just staged photos.

    One of my favorite parts about John and Max Mills Photography is that I have the right to all the digitals from the wedding.

    I sincerely recommend John and Max Mills Photography.

  • D

    Dani · Married on 05/10/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills were a pleasure to work with on our wedding. From the start they made us feel so at ease regarding the whole process. They answered all our questions, showed us sample albums and portraits they had done and discussed what we wanted from them. Max was always available to answer our questions by phone or email. We set up a photo session for pictures to use for our guest book. We were not disappointed one bit with the exceptional quality of the pictures and the book. The day of the wedding, John and Max took a tremendous amount of pictures and managed to keep us all smiling and at ease. We now have the difficult task of choosing which pictures to use for our wedding album. The additional bonus of getting a digital copy of all the pictures taken makes it easier to narrow our choices down. We highly recommend using John and Max for your future event - you will not be disappointed.

  • D

    Dayna · Married on 12/20/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills were absolutely everything we could of hoped for. From our first conversation I could tell their experience was immense and I was not disappointed. Prior to the wedding we thoroughly discussed my husbands and my vision with John and Maxine. They really understood what we were looking for and executed it perfectly. They knew the venue so well which really helped us get the perfect shots without wasting any time. They work seamlessly together. They were so efficient getting our photos back to us, which was great cause I was really anxious to see them. The lighting was superb in every shot, I loved the sillhouettes of my husband and I. I cant wait to see our photos in our book.

  • J

    Jill · Married on 11/30/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was thrilled with my experience with John & Max Mills Photography from the initial meeting to the gorgeous finished products. Since sharing my wedding album with friends, I have become even more appreciative of their work, as friends have shared more horror stories than success stories regarding their wedding photography experiences. Luckily, my experience was just the opposite as it was a complete success from A to Z. John and Max conducted business in a very professional, but still warm and caring manner. Any questions that I emailed were always promptly answered, which was key for a somewhat anxious bride! I felt that my happiness with their product was truly their goal. John really put everyone at ease during the picture taking time, including my husband, who is notorious for not wanting to take pictures. I would most definitely recommend them to friends and family, and have done so since the wedding. Thank you John and Max!

  • R

    Robert · Married on 09/28/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are extremely grateful to John and Max Mills for their photographic expertise. Throughout our wedding preparations and ceremony, John and Max collaborated with everyone involved and produced a wonderful set of photographs for my wife and I to choose from for our wedding album. I highly recommend John and Max Mills for all of your photo needs.
    Rob & Lindsay Kaufman
    Married - Sept. 28th, 2013

  • M

    Molly · Married on 09/07/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max are awesome! They made the wedding party feel so comfortable and the pictures came out looking amazing! They had lots of experience at our venue and they knew exactly which shots to get. John and Max are so nice and the photos came out perfectly!!! I can't wait to get our album!!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/03/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max did our wedding and reception at La Venta just a week weeks ago. There is nothing bad we can say about them. They have been amazing from the beginning. We felt like they were family. John and Max are highly recommended. They were very professional, and above and beyond flexible. Thank you guys for amazing photos!

  • User2365326 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Max & John were absolutely amazing! It's hard to put into words just how wonderful it was to have them apart of my event. It was definitely a cosmic connection that brought us to them and I couldn't be happier!! And the photos they got are just breathtaking. I feel like I'm reliving my wedding everytime I see them. I can't wait to get my wedding album and really enjoy the amazement of Max & John! Thank you again!!

  • M

    Mike · Married on 12/27/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anna and I made the decision to go with a proven team to ensure our wedding day was perfect and we were not disappointed. John and Max were there before, during, and after the wedding to ensure we got the highest quality and diverse wedding photos possible. They accommodated all our requests and adjusted flawlessly to the different venues we had available hotel, beach, ceremony, and reception. Both Anna and I were able to be ourselves and just have fun. John and Max put both of us at ease and you can tell they enjoy their work. They listened to everything we wanted and incorporated as much as possible into the time we had. A great experience!! Thanks again John and Max.

  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/11/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Max, John, Jesse Mills were the best off-the-charts outstanding photographers that any bride and groom could ever dream of having. They took amazing photos at every step of the way and did so with such grace and poise that our guests barely noticed until we got the FABULOUS photos. We highly recommend them--personally and professionally they are in a class of their own!
    Julie Gutman Dickinson and Pete Dickinson

  • J

    Julie Nguyen · Married on 11/03/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max were highly recommended by our venue, La Venta Inn. As soon as I met them, I knew they were the perfect photographers for our wedding. Max was very helpful to me in visualizing how the big day was going to play out. She listened to my ideas and then provided some ideas of her own. Overall, I felt my needs were going to be met. On the big day, as overwhelming as it can be, they made me feel so beautiful and special. I was a bit camera shy, but they had a natural ability to capture many great moments of our wedding. One big detail about them is that they took so many great photos and were unobtrusive. We hardly knew they were there. Their photography skills were amazing! I was told by a friend, who is also a photographer, that my photos had great lighting. If you meet with them, you will be shown their portfolios and it will speak for themselves. They are truly experts in their field!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/07/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John & Max Mills Photography were among several photographers referred by our venue, La Venta Inn, but upon reviewing their portfolio we felt that they captured the spectacular setting like no other. We were spending a lot to have that view and we wanted photos that would not only show us and the emotion of the day, but also the vibrant colors of the ocean, sky, flowers and manicured grounds. While many other photographers washed a lot of that out, John and Max make it their job to show it off.
    When we met with them we were so charmed by their sweet, funny personalities too, we went to their home office that happened to be in our neighborhood and felt so comfortable sharing our vision for our day. They had set packages but were flexible with switching options within them and worked with us to give us what we needed for the price we could pay. I tried to cut costs on several aspects of the wedding, but photography was not something I was willing to scrimp on- knowing that it will be what we have to remember that wonderful (and expensive day)! They listened to all my ideas and even were willing to look at my pinterest board of all my dream images.
    At the wedding they were the perfect balance of involved but hands off, never in the way but catching all the important moments. Their team work with each other and with our coordinator was excellent and I never had to worry that they would miss a beat. They shot so many gorgeous photos that it has taken us months to narrow down our album, but we finally made our choices and we're so happy!

  • A

    ashley · Married on 10/05/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max are amazing! Our pictures are gorgeous. I would definitely recommend them to any bride. Our sunset pictures look like they are out of a magazine.

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/22/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Max and John are great photographers and run a very friendly, professional business.

    They did everything to make sure we got all the best pictures, while also being very respectful. When it came to designing the album, Max was very flexible in making any changes before completing the project. There were not many changes to make, as the original design was wonderful. Our wedding album turned out to be beautiful!

    We have been married for over one year now, and the pictures are the best way to remember our wedding.

  • User2778518 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great photos and wonderful to work with

  • C

    Catherine & Philip · Married on 08/10/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mill's are the best and my wife and I could not be happier with our wedding photos. They were so accommodating and gracious throughout the entire process, despite the challenges we presented them, ranging from changing our wedding date after signing with them to being away on business travel right up until our wedding. During the planning we had in-person meetings over half a dozen times, countless emails, and even more phone calls all before the get-to-know-you/engagement session. They really get to know you and your idiosyncrasies before they even start shooting! Neither my wife or I are very photogenic, so the engagement shoot was a great way for us to get used with the Mills taking pictures of us while learning about our problematic habits, such as my wife's inability to stop raising her chin or my habit of not just smiling, but getting a large, goofy grin. It also put to ease our fear of inclement weather on our wedding day since our engagement shoot was outside on a temperamental February day and we saw it go from drizzle to sunny to overcast and back to drizzle over and over. They handled the ever changing conditions with the greatest of ease.
    Our engagement shoot was at Wilderness Park and our wedding at La Venta Inn. Their knowledge of both locations, especially La Venta, is uncanny. They knew all of the tricks and secret locations for the best shots and their timing was perfect. They knew exactly when to whisk us away for the perfect sunset photos and how to catch the perfect candid shots. As I journey through the photos, now nearly 6 months after our wedding, I find just the right amount of posed family photos juxtaposed with live-action candid pics.
    We could not be happier with the Mills as our choice for wedding photographers, plan to stay in touch and keep them as our family photographers, and highly recommend them to perfectly capture your special day!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review