Skip to main content
Weddings

John Harper Reviews

John Harper View more information

123 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 123
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5 User photos

  • Amanda
    Amanda D. Married on 04/09/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best DJ & MC

    I have seen DJ John Harper at many events and knew I wanted to hire him for our wedding festivities. He did a fantastic job at both our rehearsal dinner and wedding! He had a meeting with us early on and showed us a site where we could pick songs. We only picked a few of our favorite songs and let him read the crowd and fill in the rest. He is very experienced, so he knows most of the venues/vendors which is very helpful. He is also a wonderful announcer/MC, so he did a great job doing the wedding party intros etc.
  • Katharine
    Katharine S. Married on 03/05/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Recommend!!

    Working with John was a great experience. He really helped the flow of the day and did a great job selecting music. Thanks for helping make our day so special!
  • Katy
    Katy C. Married on 02/01/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    You wont regret using him for your big day!

    During the trying times of trying to plan a wedding in the middle of a pandemic not only was he affordable which is a rare find here on the Outer Banks, DJ John Harper was there to help me with any question, concern or special request. He played the traditional wedding music that got everyone up and moving and then switched to a more modern playlist once some of our older guest left the reception which made for a perfect evening of having everyone out on the dance floor! DJ John Harper worked with my wedding planner and kept the reception moving right on schedule and the night went off without a single flaw. I would highly recommend hiring him as your wedding DJ, you wont regret it!
  • E
    Elizabeth C. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    King Wedding

    Our experience with John, from start to finish was incredible. We contacted him at the last minute and he made it happen. He was professional, punctual and lots of fun! Our guests adored him! We had a diverse crowd and John was able to read all of them and please everyone! Even had Grandma dancing!! It was a pleasure working with John Harper, and highly recommend him.
  • Sarah
    Sarah C. Married on 08/29/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great guy and always ready

    John is a super nice guy. He is very caring. He got there really early to sound check everything and make sure he was ready for the event. He is very responsive and helpful!
  • Taylor
    Taylor F. Married on 07/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    OBX Wedding

    John made this process as easy as it comes! From the first phone call we had, he laid out how he typically handles a wedding and from there it was history. He allowed us to enjoy the night just as we pictured. We gave him general songs, genres etc. we were into and he made up a playlist and felt out the crowd as the night went along which kept everyone moving all night.. everyone loved him & had so much fun we ended up asking him to stay longer! Would recommend over and over!
  • Jessica
    Jessica M. Married on 06/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Got the Party Going!

    John Harper made the party happen at my wedding! He was a wonderful emcee and kept the tunes bumping all night long. Everyone from my wedding talks about how much fun they had dancing all night long. I knew it was going to be a good party when the dance floor was full (and there was an impromptu dance floor on the other side of the venue) all before dinner was even served! Definitely recommend!
  • M
    Morgan T. Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The perfect DJ!

    John Harper made our wedding night so much fun! He was so easy to work with leading up to the wedding, and when it came to the night of, he made everything flow so smoothly. He stuck with our musical preferences perfectly and had a great sense of humor. We could not have asked for a better DJ! Thank you so much John!
  • Spenser
    Spenser E. Married on 05/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!

    John was very highly recommended to us via a family friend in the area who had used his services for two weddings in the family already. From the first phone call with John, our mind was made up. He was so polite and professional and the way he speaks instills a sense of calm, a byproduct of years of experience I'm sure. Coming from Pittsburgh for an Outer Banks wedding, we weren't able to meet with any of the vendors ahead of time, but when John showed up the day-of, it was like we were old friends. We delayed our wedding a year due to Covid, and throughout the year John would check-in with us just to see how things were going. As we got closer we ironed out all the details over the phone. We didn't have a wedding coordinator or anything of the sort and we told John as much. He volunteered to keep the night rolling with announcements, timing, he even talked to the caterers to figure out the best way for guests to go up to the buffet line. He provided a microphone and speaker for our ceremony on the beach behind the house (something we thought was going to be difficult), but again, it wasn't a problem! The dance floor was rocking all night and we had so many people tell us how great of a job he did. John acted as a DJ and wedding coordinator on our day, but most of all a reassuring figure throughout the TWO YEAR planning process, who continuously checked in and encouraged us throughout the scariest time of our lives (planning a wedding during Covid). 10/10 would absolutely recommend. Weddings or any other event that needs a top-notch DJ, John is your guy.
  • K
    Kathleen A. Married on 03/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic kept people on the dance floor.

    John was the DJ for my wedding in Buxton, NC in March 2021. He was very responsive, played everything we asked for and kept people dancing all night. I would highly recommend him to any bride and groom.
  • Christine
    Christine C. Married on 06/25/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding!

    John was a great addition to our wedding day! He was super resonsive and worked around our schedule. This was a destination wedding for us. He was able to meet with us when we visited the area so we could introduce ourselves and go over what we wanted. We had to reschedule our wedding due to COVID-19 and it was no problem for John at all. We had our ceremony on the beach and he brought his portable speakers and a microphone so everyone could hear clearly. The music he played at the reception was very versitle. We gave him our song list and he played a lot of those and others that he thought would get people dancing. My family and friends commented on how well he did throughout the night. He was reserved and respected everyone and did not take over the party. I would recommend John for any occasion! Thanks again!
  • K
    Kimberly G. Married on 10/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing!!

    Having John Harper as our wedding DJ was an amazing experience! From our first phone conversation to danging the night away at our wedding, John was perfect and a joy to work with! He is incredibly personable and really got to know my husband and I as a couple. He asked us what music we like but also assured us that he likes to read the crowd which makes sure to get everyone danging! He was a hit with our guests, young and old alike! He was always available to talk if we had questions and he went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect! Also, John worked great with our other vendors to make sure the night went off without a hitch! We hired John as our wedding DJ but we ended our wedding adventure considering him a friend. If you are looking for the best DJ for your wedding or event, definitely call John!!
  • Lacie
    Lacie M. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    great the whole night

    John was so great to work with coming up to the wedding and also during the wedding. I gave him songs for the big moments and he came up with everything else for the night and did awesome. Highly recommend John if you need a DJ!
  • N
    Nicole G. Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    Even on his own birthday, he came and DJ’ed at my wedding! He was great the entire day/night. He took requests but more importantly he knew the songs the crowd would like. We did not have a wedding coordinator, so he was able to help direct the entire reception - from entry, to cake cutting, to first dances, etc. John also played our ceremony music! The best way to get in contact with him is via telephone but he will get back to your email within days. Highly recommend!
  • C
    Cathy C. Married on 05/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    John was extremely helpful in planning for and conducting DJ services for our daughter’s wedding. She had to plan from long distance, and without a clear idea of what she and her fiancé wanted. John really listened and had terrific recommendations for music choices, and at the reception he really “read the room” perfectly as far as figuring out exactly what the crowd wanted to hear!
  • Meghan
    Meghan Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Meghan and Dave 10-20-2018

    John Harper was absolutely AMAZING!!!!! From the first time I spoke with him on the phone, I knew he was the RIGHT DJ for our wedding. He is very personable and makes it all about the bride and groom. He does an amazing job reading a crowd and knowing what songs to play. The crowd danced all night long!!! So many people commented on how much they loved our dj and loved the music he played!! I highly recommend him for you special day!!!!
  • L
    Lauren F. Married on 10/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So much fun!

    John was so great! He was easy to talk to and helped guide us while planning for our wedding reception. We did not have everything planned out perfectly when the reception started but John just rolled with the punches and had our family out on the dance floor ten minutes after dinner. He knew the right songs to play at the right time and we were on the dance floor all night! He was the perfect person to help us celebrate our wedding.
  • Victoria
    Victoria Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    John is the man!

    John was super chill and a great addition to our team of super people. Easy to talk to, helpful and an excellent MC, really kept the night flowing. I would recommend adding a microphone for speeches in the future.
  • Abby
    Abby Married on 09/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Communication

    John was great in communicating and organizing prior to and on our wedding day! He played music that was appropriate and fit for all ages, but also followed by our requests.
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 07/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    July 2018 Wedding

    John is a wonderful DJ! He met with my husband, mom, and I about 4 months out from the wedding to get an idea of what we wanted. He was easily available via phone and email to send song suggestions to and special dances. My husband and I met with him again 2 days before the wedding to firm up details with the venue. He was able to set up and run the music for our beach ceremony, then have music ready for inside dinner, and then did our music outside for dancing. He read the crowd perfectly, playing songs just right for our party and dancing crowd. Our guests raved about how great the music was and how much fun the reception was because of it! We sang and danced the night away! John's personality is very laid back and he is easy to work with. He is a must-have DJ for an OBX wedding!
  • R
    Rinae Married on 06/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John knows how to read the crowd and keep the party going! I highly recommend his services!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We called John in a last minute bind and not only was he available, but he was able to give us the perfect music. We only gave him 2 weeks notice and he gave us a night to remember. We got married in October and even this thanksgiving we had family and friends tell us how much they enjoyed the weeding music. He played all their favorite songs! Thanks John we can't wait to have you DJ again. (Not a wedding this time, maybe just a party)
  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John has the voice of someone on radio - wait, it's because he is on the radio! John is well versed in a classic wedding show. He understands the flow and handles the music transitions. If you're looking for honesty and ease, this guy will make your days easier and the big day the best!!!
  • L
    Lee A. Married on 09/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John was great! He read the crowd and played music that kept people on the dance floor. He didn't try to be the center of attention, he let the music keep the night going. John was easy to work with and helped us be stress free!
  • A
    April Married on 09/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    John made our wedding fun and magical! He is absolutely by far the most amazing D.J. I have ever heard. He is professional, laid back, and kind!! He helped plan our wedding from 4 hours away! He even came mid week and talked things thru with us! If you don't use John you are missing out!! He is the the best at what he does! Thank you John!!