Joel Thomas Photography Reviews

16 | Mechanicsburg, PA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Joel Thomas Photography

Recommended by 99%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

4 User photos

Joel Thomas Photography 1
Joel Thomas Photography 2
Joel Thomas Photography 3
Joel Thomas Photography 4
Sort by:
  • G

    Gabby · Married on 06/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joel is absolutely amazing! He is so laid back and makes you feel so at ease. He accommodates you and your schedule and is super flexible. I highly recommend him for all your photo needs.

  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 05/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We met Joel & his wife at a Bridal Show. Have you ever gotten that feeling when you first met someone that they are just amazing people? This was Joel & his wife. We knew that Joel were going to give us the best photos, and he surely didn't disappoint us, so we booked him almost right away. It is so important for your photography and videography team to be close (since they work hand in hand.) Joel and our videogrpaher, Matt, had never met. You could not tell at all. They acted like they had known each other for years, and our guests thought they worked together from the same company. Joel did everything possible to capture the pictures we wanted, and they came out better then I ever could have imagined. He was so much fun to work with. I could not have chosen a better person to celebrate our wedding with!

    Joel Thomas Photography 5
    Joel Thomas Photography 6
    Joel Thomas Photography 7
    Joel Thomas Photography 8
  • J

    Julianne · Married on 03/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We met Joel Thomas and his wife, Kristin, at a bridal showcase in Lancaster, PA and we knew just after speaking to them for a few minutes and seeing Joel’s beautiful work, that we NEEDED him to photograph our wedding! Joel was very responsive through e-mail and text and was great with answering all of our questions. We met up with him again for our engagement pictures, which was my husband and I’s first time being professionally photographed. We were super nervous, but Joel made us feel extremely comfortable (especially my husband who originally did not want to kiss me in front of the camera  ). Prior to the wedding day, Joel sent us a schedule of events, so that we knew exactly what to expect. On the day of our wedding, Joel and Kristin arrived on time and began doing their thing right away! They were super flexible with getting some specific shots for us while both parties were getting ready. We had a very rowdy bridal party and both Joel and Kristin were so great at keeping us all in line and positioning us to get the perfect shot. During the ceremony and the reception, Joel and Kristin were great at capturing everything for our special day, without hindering any of our guests’ experiences, which we were super thankful for! They joined in on the party and we even took some signature selfies with them before the night was over, which was awesome! Joel was super prompt at getting our wedding pictures and album back to us and everything was beautiful and exactly what we wanted! We are so thankful for Joel and Kristin and the amazing job that they did in capturing every moment of our engagement and wedding day! I would highly recommend looking into Joel Thomas Photography for any future events! Thanks again, Joel and Kristin! 

  • J

    Janelle · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joel was an amazing and fun photographer! He made sure we felt comfortable during every stage, from our engagement session to the big day, and delivered beautiful photos that captured our special day perfectly! Our guests loved him too, and he interacted with everyone in the bridal party with professionalism and excitement :) I would highly recommend Joel Thomas Photography!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We would totally recommend Joel!! So many people have complemented us for how beautiful our wedding/engagement photos look! He was super chill to work with, and the whole process was smooth and comfortable. We were really impressed with how well he captured our personalities in the midst of all of it. You will NOT be disappointed if you have Joel shoot your wedding!

  • A

    Alicia · Married on 10/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joel was amazing throughout the whole process! He made us feel comfortable during our engagement photos and was extremely easy to get work with! He was very professional and responded to emails quickly. His photos were absolutely stunning, he really took the time to capture the best moments. Highly recommended!!

  • C

    Clay · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


      We booked Joel for an engagement session in addition to our wedding.  We were both very nervous prior to our engagement shoot but he put us both at ease with his professionalism and ability to effectively communicate and keep things light.  He made it fun and made us realize that the photography at the wedding was nothing to be apprehensive about.
                    The day of the wedding, Joel and Kristin were excellent.  They went the extra mile to accommodate our hectic schedules as we prepared for the wedding and seemed to have an uncanny knack to be in the right place at the right time to get every shot we wanted without being obtrusive.
                    The photos from the engagement shoot and wedding both turned out perfectly and are something that we will treasure for the rest of our lives!

  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't give Joel enough praise! Through the craziness and stress of endless wedding photos, he brings great energy and will make you laugh the whole time. He and his wife were a delight to work with. On top of that, he's highly professional and responsive to email, and his photos were very high quality. We loved the process and the product.

  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joel is so much fun to work with! He knows how to get the best pictures AND how to capture the most flattering candid shots (not an easy task, people!). Joel is one of those photographers who is ready for any circumstance and knows how to make the most out of any setting. For example, there was a chance of rain on the day of our engagement shoot so Joel showed up with bridal umbrellas ready to go and extra equipment in case we needed to move inside! It is easy to see that Joel really finds joy in taking pictures and giving people beautiful reminders of this special time in their lives.
    Would recommend for any photography service!

    P.S. Ask him about his extremely talented dog, Oreo!

  • S

    Sam · Married on 04/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Worth every penny! Joel has a keen and dynamic eye for pictures, we used him for our engagement and wedding pictures. Very professional and friendly. Great to be around and easy to work with as he has many ideas for pictures but is also very open to ideas and suggestions! Recommend to anyone who wants great pictures!

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Joel and since the wedding haven't stopped receiving compliments on our wedding photos. Joel is funny and really made us feel at ease in front of the camera (my husband and I can sometimes appear awkward in posed photos, but from our wedding pics you'd never know!). I want especially to commend his responsiveness and flexibility. Communication prior to our shoots was very clear and his responses were always very quick (its great to have those quick responses when you have so many other details to iron out)! Joel was extremely flexible; because of our situation (I live out of the country) we actually did our engagement shoot the day before our wedding! He worked with us to find a window to get our photo shoot in and I am so glad, because the pictures came out amazingly. The day of our wedding there was a snowstorm, thankfully Joel came prepared with beautiful umbrellas for the wedding party. He really captured the magic of our wedding day and all the special moments we shared together. Also it should be mentioned that he is a great value! Definitely consider booking Joel for your wedding day, you'll be in good hands!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joel was an amazing photographer and captured ever special moment of our wedding day in the most creative and unique way possible. He spent many hours helping me plan my wedding timeline and choosing specific shots. He was very professional, but also had a relaxing and funny personality. He handled the wedding day and our engagement beautifully and took control when needed! He assistants were wonderful and the groomsmen had an awesome time during their shots. It was a joy to work with him and the compliments we receive for his work are endless. Even a very close friend of mine requested him to be her wedding photographer and I am so excited to see his work once again. I can not recommend anyone better than Joel, and I will be using him again in the future :)

  • User4289720 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joel did a fantastic job as our wedding photographer. He was so easy to work with and did a great job with directions (which we needed because we're not great at getting our pictures taken!). He's very organized and his photography is really awesome. He made us feel very comfortable at both our engagement shoot and on our wedding day and we just had a blast working with him! His prices are incredibly reasonable as well! Thanks for everything, Joel!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joel did a fantastic job and was so fun to work with. It's really important to find a photographer you trust and can relate to because that will be reflected in the final product. Joel made great suggestions and went out of his way to find creative shots. Not only were we very pleased with our pictures, but we also enjoyed our time with Joel.

  • M

    Matt and Melissa · Married on 07/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joel Thomas Photography is exceptional! If you're looking for an affordable yet professional option, look no further! Joel did a fantastic job working with us from our engagement pictures to our wedding day. He made sure to capture all of the special moments we asked him to while incorporating his own creativity throughout the day. Joel and his assistant also did a great job capturing each moment of our ceremony and reception without seeming to be in the way or intrusive in the intimate moments. Well done, Joel Thomas Photography!

  • C

    Chris · Married on 11/07/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    His photos were amazing! We've gotten a lot of compliments on the quality of the pictures--some even saying they were the best wedding pictures they had ever seen. Joel was a lot of fun to work with and highly professional. He has a natural flare, excitement and talent for photography. The benefits far outweighed the cost.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review