Skip to main content
Weddings

Jewish Heart and Soul—Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein Reviews

Jewish Heart and Soul—Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein

Jewish Heart and Soul—Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein

Bethesda, MD
4.9 out of 5 rating, 118 Reviews
View more information

118 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 118
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

8 User photos

  • E
    Eric Married on 05/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rabbi Annie can't be beat!

    Rabbi Annie was the perfect choice to officiate our wedding and we'll forever fondly remember our ceremony and the time we spent with her in the months leading up. From day 1 until the day of the ceremony, everything was better than we could have ever expected.

    Rabbi Annie spent hours with us over Zoom in the months leading up to our wedding, learning about our relationship, our families and our preferences for the ceremony. She always had nice things to say and great advice for us along the way. We had a lot of laughs and still remember her words today. She was also sure to take note of every detail we wanted for the ceremony and was extremely accommodating of everything. Her dedication is clear when you see how much thought she puts into every detail - down to the pronunciation of everybody's name.

    The day of was perfect as well. Our ketubah signing was memorable and our families and witnesses loved her. She conducted the ceremony with grace and humor and we've heard so much feedback that our ceremony was emotional and beautiful. It went perfectly according to plan and included everything we wanted.

    We would wholeheartedly recommend Rabbi Annie to anyone and everyone!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 02/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing interfaith service

    Rabbi Annie is simply the best. For our interfaith wedding, she wrote and conducted a beautiful service which explained the jewish parts of the ceremony as well as included both the hebrew and english for the prayers. So many of our guests came up to us and stated that it was the nicest wedding service they had been to. Rabbi Annie really listened to what we wanted our ceremony to look like and delivered a highly customized and tailored event. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
  • Suni
    Suni Married on 10/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best rabbi for our wedding, EXCELLENT

    She was a fabulous rabbi offering us counseling sessions that were really enjoyable and a great way for her to get to know us. From those sessions she got to know us as a couple and was able to personalize our wedding ceremony. She was willing to accommodate us with our I’m untraditional ceremony. She was extremely kind and funny and warm. She was extremely punctual professional but also made an effort to connect with us. I would absolutely recommend her for any wedding ceremony and cannot express how grateful we are to have had her support us on our wedding day. We had a part Jewish part Hindu wedding and she was extremely accommodating to the schedule of our ceremony.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Susanna M. Married on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience

    We loved working with Rabbi Annie Bornstein. We found her on the recommendation of a Jewish friend. We are an interfaith couple who don't belong to a synagogue, who were getting married on Shabbat (which really limited our options for rabbis, of course) and during Sukkot, and we wanted a rabbi to officiate.

    Rabbi Annie guided us through some gentle premarital counseling and met with us on Zoom several times to build and plan our ceremony. She also read our vows before our wedding. We appreciated that Rabbi Annie was enthusiastic about our love for one another, and that she encouraged us to incorporate all kinds of little personal twists into the ceremony, including the Kiddush with a special thermos and the Seven Blessings written by audience members. Our ceremony was complex and very personalized, and she led it effortlessly. She lent an air of gravitas to the occasion, and many guests remarked about how much they enjoyed her officiating. We feel lucky that we got to work with Rabbi Annie.

    Jewish Heart and Soul—Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein's reply:

    Dear Susanna, thank you for that thoughtful and beautiful review. That is what makes my work so fulfilling… such meaningful words that demonstrate the fact that you understood from where I was coming. May you & Nikko be blessed for many, many years to come. Affectionately, Annie
  • A
    Alisa Married on 06/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Personal and Intimate

    Rabbi Annie and our daughter spent nearly 3 years together while Annie prepared her for her Bat Mitzvah, mostly via Zoom with a few in person meetings. Thanks to Annie's devotion and kindness, they forged a real and meaningful bond during that time. Our daughter ended up performing beautifully at her Bat Mitzvah - thanks to a lot of hard work and especially to Rabbi Annie's patient and steady guidance. At the day of the event, Rabbi Annie spoke eloquently to our assembled guests (both Jewish and non) and her remarks to our daughter were particularly genuine and moving. I would recommend Annie for any life event.
  • Candi
    Candi K. Married on 06/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rabbi Annie Bornstein

    Rabbi Bornstein provided valuable Counseling to us throughout the process, even though we didn't think we needed it. She was very accomodating, very incisive, and very inspirational. The service she performed was appreciated greatly by all.
  • Andrea
    Andrea S. Married on 03/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend

    I saw Rabbi Annie officiate at one of my friend's weddings and loved their ceremony so much that I immediately contacted her for our ceremony! We are living in California but got married in Maryland and Rabbi Annie was very accommodating when it came to scheduling our pre-marriage sessions via FaceTime. She made us feel very comfortable while talking with her during these sessions. As an interfaith couple, we really appreciated the way Rabbi Annie customized our ceremony to be the perfect fit for us. She truly got to know us and that was evident during the ceremony and all of the wonderful things she said that rang true to both of us on our special day. Rabbi Annie held a very big part in making the day so perfect.
  • Sara
    Sara Married on 10/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Special, intimate backyard ceremony

    We are so grateful to Rabbi Annie for leading a special wedding ceremony for us. Like so many others, we had to downsize our wedding plans dramatically because of Covid. Rabbi Annie remained flexible throughout our changing plans, including a changed venue and moving the wedding outdoors. We enjoyed getting to know her in the months leading up to the wedding through our pre-marital sessions (both in-person and via FaceTime). She was genuinely interested in getting to know us as a couple. We appreciated that she was so open to crafting our wedding ceremony to be just as religious and just as personal as we wanted; we never felt pressured to include any particular elements.
    On the day of our backyard wedding, Rabbi Annie was punctual, professional, and flexible as we dealt with heavy rain during our ceremony. She led a beautiful marriage ceremony that was memorable for us and for our guests. Several of our guests commented on how much they liked her. She is a true stage presence. We highly recommend her to anyone. Thank you so much!
  • N
    Nataleigh K. Married on 08/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful, beautiful wedding service!

    Rabbi Annie did an incredible job with our (very) last minute micro-wedding ceremony. Even in a short amount of time, she was able to get to know us and make the ceremony feel personal and incredibly meaningful. Our families couldn’t have been happier with how the day turned out.
  • S
    Shailey A. Married on 08/16/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rabbi Annie is incredible! Choosing her to officiate our wedding was the best decision we made!

    Rabbi Annie made us feel like we were the only couple in the world getting married! She took the time to truly get to know us, and it felt like we had known her for years even though we just met last year. Her approach was to listen to us, understand what we wanted, and guide us through the preparation process. She was incredibly flexible and accommodating with scheduling and other changes we had to make due to the pandemic.

    Rabbi Annie told us our ceremony would be beautiful, and it truly was beautiful, beyond everything we had hoped for. Her presence, her voice and her words were moving and inspirational to us as we were beginning our new life together as a married couple.

    Rabbi Annie is truly exceptional and we are so fortunate to have found her.
  • John
    John F. Married on 06/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend

    Annie really took the time to get to know us, which resulted in an extremely thoughtful and personal ceremony. We couldn't be happier with how everything went. We couldn't recommend Annie enough.
  • Rachel
    Rachel R. Married on 03/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rabbi Annie is a Blessing!

    From the moment we first spoke with Rabbi Annie, we knew we wanted her to be part of our special day. She invested time in getting to know us as individuals and as a couple, and was both warm and compassionate while also punctual and professional. We had an interfaith ceremony and Rabbi Annie worked tirelessly with us to craft a unique blend of both Jewish and Catholic traditions that would honor both families. The day of, her presence made for a beautiful ceremony and I found myself profoundly moved by her personal, thoughtful message to us as husband and wife. Thank you, Rabbi Annie, for making our wedding both meaningful and memorable!
  • A
    Amy Married on 01/01/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful ceremony tailored to us!

    Rabbi-Cantor Bornstein created a beautiful ceremony for us, tailored to everything we had wanted and more. It was traditional but personalized for us, and the ceremony felt so special and warm. A highlight was also her beautiful voice for the prayers.
  • C
    Conor Married on 10/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rabbi Annie was great

    It was a pleasure to have Rabbi Annie officiate her wedding. She did a great job walking us through the process, was flexible enough for us to combine traditional and contemporary elements of a Jewish wedding, and gave very touching remarks during the ceremony. We are so grateful that she was part of our special day!
  • Tamalin
    Tamalin Married on 08/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical experience

    Rabbi-Cantor, Annie Bornstein was a delight to work with. She lead a beautiful ceremony for us that felt magical and meaningful. We highly recommend her.
  • Marilyn
    Marilyn N. Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you for a beautiful ceremony

    Rabbi Annie Borenstein recently officiated at my son’s wedding. Aside from being a lovely person, her service was inspirational and meaningful. My husband and I received numerous positive comments from our guests. We are very thankful to have such a wonderful memory.
  • R
    Rachael Married on 05/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    wonderful!

    Rabbi Annie is so nice and thoughtful, and went through exactly what we wanted for our wedding. She made sure to talk with my husband and I about ourselves and learned about us and our personalities. Everyone said our ceremony was beautiful and we were extremely happy with Rabbi Annie!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Married on 05/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wow! Thank G-d for Rabbis like Annie Bornstein!

    Wow! We are beyond grateful for the way Rabbi Annie officiated our wedding on May 18th and the many months she spent getting to know us beforehand. It was truly such a beautiful introduction into Judaism for my husband and I am proud to have her be the first Rabbi he has gotten to know. Her openness of our interfaith marriage, generosity of your time, thoughtfulness and guidance has been unprecedented in our experience so far.

    The words she spoke during our wedding were the most meaningful, I truly felt like she witnessed our love story, uplifted the best in us, and helped us navigate any challenges. What a privilege it has been having Rabbi Annie usher us into this new stage of our lives!
  • A
    Abigail Married on 04/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Rabbi

    We thoroughly enjoyed working with Rabbi Annie for our wedding. We hit it off with her from the start and felt she truly cared about us. She included many marriage counseling sessions which we enjoyed and found to be useful. She was always very flexible with scheduling meetings and was always open to meeting us. She really got to know us well and did an excellent job personalizing our service. We absolutely recommend her!
  • C
    Courtney Married on 04/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect ceremony!

    Rabbi Annie made our wedding ceremony so unbelievably special . She is a wonderful, fun and compassionate person who really cares about people and made sure our ceremony was perfectly tailored to us. I always looked forward to talking to her leading up to the ceremony and it was as if we had known her forever! People kept coming up to us during the wedding saying they were blown away with her voice and how beautiful it was. I feel very blessed to have had her as part of our special day and I could not imagine having anyone else marry us!
  • S
    Stuart B. Married on 03/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Authenticity, compassion, accessibility and eloquence - a gifted rabbi and truly special person

    Rabbi Annie is kind, knowledgeable and incredibly dedicated to giving you the wedding ceremony that best captures your experiences and preferences as a couple. Her program ensures a ceremony filled with love and authenticity because she's committed to learning about you as individuals and as a couple. When my father became gravely ill, Rabbi Annie readily agreed to perform a special ceremony for him the same day our larger ceremony was already planned. She graciously managed through our last-minute logistical changes and led us through an emotional day with compassion and poise. We feel extremely fortunate to have chosen a rabbi who prioritizes the needs of her couples and works with a joyfulness that was both soothing and inspiring.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 02/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We are so happy!

    Rabbi Bornstein was such a huge and integral part of our wedding. We received so many compliments about the ceremony and Ketubah signing. It really was so special and personalized to us and our relationship. We felt so supported by Annie during the whole process and learned more about ourselves and the tools to build a strong marriage along the way. Many people have told us that it was the best ceremony they've ever been to, and we completely agree. Rabbi Bornstein was one of our favorite vendors and we'd choose her again and again!
  • M
    Meredith Married on 10/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible ceremony

    Rabbi Annie led an incredibly meaningful and moving ceremony for our interfaith wedding. She took the time to get to know us and craft a ceremony with us - providing the right balance of freedom and advice. Throughout the evening, people asked us where we found such an incredible Rabbi and how beautiful the ceremony was. Her ceremony reflected that she really knew us as individuals and a couple - there was not a dry eye in the house!
  • Aleeza
    Aleeza Married on 10/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A wonderful Jewish-Persian-American wedding!

    We got married on October 6, 2018 and had a Jewish-Persian wedding.
    We were nervous we would not find someone that could manage both cultures, but Annie was a pleasure to work with! She really has a great grasp on different cultures and how to meet the needs of each tradition that is important to both partners. Although she offers some opinions on how the ceremony may work best, she is open to different ideas and figuring out how everything will work. In the end, our ceremony was truly amazing and we couldn't have done it without her! We are so pleased that we chose her to guide us through and help create our vision.
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Authentic & Kind

    We highly recommend Rabbi Annie, especially for an interfaith couple like us. With her guidance and support, we built even stronger bonds leading up to our ceremony. On our wedding day, she led a beautiful ceremony and helped make our day even more special. Many of our family and friends complimented her and noted how special it all felt. We agree. Thank you, Rabbi Annie
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message