Janice Owen Photography Reviews

18 | Long Beach, CA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Janice Owen Photography

Recommended by 100%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
18 Janice Owen Photography Reviews
Sort by:
  • M

    Monica · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice and David were great! My fiance and I just did our engagement shoot with them and it was so much fun. It was our first photo shoot together so we were a little nervous but Janice and David made us feel really comfortable. Janice edited and returned the photos so fast! We are so happy with the photos. So many good ones that we can't decide which ones to choose for our save the dates! We are so excited to work with them again for our wedding :)

    Thank you!

  • M

    Marcella · Married on 08/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice Owen is a fabulous photographer, she has so much experience shooting weddings, families, maternity and other events and her work has earned her the Weddingwire's Top Couples Award for 2018. I would definitely recommend Janice for any photography shoot; she takes each photo and edits them with care, love, and correct color processing. Thank you so much I love your work!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice and David Owen were recommended to us by a friend and we couldn't be happier. They were completely professional, knew exactly what to do, knew what kind of pictures to take. They explained the whole process to us, walked us through every detail. They were very accommodating and understanding and worked with us every step of the way. The big day came and I felt less stressed when they arrived to take the pictures, they told us how to pose, said funny jokes to lighten the mood. They were like shadows at the wedding, taking pictures from several different view points, both of them working as a team. Plus Janice did this while pregnant!! The wedding photos are amazing and my husband and i will cherish them for life. Thank you Janice and David for always being so understanding and working with us and for the amazing photos. Highly recommend.

  • M

    Mayra · Married on 10/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice and David did an amazing job. They captured our wedding in April. They were quick, efficient and had the right eye for our wedding. Our pictures came out beautiful! The pitctures tell a story and look like a million bucks! They worked with our budget and were always available to answer any questions. Such a sweet couple! Thank you for capturing our day! Would recommend them, hands down!

  • L

    Linda · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Look No Further! Janice Owen is one of the best Photographers in LA and truly a hidden gem. After looking countless hours for our wedding photographer I knew she was the one just by looking at her work. Janice and her husband were great to work with. They are so kind, genuine and professional. We love all of our wedding pictures

    Janice Owen Photography 1
  • N

    noelle · Married on 08/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had planned a celebration party for NEXT year, due to a lot of our people residing in other states and countries...and then at the final hour, decided to throw together a small gathering of those we love and that are close in proximity:)

    I decided on Janice about 1 week prior to the wedding. Very little had been planned and we were headed to Italy for a couple of weeks, so I was trying to be low-key about basically everything. And then it hit me, this was our wedding and I wanted our guests to be camera free and not assigned to any 'task'. I researched several photographers before I came upon Janice. Almost everyone one of them was either booked or only did larger ceremonies. Janice responded immediately and made an exception to our late booking and huge party of 10 peeps:)

    We met up with her to discuss style and any questions we might have...and finally suggestions about the details, i.e. things to add or bring to enhance the memory of our special day.

    We arrived and Janice had already begun taking photos of the surroundings. My partner and I had no concrete plan as to how all of it was going to play out...and Janice beautifully guided us, as well as our party... the entire step of the way.

    I can't think of any moment that she didn't capture. We received the photo gallery in a timely manner and loved how she had categorized it into specifics: details, romantics, ceremony, friends and family, etc. Janice has a very specific style, she is creative, clearly knows what poses work for each couple and makes everyone feel very comfortable the day of:)

    We enjoyed her energy and I truly can't imagine having chosen anyone else...as I am one very picky gal:)

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely beautiful. You are truly an amazing artist with your talent for photography. Thank you for capturing our engagement and our wedding on July 7th,2017. I'm excited to see the final photos of our wedding day. Thank you for accommodating us in the 104 temperature. I look forward to you capturing many more memories for us in the future.

  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After becoming engaged and deciding on a wedding, one of our first tasks was finding the right photographer to photograph our special day. I had known that our friends Janice and David had a photography business going on and would always see their photos on my FB feed. One thing that always stood out was how bright and full of life their pictures always seemed to turn out. Some photographers and couples choose to go with the whole artsy, gloomy, faded, hipster type pictures for their wedding and engagement photos. However, for us, we wanted to have pictures that were bright, clear, and happy! It was our wedding day for Christ sake! Not a funeral. After everything was all said and done my wife and I could not be happier with how our photos turned out and feel that choosing Janice and David as our wedding photographers was one of the best decisions we made. Working with them was easy, fun, and made our day that much more memorable. Thank you guys for everything. You two are the best!

  • B

    Bambi · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    The idea of having a wedding has always seemed nice and fun. However, once we started planning, we realized that it would take a lot of work to execute, especially on a tight budget. Initially, we felt very overwhelmed. One of our first tasks was finding the right photographer. We did a lot of research and came upon Janice and David's site which had great reviews. During our first meeting with them we immediately knew we wanted to have them photograph our wedding. The decision wasn't based soley on the quality of their photos. We already knew their work was stunning based on the pictures we saw online. The other main deciding factor was the comfort level we felt with them. They were very receptive about trying to capture the type of pictures we wanted and were willing and flexible to work within our budget. It was clearly evident this wasn't their first rodeo either. They had a lot of experience to share with us in regards to how the whole wedding planning process went which helped ease our anxieties. In the end, they far exceeded our expectations. They helped make our wedding day run so much more smoothly. Taking photos frequently during your wedding can be very taxing but with them it was so much more fun and easy. Very professional couple, on time or early, and detail oriented with their work. I highly recommended them to everyone.

  • M

    Monique · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can we say!? Other than Janice did an Ahhh-mazing job on our wedding photos. She really is talented. As we all know, a wedding day is so significant yet it felt like a flash of time and seemed to fly by. With these gorgeous photos, we can reminisce on the day forever. We are so grateful.

    Now for some details, Janice and her husband David are a photography team. This was awesome because David was able to capture the Groom and Groomsmen getting ready/ mingling and Janice was able to be with the girls.

    The detail shots are exquisite, the family shots make us smile and of course our ceremony photos---way to capture our L O V E!!

    At delivery time for photos, we liked how Janice categorized the day into different folders. This made it easy for us to navigate through the pictures.

    We also took our engagement photos with the duo and we were pleased.

    We highly recommend Janice Owen Photography! You guys rock! Thanks a million!

  • T

    Talia · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice Owen and her partner David were fantastic from the first moment we met them during a very long process of finding a great photographer for our springtime beach wedding. After meeting them at a coffee shop, we felt a sense of relief that our wedding day photography was going to be amazing and exactly what we were looking for within our budget. A dream come true after a series of interviews with other L.A. photographers that just didn't pan out. 110% recommend you select Janice Owen Photography for your wedding or special event.

    Janice Owen Photography 2
    Janice Owen Photography 3
    Janice Owen Photography 4
  • N

    Nori · Married on 04/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't thank Janice and David enough for making our day so special! They took time to meet with us prior to our wedding on a few occasions. We planned out everything in advance in order to capture all the important moments.... and they did just that! There are so many beautiful and personalized memories that we are grateful to have forever! David and Janice were very personable and easy to work with. They got along great with all of the guests and blended in like one of the crowd. Thank you again Janice and David for capturing our amazing day in such a spectacular way!

  • J

    Jackie · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BOOK JANICE & HER HUSBAND.. JUST DO IT.

    Here is why...

    Since the moment we hired Janice she was always professional, on time and responsive. I had a ton of questions and would call/text her at thee most random hours LOL. Janice did not mind though! You can tell she is passionate about her work and will do everything in her power to make your day special. My husband and I are very pleased with her work and will recommend Janice Owen Photography to any couple. Feel free to message me if you have more questions!

    Oh, and I wanted to give my hubby a little something special so I booked a Boudoir photo shoot with Janice. Let me just say, I am pretty awkward and definitely do not know how to pose or look natural in photos-- BUT that's where Janice came in. She made me feel so comfortable and the final photos looked bomb. I could not even believe it!!

    As for actual wedding photos, I have received nothing but compliments as to how beautiful they are!! They are absolutely amazing....!!! We are so happy we booked Janice. I hope this review helps!!

  • K

    Kristy · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Janice and her husband for our wedding last weekend. It was a great experience from first contact to meeting up over coffee to wedding day. We met up over coffee to discuss their experience and to see if we would feel comfortable with the couple shooting our big day. Almost instantly we knew that we would be going with them; they were both friendly, fun, enthusiastic and passionate, and easy-going yet still business-like. They had super affordable prices for two shooters but the shots they showed us were the quality of those photographers who have at least double or triple the price they were charging. We haven't received our photos from our wedding yet but she posted a sneak peek shot the same day of our wedding and we and our guests totally loved it. We will update the review when we do receive the rest of our shots, probably with more glowing words.

    Wedding day was an amazing experience. Both were friendly and super easy to work with. David kept everyone loose and relaxed. They took a lot of candids and natural shots, as well as some posed shots. Throughout the day the two were calm and relaxed and easy-going but still were able to execute all of the shots we asked them for.

    Posing for them was easy. Sometimes photographers get really picky and particular and want exact head angles and they keep tinkering so by the time they take the shot you can't smile naturally anymore. But they were natural with posing and only got really particular when explaining the most ergonomic ways to pose so we wouldn't be injured in a lift or awkward angle.

    In sum, it was an amazing experience with these two and we would definitely recommend them to you reading this and to all of our friends and family for any professional photography they might need. It's been a total pleasure working with them and we look forward to working with them again at another special occasion.

  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was blessed to have Janice capture my boudoir photo session for my husband to be at the time. Janice and I spoke regularly about scheduling me in the few months we had. She made sure that we were able to order the receive the photo album in time for the wedding. I was involved in every step of the way including previewing the album lay out during production. Janice is very professional, accommodating, and detailed in all she does. I would recommend her to capture the special moments in your life. A talented lady.

  • J

    Joey · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice shot our wedding as a guest and took some really great shots of our special day.

    What makes Janice stand out from the rest is her passion. She's been taking photos her whole life! She has a natural eye for framing a scene and will guide you when you don't know where to stand, how to pose, or what to do.

    She is incredibly attentive to detail and her shots reflect her meticulousness. If you are looking for a photographer - go to Janice!

    Her husband, David is also an all around great guy and will help you get relaxed for the shots (plus make you laugh) which is really needed when you aren't yourself a natural at getting your pictures taken.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was delighted to book Janice as my photographer for my boudoir photo session. I wanted to surprise my husband with it as a birthday gift. She was so nice about answering all my questions/concerns before and after the shoot and made sure that I would get my album in time. On the day of the shoot, she gave me suggestions on how to pose and made me feel at ease with her fun and friendly personality. She also showed me a preview of the layout and was happy to make any changes until everything was exactly to my liking before sending it to production. I was very pleased with the final product and my husband loved it too! Janice is personable, professional and has great attention to detail! I would definitely recommend her to be your photographer for any special occasion!

  • A

    Ahmanielle · Married on 11/26/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janice and David did an incredible job capturing our wedding day. Janice is serious about her business and works hard to get the job done. They are a great balance; Janice does the posed shots and David takes the candids but together they are able to make magic happen. The day of, Janice came into the bridal suite ready to work and took so many photos! I would say that you must be prepared with everything she needs- rings, dress, flowers, etc. My husband and his groomsmen loved David and it was like he was an honorary groomsmen. We had a ball with them the day of and they took plenty of photos that preserve the memory of our wedding in such a beautiful way. Thank you for everything, we appreciate you both and will definitely recommend you to other couples!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review