J. Verno Studios Reviews

11 | Pittsburgh, PA
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for J. Verno Studios

Recommended by 87%

11

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.1
Sort by:
  • K

    Kasey · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    J. Vernos Studios is by far the best wedding reception studio in Pittsburgh. My husband and I knew that we HAD to have our wedding there from the second we stepped foot into the building. J Vernos is contemporary and chic......it gave us a totally different wedding experience. Compliments about our venue are still coming......family and friends stating "this is the coolest wedding venue we've ever seen." We seated 200 people comfortably within the studio. Paul, building manager, is WONDERFUL to work with. He knows how J Vernos runs inside and out. He helped us with planning, floor lay out, setup, and tear down......there was never a time that Paul didn't promptly get back to us about questions we had. We opted to get the photo booth and it was a HIT!! Jay has a whole entire room dedicated to props (the most props I've ever seen at a photo booth). The photo booth was so fun and so popular there was a line to get pictures taken (which the guests didn't mind because they played with all the props while waiting). The only word of advice I have related to J. Vernos is you MUST book far in advance ( at least 13 months). We went and viewed the venue, went home and discussed budget, and by the time we called back (24 hours later) our date was already booked. However, luckily we were still able to book another date......I couldn't see myself celebrating our marriage anywhere else.

    Sent on 12/02/2015
  • Jamie

    j · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all at J Verno Studios on June 1, 2013. Wow, I can't believe how awesome our wedding was. This venue is incredible. From the outside the building looks like an industrial warehouse, but once you step inside you will be blown away. Super modern and chic. Guests were in love with the space and so were we! So happy we chose to have our wedding here. It felt like we were in LA or NYC! Another huge plus was the multiple great photo opp areas inside and outside the building. I can't wait to see our photos. The venue also provided all the uplighting which was soft and added the perfect touch. If you are looking for a non-traditional, modern, unique, hip venue for your wedding, hands down J Verno Studios is the only place in Pittsburgh!

    Sent on 06/06/2013
  • K

    Kendra · Married on 03/22/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We actively looked for a venue that would combine our personalities and allow us to come up with a wedding that was "us." J. Verno Studios did just that. Jay and Paul were wonderful to work with. The venue was beautiful and unique, with separate areas for cocktail hour, dinner, and our ceremony. Our guests loved the photo booth and the ability to project it onto the video wall and monitors in the reception area.

    Being able to bring our own vendors and alcohol was another huge perk, and a large part of the reason that we selected J. Verno Studios. We can't thank you enough for helping us make our wedding day beautiful and special!

    Sent on 04/07/2014
  • User2576856 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    J. Verno Studios was not only a fabulous, unique, special place to have our wedding but everyone there was fantastic to work with. Planning was simple and easy and it made my planning experience great, I even had my shower in the upstairs loft. The lighting is beautiful but it's a dark room so I would recommend telling your photographer to check out the space before your event. Over all I loved the space and I would highly recommend it to any bride!

    Sent on 08/03/2012
  • User3796280 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    J Verno Studios is by far the most beautiful and unique wedding venue in Pittsburgh! Between the amazing cocktail hour space, main reception room space, bridal suite, various rooms to get ready in, and the photo booth our guests were more than impressed - we got compliments left and right on how it was by far the best wedding venue they had ever been to. Everyone at JVS by far exceeded our expectations - Jay and his crew were so friendly and so easy to work with. We also did our photography through them and the pictures are so gorgeous we cannot narrow down out of the 3,000+ that we got on CDs from them. We have gotten compliments on the pictures and how different and unique they are and how you can tell they were "professional" with tons of beautiful lighting effects and touch ups. The only drawbacks to JVS is that the price was the highest around and only included tables and chairs - the good thing with them though is you can bring in your own caterer and alcohol (huge money saver - use Yes We Cater - AMAZING). We also thought we were getting a little higher quality of a photo album than we did also, so that was slightly disappointing - beautiful pictures in the book, but basically a Shutterfly book not a professional "album" so to speak. If we had to do it all over again we wouldn't have changed a thing and would use JVS again and again. Amazing venue- go and see it!!!

    Sent on 01/08/2014
  • A

    Adam · Married on 06/07/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    J. Verno Studios blows people's minds. From the exterior, you might think, "Where am I going?" but it just makes for that much more shock and awe once you enter its doors. Paul is the main worker there and made everything on our wedding day run smoothly. He works tirelessly for several hours days before the wedding to ensure everything is in tip-top shape. He even waited with the bride's mother outside when her ride had to leave for a minute before coming back to get her. The only knock is that it's not the cheapest venue site, but you get what you pay for, I suppose. Jay, the owner himself, isn't the most responsive person in the world, but his wife is all over things. I'm reaching at this point. All of our guests called the place awesome because it is.

    Sent on 06/10/2014
  • User2785965 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    You could not ask for a more awesome venue in Pittsburgh! It was ideal for us since we are in our 20s and wanted a young, hip location. My husband and I looked at the minimum 10 places before we found Jay's and nothing compared! It was modern and unique - a great way to 'wow' your guests!! We got the photo booth - which was one of the many highlights of the evening playing on the wall and TVs throughout the studio and I highly recommend. Although the street seems shady (we weren't even sure if we were at the right place when we pulled up), everyone completely forgets where you are whenever you walk inside. Great spot being close to the South Side and Station Square for the guests that want to continue the party after the night ends. My only complaint would be that there were a few 'hidden' charges ($20 for pin-spotting I never heard of until the final bill) and that we couldn't continue the party for longer than the contract stated even though we were willing to pay (but on the reverse end, everyone was really bummed to leave and were still raving the next day!) Completely worth every penny!!!

    Sent on 11/20/2012
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 02/16/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The most gorgeous venue you will find in Pittsburgh. Perfect for a wedding! The photobooth was a blast. J is not the best at responding to emails, you HAVE to call to get anything answered. He is great though. He allowed me to come in 3 times to see the venue. The photobooth operators were great and Paul (the guy that basically is there all night helping) was so much fun! I was a little disappointed that we couldn't use the venue to practice but J allowed us to use his upstairs area to practice. Before you book just know that there is not much else included in the price of the venue. All linens, plates, ice, coolers, etc. must be brought by your caterer and you bring your own alcohol. I had my ceremony there and they flipped the room in a little over an hour. You don't need very many decorations because the place is so beautiful.

    Sent on 03/03/2013
  • User3903575 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I would give J. Verno Studios a 5 based solely on how gorgeous and fabulous the look of the space itself is. Like many others, we thought we were lost when we first pulled up at the venue to look at it - then you go inside and you are awestruck by how cool, unique, and different the space is. Once we saw it, we knew no other place could compare in Pittsburgh. Paul, who I guess would be Jay's right hand man, was awesome. He worked really hard leading up to and during the event to make sure everything went smoothly. The day before there was a last minute mix up with the lighting and he made sure it was perfect day of. It was a plus being able to bring in your own caterer and alcohol. The ovens and the space are a little wild - so I highly recommend Yes We Cater because they work their all the time and know the place well. The downside - Jay himself is not very flexible, easy to work with, or responsive. I think I spoke to him on the phone ONCE and in e-mail maybe TWICE. I am grateful for Yes We Cater being able to coordinate everything with him, because it was really hard for me to get a hold of him or get a straight answer. I am also thankful for Paul, because he really worked hard also. There were some headaches because it really is no frills, no help, no service - just a gorgeous space. But all said and done, it was the most beautiful day and I would do it there again. My guests were blown away!

    Sent on 06/21/2015
  • User3450637 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    While the venue is something unique the photography was NOT. I have 338 pictures of my shoes and dress (without me in them) and 5 pictures with MY FATHER AND I! You have to chase them around to tell him what pictures you want. Jay is laid back, but he also has the attention span of a fly. I have NO individual pictures with my mom and I, and the ones he took of the actual ceremony he took so far away you can't see anything. For all we knew it could have been someone else. The 2 he did take from above had the curtain rod looking thing and air ducts. The only bonus was the photo booth and his wife that ran that. It's almost a year later and I haven't watched my wedding video in fear of how heartbroken and irate i will be just based off our pictures alone. I was mystified by the venue and thought with a place like that and the wedding pictures on his site I couldn't go wrong. WRONG! I HAVE NONE OF THE PICTURES HE TOOK DISPLAYED. What a shame.
    I should have just rented the venue and gone with a different photographer

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • User3685405 · 2+ years ago

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    THE VENUE IS BEAUTIFUL.

    WE WERE CONSTANTLY SURPRISED BY OTHER FEES FOR ITEMS THAT WE THOUGHT WERE INCLUDED IN THE CONTRACT.

    GREAT THAT WE COULD BRING OUR OWN CATERER AND ALCOHOL.

    Sent on 11/18/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review