J.K. Music Productions Inc. Reviews

12 | Fairfax Station, VA
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for J.K. Music Productions Inc.

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

12
Order by:
  • M

    Maria X. · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and his team were amazing. We can not be happier with their work. It was so easy working with them, all the music was extraordinary. All our guest danced the whole night. we strongly recommend them as your DJ. Thank you John for all your help.

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 01/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John was amazing! He kept the dance floor packed all night long. A few of my friends have already asked for his information for their weddings. We had a little snafu with the venue and he stayed late in order to keep the party going through the whole night. Thank you so much!

    Sent on 02/19/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He was fun, lively, and had a great sense of the vibes of the dance floor. Great MC. Played all the songs we wanted and more. Thanks John!!

    Sent on 08/26/2014
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dunstan turned out to be awesome. He did seem surprised that my husband and I didn't have more requests/demands but it was wonderful. He kept the music fun and light and even played a polka for my FIL. It was a fun night and he definitely played a part in that.

    Sent on 10/31/2012
  • JKRuoff

    Kelsie · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved John! He was very on top of things, and basically ran the reception for us.

    He was very quick in responding to me throughout the planning process (both phone and email), and really put me at ease about the music.

    At the reception he played a lot of music that I had previously told him we liked, and he also played things that we liked that I hadn't suggested. He had a really good feel for what the crowd wanted, and didn't dissapoint. Our dance floor was almost always packed, and we had a lunch time reception!

    Sent on 03/20/2012
  • kim okinsky

    Kim O. · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John is a very organized and great vendor to work with. He played all of our music requests and was very enthusiastic. i had a lot of compliments on the picks as well! He touched base with me a number of times before our event and made sure everything was in order. he was almost like a wedding coordinator and dj in one! There were some microphone issues during the toasts (it kept turning on and off) but he apologized and i could tell he genuinely felt bad about it. I asked him not to keep in clean (music-wise) and he did. I am happy we used him and would recommend him to any of my friends. Pricewise, he was definitely the best. mosy djs charge about $1000 for 4 hours, he was $600. So very competitive. I changed a couple things up last minute and he did well with that (decided not to do a bouquet toss but to do a couples dance (longest married gets bouquet)). Also added a song to the prelude. He touched base with me thoughout the night as well. i asked him for a couple more slow songs so that we could talk to all of our guests before dancing. making sure the night went the way i wanted it to go was his number one priority and i appreciated that. Anyhow, great guy! very professional, would recommend! :)

    Sent on 10/28/2009
  • User3214517 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with John Koslin at JK Music Productions. I thought John was very helpful and he was always available for questions.

    Sent on 04/23/2013
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 02/01/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Despite a couple of technical difficulties, we were very pleased with the DJ services provided by John. The dance floor was full all night! We would book this vendor again. I cannot speak to value as his services were a part of a package.

    Sent on 02/18/2014
  • L

    Loretta · Married on 06/02/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    A little disorganized and slow working out toasts and grace after introductions, but really kept the dancing going and everyone had a great time!

    Sent on 06/06/2012
  • R

    R · Married on 10/13/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    John was the DJ for our wedding and overall he did a good job. We provided a detailed play list and I'm so glad we did! We put together a nice mix of 50s, 60s, classic/dancing music, country, and top 40 but we came up with it ourselves so be sure to put in the time so you get what you want!

    We had a call with him the week before our wedding and talked through the anticipated schedule and play list. But the night of our wedding, it was a little bit of a last-minute rush when we verified the pronunciation of people's names in our wedding party right before he announced everyone. I'm glad we did it, but wish we had covered that in the call instead of right before. But he also re-verified the order of people and that was good attention to detail.

    He did a good job of announcing the cake cutting and bouquet toss and coordinated with the photographer to ensure we were getting the pictures we wanted. But there was an awkward transitions with toasts and a miss of a cue to invite everyone to join in a dance - definitely not a big deal and some of it was due to the catering staff timing to be fair.

    Overall he did a good job and I'd recommend him to a friend. As with any DJ, if you care about what is played at your event, spend some time determining the music and planning into the schedule. His colleague Jeff provided our ceremony music and did a good job with that too!

    Sent on 11/01/2012
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/05/2012

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We had hired John to DJ our wedding on October 5, 2012. John is extremely personable, though I had several issues with the service that he provided. I provided a list of songs for him to play during cocktail hour and during the reception and had corresponded several times through email with him. 2 weeks before the wedding, I asked if he wanted to meet with me to go over anything, and he said no.

    First and foremost, he uses only hard CDs (which can be good or bad), but the Bridal Processional song skipped for several seconds right before I was to walk down the aisle. Kind of embarassing.

    I had told him in advance of the wedding, that we would be doing an Anniversary Dance instead of throwing the bridal bouquet. He did not explain this to the guests, which caused a lot of confusion overall. He also mispronounced the majority of my bridal party as we entered into the reception area (also embarassing since these are my family and best friends).

    In my personal opinion, these are small details of the evening which can make the evening go very well, or be embarassing to the bride and groom.
    Overall, I was disappointed not with the technical difficulties (sometimes those happen) but just with the level of detail that was overlooked and the quality of professionalism.

    I also had several guests complain at the end of the night that the music was way to loud for such a small venue. I eventually had to go over and ask John to turn the volume down a little bit.

    Sent on 10/16/2012
  • User2381302 · 2+ years ago

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    The actual event was fine--but communication leading up to the event was frustrating. If you are just using general music from pop culture, you should be fine, but in the three days before my wedding I had to scramble to help them set up a themed playlist. I tried doing it months before the event, but couldn't reach anyone who would work with me. The DJ was good--played the music at a good volume and a good mix, but he tended to rush some things; e.g. he started the father-daughter dance when my dad was on the far side of the ballroom and he had to run to get to the dance floor.

    Sent on 10/28/2012