Ivan Chen Photography Reviews

74 | Cerritos, CA
See photos, pricing and details

74 Reviews for Ivan Chen Photography

Recommended by 99%

74
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • W

    west · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan and Monica did an amazing job. An absolute pleasure to work with. Made us feel very comfortable. Had lots of great input. Were flexible and accommodating. Most importantly the pictures are awesome!

    When we were planning our wedding, we struggled to stay under budget and looked for places to cut corners. Really glad we did not skimp on the photographer. Worth the money!!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my fiance and I first considered taking engagement photos we were both pretty nervous about how difficult it would be to pose in all of the romantic styles we loved. Ivan made that whole experience so easy for us, and it was actually so much fun we forgot we were being photographed at times. The pictures turned out fantastic! I love how Ivan was able to capture a genuinely fun experience.

  • M

    Matthew · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan Chen was one of the best vendors we had for our wedding. First, he helped us plan the photography portion of our wedding, such that we could fit in all of the photo sessions we wanted, despite the time constraints we had. Second, during the wedding day, he was an incredible help staying on time, sticking to the schedule, and working with the wedding coordinators when we needed to be flexible. Most impressive was how he and his wife remained poised and friendly throughout the entire day; we hired him for 10+ hours straight, and as a photographer myself I can tell you that the photographer has *THE* hardest job of any wedding vendor - they're literally with you for the entire day (even when your family and friends aren't) so they get to talk to you a lot and it can be tiring. We went to 3 different locations spanning over 30 miles, so props to Ivan and Monica for hanging in there.

    We asked Ivan to deliver a clean, contemporary, and modern photography style, and of course he did. Ivan didn't try to get too artsy with the overexposure (white or washed out-looking photos), or with high contrast and fake high dynamic range the way you see a lot of wedding photographers present their portfolios nowadays. Just simple, clean photography with the best equipment on the market. Ivan also knows how to pose his subjects so that helps a lot.

    You won't regret hiring Ivan and Monica. They are the people you'll want beside you on your wedding day.

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Looking back on the entire wedding process, I am so glad we didn't overlook the value of a photographer with experience, a genuine happiness and excitement for his clients, and a passion for his craft. Ivan was everything I could have ever wanted in a photographer. From our first conversation on the phone, Ivan was a delight. He was extremely informative, professional, and friendly without being too in your face. He has incredible knowledge of lighting, angles, posing, and simply what makes you look good on camera. Having never experienced a photoshoot before, Ivan and his second photographer, his wife Monica, made me feel and believe that I am photogenic. :) They truly live up to their motto of making their couples look amazing! Monica was present for the engagement shoot and wedding day, and I am so happy with the close up shots she got of us!

    Beyond how incredible our pictures turned out and the amazing value of the hundreds of photos we received from Ivan and Monica, I have to mention our experience with them the day of the wedding. We were running late before the wedding began and unfortunately one my wedding coordinators just didn't take much initiative to help. Ivan problem solved on the spot. He was time efficient and executed our First Look and the million combinations of Wedding Party and family pictures without making us feel rushed. I can't thank him enough for being so attentive to us and so knowledgeable of our schedule.

    Ivan has a natural presence and ability to take charge when needed, but the humility, warmth, and genuine care about you and your needs. He is worth every penny and so affordable. Having Monica there as the second photographer was icing on the cake. My junior bridesmaid couldn't stop talking about how sweet and kind she made her feel. In all, Ivan and Monica are an amazing team and I recommend them 100%!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan and Monica were the absolute best photographers you could ever hope for. Of all the things that went wrong, and could have gone wrong, it was such a relief to know that at least the photographers were reliable.

    I really have to hand it to them for their professionalism. My day-of planner came across a bit aggressively towards some of my vendors, and Ivan handled it professionally and calmly, and immediately gave me a call to fill me in on what was happening. They had an incredible photo booth, which I had only booked for 3 hours, but when we realized how much of a hit it was, he offered to extend until the end of my reception.

    Their experience really shows in their ability to get incredible shots in a limited amount of time. My ceremony venue gave us a 2 hour time limit. They were able to capture some amazing shots, AND, they were able to wrangle my Taiwanese family for group shots (which is akin to herding cats with ADD) within the limited time frame.

    He also provides you with advice throughout the day, like how to hold your flowers, how the guys should put their hands, and even how high to throw your bouquet. His instruction never felt out of place, and you never felt awkward in front of the camera.

    Of course, the final photos were stunning, and they sent it to me in an online format so that everyone in my massive family could view them with ease. His style is a mix between traditional and modern, and he's happy to accommodate any kind of shots that you'd want to include. His final photo edits are a mix of black and white, and color photos, which have been edited juuuust enough to enhance the vibrancy of the picture, but not to an extreme where it looks heavily edited.

    Ivan and Monica are seriously #relationshipGoals. You can really tell that they understand how the other works, and communicate so well. They're very much a well oiled machine, and just the nicest people you'd meet. I HIGHLY recommend them to any bride!!

  • A

    Angie · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say about Ivan and Monica that hasn't been said?! They are absolutely AMAZING! So easy to talk to and lay out your ideas. Tip: Listen to Ivan and Monica's ideas...they're the live version of Pinterest!

    My husband and I were just driving from SD the other day and we were just reminiscing about our wedding day that happened 3 weekends ago. For my husband, he doesn't like taking pictures and stays away from the camera, but he was raving about how Monica & Ivan made him feel comfortable on our engagement shoot and wedding day. He even said how Ivan & Monica were the best vendors for our wedding which made me feel confident about teaming up with them.

    I am so obsessed with the pictures Ivan and Monica had taken for our big day. Not only am I obsessed with them, my mother loves all of them as well. It's not easy to impress a Korean mother, but for her to say I chose the right photographer team and how kind they were says a lot as well. Monica & Ivan can definitely catch the special moments, adding a touch of elegance and simplicity that makes each picture look like something you'll see in a bridal/fashion magazine.

    THANK YOU, Ivan & Monica!

  • E

    Ellen · Married on 03/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't rave about Ivan and Monica enough! We met them when they photographed my sister's wedding and I knew I wanted to use them for ours. They photographed our engagement photos, a tea ceremony and our wedding day. We were lucky enough that they agreed to travel all the way to Asia with us and was so incredibly accommodating the entire time. They provided ideas and offered to help with even the planning phase! How amazing is that! We were pretty overwhelmed the weeks leading up the wedding and Ivan and Monica basically set up the entire timeline for us and even found an amazing place to do first look photos. They definitely went above and beyond what I think a typical photographer should do. Every few days they would pull us aside to ask if there was anything with the wedding they could help with.. it just proves how much they care about their clients. All the photos came back super timely and were BEAUTIFUL! We honestly wouldn't have changed a thing.

  • P

    PradoMangaya · Married on 01/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan and Monica are WONDERFUL!!! What else can I say??! We are so THANKFUL that we had Ivan Chen Photography for our journey towards marriage. They were absolutely professional, yet at the same time we felt like they were family! Your engagement shoot may be a little awkward kissing in front of strangers BUT thats why i loved Ivan and Monica because they really made me and my husband very comfortable and relaxed that it very much showed in our photos! Our photos turned out AMAZING and we definitely looked so in love! The preparation for our wedding day was awesome because Ivan was able to give me a sample timeline and ideas for our first look. Our Wedding Day went PERFECT! (I would say lol) because everything went so smoothly. Our photographers knew what to do and where to stand that during the ceremony I didn't even remember they were there lol One thing that I still remember to this day was that during our reception, Ivan had come up to us and asked us if we were okay and if we felt a little hot. I said yes and he said he was gonna go ask the staff if they can vent a window for a little bit! (Our wedding was in the winter) But yeah! Something SO small but i was thinking, WOW this guy isnt just our photographer but someone who really made sure our guests felt comfortable and like i said, Ivan and Monica felt like family! THANK YOU IVAN CHEN PHOTOGRAPHY<3

  • User6135199 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan is an incredible photographer. He was very professional and worked around our budget and tight schedule. We couldn't have asked for a better photographer. Ivan and Monica made sure our day flowed smoothly and went above and beyond to give us what we needed.

  • K

    Karina · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved working with Ivan! He was so professional and really knows how to take amazing pictures! I swear some of our wedding pictures belong in a magazine! I really appreciated the fact that I never had to wait more than 1 day for a reply when I reached out to him. That is HUGE when you are working with what feels like a million other vendors! Him and his wife Monica are the sweetest people and I'm so glad I chose them for our special day. Great value, amazing work, awesome people! Book them....I promise you won't regret it!!

  • S

    Sheree · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan Chen at Ivan Chen Photography is undoubtedly the most amazing photographer I have had the pleasure of working with. I've been a bridesmaid many times and I can honestly say that my wedding pictures (and engagement pictures) and experience was absolutely perfection in every way. Not only is Ivan (and his wife) the nicest person who is so fun and easy to work with... his work is so artistic an beautiful. It brought my husband and I back to our wedding day. I can't even look at my pictures without tears of joy because I am able to re-live every moment. His work had personality, romance, and artistry. Its amazing when you have over 1000 pictures you love. 10 stars!! Just captivating!!!

  • N

    Nelson · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We went with Ivan Chen Photography after an extensive review of photographers in the area. We chose Ivan and Monica based on how easy it was to interact with them during the meeting and their willingness to work with our vision. We couldn't be happier with our choice. Even during the engagement shoot, they were constantly working with us, giving us tips and making the whole process easy and carefree. Even prior to the wedding, we talked with Ivan and he helped us out with some of our concerns and was able to allay our fears and worries.

    During our wedding, Ivan and Monica were amazing. Even though we were running a little behind, they were able to catch up to schedule while still being able to capture all of those little perfect moments during the day. They were really on top of everything and just like our first meeting and the engagement shoot, they were always happy and willing to work with us and our other vendors to ensure the wedding went off without a hitch.

    We got back our pictures in a short time and there were breathtaking. They were able to capture so much and we couldn't be happier. We also got back a lot of pictures, so many that it was hard to pick and choose which ones to share. We couldn't be happier we chose Ivan Chen Photography for our wedding.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan and Monica were the photographers at my wedding on September 5th. I found Ivan about 9 months before my wedding date, and I am so glad he was our photographer! He has been great with follow up and keeping in touch. On my wedding day they arrived on time and began shooting right away according to our timeline. Monica was so sweet and even helped my sister lace up my dress because we didn't know how to do it. They took the most gorgeous photos of everything!! We just received them back and can't stop looking at how gorgeous they are. I am not exaggerating when I say these are some of the best photos I have ever seen. He captured all of our moments between my husband and I perfectly and I feel like I am re-living my wedding day as I look through the photos. We look natural, happy, and like ourselves! We didn't even notice that they were there in some of the shots! Also, he gave ALOT of photos back, which is awesome! My family all commented on how professional and friendly they were. If you are a bride searching for a photographer, I highly recommend Ivan. He will take the best photos of you and capture every moment!!

  • J

    Joy · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After Ivan shot our proposal shoot, hiring him as our engagement and wedding photographer was a no-brainer.

    He and his wife Monica work together seamlessly to make your photo shoot a positive experience. In addition to getting great candid shots, they give easy to follow instructions on how to pose. They even go as far as to demonstrate certain poses using their own bodies.

    Working with them on the back end was a total breeze as well. They were quick to respond to email and gave thorough responses to every question we asked.

    They are just truly incredible people who deliver an equally incredible product. Do not hesitate to book Ivan Chen Photography!

  • J

    Justin · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan Chen Photography is the true definition of professional.

    Ivan and his wife, Monica, are the perfect compliment to each other as they each capture the same subject(s) in a different light with style and class.

    They are very easy to work with and do a tremendous job coaching or helping you with your poses/vision. So much so, the two of them will even demonstrate the pose for you!

    We used them for the proposal, engagement shoot, and wedding! And guess what...I was excited each and every time I saw the pictures.

    If you want high quality pictures and work with down-to-earth people who will get you exactly what you want, look no further than Ivan Chen Photography!

  • T

    Terry · Married on 07/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me start by saying I only plan to get married once in my lifetime. So with that being said, I don't think I could have chosen a better photographer than Ivan. Along with his wife Monica, he provided exceptional service from our initial phone call until the final pictures were delivered. I know Ivan from college, but familiarity definitely did not diminish the quality of his professionalism. I don't particularly like taking the pictures and the amount of photos taken between an engagement shoot and the actual wedding day is overwhelming and potentially uncomfortable. However, Ivan and Monica went way beyond the call of duty to ensure that my wife and I were always comfortable. What I was most impressed with was the amount of direction they provided to us. We never felt like we had to try to come up with ideas for poses and allowed them to guide us using their vast knowledge and expertise. I can't say enough how awesome this team is. It's one thing to admire someone's work from a distance, but to be a part of it and experience it firsthand is an entirely different thing. I am eternally grateful to and for Ivan and Monica for blessing us with such exceptional service and photos.

  • A

    Alan · Married on 07/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent professional , very attentive and dedicated, I made my marriage, but I recommend for any event !

  • J

    John · Married on 04/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan and his team were simply incredible to work with. From the initial meeting all the way through the engagement shoot, wedding, reception and receiving our photos Ivan was nothing short of a world class vendor. Our photos turned out incredible by the way. He goes beyond just filling the role of photographer and is willing to help look at the big picture to make your special day epic. He even helped us find our DJ and the DJ was the best I had ever heard. I can't recommend Ivan Chen Photography enough! Bringing them in as a key part of or wedding was the best decision we made in selecting a vendor! I higlh recommend them!

  • User5464406 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan Chen was wonderful to work with for our wedding! He did an amazing job of capturing our special day and produced stunning images to remember it by! We couldn't be happier with his photos! He was punctual and very professional! He really went the extra mile to give us exactly what we wanted! He was also very friendly and made us feel at ease!

  • K

    Kathy · Married on 04/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan and Monica were amazing! From start to finish they made this process so easy and enjoyable for us. My husband and I were initially nervous since neither of us are very photogenic, but from our first meet and greet Ivan just made us laugh and feel so at ease. He would periodically check in with us either through email or phone calls, and any questions we had he immediately answered. When we met Monica, his second shooter and wife, it was just icing on the cake. She is just the sweetest, most easy going person. And for all the ladies, it was awesome having a female there. Monica will make sure to fix your hair, your dress, and tell you all the ways to pose so you look skinnier and taller. Having a husband and wife team is also a huge benefit because they can show you all the intimate ways to pose. For part of our engagement photos we had our two dogs, and they totally made it work. At one point Monica took our two dogs so that my husband and I could do some photos of just us two, and poor Monica... my lab took off running with Monica holding onto the leash! She was so great about it though, she never once complained and she was smiling the whole time! We have already been recommending Ivan and Monica to everyone, because they are definitely the best.

  • A

    Ana · Married on 03/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted to say a massive thank you to ivan chen for the photos of our wedding and engagement.  We can't be more pleased with how they have turned out!!! Thank you for making us feel relaxed while the photos were being taken. The photos are just what we wanted-  completely relaxed and natural shots of us and our guests enjoying themselves as well as having those formal shots as well. We will not hesitate to recommend you to anyone that is looking for a photographer and hope we can use your services for something else in the future.  :)

  • J

    Joshua · Married on 02/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now-wife came across Ivan's work early in our planning process, and we are so fortunate she did. Ivan & his team are all incredibly talented, and they're such great people to work with.

    Not only did they make both our engagement & wedding day shoots a fun & comfortable process, but the pictures they were able to capture even surpassed our high hopes/expectations.

    On top of all that, they worked so hard to get all of our wedding photos to us very quickly after our big day despite all the work that went into getting those hundreds of photos to us.

    We literally could not have asked for more from our wedding photographers, and I'm positive that anyone who's lucky enough to work with Ivan & his team will be just as happy and grateful that they did as we are.

    Thanks again, Ivan!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ivan is wonderful. He is so flexible and accommodating. He does fabulous work. He did our engagement photos and wedding photos and went above and beyond for both. He was wonderful to work with and I have already recommended him to several friends.

  • User4250625 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give Ivan 10 stars I would. Seriously, he is amazing. His work speaks for itself. He is great at what he does, and very professional. He was always very punctual and returned my emails very quickly. I would highly recommend Ivan to anyone! He is so awesome and I am so happy that he was our wedding photographer.

  • G

    Gracee · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a blessing these two were to Mike and I on our Big Day. Not only this but our engagement photos turned out phenomenal as well! We wanted to spend a little more on our photographer but they were so worth it. Ivan knows exactly what he is doing and makes the day of calm and worry free. They are a great team and provide such a beautiful recap of such a special day. They are professional yes, but truly care about their clients and treat you like family really. They are awesome at creating beautiful pictures but also listen to you as the bride and groom if you have any specific pictures that you would want to take Could not say thank you enough to these two, they are so great!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review