Islandevents.gr Reviews

17 | Athens, GR
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Islandevents.gr

Recommended by 99%

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
17 Islandevents.gr Reviews
Sort by:
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 10/22/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We simply cannot recommend Island Events highly enough. Debbie and Flora are both incredible lovely human beings who go above and beyond. We started planning our vow renewal about 9 months in advance, not really knowing what we wanted. We met doing ancient history at university and had intended to marry overseas, except that our families could not travel. The ceremony they prepared included our original vows, and some beautiful ancient poetry that Debbie and Flora found themselves to make to the ceremony extra special. It was well beyond what we had expected.

    I was initially wary of planning a renewal overseas, however, Debbie and flora asked multiple questions, kept in touch and communicated in such a friendly and casual manner that wedding planning actually became fun. I did not enjoy planning my "real" wedding, but I DEFINTELY enjoyed planning the renewal. There was deeply personal touch to every single email and communication and when the day came, I felt like a bride again. Debbie and Flora met us at the ferry terminal to take us to our renewal site and discuss the ceremony - it was all quite casual and non stressful but I felt that they had the situation well in hand.

    The ceremony itself was beautifully done. Held at sunset, there was a beautiful sense of drama and timing. Even though it was a renewal with just myself, my husband, Debbie, Flora and Nikos the photographer, it felt like we surrounded by friends. There was a beautiful intimacy that surrounded the whole ceremony and it felt very much like a ritual.

    We honestly cannot say how much this ceremony meant to us. There are no words to explain how magical, spectacular and truly special this experience was for us. We can only thank Debbie, Flora and Nikos from the bottom of our hearts for their incredible, genuine, enthusiastic contribution to our life together. To anyone who is looking to be married, renew vows on Naxos, you couldn't do better. Get these guys on side - you won't regret it.

  • L

    Lucy · Married on 09/29/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie and Flora were wonderful! We had the most amazing experience with them. They took care of everything, were incredibly helpful and kind and nothing was too much trouble. They made the entire experience really enjoyable and we are so happy that we chose them for our special day!

  • S

    semira · Married on 07/02/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie and Flora were amazing! They really helped with every detail I needed covered for the wedding, no detail was to big or too small. I had the good fortune of being in Greece 9 months before the wedding and meet with the two of them to do some planning. And we decided everything from flowers to cake to rehearsal dinner, they took me to all the locations I needed and helped with all the language translation and really made sure they clarified exactly what I wanted so nothing was lost in translation. Although I think that even if I didn't have the opportunity to be in Naxos beforehand they still would have covered everything. The next few months of planning were really smooth, they had timelines of when things were due and were in constant contact with our vendors during that time and were a huge help on relaying all small details. Then come the wedding events (which we had a lot -- hair trials, island tour, welcome party, on top of wedding and reception) they were their for all of them and made sure I was happy with everything and if I needed any last minute things. They were on it! Making sure all the events ran seamlessly, stylized everything just the way I wanted and really helped stick to the vision of what we wanted it to be. They were such an integral part of the success of the wedding weekend and I don't think I could have done it without them. Especially for a destination wedding, to get to create such a custom tailored wedding from afar on an island you don't speak the language it turned out incredible and our friends and family were wowed by all of it! So thank you Debbie and Flora!

  • K

    Kinnari · Married on 06/10/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We've just returned from the most perfect, beautiful wedding either of us could have asked for, thanks to Island Events! Flora & Debbie were our emotional guides, planners, negotiators, venue finders, decorators, coordinators and even our shrinks for when the wedding pressure got too much! Indian weddings are definitely not easy to plan for and this was an Indian-Tunisian wedding with families living across three different countries. We started out wanting a wedding and a reception, which then turned into that + a boat party + a mehndi party + a cocktails night. Flora & Debbie navigated the complexity beautifully, they were detailed, extremely communicative, warm and very professional. We LOVED working with them and are so thankful to them for helping us create such a memorable wedding. Highly highly recommend this dynamic duo! :)

  • H

    Helen · Married on 06/02/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We married on Naxos in June 2017, and I can't recommend Debbie and Flora highly enough. We wanted wedding planners with local skills, knowledge and experience to make our day go without any hitches whilst offering value for money - and this is exactly what we got. Fabulous service from lovely people.

  • H

    Hazel · Married on 05/30/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie and Flora are an amazing team! We had an absolutely fantastic time on our big day because we didn't have to worry about anything, it was all taken care of. All the details were sorted and everything look fabulous, we enjoyed the day so much and wish we could do it all again! They have a great eye for styling and had great relationships with the suppliers. We would thoroughly recommend organising a wedding with Island events!

  • K

    Kieran · Married on 09/16/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie and Flora from Island Events are extraordinary, warm and creative human beings who made sure our wedding day surpassed our wishes. They didn't just present a catalogue of cookie-cutter options, but instead got to know us, listened to our ideas and helped us create a unique and personal experience. Getting married abroad can be daunting when you consider the dozens of vendors and service providers you have to deal with, but happily Debbie and Flora managed all of this for us. Their connections on the island of Naxos are extensive, and as they both have English as their first language, it made the whole experience of getting things done, so much easier. Everything from registry papers and catering to styling and transport!

    Selecting the location for the ceremony was particularly memorable. Debbie and Flora combed the island searching for the perfect secluded spot to match our wishes. Then, when we visited in May, they drove us to each location in turn and didn't rush us as we made the difficult decision. The spot we finally chose was by a natural spring and in the shade of an ancient olive tree. A magical setting that we could never have found by ourselves.

    Another notable element was the ease and simplicity of working with them from abroad. They used the latest technology: Skype for face-to-face meetings, WhatsApp for rapid communication, Pinterest for building ideas, and google docs for tracking finances and other items. It sounds mundane, but it allowed everyone to keep on the same page and reduce misunderstanding and stress - very important!

    If you're searching for a Greek island wedding, we can thoroughly recommend Debbie and Flora's services. We cannot convey just how happy and grateful we were for their care and service. They made us feel completely at ease with everything and brought out the beauty in every detail.

  • R

    Rini · Married on 09/10/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We began planning our wedding without the help of Debbie and Flora and found them coincidentally on Instagram while researching photo booths for our wedding reception. We couldn't be happier that we found them and contacted them. Even though we had most things planned out, they gave us lots of great additional ideas and advice to make our big day perfect in every way. They made us feel welcomed and cared for right away and they had a great eye for details. On the day itself, they took care of almost everything from the symbolic wedding ceremony to the decoration at the reception and the coordination of all vendors. The day could not have been more perfect. Thank you Debbie and Flora for all your help and hard work. I would recommend island events to every bride and groom looking to get married in beautiful Naxos. It takes a lot of the stress off that comes with planning a wedding and the day itself will become a dream come true. These ladies are amazing.

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 07/11/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to begin with Island Events and its owners Debbie and Flora? It’s hard to encapsulate how perfect of a wedding experience Debbie and Flora provided for us from the beginning until the end.
    First, after speaking with several wedding planners abroad, it was clear that Debbie and Flora could provide the best communication and guidance for our wedding. Both ladies are native English speakers, and each has a strong sense of respect for the wishes of their clients. They work diligently to deliver updates and respond to any requests or questions with speed.
    Second, Island Events provides an extremely organized approach to their occasions. From budgets to checklists and scheduled Skype calls, Debbie and Flora make sure that every couple has an accurate vision of their wedding day.
    Lastly, when you finally arrive in Naxos, Debbie and Flora welcome you like family. It’s clear that the vendors they select for you are not only the best on the island, but that they have mutual respect for Island Events as well. In short, Debbie and Flora are known on the island, and it’s clear that people respect them. If ever an issue were to arise, you would never know, because they always remained very calm, cool, and collected.
    If you’re considering a wedding in Naxos, we would strongly encourage you to use Island Events. Debbie and Flora exercise the utmost professionalism in their approach to wedding planning, while maintaining a personal touch that’s needed in such an important life moment. We love them, and cannot say enough great things about our experience. Yamas to Flora & Debbie! ☺ Thank you for a beautiful and very memorable day!

  • B

    Bill · Married on 07/09/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deppie & Flora hugged us and cared us with so much love and real interest.They were there for us every moment and they immediately response to anything we ask or need.Their proposals were very attentive and they inspired us with their beautiful ideas.They are two very good professionals but behaved also like our two big sisters! Their taste and their aesthetic perfectly identified with our preferences.
    They were part of one of the most important day of our life and they will be always in our hearts!We will always remember those beautiful moments!That night we filled Flora's house with glastres of levanta..
    We strongly believe that every couple who want an unforgettable wedding day need help.Flora & Deppie are the most suitable-reliable-lovely people every couple could trust!
    We love you girls!Many many thanks for all!
    Best regards
    Bill & Mima;)

  • User6752659 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie and Flora are the best wedding planners. Everything was perfect and beautiful. Their excellent job was beyond my expectation. Highly recommend for any couple who want a perfect romantic wedding in Greece.

  • C

    Claudia · Married on 09/25/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Islandevents made our dream wedding come true. We chose Naxos for our beach wedding because we have family there and the island is simply beautiful. We met Debbie and Flora and there was no doubt that we want islandevents to plan our wedding. Debbie and Flora are wonderful people. We told them how we imagined our big day and they immediately knew what we wanted. Every detail was planned to perfection. (I must say I was a very detail oriented bride) As we are not living in Greece we kept in touch by email and whatsapp. They also made a secret group on pinterest so I could post my vision. The ceremony was on a stunning beach side. The setup on the beach blew us away! We never imagined it to be so beautiful. The dinner and party was at Picasso which is a lovely restaurant on the beach. The decoration and set up in Picasso blew us again away! Thanks to islandevents Debbie, Flora and their team, our purple wedding was the most perfect and beautiful day in our lives!
    Love Claudia & Karim

  • C

    Caroline · Married on 09/21/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie and Flora as weddingplanners is a pure joy to "work" with. There is no wish that is difficult to solve. All you want they do with a smile. Quick answers on mail. We felt very welcome when we arrived. And lovely regards when we came home from our wedding dinner.
    We highly recommend Island Event.
    Mikael and Caroline
    Sweden

  • P

    Panagiotis · Married on 09/09/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Well, our wedding was marvellous and the two ladies from Island events helped us a lot on that!

  • S

    Stine · Married on 09/07/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie and Flora at Islandsevents are really good at understanding your style and ideas and very detailed when they are putting your ideas in to reality. But they also are so detailed and doing everything with such a finess on the little things that you didn't give them directions on. Like decorating the water table or cake table etc. things that are important to make the hole event look perfect and smooth. It is a overwhelming process to get married, and they will help you in the choosing process of decor, style, location etc. They are easy to talk to and made the hole experience fun!
    The wedding day was perfect and I couldn't have imagined how beautiful everything looked on forehand. They was with us the hole day to see that every detail went as planned and it did.
    Thank you Debbie and Flora for making a day we will always remember!

  • J

    JULIEN · Married on 07/11/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie and Flora took great care care when preparing our wedding, making the D day a wonderful experience.

    It was a pretty complex wedding with 3 different venues and multiple vendors involved all over Naxos island. All went very smoothly the D day.

    Despite the fact that we were very demanding during preparation, they managed to take into account our wishes.

    They came up with good ideas all over the wedding (preparation and d day) that clearly enrich this day.

    They form a good team with strong and complementary skills to plan and execute a wedding.

    Thanks to Debbie and Flora

    Hermione and Julien

  • L

    Lori · Married on 09/08/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5


    My husband and I chose Naxos as our wedding destination two years in advance of our big day, and following our decision we began our search for wedding planners.

    We found Island Events online and I was pleased with other couples’ experiences and reviews, and the weddings both Debbie and Flora managed and planned appeared to be fashionable and current compared to those I saw elsewhere. We had a Skype video session with the ladies and we were attracted to the ladies keen eye for the “no frills or ostentatious” direction in weddings. We loved their simple, elegant, rustic yet glamorous taste and ability to locate stunning venues on the island. We received a wonderful service from the ladies in the form of prompt communication, reassurance and information on a wide array of options for venues on the island. We had a whataspp group set up which made communications easier even with us living in Australia.

    The ladies were very accommodating during a visit my mum and I took to Naxos 1 year before the wedding to view potential venues. Debbie and Flora took us around the island for 2 days showing us around many of the wonderful locations and introducing us to some of the vendors (florist, cake maker etc).

    Over the course of the two years the ladies were consistent in their organisation and were very knowledgeable about such things like legal requirements and paperwork. We knew the direction we wanted to take with our wedding and the ladies really facilitated us in achieving this.

    Best Wishes - Lori Cooke

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review