Irene's Catering Service Inc. Reviews

28 | Milwaukee, WI
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for Irene's Catering Service Inc.

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

28
Order by:
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 07/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious Food, Service and Price

    Irene’s was terrific! They were our first tasting and after a few other tastings we came back to Irene’s because they had the best tasting food and price! Mark at Irene’s was very easy to work with and super attentive to all the details. Once Covid hit, they walked through all the changes that needed to be made for a buffet. They were willing to work with us on changes up to two weeks before! They even said they could work out of a garage if they had to for our wedding. They helped not only with the buffet, but also cutting and plating our sheet cakes, and serving pizza at the end of the night. Chicken Irene is SOOO good! I have gotten many compliments. Irene’s was very professional! Definitely check out Irene’s!

    Sent on 08/23/2020
  • M

    Mary · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience

    They were super professional and the food was amazing.

    Sent on 05/02/2019
  • M

    Macy · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    delious food

    Mark at Irene's was wonderful to work with. He really listened and was very flexible. The tastings were a lot of fun, with several choices.. We decided to have a smores bar instead of cake and it was a big hit at the wedding. He was very responsive with emails and calls. He was organized!
    We got many great compliments on the food and its presentation.

    Sent on 01/28/2019
  • B

    Beverly · Married on 05/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Irene's also cater for Corporate luncheons. Karen did a awesome job with taking our order and making sure there was enough to accommodate our luncheon. The food arrived hot and on time. The presentation was awesome. I'd definitely refer them to anyone who wants professionalism with great food.

    Sent on 05/05/2017
  • M

    Deidra · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Irene's went over and above our expectations. The tasting with Debbie was amazing, and she was responsive and very detailed oriented. People are still raving about the food.

    Sent on 03/20/2017
  • S

    Sara · Married on 02/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Irene's catering was amazing! They worked with us on the price and we got an amazing assortment of food and beautiful linens. Our reception was gorgeous and the food was spectacular. Karina was great! She had an upbeat bubbly personality and was very easy to work with. We will go with Irene's again if we ever need a caterer. Everyone said how amazing the food was :)

    Sent on 02/18/2015
  • P

    Patty · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply DELICIOUS food! Great staff! Irene's was so helpful with the special dietary needs of a few of our wedding reception guests.

    Sent on 04/14/2015

    Irene's Catering Service Inc.'s reply:

    Thank you for the kind words Patty! We are glad we could accommodate everyone's special diets at your wedding reception!
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 07/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with this vendor from start to finish. I do not know why a different reviewer was unable to taste entrees? Perhaps they did not set an appointment ahead of time? We were given full entrees at our tasting. One was the food item we were leaning towards, and the other was recommended by the chef. We ended up using both at our wedding! We had tons and tons of compliments about the dinner at our wedding. Deb was always easy for me to get a hold of, and always willing to make changes that we requested (changing food items, special requests for the groom =no mushrooms, etc). They were also willing to work with our budget so we could get delicious food that did not break the bank! I would work with them again!

    Sent on 09/14/2011
  • M

    Meridith · Married on 03/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Irene's Catering provided passed hors d'oeuvres for our cocktail-style reception and a light dinner for the wedding party beforehand. A separate vendor handled the bar and dessert. Irene's is licensed and works with fresh food. Their website shares galleries of previous work displays.

    Before we committed, they gave us printed price sheets for packages and additions. They were willing to prepare several vegan options and accommodate a garlic allergy. Irene's broke down the cost per head for all the food and itemized the remaining charges like china, linen and glassware.

    Our main contact was flexible with our tasting, especially when travel severely delayed my arrival. She showed us all the food arrangements and service items at the tasting. She worked with us when planning and oversaw service at the wedding but didn't act as our event planner. We were the only wedding that day.

    Our venue did not have a kitchen so Irene's provided their own food preparation equipment at no additional charge. In addition to our main contact they provided 4 of their own serving personnel and 2 people to help flip the room. We used the same hall for the ceremony and reception and Irene's flipped the room quickly and cleanly.

    Sent on 05/10/2011
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a wedding was super stressful, but working with my caterer was exactly what I needed to get through it. Irene's had a ton of ideas for our event planning, and the food was raved about (we had stations, by the way). Thank you to everyone there - we couldn't have asked for a better team!

    Sent on 02/11/2015
  • Jessie & Brian

    Jessie · Married on 09/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Really great vendor. I was a last minute unorganized bride. Deb made me so comfortable. The food was top notch, the staff super friendly, the florist awesome and the flexibility unmatched! I strongly reccomend Irene's the best wedding food, I've ever eaten!

    Sent on 02/05/2010
  • H

    Heather · Married on 06/21/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Irene's is fantastic, excellent food, the servers and chefs are great. Very professional and fun, highly recommend.

    Sent on 07/26/2008
  • F

    Lindsey · Married on 12/29/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Irene's Catering for your wedding or any other event. When I first met with Debbie I felt like she really listened to what me and my family wanted and exceeded my expectations. The food was wonderful and the service was above and beyond.

    Sent on 11/15/2008
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/25/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark, the Executive Event Coordinator, was extremely flexible with the menu customization. I had specific Jamaican theme requests for the food, and he was very accommodating. Also, Mark was very responsive, both via email and phone. He provided a full estimate within two days of contacting him. I knew exactly how much I would be spending, which by the way was a GREAT value. He was polite, personable, understanding, and he and his Chef staff are from or have been to a variety of locations, thus making for an extreme variety of dishes his team can make. Give Irene's a shot and you will not be disappointed. They offer military discounts, bundling discounts for bar and catering, and I believe lower Sunday prices versus Saturday prices. #Experience. #Flexibility #Value

    Sent on 03/30/2018
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 07/22/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Irene's was great. Their prices are very reasonable, the food was delicious, and they made the planning process very easy.

    Sent on 08/06/2017
  • J

    Rhonda · Married on 10/03/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    We can't thank Irene's enough for the service they provided on our big day. We had so many concerns and so many frustrations leading up to the day we were sure something would go wrong, but Karina continued to reassure us all would fair well. She was the calm amongst the storm and we are happy to say she was correct. Irene's staff (lead by Cindy) exceeded our extremely high expectations. The décor was amazing, the service left us in awe and the food was every bit as good on the night of our reception as it was on the day of taste testing. You might expect less because of their incredible almost hard to believe pricing when you compare them to the other caterers in the area, but we can tell you first hand, don't let the price fool you, Irene's is top notch and will impress the biggest skeptic. God bless you all for what you did for us and we pray your business prospers exponentially.

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • K

    Karolynn · Married on 11/06/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I found them to be more flexible than other vendors in accommodating my requests.

    Sent on 02/08/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/10/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Irene's proved to be a great addition to our wedding! Though they were difficult to contact at times, they made sure that everything was up to our expectations and worked with us on every detail. They offered multiple tastings and worked great with our budget! Everyone was very friendly and the staff on the wedding day was great! I marked down slightly on professionalism only because all of the guests were served their salads before the we got ours at the head table and before the prayer. It was a tiny blip, though. Irene's was wonderful and I would absolutely recommend them!

    Sent on 10/04/2011
  • M

    Marcie · Married on 06/09/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Irene's did an excellent job catering our wedding. They were professional, the food was great, and they tweaked our menu to fit our taste.

    Sent on 08/01/2008
  • User2649769 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We seleted Irenes based upon our tasting experience. The food was excellent. Unfortunately, as with a few of our vendors, mid way through our contract, the employees we were dealing with left the company. That caused a bit of confusion. The new employee was very nice and helped us deal with the 'transition' into another system. (Their old computer system finally died). Not a huge deal. It happens. At our wedding, we did not get the potatoes we specifically ordered in our contract. When we brought it to one of the women at the weddings attention, she was very unprofessional and snotty in her response. She was also rude to many of our guests. We contacted management and it was dealt with accordingly. We do not fault the company for 1 employee. After the few problems we had, they were satisfactorily rectified.

    Sent on 06/11/2014
  • V

    Valerie · Married on 07/06/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My daughter selected Irene's based on the professionalism and detail during the tasting. During the proceeding 10 months there were times I wondered if we had selected the wrong catering service. In the end, the event was pretty spectacular. Service was great and everyone raved about the food.

    Sent on 07/23/2013
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 06/19/2010

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Irene's was really flexible in terms of working with changes in budget, venue, ideas, guests, etc. However, Debbie was VERY hard to get a hold of and lost a fair amount of paperwork. I was also promised free "dessert shooters" at the wedding and never received them, which was factored in as part of our dessert. The food was really great, and they worked well on a tight budget. I would definitely recommend Irene's for catering for small events up to large weddings. Their ability to make tasty food in any style is a definite plus.

    Sent on 08/09/2010
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth C. · Married on 10/26/2019

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to work with

    Profesional and easy to work with. Was told that there would be PLENTY of food but some guests did not receive salad.

    Sent on 11/11/2019
  • M

    Bethany · Married on 07/30/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Irene's is not as fancy as Zilli's or some of the other caterers we looked at, but they have the best value for the money. Their appetizers are delicious, and the main meals were quite tasty as well. Debbie, our coordinator, was very friendly and flexible for our needs. She was a bit hard to get ahold of at times, but she always came through when we needed her. She was great at coordinating with our other vendors to ensure a smooth event. Only complaint was that our coordinator was not the actual day-of-event contact. But the set up, service and food was top notch!

    Sent on 08/07/2011
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/23/2017

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Overall, good quality food for a decent price.

    Sent on 11/30/2017