Inner Light Ceremonies Reviews

16 | Berkeley, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Inner Light Ceremonies

Recommended by 100%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • A

    AARON · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Sharon because she was different from the rest of officiants you typically hear about or have seen at previous weddings. For anyone who thinks that the officiant is simply someone who reads a bunch of words, marries you and doesn't think this is an important part of the wedding... you should really re-think that, it is much more.

    Sharon took the time to get to know how we met, who we are and dug deep into our lives. She makes you think deeper about your partner, family & friends, why you're tying the knot and what you really want from it all. She really helped set the vibe/feeling and flow for the wedding as well being the officiant. Just remember, during the ceremony all eyes are on you and the words being spoken by the officiant and its a significant moment... When Sharon sent us our first draft of the ceremony, it was already perfect and we didn't need to make changes. Also, Sharon's overall personality/vibe is really comforting, happy and she is very on top of things throughout the whole process.

    Again, don't let the idea of an "officiant" or costs change your mind as everything you know is the old way of doing things. Sharon/Inner Light Ceremonies is the new benchmark and standard of officiating.

    Sent on 09/20/2018
  • K

    Karen · Married on 08/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew as soon as we talked with Sharon that we wanted her to officiate our wedding. She asked thoughtful questions that made us think about everything we love about each other and our future together. She wrote a personal, warm, and thoughtful ceremony. Our guests commented on how bright and friendly she was, and we enjoyed her calming presence. Communication was easy; she worked with us over Skype and in person and wrote the ceremony and took edits through Google Drive. Best of all, she was flexible and creative about the style and substance of the ceremony and provided ideas for the vows, rituals, signing the marriage license, and structure of the ceremony. We highly recommend Sharon!

    Sent on 09/15/2018
  • C

    Christina · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I wanted an officiant that would take the time to get to know us and write a personalized ceremony. We also wanted our officiant to let our guests know how they were part of our story. Sharon took the time to do just that. Over the course of our wedding planning we met with her several times to discuss what we wanted for our ceremony. She was very warm and welcoming when talking to us and was attentive in listening to our story. She wanted to know how we met, what we meant to each other, and everything in between all while truly wanting to understand our relationship without any judgement.

    One of the things that we really appreciated was the questionnaire she had us fill out. We were asked several questions about ourselves, each other, our relationship, and other wedding related ones which we had to answer separately from each other. This took a while to complete, but was worth it. When we finished my fiance and I went on a date night to share our answers. Some answers we knew while others were ones that we may not have remembered or appreciated what it meant to the other person. It was great to hear the things that we sometimes forget or often go unsaid. We definitely felt a deeper appreciation to each other once we had finished sharing our answers. Sharon helped us reflect on our last nine years together and this was one of the most memorable moments of our engagement.

    On the day of the wedding, Sharon was there on time and came to both of us to see how we were doing. She had a big smile, offered words of encouragement, and was just as excited as we were. After the ceremony, several of our guests commented on how well Sharon had captured our story. We appreciated how she genuinely cared about making our ceremony special.

    Sent on 08/29/2018
  • P

    Paloma · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we met Sharon, my husband and I knew she was the right person to marry us. We wanted someone who would take the time to know our story, who would go above and beyond and truly be passionate about being part of our journey. Without Sharon, our wedding wouldn't have been complete. My husband, our family members and I captured the love Sharon delivered throughout the ceremony. With her guidance, we created a non-traditional ceremony. Instead, we created a ceremony that best described my husband and I. Thank you so much Sharon!

    Sent on 07/08/2017
  • N

    Nathan · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sharon was amazing through the whole process of planning and executing our ceremony. She puts a lot of effort into getting to know the couple, and tailoring a ceremony that is truly special for the couple and occasion. Would HIGHLY recommend having Sharon be your officiant.

    Sent on 11/17/2017
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we were planning our wedding, my husband and I knew that we wanted to find a really good officiant. We wanted someone who could tell our story to our guests and create a meaningful ceremony that felt like “us”, instead of using a one-size-fits-all approach. When we started researching officiants online, we contacted someone else who ended up not being available on our day. So she told us to reach out to Sharon, and we’re so glad we did!

    Sharon was a delight to work with from start to finish. Our first meeting with her was over drinks, and we just got to know each other and decided whether we wanted to work together. Her interest in us as people and as a couple, and her obvious joy in what she does, sealed the deal for us right away. The next step was for us to each fill out a 70 question questionnaire for Sharon. It sounds like a lot, and it is! But it was a wonderful way for Sharon to really understand us, our story, and why we were getting married. It was also really meaningful for my husband and I to be able to share our answers with each other - a great way of grounding ourselves and remembering WHY we were getting married amidst all the chaos of wedding planning. After that, we met again to discuss our answers and for her to clarify a few thoughts, then she wrote the ceremony draft for us. It was great, and she was very responsive to the few small change suggestions we did have. Our final meeting was a week before the wedding to discuss practical details.

    The ceremony itself was wonderful. It was meaningful and beautiful and was precisely what we’d wanted. One of the most common compliments we got (and are still getting) about the wedding was that the ceremony was so touching and that Sharon was so good!

    We cannot recommend Sharon enough. If you’re looking for someone who is friendly and fun to work with, and who genuinely cares about making your wedding ceremony meaningful, memorable, and unique to you, then Sharon is the officiant for you!

    Sent on 11/04/2017
  • M

    Marina · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sharon is absolutely amazing. We met with Sharon once over the phone and then twice in person before our wedding on September 2nd. As soon as we spoke with her the first time to discuss her being our officiant, we could tell she was warm and open and would listen to exactly what we wanted for our ceremony. Our expectations were more than met. After we booked Sharon, we each completed a pretty long survey about our relationship and then met with Sharon in person to discuss our responses and share other ideas about the ceremony. Neither my husband nor I are religious at all and Sharon really listened to what we wanted and did not want in our ceremony.

    Sharon wrote a beautiful account of our relationship that totally conveyed who we are and how we fit together. By the final draft of the ceremony, it came across as if she had known us for years (which is exactly what we wanted). It felt as if Sharon was a close friend from the support and kindness she provided during the lead up to the wedding. Working with Sharon is definitely more of an active rather than passive process, but that process is 100% worth the time. All of our guests felt entirely included in our love story from hearing Sharon's ceremony and we could not be happier with the result. Our only regret is not hiring someone to film the ceremony.

    Sent on 10/03/2017
  • L

    leah · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sharon is amazing! We didn't really know what we wanted our ceremony to be like, other than "not religious, and not stuffy." When we met with Sharon, she asked all the right questions to help us come up with a plan that would make the day perfect. It felt more like a conversation than an interview, and we immediately loved her vibe, personality, and ability to get us to discover what we wanted - not only for the beautifully personal ceremony, but also what we wanted out of our future.

    Her preparation process sets her apart. She guided us through a relationship deep-dive that brought us closer together, and gave her an honest understanding of who we are as people and as a couple. Her guiding questions pushed us to take time to reflect and focus on love, our selves, and our relationship, and our answers gave her an honest understanding of who we are as individuals and as a couple.

    Because she got to know us so well, she was able to help us with our vows, and came up with personal details that made the day incredibly “us.” She wrote a beautiful ceremony that read like a story. There were many laughs and tears, and her calming presence was much appreciated when we had to talk through those tears. After her illuminating questions, the mimosa brunch, and the day-of, Sharon feels like a friend that we want to continue to be in our lives. Thank you Sharon!

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • C

    Craig · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    For our marriage ceremony, my fiancé and I wanted a secular ceremony that reflected the values we had brought to our relationship. Our wedding planner (Chanda Daniels) put us in touch with several bay area professional officiants, but it was clear that Sharon was the right fit for what we were looking for. Sharon Lacay is a charming, compassionate, and graceful person who will work with you to construct and lead an intimate ceremony for you and your partner. She has a calm demeanor and always has a smile on her face. Starting close to 9 months in advance of our wedding, Sharon met with my fiancé and I to learn about our values and what we wanted to share with our family and friends. In just a few hours of conversation she synthesized our core beliefs and sacred truths, putting together a draft for our ceremony that captured all of the things we were looking for. In fact, while reading the first draft I was overcome with so much love and emotion that I started to tear up. We had only minor edits afterwards, and Sharon helpfully checked in with us as we neared the date to make sure the ceremony still felt true.

    Sharon also has a great eye for detail. During our rehearsal she pointed out different ways we could approach the altar in the Redwood Grove (Berkeley Botanical Gardens, Berkeley, CA) and how we would pass the microphone among the wedding party for their readings. All of our guests remarked on how unique, beautiful, and personal our ceremony was, from readings to the tree planting ceremony, ideas which Sharon brought to the table.

    In sum, if you are looking for a joyful and secular officiant who can help you create a ceremony that reflects your relationship, look no further than Sharon. We are so proud of how she helped make our wedding day a joyful and special occasion for us and our families.

    Sent on 08/26/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I knew that Sharon was a beautifully genuine person the very first moment we met her. She gives nothing but positive, relaxing vibes which is exactly what we needed for our wedding day. During the craziness of planning a wedding, Sharon helped us to remember why we are having this ceremony to begin with - it's not for all the bells and whistles and glitz and glam - it's to become one and showing each other and the world that this person is sooo amazing that we are choosing to keep them around for the rest of our lives! that's monumental! We were very comfortable in sharing our love story with her and her calmness through the process was much needed and appreciated. We will definitely reach out to her again when we renew our vows! And my family and friends loved her as well.

    Sent on 07/19/2017
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tiffany and I were introduced to Sharon by way of referral. Before contacting Sharon we went to her website to get an idea of her experience and insight. WOW...what a difference that made watching her videos. We immediately knew that we had to meet with Sharon to get to know her a little more. Tiffany and I confirmed at the 1st meeting that Sharon was the right person and we did not even bother to look elsewhere. Completing the questionnaire that Sharon developed was a critical piece for Sharon getting to know us, and also provided many self-discovery moments that strengthens Tiffany's and I relationship every day. Our wedding vows were both tearful and funny with the help of Sharon. Her experience and suggestions helped guide toward the words we felt but had trouble finding before. The wedding rehearsal and wedding ceremony went without a hitch! As long as you are not counting Tiffany putting my ring on the wrong hand. Tiffany and I do not have enough hands and toes to count raving compliments we received during, after and continue to this day. IF you are looking for a partner to help glue it all together Sharon is the right partner for your special day. If Tiffany and I were ever going to have another wedding ceremony we would ask Sharon without any hesitation.

    Sent on 07/22/2017
  • A

    Annie · Married on 03/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Sharon! She was very responsive and got us thinking about the real reasons we wanted to get married. Meeting with her was the jumping off point to many important, connecting conversations that helped us to deepen our relationship amidst all of the craziness of wedding planning. She crafted a beautiful ceremony that our friends and family loved, and I found myself feeling calmed by her presence the day of the wedding. She was very organized and helpful throughout the whole process. I'm so happy that we found her.

    Sent on 04/06/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 11/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sharon is amazing. From the very first email, she was so kind, genuine, and professional. She made every interaction after that so special. She takes the time to really get to know you as a individual and as couple. Her questionnaire was such a unique part of the whole experience. Not only does it make you reflect on your own self, it helps to reflect on your relationship. From all her Skypes, questionnaire, and emails, she put together the most amazing ceremony. It was like having your best friend marry you. One of the best parts of the ceremony was the poem that she wrote for me and my wife. It was so perfect. She helped us organize ourselves for the rehearsal, and then helped make sure everything went smoothly on the big day. She is such a sweet soul, and you just can't go wrong by hiring her. If you want your ceremony to be special and personalized. shes your gal. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Sharon!!

    Sent on 11/08/2016
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's impossible for us to articulate how incredible it was to work with Sharon. She is warm, caring, and creative as well as organized, professional, and flexible. The process leading up to the wedding (in-person meetings, couple questionnaires, creating the ceremony) was informative and enlightening. Sharon also made complex pieces (wedding license, timelines, ceremony set-up) a breeze. When the day of the wedding arrived Sharon was a much needed force of calm. She took time to individually check-in with both of us and even helped with some last-minute space set-up! And when it came to our ceremony, Sharon made it magical, both with her presence and the beautiful words she wrote. Every one of our guests commented on how warm and how "us" the ceremony was. This was because of Sharon. We can't thank her enough for making our ceremony beyond incredible, and our favorite part of the day. To say we highly recommend Sharon is an understatement!

    Sent on 11/02/2016
  • J

    J · Married on 05/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience with Sharon. From our first meeting to the final ceremony she guided us along on a wonderful journey. She is a very genuine, and warm person and just made us feel at ease. I did not know what to expect, and I could not have asked for anything more.
    Thank you.

    Sent on 07/22/2016
  • C

    Chaunte · Married on 05/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sharon was absolutely amazing!!! She performed my wedding this Spring, and exuded a warm, calming and engaging presence that set the tone for a fabulous evening.

    Sent on 07/25/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review