Skip to main content
Weddings

Indie Wedding DJ Reviews

Indie Wedding DJ View more information

65 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

65
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • User2294112 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin was a true pleasure to work with. We hired him to DJ our wedding after seeing him in action at a friend's wedding where we danced the night away. Throughout the entire process, Justin was responsive and helpful, and available to take calls and meet in person when possible (we were planning our wedding at a distance). He listened to all our requests, and was able to craft playlists for pre-ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and (of course) a rocking dance floor set. Our wedding music felt very much like us (as eclectic as we are), and everyone had a great time dancing - on more than one occasion someone told me they wanted/needed to go use the restroom, but couldn't leave because he just kept the hits coming one after another. He was also very flexible on the day of and added new songs (obscure tracks, I might add) right before the event started, with no issues or complaints. In terms of pure logistics, Justin was on top of setting up the sound for our wedding so that we could move seamlessly between two different back yards, and he dealt with an unexpected downpour just before the ceremony like a true pro - he was able to hustle to keep everything dry (with some help from our guests), and while I'm sure it must have been stressful for him to deal with the deluge, he didn't let it show, and was very calm and professional. I would recommend Justin highly to anyone who wants a unique musical feel to their wedding, a packed dance floor, and a professional vendor they feel they can trust.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 07/31/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Indie Wedding DJ was amazing to work with! Justin was very professional and responded very quickly to all of our needs. He was an amazing DJ and kept our guests dancing for hours. My friends and family are still talking about how much fun they had.
  • User2161814 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin lived up to every hope and expectation I had for him. As a bride planning my own wedding, I was nervous about every vendor I hired. He was very professional and organized, providing a day of timeline and communicating with my m.c. and day of coordinator the week leading up to the wedding. Justin was enthusiastic about our song selections and making sure the evening ran exactly as we wished. Our guests LOVED the music. Even people who "don't dance at weddings" were up there next to us loving what was happening. Great vibe, great dj and great business person. I would most definitely recommend Justin to a couple that wants a full on amazing atmosphere and creative music selection!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • G
    Gloria Married on 05/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My fiancée and I had no preferences for DJs when we began our search for one for our wedding. When we read the glowing reviews and saw the video prepared on his website we decided to go ahead and hire Indie Music DJ. It was one of the best decisions we made with respect to our wedding – Justin was very easy to work with and he exceeded all of our expectations. We didn’t have a set playlist for the wedding; however after pinpointing the genres we enjoyed Justin was able to find the right songs to keep our guests dancing throughout the entire night. Some of our friends that typically don’t dance at weddings even made their way to the dance floor and enjoyed themselves. Justin also acted as the MC for our wedding and he ensured that everything was on track for the night. We would recommend Justin to anyone who is looking for a wedding DJ.
  • C
    Christine Married on 05/02/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin was just incredible as our DJ. At no moment was the dance floor empty. He had everyone, young and old on the dance floor at one point or another. He made sure that everyone had an awesome time and my guests are still commenting on what a fantastic experience they had at our wedding - and Justin helped make it happen. I would definitely recommend Justin if you want a responsive DJ that will work with you to help you create an unforgettable party for yourself and your guests on your wedding day! Christine & Bryan
  • S
    Sumeet Married on 02/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin was very professional. He played really good rap all night long, as we requested.

    He also played good bangra and we didn't even give Justin any suggestions about it.

    A++++
  • S
    Susan Married on 01/31/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin was a pleasure to work with from the very beginning right up to the end of the night. He was very responsive and organized, he made the process of planning all of our music very easy and fun! On the day of, he was very punctual, organized and had our dance floor going from the moment dinner ended. He accommodated our need to make a few adjustments to songs the night of without any hesitation. Our guests were thrilled with the music he played and he accommodated many of their requests. We already know of a newly engaged couple that said they only thing they have planned for sure is that they will us ‘Indie Wedding DJ’ on their big day! Thanks Justin for all of your services, you were awesome and I can’t wait to recommend you to others!
  • User2067756 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin was amazing - hire him! He was responsive and professional from the very beginning and made sure we had everything we needed - from song recommendations to general planning info - at every stage in the process. He met with us to go over our music preferences and made sure he knew exactly what kind of night we wanted. He delivered on every aspect and made sure the dance floor was busy until the hotel kicked us out.
  • B
    Brittany Married on 12/06/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I hired Justin (IWDJ) after our maid of honour found him and read his reviews online. I actually initially delegated the search to her, since I was very intimidated about finding a DJ, particularly since some of the ones I found online looked REALLY cheesy.

    I can say with 100% confidence that Jonathan lives up to the rave reviews he has received online. During the planning process, he was professional, courteous and responsive. He took all of my many music selections and incorporated them into a perfect (perfect!!) playlist for our wedding. He acted as a MC as our wedding, and timed the evening to a "T", with the speeches flowing perfectly between meal courses. Most importantly, once the dancing started, he paced the music perfectly throughout the evening. His great selection kept everyone on the dance floor all evening -- from 8:45-1am, people danced straight through!!

    Justin is slightly more expensive than some of the other wedding DJs that we talked to, but he was completely worth the extra cost! Thanks again Justin for making it a GREAT party!

  • T
    Tracy Married on 11/01/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough great things about working with Justin (Indie Wedding DJ).

    My partner and I have been to many, many weddings in our 8 year relationship and it has always been a shame to attend a wedding where everything was perfect... until the reception. We knew early on that we did not want to hire a DJ service that treated the relationship more as a business transaction and shipped out one of its many DJs, of who we would have no relationship or connection with.

    Enter Justin.

    Justin, since the very first email inquiry, has shown nothing but enthusiasm, professionalism, respect and thoughtfulness towards our wedding day and the task at hand. I am definitely a person that works best and relies heavily on emails, and Justin always responded quicker than even I could keep up with! He met with us the weeks leading up to our wedding which was an awesome personal touch and allowed us to feel even more comfortable with him - he is a very laid back, friendly (and funny!) guy and made us feel at ease throughout the whole experience.

    Given his impressive DJ background, Justin was a great resource not only for playlist purposes (his website is chock full of ideas and inspiration), but also helped me to understand the timeline of a wedding and asked me questions I would have never even thought of. This alone, was extremely valuable to our wedding planning.

    The wedding went by flawlessly, thanks to Justin. Everything we had planned, from very specific ceremony songs and timing, to playlist ideas for the reception, went smoothly. There was never a quiet moment on the dancefloor - we even received compliments from guests about how they've never seen a dancefloor so active throughout a whole reception before. He was a fantastic MC, as well, and helped to facilitate our last-minute unique kissing game.

    Justin was the best wedding investment, a pleasure to work with and we can't recommend him enough!!!
  • N
    Nina Married on 09/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The most difficult task for me was choosing a DJ. There were so many to choose from and i knew that a really good DJ makes the reception party... which is why i was so grateful to have found Justin and Indie DJ. We had a mix of ages at our wedding, as most couple do i suppose, ages from 23 to 60+, and a huge mix in tastes of music, from country to RAP. Justin's professionalism, use of technology, organizational skills, knowledge of music, and pleasant nature put us at ease at our first meeting. He is not your typical DJ, and had everyone up on the dance floor right to the end. If you are looking for a DJ, look no further, Justin has you covered so you can enjoy your reception with your guests. No worries.
  • C
    Caroline Married on 08/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin was great! He kept our guests dancing through the night!!
    Excellent at reading the crowd.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 08/15/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin is that rare breed of wedding vendor that seamlessly fuses professionalism, love for what he does, and genuine care for his clients.

    From the day we hired him he worked with us to create a beautiful ceremony playlist as well as the best dance floor I have ever seen! (It should be noted that I photograph weddings and after the first couple of songs you rarely ever see a ton of people on the dance floor.) Justin had the dance floor so packed all night that people were dancing on the grass beside. Guests young and old came up to us unsolicited during and after the night to let us know how great the DJ was.

    Leading up to the event he was so organized, took detailed notes at our meetings, and sent us a cohesive, organized, schedule of everything we needed music wise for our day.

    Finally, Justin is insanely talented but incredibly humble and easy to work with. Which I personally think is a great combination.

    HIRE HIM. NOW!

  • L
    Leigh Married on 08/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Justin for our wedding at Steam Whistle Brewery. I have to say quite honestly he was one of the best expenses of our entire wedding. We have had endless comments about how great the music was. The dance floor was buzzing all night, and Justin did a great job of mixing up a variety of genres to please the whole crowd. He kept the party going till the very end, and ended our night on a high. Justin was great to work with – always quick to respond, and provided us with so many tips, and suggestions to making our night awesome. We met with him twice to go over everything, and spoke with him many times leading up to the wedding – we were confident from the beginning and he did not disappoint. Highly, highly recommended.
  • L
    Liz Married on 07/22/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Definitely book Justin. He's amazing, you won't regret it. Flexible, helpful, responsive, and professional, he'll get all your weird obscure songs no problem. He's a great Master of Ceremony too. He was great from start to finish!
  • S
    Shelby Married on 06/27/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can only give the highest praise for Indie Wedding DJ! Seriously, we highly recommend Justin.

    Being a huge fan of indie and not so mainstream music, I felt my only option was to use an iPod since most weddings I had been to had DJs that played Top 40 music and all the familiar songs that you tend to hear over and over again at weddings (chicken dance anyone?). Then I found indieweddingdj.com and booked with Justin right away.

    Justin acted as our emcee for the night as well. He is nothing but professional and easy to work with from the planning process right through the wedding. There was never any stress or worry. He always responded quickly to my emails, and helped us construct an incredible playlist based on our musical tastes, He accommodated all of our requests, and added our guests requests in flawlessly. He did an awesome job being a non-cheesy emcee, it actually felt like one of our own friends was up there speaking.

    On the day of the wedding everything was absolutely perfect. The ceremony music was perfectly timed, and the cocktail and dinner music set the perfect vibe. Our guests kept raving about the music and told us "this is the best wedding DJ ever!" He kept the dance floor full with every song he played right until the end of the night.

    I can't say enough good things about Indie Wedding DJ. So many of our guests told us we set the bar for weddings, and a huge part of that was because of the music.
  • S
    Shelley A. Married on 06/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin was an incredibly professional, courteous and fun person to share our day with. On top of that, he was an amazing DJ. He was responsive to special and last minute requests and made sure that everyone was having a blast. He also provided great recommendations for things like the ceremony music and dinner music that were really in line with our musical tastes and the atmosphere we were trying to create. We knew going in that the music at our wedding was one of the most important elements for us, so we took a lot of time to research DJs and make sure we found someone who was the right fit. Justin surpassed all of our expectations and is one of the biggest reasons why our wedding day was so fantastic.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 06/07/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We almost didn't hire a DJ for our wedding. Past experiences led us to believe that all DJs played cheesy, typical wedding music, and the last thing we wanted was a YMCA dance party. Then we met Justin of Indie Wedding DJ, and his style and approach immediately impressed us! He was so well-organized leading up to the wedding and made every effort to get to know us and our taste in music. He somehow merged my husband's love for pop music and my indie taste and put together an amazing playlist. He was extremely personable and easy to work with. We are so glad we hired him as it was a relief knowing that we could count on him to provide such a nice atmosphere for our ceremony and reception, and keep our guests entertained till the end of the night.
  • E
    Emily Married on 05/31/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Justin was amazing. From the time we booked him, he was professional and on the ball with details. He personalized our playlist carefully, taking into account all the details we talked about leading up to the big day. He coordinated with our family for a slideshow, with musicians for sound tech issues, and with the MC. And most importantly, he kept the party going! Everyone told us afterwards what a great job he did and how they loved the music. We new from the outset that we wouldn't have to worry about a thing. Book him for the peace of mind and of course - the killer tunes.
  • N
    Nick Married on 05/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We've got nothing but positive things to say about Justin.

    He was exactly what we were looking for in our DJ and he seamlessly worked in our (sometimes bizarre) requested songs with the songs that he knew would encourage an active dance floor. The dancing never stopped and we got numerous compliments about the music from guests both during and after the wedding.

    He was also very well organized and required very little hand holding, which was great because it meant one less thing that we needed to worry about heading into the wedding.

    I can't recommend the Indie Wedding DJ highly enough, and have already recommended him to a friend for his upcoming wedding.

    Thanks again Justin!

    - Nick and Chelsea
  • T
    Tamara Married on 05/16/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am SO GLAD we made the decision to hire Indie Wedding DJ (Justin) as our DJ. He made the process incredibly easy from start to finish, and kept it totally simple. (As if you need more to worry about during the hectic time of planning your wedding). He played music that was totally suited to our tastes, yet managed to please all ages and everyone else who attended the wedding as well. The dance floor was hopping until the wee hours, when Justin began to play things exclusively by the request of us late party-goers (yes, he even catered to our 1:30 a.m. request of "Stop" by the Spice Girls).

    Justin also did an incredible job emcee'ing the evening, as we had requested some "light" emceeing, that is exactly what re got. He announced people for speeches, bouquet toss, told everyone when dessert was coming out, and by no means was too "over the top" as I find some DJ's are. I have no doubt he would be able to emcee more heavily if someone requested it however.

    The process with Justin was wonderful, from initial email contact, to meeting us in our home at our convenience to plan out the entire ceremony together (he also creates a complete itinerary of the evening, with music included, which ends up being super helpful to your venue too if you share it with them), to being available in between via email (SO ACCESSIBLE!) all the way to the actual event during which he is ALWAYS available. He truly wants to make your event special and fun, and you can definitely feel this vibe when working with him.

    If you want a unique, streamlined, FUN and memorable experience, you'll hire Indie Wedding DJ! Thanks again Justin, for an incredible DJ service!!
  • S
    Shane Married on 05/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't recommend Indie Wedding DJ highly enough.

    I'm very picky about music and marked it as a high priority for my wedding. After finding IWDJ, any concerns I had were eliminated.

    He was very thorough in helping construct a playlist, always accessible and very low stress. He played what we wanted to hear and negotiated dance-floor requests seamlessly, playing what was best to keep the party going.

    Many of our guests raved about our wedding being one of the best they'd ever attended. It's largely because of this guy.
  • User1654148 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We only have resounding praise for Justin and can’t recommend him enough!

    He was great to work with from start to finish. In the run-up to the wedding, he was prompt with his emails. He provided us with lots of information to help us choose the music we wanted to have played. His contract was comprehensive and professional, and he met with us well in advance of the wedding day to go over all the details.

    On the day of the wedding, he made everything run super-smoothly. He arrived early and was set up long before our guests arrived. He played a great selection of music during cocktails and dinner; we gave him free rein to play whatever he wanted, and he made excellent choices. For the dancing, he accommodated all of our requests, even though some of them were obscure or downright embarrassing. Past precedent at family events suggested that people would start heading home early, but Justin kept everyone on the dance floor into the early hours of the morning!

    Our only regret is that we’re not getting married again any time soon (or hopefully ever again), so we won’t have another excuse to hire Justin. But since we’re not having another wedding, that means he might be free to DJ yours—so go and hire him already!
  • S
    Stuart Married on 01/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It's nearly three months since our wedding and our guests are still talking about the great music!

    Justin was very easy to work with, he made the music planning a fun part of our wedding preparations. He was quick to respond to questions we had and was organized, efficient, and had some great suggestions. We really enjoyed working with Justin, he played a big role in setting the mood for the whole day - we couldn't have asked for a better DJ!
  • B
    Brooke Married on 10/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Indie Wedding DJ (Justin) back in the spring for our October wedding. He played atmospheric background music while our guests arrived (this really set a nice mood and tone), then played all of our ceremony music (processional, signing of the registry, recessional), heading right into cocktail hour music (fun, upbeat), dinner music (it was great to have background music) and then the party!

    From the first point of contact he was nothing but friendly, professional, and enthusiastic about working with us. He went above and beyond the typical services of a DJ, meeting with us to go over our wedding day timeline and a very detailed music selection profile. He is extremely knowledgeable about all types of music while remaining completely down to earth - no music snobbery. He is also incredibly organized and prepared, as well as clearly just a good guy and very easy to talk to.

    One moment I remember really clearly from our wedding is immediately following our first dance he went right into some fantastic classic dance rock music (like The Beatles' 'Twist and Shout') that got all of our guests right onto the dance floor and having a great time - all ages 20-89! I think his greatest skill is gauging the dance floor and adjusting the music appropriately to ensure everyone continues to have a great time.

    I really cannot recommend Justin's services highly enough. He is one of the best decisions we made about our wedding, and it really would not have been the great success it was without him. Hire Justin and you will be so happy you did!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message