Weddings

In the Buff Day Salon and Spa Reviews

In the Buff Day Salon and Spa

In the Buff Day Salon and Spa

Chattanooga, TN
Rating 4.5 out of 5, 9 Reviews
View more information

9 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 90% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 9

6 User photos

Sort by:
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank-you!

    I cannot say enough amazing things about this salon for bridal parties! I made an appointment for myself, my entire bridal party, both moms, and sister in law for the morning of my wedding. In the Buff created and amazing relaxing experience for us. They gave us the “spa” room to wait in and allowed us to bring in our own breakfast. They provided us with free coffee, tea, and water and they kept checking on us to see if we needed anything. The girls that work here are so sweet and they really make you feel at home on a day when you’d expect to feel nervous. Some of my bridesmaids didn’t even get their hair or make-up done at the salon, but In the Buff let them use their extra mirrors to get ready so that we could all be together that morning.

    My hairstylist and make-up artist was Madison and she made my hair and make-up exactly what I imagined for my wedding day! I felt so pretty and it lasted all day! My hair and false eyelashes lasted 2 days!
  • C
    Claire Married on 03/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amy and Alexis are amazing! They did our makeup at my wedding and I couldn't be happier. They were so fun, kind and professional! I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a professional makeup artist.
  • N
    Natalie Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I don't wear much makeup, so I wanted natural makeup and hair on my wedding day. Kelsie Gagne designed a makeup look for me that felt special while still letting my freckles shine through (my request). I didn't feel too made up - I just felt like the best version of myself. I was so happy with my hair and makeup that day. Kelsie and Brandi did makeup and hair for my bridesmaids as well, and they all looked (and felt!) like their beautiful selves. I hope I.T.B. realizes the crazy talent they have on staff in these two ladies. They're the coolest fairy godmothers on the block, and I'm grateful they were part of my wedding day.
  • J
    Jenny Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They provided the best pre-wedding pampering ever! I looked beauitful... my wedding party were total knock outs too! I swear they work magic!
  • User1201945 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kinda expensive, but totally worth it!! How would you like a free glass of wine, a mimosa, soda, doughnut, or danish while they do your hair and makeup? Oh yeah they pamper you!!! They were also able to get us all done even though all but one of my girls showed up late!!
  • S
    Shana Married on 08/06/2011
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    I took my bridal party to In the Buff for our nail and hair services because they are known for bridal parties. Everyone's hair looked amazing and our nails looked great. It's very hard to find a place that can accommodate a large group but they diid! My wedding day was perfect and I have In the Buff for making me feel so special!
  • S
    Stacy Married on 10/20/2007
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The only thing wrong with them was it took awhile to hear back from them but other then that everything was great! they let us sit in this area with couchs and chairs to relax while the others would get started with our make-up and hair. I had one of my bridesmaid have a problem with her make-up and they washed it off and started over and over till she was happy with it. they were very patient and helpful in every way...one of the girls who did my hair was a genius for doing people's hair . Every person's hair she did came out flawless looking like out of a professional magazine...and the prices were excellent! all of us are planning to make a trip back up there and see her especially!
  • Amelia
    Amelia L. Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Reality Did Not Meet Expectation

    I booked a trial appointment with In the Buff and was excited to get my hair done after seeing some of the beautiful pictures online of styles that had done. My appointment was at 1:00, but my stylist was 30 minutes late so I didn't get sat down until 1:30. This was my first issue. I showed her photos of what I wanted and even a photo of what I had done to my hair for an event once that I liked. She started doing my hair and was incredibly rough with my scalp when she was teasing it. I have decent pain tolerance but had tears in my eyes from the pulling and jerking. When she began to put my hair up I noticed it looked off and was unlike how I've had updos done in the past. I specifically asked for a very high, full updo, but she started pinning it near the base of my skull. I gave her the benefit of the doubt, but it did not improve. When she finished it looked NOTHING like what I had requested. I had a giant bouffant teased on the crown of my head and it was a low updo, not even medium. My friend with me noticed it was off as well. Nothing felt secure because she used tiny pins for my thick, long hair. I've never had a stylist use small pins either. My hair is not hard to work with. It is thick but very easy to style. After leaving the salon my hair began to fall out within 30 minutes. I purposely did not touch or fidget with it to test how well it would hold up.

    Throughout the process, she seemed rushed and didn't pay attention to what I had asked for. I said I wanted it higher and she tried to say because I had thick hair she couldn't do that. It would be one thing if she had at least attempted to do the style I had asked for and found out my hair wouldn't stay, but she didn't. She immediately started doing a completely different style. I hate to complain because I never know if someone is just having an off day but based on my experience I can't recommend this particular stylist. I'm unsure if there are others in the salon that do updos as well, but my assigned stylist did not meet my expectations. My stylist was 30 minutes late, she did not attempt or pay attention to what I asked for, and what she gave me didn't even hold up.
  • M
    Maryanna Married on 04/21/2018
    Rating 2.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    We booked a Bacholorette party here using Groupon. I am the maid of honor, and set up all the details. If you're looking to book a large party with In The Buff, please read on.
    Firstly, I am a business owner and know how to graciously and fairly give reviews. I have been an avid spa user for the past five years, so this wasn't my first ride.
    The positives: The Groupon deal was very good, $125 a person for about 6 services. The treatments themselves were very good, the practitioners were very experienced. The other four ladies it was their very first spa experience, and they enjoyed it.
    The negatives: Overall, I could title this as "promises made and not delievered". Upon arrival and throughout the experience it became clear that In The Buff was not equipped to handle a group of five. We felt more like a burden than guests.
    I booked nearly 3 months in advance, (booking took nearly 3 hours waiting). However, I was told in great detail that booking with In The Buff would beat out other spas. Wine with a minossa bar, at $20 a person lunch could be delivered to us, we would have smooth transitions from one spa service to the next, and I was told directly that we would have the spa to ourselves.
    Upon arrival, the first 20 minutes were a but awkward as we sat waiting in the spa room. The staff were stressed (apparently their receptionist called in sick). No wine was even offered (while I saw it served to other guests). The mimosa bar was one punch bowl full. Lunch was a cheap salad. The spa was BUSY, far from privacy. A man awkwardly sat in our spa room for an hour (very uncomfortable for 5 women naked under bathrobes) while waiting for his wife. There was a lot of waiting between services. We were there 10am-4:30pm. A BIG problem was the bride was stressed out, her makeup artist was very opinionated about things the bride did or didn't need for her wedding (which is less than 30 days away). I spent 5 minutes in the spa bathroom calming the bride afterwords.