Skip to main content
Weddings

Idaho Guest Ranch - Lazy R Ranch Reviews

Idaho Guest Ranch - Lazy R Ranch

Idaho Guest Ranch - Lazy R Ranch

Banks, ID
4.0 out of 5 rating, 8 Reviews
View more information

8 Reviews

Rated
4.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 80% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.3 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 8

24 User photos

  • T
    Tiffannie Married on 06/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning!!!

    This is the most beautiful venue you could ask for! It also acquired everything you need for the perfect wedding day from the indoor and outdoor space to plenty of room for all your guest to stay! Booking the whole weekend made it so much easier to set up and get ready, I would highly recommend this gorgeous venue!
  • Mindy
    Mindy V. Married on 06/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding June 1, 2019

    My husband and I got married at Lazy R in June 2019. We honestly can’t say enough about the ranch. Everything was absolutely gorgeous. Jessica & Bryan we’re amazing to work with. They made the wedding planning process so easy and were more than happy to jump in and help anywhere they could. Jessica also made herself available 24/7 for any wedding questions we came up with. The venue is a perfect place for a “down-home” event whether it be a wedding, reunion or retreat. We rented the venue Friday through Sunday to have a “camping-style” wedding. Some of our guests camped in tents, done brought trailers, some stayed in the beautiful cabins. Every one of our guests loved staying at the ranch before and after the wedding to relax and socialize. Aaaamazing and beautiful, definitely go see it for yourself!! Thank you Lazy R Ranch 😊😊😊😊
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 08/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue

    Not only is this the most beautiful venue around the Boise area but the service is excellent. They were very helpful, easy to contact and very laid back.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • R
    Ross Married on 06/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bryan at the Lazy R Ranch / Idaho Guest Ranch was incredible.
    It was worth every penny to get the entire property for the 2.5 days, being able to set-up decorations on Friday and Saturday morning, then have our event on Saturday with no curfew time, and spend Sunday taking down decorations. We had ~220 guests arrive, a large number of whom camped on the property, which was amazing with fire pits, plenty of bathrooms, and having space in their amazing barn for the reception while we did the ceremony just 100 yards away in the grove of Aspen trees.
    Wouldn't have changed a thing.
    Thanks a ton!
  • J
    Jeanna Married on 06/28/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Idaho Guest Ranch was everything I wanted for my wedding and more! Brian and Jessica Mosses we great to work with. Very kind and sweet people. The location of ranch is absolutely beautiful with all the pine trees, the pond and stream, and the cabin and barn. The barn was my favorite part. It is what made my reception so perfect. It was the most beautiful barn ive ever seen. The Mosses went above and beyond in redoing this barn. It blew my expectations away and made them better.
  • Gracie
    Gracie C. Married on 09/29/2018
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    It was a beautiful wedding, the photos (by Nate Perkes) turned out so well. Especially having it there in the Fall. Our original spot for the ceremony in front of the barn was covered with overgrown dead weeds and cow manure so we moved it to the aspens and it turned out great. We had a lot of people complain about not being able to have their dogs there. Which I also think wouldve been fine. Especially since there were cows running around and pooping everywhere on the venue site, which was a bit of a hassle trying to chase them off. And there was a huge brush pile in the camper area that took up quite a bit of space where we couldve parked more campers. And I also would have liked to ride a horse into the ceremony since I was promised a free horseback ride, but I was denied that option. Other than that, and a few other inconveniences, the venue was absolutely wonderful. The barn was gorgeous and great to dance in and so nice to have the full kitchen to cook in. And bedrooms and lofts upstairs for plenty of room for people to sleep who came from out of town and didnt have a camper. If I had to chose, I would definitely have my wedding there again in a heartbeat. And really recommend anyone to have theirs in late spetember like us, it was gorgeous and perfect weather.
  • C
    Cassandra R. Married on 01/09/2020
    2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Lazy R Ranch-- Not Recommended

    We chose this venue because my husbands grandfather grew up on the ranch years ago. It was sentimental and once we went to tour the venue, there was no question. Plus, I was told by Jessica that she would basically "hold my hand" through the planning, (I have yet to meet Jessica) they said they would do all they could to make planning so easy and stress free,
    We booked and committed to having our wedding over an year in advance.
    We were ecstatic!
    Trying to get in touch with the venue throughout the year of planning was horrible, super discouraging. Three week turn around on emails. Returned phone calls.... non existent. I literally had to call the Monday prior to my wedding to see if we were still good to go... I played phone tag and had to break down and demand a response before I hung up. At that time, I was told they would meet us up there that Thursday to let us into the venue, give us the wifi password (as we were playing music off wifi), unlock the cabin where our family was staying, show us the ladder they had (which they later said we stole), etc. However....they NEVER SHOWED UP. I didn't get a phone call, text or email. I am very laid back HOWEVER.... this was awful. I don't want any other bride to experience this which is why I am finally writing a review.
    Once we were back from our honeymoon, I called in reference to our deposit...(which I had been told they would be up the day we left to do a walk through and cut the check at that point....again, they never showed!) At the time I called, I was accused of stealing a ladder and I was then upset. I had been patient, kept my mouth shut and then finally lost it. For a venue to be so absent in the wedding planning process, not respond to requests etc, and then not show up throughout the wedding weekend, I was so offended,
    To this day, I am thankful that we chose the venue because my husbands grandfather grew up on the property BUT I would NEVER recommend working with the Lazy R Ranch for an event especially your WEDDING (the most important day of your life).
    They were NOT accommodating, not easily accessible, and it was not a good experience.

    Idaho Guest Ranch - Lazy R Ranch's reply:

    We are so sorry your experience with our Venue wasn't what you hoped it would be. We are certainly striving to improve in every way possible as we grow to fill the needs of our brides and grooms.

    To address your concerns from the beginning:
    1. You were offered the option to buy a wedding package that provided you with someone to streamline the wedding planning and make the whole experience super easy (what you refer to as "someone to hold your hand"). You chose not to buy that package and chose a simpler, less expensive package. Obviously you would not get that service if you did not purchase it.
    2. There certainly was difficulty in communication. We apologize for any part that was our fault. At one point we weren't sure if your wedding was still happening since your final payment did not come in on time. However, after learning you were trying, we were patient with you until you could pay it. Again, we apologize for any communication issue on our end. Notes certainly indicate a lot of phone tag was played. We do strive to return calls promptly, but please understand that we are in a remote location where cell service is very spotty and it can sometimes be difficult to connect.
    3. In reference to your comment that we "NEVER SHOWED UP", what actually happened is that the person meeting you was there early and waited for an additional 2 or 3 hours after the meeting time, for you to show. You did not show. They later left for a time to meet some other obligations which you caused them to be late for and then came back to check and see if you'd showed.
    4. In response to the deposit. Cleaning crews come up and clean sometimes the day you leave, sometimes the day after. After their report is taken, decisions are made in reference to how much of the security deposit is to be refunded. You were not accused of stealing a ladder. You were simply asked if you knew where it was (often items get taken home by clients simply by mistake). The ladder did go missing during your stay and has never showed back up. Despite this, and in an effort to hopefully help make you feel better about any communication issues, we did not charge you for it.
  • Sharon
    Sharon H. Married on 01/08/2020
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Subpar, not recommended

    The barn was cool. From there it went downhill. All of the tables and chairs were either filthy or broken, the dust was unacceptable, they should have watered down the front area, none of the grounds were kept up, the freezer was nasty with old ice buildup. For the prices they charge you’d think that they would put a little effort into making your wedding a great experience. I’d definitely recommend you check out other venues