Ian Sbalcio Photography Reviews

55 | Chevy Chase, MD
See photos, pricing and details

55 Reviews for Ian Sbalcio Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

55
Order by:
  • Samantha

    Samantha · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best In The Biz

    Ian is seriously the best. Just stop whatever you're doing and book him! He's insanely talented and so easy to work with. His style is so unique and artistic; I can't even imagine having anyone else shooting us at our wedding. It felt like Ian was a part of the family that night, and I can't thank him enough for being a part of our big day!

    Sent on 10/29/2018
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first saw Ian at work at my best friend's wedding, and she raved about just how good of a photographer he was and that their family will only book him for photos. Ian showed me some of the pictures he was taking, and the very next I day I booked him for my wedding! I started following him on facebook and instagram and just fell in love with his style -- I feel like he doesn't just take pictures, he creates art. On top of that, his personality is just delightful. It felt like we where kicking it back with a old friend, which made the all of our pictures look natural and carefree even if we where actually posing. I am also glad to say that the cycle of business for him continued, just like how I booked him after seeing his work at a friends wedding, I found out that two of my bridesmaids picked up his contact info for their own upcoming wedding! He is the real deal and you won't be disappointed. I would highly recommend Ian for your wedding!

    Sent on 10/12/2018
  • R

    Risa · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was amazing to work with and the pictures are better than we could have ever asked for. His style of photography is so beautiful- each picture tells a different story. I would recommend him to any couple looking for pictures that will last you a lifetime.

    Sent on 04/20/2017
  • N

    Nadia · Married on 04/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This vendor was very nice and cordial. He has a lot of very good ideas and all the pictures cam out beautiful. I would recommend this vendor to anyone planning their wedding.

    Sent on 05/13/2014
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 01/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was incredible to work with, we enjoyed every moment. After our engagement photos, we knew we hit a homerun with him. Many people told us the engagement photos are just a test, if we got a few good ones out of the bunch we would be good. Literally every picture that Ian took was awesome! He is extremely talented behind the lens, professional, and so nice during the shoot, he knew what he was doing, and we fully trusted him.

    Our wedding date fell on the weekend of Snowstorm Jonas. We moved it to a day earlier, as the snow would have just started at that point. Ian was able to make the necessary adjustments, and arrived right on time along with his assistant photogs. Ian was great with the bridal party, and everybody enjoyed his presence, he was chatting and keeping everybody comfortable. He and his team were great with both the Bridal Party and Groomsmen, By the time the ceremony ended, the snow was coming down. Ian saw this as an opportunity to grab some snow shots. We gladly followed his lead, and he already had his intended shots laid out and ready to go. It was a very smooth process. The shots that he took were absolutely breathtaking, he captured the moment perfectly; the snowfall and empty city made for some awesome pictures! He was able to show us a few shots within a few hours, and we were blown away!

    After the wedding ended, he asked if we would be up to take a few more shots walking back to our hotel in the snow. Ian was once again very quick to pick out the right shots, and captured each moment perfectly. He is truly passionate about his craft, and we loved working with him. We would recommend Ian to anybody looking for a photographer, even if they didn't ask, he was just that good.

    He posted a few pictures of our event to his blog, all of our family and friends were BLOWN away! It was an absolute pleasure to work with Ian. PLEASE check out his blog to understand what we mean!

    http://www.iansbalcio.com/Blog/Nyleen-aaron-blizzard

    Sent on 01/31/2016
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 11/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian is a wonderful photographer! My sisters and I met Ian at a Starbucks and very quickly realized that his friendly, approachable personality along with his enthusiasm and passion for his work would be the best fit for us. From the moment we met for our gorgeous engagement shoot he made us feel relaxed and natural, he became a friend from that day on. When we saw him again on the wedding day, it was like seeing one of your family members on your special day. After seeing our wedding pics, it was almost as if he was never there as he was so unobtrusive but captured every single moment we could have hoped for and hundreds we would have missed. His second and third shooters had comparable styles. All of the photos has the same quality and style. He also offered a photo booth which our guests loved. If you are looking for a photographer to capture the true essence and feeling of your wedding day, then look no further – Ian Sbalcio is the man for the job!

    Sent on 02/10/2016
  • User6395695 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian's services were impeccable and the resulting photos were fantastic. We were so happy with him and his team.

    Sent on 02/22/2016
  • S

    Sunny · Married on 10/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian is really personable, professional and easy to work with. We were looking for someone we would be comfortable with and Ian makes it very easy to be in front of the camera. He was super flexible with scheduling our engagement pictures and ended up suggesting we do a sunrise shoot that we couldn't be happier with. He'll make you laugh and give you an excellent product. We can't wait for him to shoot our wedding next month!

    Sent on 09/15/2015
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was an absolutely incredible person to work with. He always responded within hours, if not right away and answered all my questions. He was open to any ideas I had and I couldn't be happier with the photographs he took. They took our breath away and our friends and family were in awe. Our guests loved Ian and were really impressed with his professionalism. We highly recommend Ian to anyone who wants some pictures that will truly capture the magic of their wedding day.

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I knew Ian through a friend of mine and knew he did amazing work, so when I got engaged I knew I wanted to have him do our wedding photos. Unfortunately, Ian was already booked for our date so we decided to go ahead and do engagement photos with him. Ian was so responsive and flexible, working with our busy schedules to find time to go around DC to do the engagement shoot.

    We ended up meeting him at sunrise and took some photos at the Lincoln memorial, then went into Georgetown and ended in Crystal City where we live. It was Ian's idea to meet at sunrise and we got some amazing shots, and didn't have to deal with people getting in the way. Ian was great at making us feel comfortable in front of the camera and directing us what to do. He has an amazing eye! His photos have a cinematic feel like he's capturing a live moment rather than a still photo.

    The turnaround for our photos was SO fast. And that in no way took away from the quality and editing that was done. All of our photos had so much character. Ian posted a little sneak peek on his blog through Facebook and we were immediately flooded with compliments from family and friends with how great the photos looked. We ended up featuring a couple of his photos on our wedding invitation- which we also received many compliments on! His work is truly art and we are so happy to have these photos we can always look back on. You will not regret working with Ian!

    Sent on 09/09/2015
  • C

    Callie · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to start? Hiring Ian as our wedding photographer was the best decision that we made! From our engagement photos in Georgetown, which were absolutely stunning to our wedding day, Ian made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera. Ian's artistic perspective was exactly what we were looking for in our wedding photos. He managed to truly capture the essence of our day. I know our selection of photos will be amazing because anytime something was happening, Ian or his additional shooters were there to photograph it in a completely unobtrusive way. After just a few days, we received the first set of amazing photos to review, which were a great teaser!

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • B

    Brie · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding photos are one of a kind because of Ian's talent. I could not be happier with my decision to use him on such an important day in our lives. Ian was professional, and got down to business as soon as he walked through the door, but he also made the picture taking process easy, fun and less like a chore. Amazing talent and one of a kind service. 100% recommend him to anyone looking for wedding photography. You didn't disappoint Ian !!

    Sent on 10/29/2015
  • J

    Jason · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian is amazing to work with. Extremely dedicated and very creative. You will not be sorry.

    Sent on 11/10/2015
  • D

    Darya · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding is in Delaware, and due to that their were limited options for different types of photography styles or they were already booked. So I had to start looking at the outskirts of Delaware. That made me nervous because all the good photographers were getting booked out or not within our budget. I found Ian on this site and was so amazed by his talent as well as my fiancé. We were really keeping our fingers crossed that one he was available for our wedding date and two that he would be within our budget range. Once we emailed him he was promptly on emailing us back and from their on answering any questions we had. Everything was a smooth sailing from their, in our package he had included an Engagement session and we made it on a date both available to us in Washington DC right in time for the cherry blossom festival. Before we met my fiancé and I were nervous that he was to good to be true:) We met and he made us feel super comfortable in the whole session directing us how to stand, where to look, and just to have fun! and we did! My fiancé and I were so thrilled from the session that we can't wait to see him on our wedding day! The engagement photos were absolutely stunning! He had editing them in matter of weeks and we were happy with every single one of them! My fiancé and I often admire his other portfolios from other sessions on Facebook and they are simply amazing and can't get enough! Ian is a true artist and we were absolutely lucky to find him!

    Sent on 05/20/2015
  • User5428398 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was flexible, professional, polite, and his photos are gorgeous. Worth every penny. Whether you want to tell him what kinds of photos or shots you want, or if you prefer him to guide you through them, he does both. He helps you to pose in the photos, which is great if you're not a professional model...you just end up looking like one!

    Sent on 09/11/2015
  • User3803183 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian came to our wedding with 2 photographers . The 3 of them were amazing. Our photos came out great... There is so many to choose from. I love the vintage feel our photos have... They are so unique and def different from all of my friends wedding photos. I would say, it's a very specific style so be sure to see samples ... Ian thank you - you were great!

    Sent on 06/02/2016
  • C

    Carla · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian has a talent for seeing the world as if his subjects are starring in the movie of their lives. We hired Ian for our engagement shoot and wedding and I was astounded with his ability to use light to make very dramatic shots. Everyone I showed them to has the same jaw-dropping reaction. I chose Ian because I saw he had a talent for capturing the relationships and the emotion of the moment rather than shooting "stuff" like rings and shoes (though he will certainly take those shots too, and do an amazing job). Also, Ian did a great job shooting our horses for the engagement shoot--I know animal photography has be tricky and it's not something he does all the time, but you would never know it.

    Sent on 09/12/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Ian was absolutely fantastic! My husband and I were amazed that he truly captured our vision for our engagement and wedding photos, and that our photos were unique and special to our day. Ian is professional, communicative and has a great way of blending in that you almost don't feel the presence of the camera or photographer "on" you while he is capturing all of those little moments that make your wedding daymemorable. I highly recommend his services- 5 stars all the way!!

    Sent on 09/09/2015
  • M

    Michael · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not asked for a better crew than Ian's. He had photographed my cousin's wedding, and we had to have him after seeing her results. He was very professional throughout the process and easily communicated with us throughout the process. On the day of, he and his other photographer were present, but in no way a hindrance. We have a thunderstorm pop up on us for our ceremony and cocktail hour. Ian continued to shoot in the rain, never once complaining, and making it a very personal, intimate, and amazing experience. We totally forgot that we were wet, dirty, or rushed. He was extremely creative and willing to break from the norm. The day after our ceremony, he provided us a photo from our shoot to enjoy, and then he had a quick posting of about ten photos to share with our friends the next day. I could not recommend him enough!

    Sent on 05/20/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 03/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian and his crew are the best. From the engagement photos to the wedding, everything was perfect. Ian was responsive, flexible, fun to work with and most importantly, very talented. All of the pictures turned out so beautifully and captured the day and all of its emotions perfectly. His photos are on another level compared to the many other photographers we met with. After our wedding we even had a few requests from our guests to get Ian's information so they could use his as their wedding photographer. He was non-intrusive on our wedding day, yet he got pictures that I had no idea he even captured. I would highly recommend using Ian Sbalcio photography for your wedding! We are so fortunate to have such great pictures to look back on for the rest of our lives.

    Sent on 05/27/2015
  • T

    Thomas · Married on 01/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian is such a joy to have at a wedding. Quick at getting the priceless shots even when he's not familiar with the venue. Naturally great with people he is unobtrusive at the event and creates just the most beautiful magical memories. As well as the shots you request he gives a mountain of unposed natural shots full of the life and vitality of the day. If you're looking for a sound investment, there it is!

    Sent on 05/21/2015
  • User5126857 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian's photos are incredible and every one of them captured our day in a different way. I have no idea how he did it but he managed to discreetly be in the right place at the right time to snap all the best parts of the day. I was also very grateful for the fact that he knows how to take exceptionally high-quality photographs without taking too much time to set them up, this meant we got all the formal photos we wanted without anyone having to stand around for long at all, and this meant we could get on and enjoy the day. Also, despite us not wanting to spend long posing for the camera, Ian's creativity and quick-thinking meant he also found beautiful places to shoot us even though our venue was a little cramped and we needed to be inside for much of the time as it was winter. He was extremely flexible both on the day and beforehand - we felt very lucky because he agreed to shoot our wedding at short notice - and many of our guests remarked on how professional he was at the same time as being fun to be around.

    I've been to a lot of weddings, and seen a lot of friends' wedding photos, but there is something different about the way Ian takes photos, he makes you look like a movie star with very little effort (even people who aren't photogenic like my husband and I!), he can take the classic wedding portraits one minute, and a minute later he'll have a burst of creativity which will give you something completely different to treasure as well.

    Ian's photographs and his post-production skills are very very special, and I've been highly recommending him to everyone I know because I know they won't be disappointed.

    Sent on 05/29/2015
  • A

    Ashton · Married on 12/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was amazing to work with and when we received our pictures it was like an unexpected gift that we will cherish forever. He was flexible and accommodated all of our requests without even hesitating. It was truly amazing getting to work with Ian!

    Sent on 05/21/2015
  • C

    Candice · event on: 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my engagement pictures. Ian was very professional, would recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 12/10/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · event on: 10/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian is a wonderfully gifted & creative photographer. We had never taken professional photos prior to meeting Ian, and he immediately put us at ease. Ian photographed our engagement photos at a new location in Arlington, VA and captured the artistic vision my fiancé and I had hoped for. He was extremely flexible with the date, time and location of our session which set the tone for a great first meeting. Ian made sure to capture shots that were important to us, the gorgeous sunset that evening and also incorporated the natural elements around us into the photos. Ian is 100% professional and approachable, and I highly recommend him to anyone looking for a quality photographer. We cannot wait to work with him on our wedding day! 5 stars all around!

    Sent on 12/10/2014