Hyatt Regency Long Beach Reviews

11 | Long Beach, CA
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Recommended by 86% of couples

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

11
Order by:
  • J

    Jennifer H · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Ballroom

    Our wedding was on August 3rd, 2019. We only had our reception at the Hyatt in the Beacon ballroom with 110 guests.

    Robin was amazing to work with. She helped us through the entire planning process and worked with us to stay on budget. She also coordinated with all of our vendors and was there that night to make sure everything ran smoothly. We were originally anticipating 150 guests, so when we only ended up with 110, Robin helped us find ways to reach the venue minimum so we didn't waste any money.

    The food was delicious, and the Beacon ballroom is absolutely beautiful. It has a wall of glass windows with views of Long Beach Harbor, which is so much nicer than other fully enclosed ballrooms. There are a couple of other ballrooms on the property, but we got lucky that none of the others were being used on our wedding night so we had the whole place to ourselves.

    I wouldn't recommend this venue for small weddings because you would have to spend too much per guest to make it worth your while, but for a 100+ wedding it's one of the more affordable and elegant options we considered.

    Sent on 09/03/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience with Hyatt Long Beach

    We had our wedding at the Hyatt Long Beach in April of 2018. We worked with Siobhan who extremely helpful and professional. She not only provided us valuable guidance when making multiple decisions about arrangements, timing, etc. but also quickly responded back to us for all of the numerous changes we asked her to make. Everything ran very smoothly at the hotel during the events, and we really enjoyed all of the hotel ballrooms and facilities (e.g. Regency Ballroom, Lagoon, etc.). Would definitely recommend others to have their wedding at the Hyatt Long Beach.

    Sent on 05/18/2019
  • C

    Chie · Married on 12/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All we did with the Hyatt Regency Long Beach was block 15 room nights between two nights, but they treated us like we were holding a $100K wedding at their property. We initially started out by working with Alexandra, but Elizabeth became our point of contact closer to the room block weekend. Alexandra and Elizabeth do an amazing job in Sales and are wonderful ambassadors for the property and the Hyatt brand.

    Although our block was small, we had many questions. The details of the questions aren’t too important, but most of them related to integrating a Hyatt Gold Passport (Hyatt’s loyalty program) account into the block. In 8 months, we were in constant contact with the Sales team. We were taken on a brief tour of the property, spoke a couple times on the phone, and exchanged nearly 100 emails with the team and the responses were always very quick and very thorough. Thanks to Elizabeth, we became Gold Passport experts with her detailed responses. In different emails, we also requested stools and a standalone mirror for the makeup artists and a steamer for the dress. These were all waiting for us in the room when we checked in. There was no need to call down to re-request things and we had everything we needed.

    During our wedding weekend, we interacted with many other employes on the property, including the valets, the front desk, housekeeping, and room service. Every single person was friendly, willing to help, and seemed happy to be there. It was nice to have happy people around your own happy weekend.

    We loved having the Hyatt Regency Long Beach as one of our wedding vendors. Alexandra and Elizabeth were so good with getting back to us that we sometimes even said to each other, “I wish all wedding vendors were like this.” They even had a nice amenity waiting for us in the room when we returned from the wedding reception. You can’t go wrong this Hyatt and its people.

    Sent on 01/08/2016
  • B

    Brittney · Married on 05/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding, held at the Hyatt Regency in Long Beach was absolutely beautiful! When choosing a venue I wanted it to have a nature/water-like feel so when I saw the hotels grass area next to the Rainbow Lagoon I sealed the deal. The event was fabulous and my pictures are gorgeous! Love it!

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • S

    sanjeni · Married on 12/30/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was on time and everything was set-up beautifuly. The entire staff went above and beyond their call of duty. The view of the harbor at sunset really added to the ambiance of the evening.

    Sent on 11/10/2008
  • S

    Sibongile · Married on 07/14/2007

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my reception at The Hyatt Long Beach and they are wonderful! Go to Elieen, one of the catering managers, she is very patient, understanding, and reliable. They require that you cater with them (no outside vendor catering), but that was fine because the food was pretty good. The cake was REALLY good. And although they dont require that you use their cake, there's an extra fee for outside cakes, so just use theirs. It's delicious and they can copy any picture you bring to them and make it exactly! The Regency ballroom is gorgeous, with twinkling lights on the ceiling which is the ballroom I used, but there is also a ballroom that has a wonderful panoramic view of the ocean. Again, a wonderful place and I would reccomend to anyone!

    Sent on 05/18/2008
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/20/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had both our ceremony and our reception at the Hyatt. The pricing is very good for a hotel. Martha is willing to work with you on most things as well. We did have some communication errors and things we specifically asked for were not followed. These were minor details. Overall, we had a blast as did our guests.

    Sent on 09/16/2011
  • K

    Kate · Married on 08/08/2010

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I worked with Martha at the Long Beach Hyatt. She was always nice and responsive but a little too formal so I never felt really comfortable discussing things or prices with her. I sent my husband instead. The venue was great, it was the perfect size. We had the Beacon ballroom on the second floor. The food was hit and miss and the serving size was small. At least several guests commented afterward that they were still hungry. I even had guests ask the waiter for more but they were denied even though we were charged for at least 4 guests not showing. I don't know why they weren't given the plates that we already paid for. My husband and I thought the dinner tasted great- we served beef tournedos and shrimp but again, it was hit and miss with our guests. Some that were really close to us said it was blah but other's seem to like it. Again, we thought our meal was perfect and delicious..but perhaps we were served the special plate or something. The dinner captain was great.


    The only real complaint I have is the checkout process the next day. NO kidding, it took some of my guests nearly 2 hours to check out because they were using the Costco gift certificates. Apparently, you can't use those on wedding-related rooms.


    Oh and one more pet peeve, they double booked my guests, saying that they only had 1 king bedrooms although my guests had requested 2 queens- and way in advance. Some of our guests for instance, these two couples, decided to share rooms. This guest in particular also happened to be pregnant. Her husband and two other guests ended up sleeping on the floor or the cot :( They apologized and sent up a bottle of wine but I still think that wedding guests who reserved blocked off rooms should be given priority at the hotel. They should have upgraded them to a suite or something else besides chocolate and champagne.

    Sent on 05/24/2011
  • A

    Alex · Married on 11/27/2005

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Overall experience was very nice. We were both very pleased.

    Sent on 02/04/2008
  • User861851 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Lovely venue with great view for reception.. Food was great. Booked location over a year before the wedding. They said they would let us know if the other rooms get booked or if there will be any event happening in the area so we can prepare before the wedding date. They did not do that. Didn't find out about a festival going on until a couple days before the wedding. Nothing I could do then to try to avoid the noise level. Had to turn up our ceremony volume to drown out the festival noise. That was sort if annoying since I could have made better arrangements if I knew of this earlier. Other than that, the food was great and our wedding turned out as we planned.

    Sent on 02/06/2013
  • K

    kate · Married on 08/08/2010

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I worked with Martha at the Long Beach Hyatt. She was always nice and responsive but a little too formal so I never felt really comfortable discussing things or prices with her. I sent my husband instead. The venue was great, it was the perfect size. We had the Beacon ballroom on the second floor. The food was hit and miss and the serving size was small. At least several guests commented afterward that they were still hungry. I even had guests ask the waiter for more but they were denied even though we were charged for at least 4 guests not showing. I don't know why they weren't given the plates that we already paid for. My husband and I thought the dinner tasted great- we served beef tournedos and shrimp but again, it was hit and miss with our guests. Some that were really close to us said it was blah but other's seem to like it. Again, we thought our meal was perfect and delicious..but perhaps we were served the special plate or something. The dinner captain was great.

    The only real complaint I have is the checkout process the next day. NO kidding, it took some of my guests nearly 2 hours to check out because they were using the Costco gift certificates. Apparently, you can't use those on wedding-related rooms.

    Oh and one more pet peeve, they double booked my guests, saying that they only had 1 king bedrooms although my guests had requested 2 queens- and way in advance. Some of our guests for instance, these two couples, decided to share rooms. This guest in particular also happened to be pregnant. Her husband and two other guests ended up sleeping on the floor or the cot :( They apologized and sent up a bottle of wine but I still think that wedding guests who reserved blocked off rooms should be given priority at the hotel. They should have upgraded them to a suite or something else besides chocolate and champagne.

    Sent on 05/24/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review