Hunt Valley Jewelers Reviews

19 | Cockeysville, MD
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Hunt Valley Jewelers

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

19
Order by:
  • V

    Vicki · Married on 05/16/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend your company. I have referred friends and will continue to refer.

    Sent on 06/13/2016
  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I started shopping for rings very casually. After visiting many jewelers we went to see Tim at Hunt Valley Jewlers. Almost immediately we found a ring we liked. The service is impeccable, prices are great, and it's a family owned and run business. I now know why my mother has patronized Hunt Valley Jewlers for 30 years.

    Sent on 12/27/2015
  • Kristin

    Kristin · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience and so happy with my ring. We used Hunt Valley Jewelers for my engagement ring and are planning on going back to purchase our wedding bands. My fiance of course had the most experience with them, but I went when we were just browsing and they were extremely friendly, attentive, and willing to create whatever vision we had in mind. They did just that and made us a custom ring and worked with our budget. They really showed their vast knowledge of diamonds and their quality, and found us a high quality pear shaped diamond in a size that fit our price range. They were committed to providing the highest quality of product and we couldn't have been happier with the outcome. Great job! Look forward to working with you again in a few months.

    Sent on 09/16/2015
  • E

    Eric · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Daryl at HVJ by my brother-in-law, who had such an excellent experience that he returned for wedding rings and my sister also returned for a "mother's ring" for our mother. I shopped around with my fiancee before we went to Daryl at Jared, a few mall-type places, and we researched diamond prices heavily online. I had a pretty good idea of what I wanted in the setting when I went and my budget, and as soon as I started mentioning details and showing pictures Daryl knew exactly what would look best, even down to the details of exactly how high the stone should sit above the halo, how thick the band should be by the millimeter, how big the stone should be (he based this on my fiancee's ring size and the size of the halo, he actually suggested slightly smaller than I was thinking because she has small fingers, so he definitely wasn't pushing size). When it came to picking stones, he was also very sincere and patient; he suggested stones of high quality but was honest about how much difference in color or inclusions would actually be noticeable. He made the setting himself (in fact he often had a little bit of solder on his fingers from projects he was working on) and it wasn't overly simple: trust me you could not find this setting for this price anywhere, even for a cheap version online, he even admitted they don't charge much over cost for the setting, and it is obviously very well made. The stone price was also incredibly reasonable, very comparable to the "wholesale" diamond costs. All together, I paid about 40% less for the ring than it appraised for. A similar ring (but way less beautiful) my fiancee loved at Jared (in a name-brand setting) cost almost double what I paid Daryl, and we got a higher quality stone. We scheduled an appointment to pick out bands next week, and I will be returning to Daryl for anniversaries and any other time I may need jewelry. Daryl is truly a craftsman, an excellent jeweler, and a very patient man.

    Sent on 03/19/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Skip the mall stores and go here. My fiancé got my engagement ring here and he raved about the service. He said the people who work there were so nice, helpful and knowledgable. I saw that for myself when I got my ring sized. They squeezed me in at the end of the day, and it fit perfectly when they were done. They clean my ring for free whenever we come in, and they helped my fiancé find a wedding ring that fit our budget.

    Sent on 07/21/2016
  • R

    Rob · Married on 10/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The team (family) at Hunt Valley Jewelers is wonderful to work with!! I worked with Tim over the last few weeks to pick the perfect engagement ring. He spent time explaining to me what to look for, he had me look at the diamonds under a microscope with him so I could see all the details, he ordered additional diamonds that met my criteria, and we ultimately I found the perfect diamond and ring. All along the way, he was very respectful and mindful of my budget. I visited two other jewelers in the Towson to Hunt Valley area, and neither made me feel as comfortable as Hunt Valley Jewelers. My fiance and I are customers for life!

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • User6820295 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For years, Hunt Valley Jewelers has been our choice over "that other place." We've found wonderful estate pieces and new, stylish jewelry. In addition, they designed a wedding band for us, and re-designed a pair of baroque pearl earrings with a result that is drop-dead-gorgeous. We trust them with fine jewelry repairs and can recommend them highly.

    Sent on 06/10/2016
  • K

    K · event on: 05/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have been a long time customer of Hunt Valley Jewelers and just love dealing with them. Recently I had a ring hand made by Daryl. He took the time to explain everything to me and made an absolutely gorgeous ring!
    Thank you Daryl, Tim and Kathy for being the best jewelers ever!

    Sent on 03/09/2016
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had both the engagement ring and the wedding bands custom designed for my wife and we could not be happier with the outcome. The designer Daryl was fantastic and one of the few jewelers that was actually willing to custom make the ring that my now wife wanted. We have been back a few times for other jewelry needs and will keep going back. I can't recommend this place enough.

    Guys: you can go to any jewelry store and get the 5 C's of diamonds. What HVJ offers is the honest opinion with no pressure. I had in mind what I wanted for my wife and what guidelines that she had mentioned in the past. Daryl found many diamonds for me to look at and even steered me away from the higher clarity ones since the cuts were wrong and the diamonds looked dull. I was able to find a great diamond and at a very reasonable price.

    Sent on 11/12/2013
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service at Hunt Valley Jewelers is incredible and everyone there is friendly and helpful! I had searched at several other jewelery stores for a unique engagement ring with a colored diamond as the center stone and was not able to find that until I came to Hunt Valley. I explained to Tim what I wanted and he not only came up with some wonderful ideas but brought several different colored diamonds out to let me compare colors and find exactly what I envisioned. Once we picked the diamond, he helped us find a setting that is the perfect compliment and they did all of the sizing and adjustments there in the store. The jewelers are very talented and do the highest quality work. Since my first visit, I have recommended Hunt Valley Jewelers to several friends and they have agreed that their service is wonderful; they will help you find exactly the piece of jewelry you are looking for while keeping within your budget. I had an absolutely wonderful experience here and now I won't shop for jewelry anywhere else!

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • User1615309 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My family has been going to Hunt Valley Jewelers for the last 25+ years, and there isn't anyone else in the business that we would have trusted with our wedding rings! Tim and Darryl are the BEST. A year and a half ago, my then-fiance brought in his grandmother's diamond and with Darryl, created my absolutely beautiful custom engagement ring. Darryl created a custom wedding band for the ring, and it couldn't be more perfect. We also got my husband's wedding band at HVJ and got both of our bands engraved. For the wedding, I wore my great-grandmother's aquamarine ring as my something blue, and before the wedding, Darryl cleaned it up, tightened the stones, and made it look brand new. Darryl also engraved some Tiffanys cuff links that I gave my husband on our wedding day. He did all of this work in a timely and professional manner. All of his work is flawless, and we couldn't have been more thrilled with the outcome!

    Sent on 11/05/2012
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I found the setting for my engagement ring at Hunt Valley Jewelers. Their selection not only included what is currently in style but had many more unique designs. We had a wedding band designed to match my ring and Darryl did an outstanding job! The service was great and we did not feel at all pressured.

    Sent on 10/14/2012
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for a better experience, thank you to Daryl and everyone at Hunt Valley Jewelers!

    Sent on 06/21/2012
  • H

    Jasmine · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hunt Valley Jewelers is great! My husband was able to work with Darryl & custom make my engagement ring & wedding band. My husband picked out the center diamond himself by examining it under the microscope. I get sooo many compliments on how beautiful my rings are & I couldn't have picked out anything better myself. I got my husband's ring from here too & I go in regularly for complimentary ring cleanings & Darryl always greets me by name. I highly recommend this place!

    Sent on 10/28/2011
  • User6790348 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    EXCELLENT customer service, beautiful selection, and an overall honest, top quality, professional business. We drove 6 hours for one of their pieces and we would drive there again. Thank you Tim and Kathey!

    Sent on 06/04/2016
  • Z

    Zamira · Married on 11/24/2004

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first visited this store about 3 months prior to the wedding (our engagement took place about 2.5 months before the wedding). First a sales lady helped us by explaining different qualities of diamonds, clarity, etc. She asked about our budget and the style we wanted. When we decided to get the best quality&clarity out there she called the owner because stores normally don't carry that high of a clarity/quality and special order diamonds like that. The owner came out and talked to us, making sure we knew exactly what size we can get for the budget we had with the properties we wanted. He told us 3/4 carat should be the biggest we could expect but I was ok with it as long as it was the most clear and high quality diamond.

    Two weeks later the owner called us and told he had the diamond, which measures just under 3/4 carat but it was stunning! When you put two diamonds next to each other only then you will see the real difference. We were glad we picked the special order diamond b/c it will be passed from generations to generations and we would rather have a quality piece than big but poor quality stone. While we waited the owner mounted the diamond on a band I picked and then surprised us completely by offering free wedding bands! Now they were not the most expensive ones but they were the simple elegant bands we were eyeing out during our first visit.

    All jewelery was placed in beautiful boxes and the overall experience was just wonderful. It's a privately owned store, not a chain jewelery place and therefore values its customers. That's why we got such a good service and are going back every time we need another piece of jewelery.

    Sent on 08/21/2007
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hunt Valley Jewelers has been around for 30 years and is a family owned business and it shows in the quality of service. My fiance went in to pick out my engagement ring and spoke to Tim, who was able to customize the ring exactly how he wanted it and actually steered him away from a bigger, more expensive stone because the smaller one actually looks better in the band he chose and fits the style better. The ring is perfect. When we got it resized they had it ready in under an hour. We will absolutely be patronizing the business for our wedding rings.

    Sent on 01/13/2016
  • H

    Holly · Married on 06/07/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Worked with my husband to design a beautiful, unique ring. All professionals and very knowledgeable about jewelry. We take all of our jewelry business to them.

    Sent on 02/18/2010
  • F

    Francie · Married on 04/24/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My engagement ring and both our wedding rings came from Hunt Valley Jeweler's. We had my great-grandmother's diamond and had it put into a new setting, with a matching wedding band. My husband's ring was a custom design, because he wanted a Bible verse carved in Greek on the outside of the band. They ordered my rings at a comparable price to what I'd seen elsewhere, but they fitted it into the setting and appraised it for free -- whereas, the other place I went were very nice but wanted to charge us a lot for this.

    I was worried that if I went into a jewelry store, they would be more concerned with trying to get us to spend money more than anything else, but the staff here are all very nice, and they are concerned with the quality of their products and services and will not try to sell you something you don't want or need. They are a family run business and were willing to work with us and gave us a good deal. I would recommend making sure that you consistently talk to the same person (preferably the owner), though. They were very accommodating, but they didn't have a file where the owner had written down what we had discussed, so there could have been a communication problem if they had not simply taken me at my word.

    We love how my husband's ring came out, but we did have a small problem. They sized it in the store, but when we got it, it turned out the size we had been told to get was slightly too small. Since we didn't find out until we were in Oregon, we had to pay to have it resized at the last minute at a store in Oregon. Had we been in Maryland, I'm sure they would have fixed it for free. No great tragedy and it could have happened to anyone, but just be careful if you are getting sized for a ring. Check it twice to make sure you have the right size number.

    Sent on 04/28/2010