Skip to main content
Weddings

Huegah Catering Co. Reviews

Huegah Catering Co. View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
17 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
  • Brenda
    Brenda U. Sent on 05/27/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    You know it's good when your guest rave about your caterers!

    Huegah stands out for their personal and intentional touch at every step of the process. From the initial conversation from Angie and Paul it was clear that they were as invested in making our wedding day as special as we were.

    Seeing both of their smiling faces throughout the night felt like we were amongst family. And it was such a beautiful touch to receive our drinks by Angie during cocktail hour too. We truly felt so supported throughout the entire night.

    All of our guests raved about the food, we honestly can’t list everything they said about each dish - from appetizers through dessert they were all perfect. The wait staff was also incredible.

    We'd love to work with them again and would encourage anyone who wants an intentional and delicious menu for their event to go with Huegah!
  • E
    Emily Sent on 03/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Flexible, Customisable, Worth Every Penny!

    My fiancé and I ended up finding Huegah after our initial caterer was no longer able to. What initially drew us to Huegah was the fact that menus could be customised, which was very important to us because we wanted to have certain cultural foods. Angie and Paul did a great job listening to our wants and delivering. Paul worked meticulously to get us the dishes we wanted, even if he had never made them before! Angie was really easy to communicate with and super helpful in arranging decorations and choosing linens. Paul and Angie were super flexible, understanding, polite, and professional. I highly recommend working with them. Oh, and of course the food was delicious! We got so many comments from different guests of how good the food was or they were suprised at how much food there was! We went a little over our food budget to work with Huegah, but we are happy with our decision, because it was such a success and pleasant experience!
  • A
    Anna Sent on 11/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best caterer duo! Do not look further!

    Paul and Angie are absolutely phenomenal! We were provided a list of caterers through our wedding venue. Paul and Angie stood out from our very first phone consultation. They created a wonderful menu for us that incorporated both of our cultures. Our tasting absolutely blew us away. When you book Huegah, you work directly with Angie and Paul throughout the entire process. Paul prepared us the best tasting (out of the few tastings we had with other caterers) and both Angie and Paul sat down with us to discuss every detail of our menu. We brought our moms to our tasting and Paul and Angie made everyone feel like family. Angie is a powerhouse and communicated every detail with us throughout the entire process. In addition to the food, Angie helped us with our cocktail menu. When we mentioned that we were fans of Buffalo Trace Bourbon, Angie went out of her way to ensure that our signature cocktail would have our favorite bourbon. Our wedding was the first big event we organized as a couple and Angie and Paul made the entire process a very positive experience for us. Both Angie and Paul were present the entire time on our big day and they ensured that everything went perfectly. Please do not look further for a caterer! If we could have done anything differently, we would have cancelled the other tastings that we had with other caterers. No other caterer left us this impressed. Angie took care of every detail for us in terms of our vision and made our final walkthrough at our venue a very smooth process. Our friends and family warned us that we will be stressed on our big day, but I can truly say that Paul and Angie made our wedding day absolutely perfect. We had a wonderful time celebrating our day knowing that Angie and Paul took care of all the details for us. Please look no further! Our guests raved about the food all night and wanted to know who catered our wedding! We now recommend Huegah to our friends and family and cannot think of a different caterer for any future events.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Katie D. Sent on 10/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    There is no better caterer in Chicago!

    I have no words for how above and beyond Huegah went for our wedding. Our entire wedding was raving about the meal all night long and the risotto stuffed chicken was not only the best wedding food I have ever had, it may have been the best chicken dish I have ever had period.

    They were so easy to work with and flexible even though we made very last minute requests for a signature cocktail. They made the night so perfect and special. I am recommending them to all of my friends with weddings coming up.

    We are so lucky to have had them for our big day and can't thank them enough!
  • B
    Benjamin S. Sent on 09/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best experience imaginable.

    We really cannot recommend Huegah enough to everyone. Paul and Angie made things easy from the start. The tasting experience was wonderful and Angie helped us pick out decor to truly make the vision come true. It was everything we dreamed of and more. The food was incredible and Paul makes things different than any other wedding. They worked incredibly hard and were truly dedicated to making this the best day of our lives. The staff they work with was so helpful throughout the day and we loved it. They would email us before we had to make decisions and would help us do everything the way we wanted. They were timely with responses and we never worried. Huegah went above and beyond with creating a memorable drink and food experience. Everything was far above standard and we cannot thank them enough!
  • Lisa
    Lisa T. Sent on 10/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A caterer in Chicago that your guests will not stop talking about

    This review is difficult to write, only because we cannot say enough good things about Huegah. After receiving menus and information from countless other bland, similar caterers in Chicago, we heard about Huegah. As people, Angie & Paul are warm, fun, talented, tasteful and cool. They are far more flexible than anyone else to whom we spoke, and understood and granted our wishes with ease. The food was beautiful, unique and delicious, and many of our guests said that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding. The main course was served family-style, which encouraged conversation among guests and allowed everyone to prepare their plate as they wished. (There was plenty of everything.) I wish we were getting married again tomorrow so we could hire them again.
  • Sarah
    Sarah B. Sent on 06/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and beyond

    Hands down the best wedding food we’ve ever had. Paul and Angie truly made our dreams come true. Between the tablescapes, excellent bar and waitstaff, and delicious food, we cannot recommend Huegah enough.
  • M
    Mark Sent on 07/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best vendor we worked with!

    Paul & Angie and the Huegah team were amazing to work with leading up to and during our June 2023 wedding.
    They listened, worked with us around our budget, and on the day-of were a joy to be around and were on constant lookout to make sure everything was going well - and the food and drinks of course were awesome (we got so many compliments on it from our guests). The diverse menu that came together and the beautiful presentation of everything really showed the love and care and creative thought that they put into it all.
    We had a few ideas that were a little new and different (the way we used the space, decor, table arrangements) and the team helped that all come to life too. We really appreciated the flexibility in helping us execute our vision and the logistics of it, but just as much if not more, their experience and realness in telling us what would and wouldn't work. They worked really well with our other vendors, which was huge considering the caterer has a hand in just about every phase of the wedding and reception.
    Couldn't recommend Huegah enough and wouldn't think twice about signing up with them again!
  • Stefanie
    Stefanie B. Sent on 07/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Catering Dream Team

    Paul and Angie were an absolute joy to work with for our wedding. From our initial call, Paul overflowed with warmth and we only fell more in love with the pair of them at our delicious tasting a year and a half before the wedding. Paul and Angie went above and beyond, communicating with us frequently about little details, guest counts, linens, and menu items. They were also open to any ideas we had outside of their listed catering menu. Paul and Angie also did an additional walkthrough of our venue on their own to get familiar with the space before our walkthrough together. And when we had a miscommunication about external rentals, they were so understanding and made sure that we resolved things in a way that worked for everyone.

    Not only are Paul and Angie wonderful human beings, they also turn out a beautiful event! Huegah did a room flip for us, ran our bars, and cleaned up at the end of the night. Our guests kept telling us how kind, positive, and helpful all of the staff were, and they made the whole reception a dream. If you’re looking for a kind, communicative, and quality team to cater your event, we highly recommend you reach out to Huegah. Paul and Angie take incredible care of their couples, and we are so glad they were a part of our wedding.

    Photo Credit: Maura Black Photography

    Huegah Catering Co.'s reply:

    It was our absolute pleasure to help in bringing to life, your vision of your special day. We so enjoyed collaborating with and serving you. We feel so lucky to have had to opportunity to be a part of your celebration. Thank you for your review!
  • ON Frischbaum
    On Frischbaum Sent on 09/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    If you want great taste and ease of collaboration look no further

    Huegah was amazing. They set up the most fantastic tasting of all we tried and, no exaggeration, they brought the flavor, style, and creativity we saw for the tasting of 3 to the buffet of 150. They were so collaborative from day 1 and that truly shined in the weeks leading up to the weekend. Paul and Angie are a pleasure to work with, you cannot go wrong with them. We went with veggie forward and fun passed apps for the cocktail hour, family style fresh salads, a HUGE taco bar (it was amazing like seriously so many different, flavorful elements) buffet for dinner, passed small desserts (we don't like cake) during dancing, and late night mac and cheese! They also made our signature cocktails of spicy and regular margaritas. Everything was a hit with our guests and us. They were instrumental in making the day run smoothly. I would work with them again in a heartbeat!
  • M
    Molly Sent on 11/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    5 Stars isn't enough!

    Paul and Angie were an incredible wedding catering duo! They were so flexible, creative, and the food was divine. If you are looking for an amazing caterer, look no further. They went above and beyond our expectations, and made the wedding process fun and easy. We really loved working with them!
  • L
    Leah Sent on 09/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!!!!

    Paul and Angie were such pleasures to work with and the food was DELICIOUS! Paul was very creative and accommodating with our dietary restrictions and we couldn't have been happier with how everything turned out.
  • Ellen
    Ellen J. Sent on 05/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire Huegah now!

    From first email correspondance to the serving of late night bites on your wedding day, the Huegah Catering team will not disappoint. It’s hard to write this review because Paul, Angie, and their team do everything right.

    When we were looking to hire for our April 2022 wedding in early 2021, we had sat down with a couple of catering companies in the Chicago area. It was Paul and Angie’s individualized attention and amazing food that made us choose them.

    I’ll do my best to summarize why you should hire Huegah in three parts.

    First things first, Huegah only caters one wedding each weekend. This is HUGE. Some other caterers are doing 3 weddings…a night! With Huegah, you can be certain that every little detail, every bite, that guests take will be amazing.

    Secondly, Paul and Angie work with you to develop the perfect wedding menu. Paul is an amazing chef and baker can make practically everything you could think of! My husband really wanted mini pizzas at our cocktail hour and chicken in a waffle cone (and falafel in a waffle cone) for late night bites, and Paul executed them with flying colors. Paul, Andrew keeps raving about the chicken and wants more. We may be reaching out to you soon! 😉

    Lastly, the people at Huegah are amazing. From the owners to the servers and bartenders, this tight-knit team takes pride in everything they do. Like most couples, my husband and I almost forgot to eat or (neglected to eat) on our wedding day, they made sure we were well taken care of, and when they noticed I didn’t eat my meal, they so kindly boxed one up for me to take home with me the next day.

    Paul, Angie, and the entire Huegah team. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!

    Huegah Catering Co.'s reply:

    From all of us at Huegah, we thank you! It was an incredible pleasure to serve you and your guests. From beginning to end, working with the two of you, we couldn't have had better clients. Best wishes!!!
  • K
    Kasey O. Sent on 10/31/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent, will work with them again!

    Paul and Angie were amazing to work with! I have already recommended them to a family member who will be working with them for their wedding next year. They were the most responsive and flexible of all of our vendors, which was particularly notable given that we had to postpone our 2020 wedding to the busy 2021 wedding season. The food was excellent day of, as was the service. Paul and Angie take on fewer events than the larger catering groups in Chicago, and it absolutely showed. Their attention to detail and thoughtfulness about making our day unique and specific to us (menu was 100% custom) was unmatched. They came recommended from our venue and we never looked back!

    Huegah Catering Co.'s reply:

    Thank you! It was our pleasure. Best wishes to you and Tim! We had such a great time working with the two of you.
  • D
    Dominique S. Sent on 09/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    BEST wedding food you could ask for!!

    Paul and Angie were a true pleasure to work with from beginning to end! We are a mixed Jewish and Latino couple, and Huegah helped us tailor our menu to showcase the perfect combination of our cultures through the food experience with ceviche hors d'oeuvres, mini challah rolls, and plantains & chimichurri with entrees. Their food is of the HIGHEST quality with an amazing attention to detail on plate presentation (we all eat with our eyes first)! We were blown away during our tasting, and we understand the difficulty of replicating that quality for 150 guests, but they passed the test with flying colors. We had friends and family say (and we agree) that it was the best food they have had at any wedding. Both Paul and Angie were extremely responsive when we needed them, in addition to being super helpful with general wedding detail suggestions and alcohol delivery logistics even though they weren’t even providing the alcohol!
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 07/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best caterer I’ve ever worked with

    Paul and Angie are the BEST choice and I can hardly put into words how perfect they made our day. We held our wedding very last minute - with COVID chaos, we had about 3 weeks to find a caterer, bartender, and servers. Paul handled all 3 seamlessly and him and his wife Angie care so much.

    I wanted a cucumber jalepeno margarita to match our amazing taco bar and Paul worked hard the night before the event to get the recipe perfect ahead of the wedding. We had tamales and shrimp cocktail for appetizers, then 4 types of tacos (mahi, steak, chicken, and veggie), rice, beans, and corn salad. He also had tons of amazing salsas. Our guests are still raving.

    He and Angie arrived early, were troopers carrying items 3 floors up (!!) and stayed late to make sure everything was spotless. They made our event magical and I hope they can make yours too!

    Huegah Catering Co.'s reply:

    Thank you Jessica. It was our pleasure to serve you on such a special day. Best wishes on this wonderful journey, as you build your new lives together. May you have a lifetime of love and happiness.
  • Jenny
    Jenny S. Sent on 09/30/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top Notch Catering by this Amazing Husband/Wife Duo!

    Paul and Angie are the most power-y of power couples that you most definitely want catering and organizing your wedding or event! They are so much more than caterers, and go above and beyond to make your day perfect and unique to you and your partner's vision. They were flexible and thoughtful in helping us replan our wedding several times as Covid came crashing into our 2020 plans. They practiced the safest levels of food prep and serving, working with us endless on creative solutions to still serve food in fun ways.

    After vetting SO many caters for our 150 person (original pre-covid) wedding, Huegah checked every single box that no other caterer could. Fit in our budget, had unique and delicious dishes, provided the plates, linens, etc, printed menus, traveled, adjusted to our tasting needs, and were prompt and professional at every single step. Throughout the year and a half of planning we asked for so many additional things - gold silverware, fancier wine glasses, signature cocktails, upscale plastic flutes for outdoor use, custom bar set up, decor setup in venue, high tops and more. They delivered on everything!

    We can't thank them enough for making the planning process seamless, the day special for us and our guests, serving up the most beautifully delicious food and drinks, and their overall professionalism. Thank you thank you!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours